FP: "Putin's Pipeline" Will Have No Impact on Europe


US Department of State Mike Pompeo is furious over the Russian Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline. However, the "Putin pipeline" can hardly be considered a successful project, so it will not have any impact on Europe, writes the American journal Foreign Policy.


The implementation of this project has been suspended due to US sanctions. But now the Russians are ready to finish building the gas pipeline on their own. Therefore, Pompeo threatens with new restrictions from the United States.

At the same time, the harder Washington presses, the more Berlin opposes it, because the lion's share of Russian gas is intended for Germany, which is not going to abandon the project. And tensions between the US and Germany are on the rise. In turn, most of the states of Eastern and Central Europe see this as the hypocrisy of the Germans, since this project poses a threat to their security.

At the same time, supporters of the project insist that it is exclusively commercial and has no political overtones. However, the possibility of corruption in the ranks political Germany's elite cannot be denied. Suffice it to recall that former German Chancellor Gerhard Schroeder is the chairman of the board of directors of Nord Stream AG (the operator of Nord Stream 1), 51% of which is owned by Gazprom. This indicates that the German political system is rotten. It should also not be forgotten that Russian President Vladimir Putin was in Germany when he worked for the KGB.

If Nord Stream 2 is completed, it could have serious consequences for Ukraine. Moscow will get leverage on Kiev. At the same time, Ukraine will have to confront Russia almost alone, since for some Europeans the main thing is that there is gas, and not through whom it gets to them. But Kiev has a way out of this situation.

As a result, the commissioning of Nord Stream 2 will cause significant damage to Germany's reputation. Berlin will receive more costs than benefits. There is a lot of cheap gas in Europe and Gazprom can no longer dictate prices to Europeans as it used to. Therefore, if Nord Stream 2 is launched, it will change little.
Used photos: gazprom.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

8 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Dear sofa expert. 21 July 2020 22: 07
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    As a result, the commissioning of Nord Stream 2 will cause significant damage to Germany's reputation. Berlin will receive more costs than benefits. There is a lot of cheap gas in Europe and Gazprom can no longer dictate prices to Europeans as it used to. Therefore, if Nord Stream 2 is launched, it will change little.

    What nonsense! The mere fact that, in addition to Russia and Germany, at least Holland and France also participate in the project, it already indicates that no one’s reputation will suffer there.
    And then .. where does this statement come from:

    There is a lot of cheap gas in Europe ..

    ??? Was he there from the dampness, or what?
    1. Sergey Tokarev Offline
      Sergey Tokarev (Sergey Tokarev) 21 July 2020 22: 22
      -1
      • 2
      • 3
      You have forgotten about young non-Europeans, who vomit farts from Russophobia with abundant methane emission ... But the Germans have not yet learned how to collect and process this gas.
  2. 123 Offline
    123 (123) 21 July 2020 22: 35
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Italians are becoming shallow, apparently, the climate in the United States is not the same. Corleone made offers that were impossible to refuse. Pompeo puts forward demands that everyone pisses from the high bell tower. winked
  3. Warrior Offline
    Warrior 21 July 2020 23: 51
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Rave..
    This means that Ukraine can profit from the transportation of Russian gas, while Germany cannot?
    It is very strange, because Germany is also an INDEPENDENT country and wants to have its own profit from Russian gas, and for some reason this restricts Ukraine's doing, which is not profitable for it not to receive additional profit from Russian gas because of SP-1 and SP-2?
    And as on other issues, Germany will also take into account the interests of Ukraine: for example, sell its Mercedes to other countries, at the request of Ukraine, only through Ukraine ... etc.
  4. cmonman Offline
    cmonman (Garik Mokin) 22 July 2020 02: 39
    -3
    • 0
    • 3
    For the curious:

    It is already obvious that due to the downtime of the SP-2, our country will not be able to promptly reimburse the 5 billion euros invested in the creation of a new gas route.

    The sanctions may be imposed on international firms that not only participated in the laying of pipes, but also provide insurance for the activities associated with the construction of the pipe.

    Due to the downtime of the pipe, the Russian monopolist will not be able to quickly "recapture" about 5 billion euros, which were invested in the construction of the SP-2, and Europe, with a significant drop in demand for energy resources, will be content with the transit of "blue fuel" through Ukraine, or spot and variable supplies of American LNG ...

    Orig. article here:

    https://www.mk.ru/economics/2020/07/21/izza-sankciy-ssha-severnyy-potok-2-mozhet-stat-neokupaemym.html
    1. Sergey Tokarev Offline
      Sergey Tokarev (Sergey Tokarev) 22 July 2020 05: 23
      -2
      • 0
      • 2
      The US is not worried about ukrah, but about its gas. A rotten pipe through a ruin with thieving baboons will not last long.
    2. Dear sofa expert. 22 July 2020 17: 04
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      So what's smart about the article? Some assumptions are more ridiculous than others. All this is written with a pitchfork on the water. SP-2 will be completed, and gas will be launched through it. The entire infrastructure for receiving Russian gas from the Germans has been ready for 2 years. The Germans are not ready either technically, financially or legally to accept liquefied gas in the required quantities, as well as to the related changes. It is possible to introduce parallel use of American LNG, but it will take time and money. If it is profitable, the Germans will agree to this compromise, but today it is impossible to do without gas from Russia. So all this chatter, except for an increase in the pulse of the readers, can cause nothing.
  5. zz811 Offline
    zz811 (Vlad Pervovich) 22 July 2020 07: 22
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    The main thing is to hang a "Putin" label, is this a diplomat in general?

FP: «Путинский трубопровод» не окажет никакого влияния на Европу


Глава Госдепа США Майк Помпео в ярости из-за российского газопровода «Северный поток-2». Однако «путинский трубопровод» вряд ли можно считать удачным проектом, так что он не окажет никакого влияния на Европу, пишет американский журнал Foreign Policy.


Реализация этого проекта была приостановлена из-за американских санкций. Но сейчас россияне готовы достроить газопровод самостоятельно. Поэтому Помпео грозит новыми ограничениями со стороны США.

При этом, чем сильней Вашингтон давит, тем больше ему противодействует Берлин, ведь львиная доля российского газа предназначена Германии, которая не собирается отказываться от реализации проекта. И напряженность в отношениях между США и Германией возрастает. В свою очередь, большинство государств Восточной и Центральной Европы видят в этом лицемерие немцев, так как этот проект несет угрозу их безопасности.

При этом сторонники проекта настаивают, что он исключительно коммерческий и в нем нет политического подтекста. Однако возможность коррупции в рядах политической элиты Германии отрицать нельзя. Достаточно вспомнить, что бывший канцлер Германии Герхард Шредер является председателем совета директоров компании Nord Stream AG (оператор «Северного потока-1»), 51% которой владеет «Газпром». Это указывает на то, что политическая система Германии прогнила. Не нужно также забывать, что президент России Владимир Путин, когда работал в КГБ, находился в Германии.

Если «Северный поток-2» будет достроен, то это может иметь серьезные последствия для Украины. Москва получит рычаг давления на Киев. При этом Украине придется противостоять России практически в одиночку, так как для некоторых европейцев главное, чтобы газ был, а не то, через кого он к ним попадает. Но и из такого положения у Киева есть выход.

В итоге ввод «Северного потока-2» в эксплуатацию нанесет существенный вред репутации Германии. Берлин получит больше издержек, чем выгод. В Европе много дешевого газа и «Газпром» уже не может диктовать европейцам цены, как раньше. Поэтому, если «Северный поток-2» будет запущен, он мало что изменит.
Использованы фотографии: gazprom.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

8 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. В итоге ввод «Северного потока-2» в эксплуатацию нанесет существенный вред репутации Германии. Берлин получит больше издержек, чем выгод. В Европе много дешевого газа и «Газпром» уже не может диктовать европейцам цены, как раньше. Поэтому, если «Северный поток-2» будет запущен, он мало что изменит.

    Какая чушь! Одно то, что в проекте, помимо России и Германии, участвуют ещё, по меньшей мере, Голландия и Франция, говорит уже о том, что ничья репутация там не пострадает.
    И потом.. откуда это утверждение:

    В Европе много дешёвого газа..

    ??? Он там от сырости взялся, что ли?
    1. Сергей Токарев (Сергей Токарев) 21 июля 2020 22:22
      -1
      • 2
      • 3
      Вы забыли про младо-недоевропейцев, у которых от русофобии рвет пуканы с обильным выделением метана... Но пока еще не научились немцы этот газ собирать и перерабатывать.
  2. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 21 июля 2020 22:35
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Мельчают итальянцы, видимо, климат в США не тот. Корлеоне делал предложения, от которых невозможно отказаться. Помпео выдвигает требования, на которые все пИлюют с высокой колокольни. winked
  3. Воин Офлайн
    Воин 21 июля 2020 23:51
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Бред..
    Значит, Украине можно получать прибыль от транспортировки российского газа, а Германии нельзя?
    Очень странно, ведь Германия тоже НЕЗАВИСИМАЯ страна и хочет иметь свою прибыль от российского газа, а это почему-то ограничивает делать Украина, которой невыгодно, что она не дополучит из-за СП-1 и СП -2 свою прибыль от российского газа?
    А как по другим вопросам Германия тоже будет учитывать интересы Украины: например, продавать свои Мерседесы другим странам, по требованию Украины, только через Украину...и т.д..
  4. cmonman Офлайн
    cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 22 июля 2020 02:39
    -3
    • 0
    • 3
    Для любознательных:

    Уже сейчас очевидно, что из-за простоя СП-2 наша страна окажется не в состоянии оперативно возместить 5 млрд евро, вложенные в создание нового газового маршрута.

    Санкциям могут быть подвергнуты международные фирмы, не только участвовавшие в прокладке труб, но и обеспечивающие страхование деятельности, связанной со строительством трубы.

    Вследствие простоя трубы российский монополист не сможет быстро «отбить» около 5 млрд евро, которые были вложены в строительство СП-2, а Европа при значительном падении спроса на энергоресурсы будет довольствоваться транзитом «голубого топлива» через Украину, либо точечными и непостоянными поставками американского СПГ.

    Ориг. статья здесь:

    https://www.mk.ru/economics/2020/07/21/izza-sankciy-ssha-severnyy-potok-2-mozhet-stat-neokupaemym.html
    1. Сергей Токарев (Сергей Токарев) 22 июля 2020 05:23
      -2
      • 0
      • 2
      США не об украх беспокоятся, а о своем газе. Гнилая труба через руину с вороватыми бабуинами недолго протянет.
    2. Ну и что там умного в статье? Одни предположения нелепее других. Всё это вилами на воде писано. СП-2 достроят, и пустят по нему газ. Вся инфраструктура для приёма российского газа у немцев уже 2 года как готова. К приёму сжиженного газа в нужных количествах, как и на связанные с этим изменения, немцы не готовы ни технически, ни финансово, ни юридически. Ввести параллельное использование американского LNG возможно, но на это понадобится время, и средства. Если это будет рентабельно, немцы на этот компромисс пойдут, но сегодня без газа из России обойтись невозможно. Так что вся эта болтовня, кроме повышения пульса у читающих, ничего вызвать не может.
  5. zz811 Офлайн
    zz811 (Vlad Pervovich) 22 июля 2020 07:22
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Главное - повесить "путинский" ярлык, это дипломат вообще?