Al-Monitor on Erdogan's adventure in the Caucasus: Turkey forgot how quickly Russia dealt with Georgia


Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, transforming the Hagia Sophia into a mosque in Istanbul, hoped to raise a powerful wave of nationalism in the country, which was supposed to show support for his chosen course. However, this did not happen, and the Turkish leader decided to get involved in an adventure in the Caucasus, writes the American edition of Al Monitor.


Experts note that Erdogan has always been a harsh and emotional politician. Therefore, his recent statements in support of Baku, against the backdrop of the outbreak of the next Armenian-Azerbaijani crisis, were for the most part made "for internal use." At the same time, Ankara is trying to influence Moscow to make concessions in Libya and Syria.

Erdogan's interference in the issues of Libya and Syria also serves his domestic political interests. But they pale against the background of Armenia and Azerbaijan, which really hurt the feelings of the residents of Turkey. There is an ethnic kinship between Turks and Azerbaijanis. While the Turks have a serious enmity with the Armenians. Therefore, any issue of the Armenian-Azerbaijani relations arouses genuine interest in Turkey.

Naturally, there can be no question of sending Turkish troops to participate in the Armenian-Azerbaijani conflict in Nagorno-Karabakh. Everything will be limited to diplomatic and political statements of varying loudness. Turkey's attack on Armenia may end in an extremely harsh reaction from the United States, where a large Armenian diaspora lives. Russia will not be silent either, since Yerevan is part of the CSTO and there is a Russian military base on the territory of Armenia.

In fact, Ankara decided to verbally challenge Moscow's right to patronize the Caucasus region. Erdogan may have forgotten how quickly Russia dealt with Georgia in 2008. Then the adventure of the Georgian leadership, which decided to attack South Ossetia, ended in disaster for Tbilisi. It was a lightning defeat, which only on the whim of the Russians did not lead to a change in political power in Georgia.

At the same time, Azerbaijan still maintains good relations with Russia and no changes are expected in this matter. The Azerbaijani diaspora in Moscow is very influential. Therefore, Russia will undoubtedly retain its position of “elder brother” in the Armenian-Azerbaijani clarification of relations.
Used photos: http://en.kremlin.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

14 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 23 July 2020 17: 54
    -4
    • 2
    • 6
    What remains is the media from the United States, only to provoke, slander and lie ... They know how and successfully do this. R. Erdogan needs help to lead the Sunni world, because today the Wahhabi Saudi Arabia is spreading terrorism under the cover of Sunni Muslim domination ...
    1. A.Lex Offline
      A.Lex (Secret information) 23 July 2020 20: 10
      +3
      • 4
      • 1
      Wahhabi? ... And whose project is the "Muslim brothers"? Isn't it Turkish? Isn't it recognized in Russia as an extremist terrorist organization? So think what you say ...
      1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 23 July 2020 21: 35
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        The Muslim Brothers cannot be fully called terrorists with the extermination of non-Muslims or other offshoots of Muslims, these are more traditional Muslims ... Everyone is fighting for power, often using weapons, like the Muslim Brothers ...
        1. Gado Offline
          Gado (Vasco) 24 July 2020 01: 59
          0
          • 1
          • 1
          The Muslim Brotherhood is a joint project of the United Kingdom and the United States, like most terrorist organizations, aimed at overthrowing legitimate governments in the Middle East. Maybe remember the First Chechen, and the second, and how many Wahhabis and other Islamist trash there fought against the Russians. And Syria? Remember how the Americans took out ISIS leaders along with their families in helicopters. And so on and so forth.
          1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 24 July 2020 11: 50
            0
            • 0
            • 0
            Don't confuse ISIS, Taliban, Muslim Brotherhood and others. They are very different in everything, they are at war among themselves ... The Muslim brothers, perhaps, were born by the Anglo-Saxons, but now under the Turkish (secular) wing. Here you have to be an expert in this matter, otherwise everyone will be piled up indiscriminately ...
  2. Digital error Offline
    Digital error (Eugene) 23 July 2020 20: 09
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    However, it is incorrect to compare Georgia with Turkey. Neither the armed forces, nor the population, nor the territories, nor the ambitions, nor the NATO membership, nor the tourist flow from the Russian Federation, nor the infrastructure projects, nor ... Here Erdogan is just right to think about something else - as if instead of "NPP Akkuyu “I’m not getting it,” I’m sitting, I’m cuckoo ... It turned out ugly with the “Turkish stream”, but there are no angels sitting in the Kremlin, they may kick up (which is just what the Chinese and Westinghouse “partners” are waiting for).
  3. boriz Online
    boriz (boriz) 23 July 2020 22: 11
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    For internal use - anti-Armenian slogans, and he himself, on the sly, economically fits into the exclave of Azerbaijan Nakhichevan. And gradually squeezes it out. As, incidentally, Georgia's Adjara.
    1. KARAKURT21 Offline
      KARAKURT21 (KARAKURT21) 24 July 2020 10: 42
      -2
      • 0
      • 2
      And where did you get in and what did you squeeze out - forget? Will remember soon))
      1. boriz Online
        boriz (boriz) 24 July 2020 16: 26
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        The reminder did not grow.
        And we still have a lot of things to return back.
        1. The comment was deleted.
        2. KARAKURT21 Offline
          KARAKURT21 (KARAKURT21) 30 July 2020 09: 29
          -1
          • 0
          • 1
          It's time to return. And then to the whole world in debt. Start from Japan and so on to the Caucasus. And you will soon see the reminder from close range!
  4. shinobi Offline
    shinobi (Yuri) 24 July 2020 08: 04
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Collapsed the neck of the Sultan, oh rolled. Too many have become uncomfortable.
    1. Bulanov Offline
      Bulanov (Vladimir) 24 July 2020 08: 51
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      How is Gaddafi?
      1. KARAKURT21 Offline
        KARAKURT21 (KARAKURT21) 24 July 2020 10: 44
        -1
        • 0
        • 1
        Which Gaddafi? You do not confuse the Turks with the Arabs wink
    2. KARAKURT21 Offline
      KARAKURT21 (KARAKURT21) 24 July 2020 10: 43
      -1
      • 0
      • 1
      In Khabarovsk, the opposite is noticeable!

Al-Monitor об авантюре Эрдогана на Кавказе: Турция забыла, как быстро Россия разобралась с Грузией


Президент Турции Реджеп Тайип Эрдоган, превращая в Стамбуле собор Святой Софии в мечеть, надеялся на поднятие мощной волны национализма в стране, которая должна была засвидетельствовать поддержку выбранного им курса. Однако этого не произошло, и турецкий лидер решил ввязаться в авантюру на Кавказе, пишет американское издание Al Monitor.


Эксперты отмечают, что Эрдоган всегда был резким и эмоциональным политиком. Поэтому его недавние заявления в поддержку Баку, на фоне начавшегося очередного армяно-азербайджанского кризиса, по большей части сделанные «для внутреннего употребления». Одновременно с этим, Анкара пытается оказать воздействие на Москву, чтобы та пошла на уступки в Ливии и Сирии.

Вмешательство Эрдогана в вопросы Ливии и Сирии также служат его внутриполитическим интересам. Но они меркнут на фоне Армении и Азербайджана, которые реально задевают чувства жителей Турции. Между турками и азербайджанцами присутствует этническое родство. В то время как с армянами у турков серьезная вражда. Поэтому любой вопрос армяно-азербайджанских отношений вызывает неподдельный интерес в Турции.

Естественно, ни о какой отправке турецких войск для участия в армяно-азербайджанском конфликте в Нагорном-Карабахе не может быть и речи. Все ограничится дипломатическими и политическими заявлениями разной степени громкости. Нападение Турции на Армению может закончиться крайне суровой реакцией США, где проживает большая армянская диаспора. Россия тоже молчать не будет, поскольку Ереван входит в ОДКБ и на территории Армении находится российская военная база.

Фактически, Анкара решила на словах оспорить права Москвы на патронаж кавказского региона. Возможно, Эрдоган забыл, как быстро Россия разобралась с Грузией в 2008 году. Тогда авантюра грузинского руководства, решившего напасть на Южную Осетию, плачевно закончилась для Тбилиси. Это было молниеносное поражение, которое лишь из прихоти россиян не привело к изменению политической власти в Грузии.

При этом Азербайджан по-прежнему сохраняет хорошие отношения с Россией и изменений в этом вопросе не предвидится. Азербайджанская диаспора в Москве очень влиятельная. Поэтому Россия без сомнений сохранит позицию «старшего брата» в армянско-азербайджанском выяснении отношений.
Использованы фотографии: http://en.kremlin.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

14 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 23 июля 2020 17:54
    -4
    • 2
    • 6
    Что остаётся СМИ из США, только провоцировать, клеветать и лгать...Это они умеют и успешно делают. Вот Р. Эрдогану необходимо помочь возглавить суннитский мир, ибо на сегодня ваххабитская Саудийская Аравия распространяет терроризм под покровом суннитского мусульманского главенствования...
    1. A.Lex Офлайн
      A.Lex (Секретная информация) 23 июля 2020 20:10
      +3
      • 4
      • 1
      Ваххабитская? ...А "братья мусульмане" чей проект? Уж не турецкий ли? А не она ли в России признана экстремистской террористической организацией? Так что думайте, что говорите...
      1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 23 июля 2020 21:35
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        Братья мусульмане террористами с истреблением немусульман или других ответвлений мусульман по полной назвать нельзя, это уже более традиционные мусульмане... За власть борются все, часто применяя оружие, как и Братья Мусульмане...
        1. Gado Офлайн
          Gado (Васко) 24 июля 2020 01:59
          0
          • 1
          • 1
          "Братья-мусульмане" - совместный проект Великобритании и США, как и большинство террористических организаций, направленных на свержение законных правительств на Ближнем Востоке. Может, вспомните Первую чеченскую, да и вторую, и сколько там ваххабитов и прочей исламисткой швали воевало против русских. А Сирия? Вспомните как американцы на вертолетах вывозили главарей ИГИЛ вместе с семьями. И так далее, и тому подобное.
          1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 24 июля 2020 11:50
            0
            • 0
            • 0
            Не путайте ИГИЛ, Талибан, Братьев мусульман и прочих. Они очень разнятся по всему, между собой воюют... Братья мусульмане, возможно, и рождены англосаксами, но сейчас под турецким (светским) крылом. Тут надо быть специалистом в этом вопросе, иначе все в кучу сгребаются без разбору...
  2. DigitalError Онлайн
    DigitalError (Евгений) 23 июля 2020 20:09
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Однако некорректно Грузию с Турцией сравнивать. Ни по вооруженным силам, ни по населению, ни по территориям, ни по амбициям, ни по членству в НАТО, ни по турпотоку из РФ, ни по инфраструктурным проектам, ни... Здесь Эрдогану впору о другом задуматься - как бы вместо "АЭС Аккую" не получить "сижу, кукую"... С "турецким потоком" некрасиво получилось, а в Кремле не ангелы сидят, могут и взбрыкнуть (чего только и ждут китайские и вестингаузовские "партнеры").
  3. boriz Онлайн
    boriz (boriz) 23 июля 2020 22:11
    +2
    • 3
    • 1
    Для внутреннего употребления - антиармянские лозунги, а сам, потихонечку, экономически влезает в эксклав Азербайджана Нахичевань. И постепенно его отжимает. Как, впрочем, Аджарию у Грузии.
    1. KARAKURT21 Офлайн
      KARAKURT21 (KARAKURT21) 24 июля 2020 10:42
      -2
      • 0
      • 2
      А куда вы влезли и что вы отжали - забыл? Припомнят скоро))
      1. boriz Онлайн
        boriz (boriz) 24 июля 2020 16:26
        +1
        • 2
        • 1
        Припоминалка не выросла.
        А нам ещё много чего своего назад возвращать.
        1. Комментарий был удален.
        2. KARAKURT21 Офлайн
          KARAKURT21 (KARAKURT21) 30 июля 2020 09:29
          -1
          • 0
          • 1
          Возвращать уже пора. А то перед всем миром в долгу. Начинайте с Японии и так до Кавказа. А припоминалку скоро разглядишь с близкого расстояния!
  4. синоби Офлайн
    синоби (Юрий) 24 июля 2020 08:04
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Свернут шею султану, ой свернут. Слишком многим стал неудобен.
    1. Буланов Офлайн
      Буланов (Владимир) 24 июля 2020 08:51
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Как Каддафи?
      1. KARAKURT21 Офлайн
        KARAKURT21 (KARAKURT21) 24 июля 2020 10:44
        -1
        • 0
        • 1
        Какой Каддафи? Вы турков с арабами не путайте wink
    2. KARAKURT21 Офлайн
      KARAKURT21 (KARAKURT21) 24 июля 2020 10:43
      -1
      • 0
      • 1
      По Хабаровску заметно совершенно обратное!