Bloomberg: How Russia is cashing in on melting permafrost


Just south of the Arctic tundra, on the vast plains that cover much of northern Russia, the soybean business is gaining momentum. Bloomberg tells about how the Russian Federation uses the opportunities that open up when the permafrost melts.


Soybean plantations are the result of years of rising global temperatures, thawing permafrost and transforming the land into fertile soil. Soybeans in Russia reflect a global trend - thanks to the warm weather, such crops can now be planted in such high latitudes as never before. In the US, North Dakota has emerged as a major corn producer, and the UK is seeing rapid growth in grape production.

In Russia, farmers took advantage of the opportunity to grow high-yielding soybeans. Oilseeds are processed into livestock feed, and the demand for them has grown strongly against the backdrop of a boom in livestock development. About 1 million metric tons of soybeans are still imported into the Russian Federation, and now nature provides Russian farmers with very favorable opportunities for import substitution.

In 2019, soybean plantings occupied about 1,1 million hectares of territory in the central part of Russia, which is 18 times more than in the last decade - this is about 7% of the total arable land in this part of the Russian Federation.

Russia needs more soybeans, and with economic point of view, it is better to grow them domestically

- said Sergey Zelentsov, head of the soybean department at the All-Russian Research Institute of Oilseeds "Pustovoit".

According to Margarita Fadeeva, a soybean breeder at the Chuvash Agricultural Research Institute, the newest varieties of northern soybeans can grow long enough at a temperature of + 10 degrees Celsius. In northern latitudes, they need about 100 days of favorable weather to mature.

According to the Russian government, crop yields have doubled over the past decade and production nearly quadrupled. According to Sergei Zelentsov, the expansion of soybean plantings in the northern regions may continue, and he is ready to conduct more daring research in this area. His institute collaborated with Siberian scientists to develop a bean variety capable of germinating under the topsoil in two-meter permafrost.
  • Photos used: https://pxhere.com/
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. 123 Online 123
    123 (123) 24 July 2020 14: 55
    +3
    In the US, North Dakota has emerged as a major corn producer, and the UK is seeing rapid growth in grape production.

    Are the Russians cashing in on the warming? Crystal-clear analytics and not an ounce of propaganda. sad Just impartiality and objectivity itself. laughing
    Interestingly, Chuvash breeders are aware that they have permafrost? Somehow I didn't see her there. request
  2. Yuri 17 Offline Yuri 17
    Yuri 17 (Yuri) 24 July 2020 22: 37
    0
    You can also grow mushrooms on the ice of the Arctic.
  3. And corn, my dear fellows, plant corn in the Arctic!

Bloomberg: Как в России наживаются на таянии вечной мерзлоты


Чуть южнее арктической тундры на обширных равнинах, покрывающих большую часть севера России, набирает обороты бизнес по выращиванию сои. О том, как РФ использует возможности, открывающиеся при таянии вечной мерзлоты, рассказывает издание Bloomberg.


Плантации сои – результат многолетнего роста глобальных температур, оттаивающих вечную мерзлоту и превращающих землю в плодородную почву. Соевые бобы в России отражают мировую тенденцию – благодаря теплой погоде, сажать подобные агрокультуры можно теперь в столь высоких широтах, как никогда ранее. В США Северная Дакота превратилась в крупного производителя кукурузы, а в Великобритании наблюдается быстрый рост производства винограда.

В России фермеры воспользовались возможностью выращивать высокоурожайные соевые бобы. Семена масличных культур перерабатываются в корм для скота, и спрос на них сильно вырос на фоне бума развития животноводства. В РФ все еще ввозится около 1 миллиона метрических тонн сои, и сейчас природа предоставляет российским аграриям весьма благоприятные возможности для импортозамещения.

В 2019 году посадки соевых бобов заняли около 1,1 млн га территории в центральной части России, что в 18 раз больше, чем за последнее десятилетие – это составляет около 7% от общей площади пахотных земель в этой части РФ.

России нужно больше соевых бобов, и с экономической точки зрения их лучше выращивать внутри страны

– отметил Сергей Зеленцов, возглавляющий отдел сои во Всероссийском научно-исследовательском институте масличных культур «Пустовойт».

По словам Маргариты Фадеевой, селекционера по выращиванию сои в Чувашском сельскохозяйственном научно-исследовательском институте, новейшие сорта северных соевых бобов могут достаточно долго расти при температуре плюс 10 градусов Цельсия. В северных широтах им требуется около 100 дней благоприятной погоды для созревания.

По данным российского правительства, за последнее десятилетие урожайность сельскохозяйственных культур выросла вдвое, а объем производства – почти в четыре раза. По мнению Сергея Зеленцова, экспансия соевых посадок в северные регионы может продолжаться, и он готов проводить более смелые исследования в этой области. Его институт сотрудничал с сибирскими учеными в разработке сорта бобов, способных прорастать под верхним слоем почвы при двухметровой вечной мерзлоте.
Использованы фотографии: https://pxhere.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. 123 Онлайн
    123 (123) 24 июля 2020 14:55
    +3
    • 6
    • 3
    В США Северная Дакота превратилась в крупного производителя кукурузы, а в Великобритании наблюдается быстрый рост производства винограда.

    А наживаются на потеплении русские? Кристально чистая аналитика и ни грамма пропаганды. sad Просто сама беспристрастность и объективность. laughing
    Интересно, чувашские селекционеры в курсе, что у них вечная мерзлота? Что-то я ее там не видел. request
  2. Юрий 17 Офлайн
    Юрий 17 (Юрий) 24 июля 2020 22:37
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    А еще можно на льдах Арктики выращивать грибы.
  3. И кукурузу, батеньки вы мои, кукурузку в Заполярье посадите!