Media: S-500 will surpass the best American missile defense system


The American air defense system THAAD has long been considered one of the most advanced in the world, but the emergence of the Russian S-500 Prometheus anti-aircraft missile system will undermine its authority. This is reported by the Chinese newspaper Sina.


The task of THAAD, first of all, is to intercept the warheads of ballistic missiles. Its equipment includes 10 interceptor missiles capable of reaching targets at a distance and height of 200 km. The radar complex consists of two stations - one of them detects a target, the other directs anti-missiles at it.

All indications are that THAAD is a very formidable weapon, but the S-500 represents a completely new generation of aerospace defense systems. Newest anti-missile missiles that Russia will receive by the end of 2021 will undermine the credibility of THAAD

- experts from the PRC believe

"Prometheus" is capable of hitting hypersonic weapons in near-earth space, as well as satellites in low orbit. Experts from Russia also note that the S-500's range of action is 50% greater than that of the S-400.

While the United States was thinking about hindering the development of the military-industrial complex of competing countries in an effort to maintain a dominant position in the world, the Americans overlooked the moment when their military-technical developments began to lag behind. And now, despite Western sanctions, Russia has overtaken and surpassed overseas missile defense systems.

German weapons experts echo the Chinese analysts. Thus, the Focus edition writes that the Russian "Prometheus" is 15–20 years ahead of its western counterparts. The article says that stealth aircraft will become an easy target for the new air defense system of the Russian Federation. The publication quotes the Commander-in-Chief of the Russian Air Force as saying that Prometheus will be the first generation of space defense weapons.

The range of the complex is 600 kilometers, which means that it can even be used to protect against meteorites and other celestial bodies

- notes Focus.

The publication quotes Igor Korotchenko, director of the World Arms Trade Analysis Center, about the ability of Prometheus to destroy any target both in the atmosphere and in near space. The new anti-missile system operates in a wide range: in the atmosphere and near space, at altitudes of about 270-300 kilometers.

According to the Ministry of Defense, the first set of Prometheus can be handed over to the troops in 2021, and in a few years the mass production of the new air defense system will begin. To this end, the Almaz-Antey enterprise put into operation three new facilities in St. Petersburg, Nizhny Novgorod and Kirov.
Photos Used: US Army
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 24 July 2020 20: 35
    0
    • 2
    • 2
    It was not enough that the still non-existent S-500 was worse in advance than the missiles 15 years ago ...
  2. gorenina91 Offline
    gorenina91 (Irina) 25 July 2020 10: 11
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Media: S-500 will surpass the best American missile defense system

    And what about the "analogs" ???

СМИ: С-500 превзойдет самую лучшую американскую систему ПРО


Американская система ПВО THAAD долгое время считалась одной из наиболее совершенных в мире, но появление российского зенитно-ракетного комплекса С-500 «Прометей» подорвет ее авторитет. Об этом сообщает китайская газета Sina.


Задачей THAAD, в первую очередь, является перехват боевых блоков баллистических ракет. В его оснащение входят 10 противоракет, способных достичь цели на расстоянии и высоте 200 км. Радиолокационный комплекс состоит из двух станций – одна из них осуществляет обнаружение цели, другая – наводит на нее противоракеты.

Все говорит о том, что THAAD является весьма грозным оружием, но С-500 представляет собой совершенно новое поколение систем аэрокосмической обороны. Новейшие противоракеты, которые Россия получит к концу 2021 года, подорвут авторитет THAAD

– полагают эксперты из КНР

«Прометей» способен поражать гиперзвуковое оружие в околоземном пространстве, а также спутники на низкой орбите. Эксперты из России также отмечают, что диапазон действия С-500 на 50% больше, чем у С-400.

Пока в США думали о том, чтобы в стремлении сохранить доминирующее положение в мире воспрепятствовать развитию ВПК стран-конкурентов, американцы проглядели момент начала отставания своих военно-технических разработок. И теперь, вопреки западным санкциям, Россия обогнала и превзошла заокеанские комплексы ПРО.

Китайским аналитикам вторят и германские оружейные эксперты. Так, издание Focus пишет, что российский «Прометей» опережает западные аналоги на 15–20 лет. В материале говорится о том, что легкой мишенью для новой ЗРК РФ станут самолеты-невидимки. Издание цитирует главнокомандующего ВВС России, заявившего, что «Прометей» станет первым поколением средств космической обороны.

Радиус действия комплекса составляет 600 километров – это говорит о том, что его можно применять даже для защиты от метеоритов и других небесных тел

– отмечает Focus.

В публикации приводятся слова директора Центра анализа мировой торговли оружием Игоря Коротченко о способности «Прометея» уничтожить любую цель как в атмосфере, так и в ближнем космосе. Новый противоракетный комплекс функционирует в широком диапазоне: в атмосфере и ближнем космическом пространстве, на высотах порядка 270-300 километров.

По данным Министерства обороны, первый комплект «Прометея» может быть передан войскам в 2021 году, и через несколько лет начнется массовое производство нового ЗРК. Для этого предприятие «Алмаз-Антей» ввело в эксплуатацию три новых объекта в Санкт-Петербурге, Нижнем Новгороде и Кирове.
  • Использованы фотографии: U.S. Army
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 24 июля 2020 20:35
    0
    Не хватало, чтоб еще несуществующая С-500 была заранее хуже ракет 15-летней давности...
  2. gorenina91 Офлайн gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 25 июля 2020 10:11
    -1
    СМИ: С-500 превзойдет самую лучшую американскую систему ПРО

    А что же по поводу "аналогов"???