Foreign Policy: Why Wagner PMC Engaged in Charity


The so-called "Wagner Group" has long been able to find opportunities in chaos. Since the PMC first appeared on the battlefields in eastern Ukraine in 2014, it has become an effective tool for Russia to interfere in the affairs of various countries and is associated with such actions as influencing elections, gold mining and military operations at the forefront of the struggle for the interests of the Kremlin. Now PMC Wagner is helping victims of the coronavirus. Foreign Policy experts tried to answer the question of why Russian mercenaries were involved in charity work.


Like other similar units (such as Hebzollah), the Wagnerites, using a publicity stunt as humanitarian aid to vulnerable states, are trying to whitewash themselves and give weight to their presence in these regions.

- FP experts believe.

In April, a Russian security contractor associated with PMC Wagner, Euro Polis, delivered 50 ventilators, 10000 COVID-19 testing kits and 2000 protective clothing to Syria. This was reported in the Syrian state media, as well as the website of the Russian embassy.

We are a socially oriented company that supports the local population

- stressed the representative of "Euro Policy" Ildar Zaripov at a press conference, which was also attended by the Russian Ambassador to Syria Alexander Efimov.

Russian medical equipment is supplied not only to Syria. A spokesman for the US Department of Defense told Foreign Policy that the Russian Federation has sent medical aid, including test kits, personnel and medical supplies, to Algeria, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Sudan and Guinea. In the early days of the pandemic, Russia helped several countries, including the United States, in what could be viewed as PR for Moscow.

They are trying to show themselves as a committed African development partner who is in no way associated with aggressive tradeeconomic plans of the United States and China. If the Wagnerites want to improve their image in this way, it means that it is very badly tarnished.

- expressed his opinion Jack Margolin - program director of the non-profit Center for Advanced Study in US Defense.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. 123 Offline
    123 (123) 24 July 2020 19: 47
    +7
    • 7
    • 0
    This propaganda has become so boring that it causes persistent rejection, on the verge of a gag reflex.
    It remains only to sympathize with the English-speaking readers.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 24 July 2020 20: 39
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    No, haven't heard of this ...
  3. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline
    Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 24 July 2020 21: 47
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Mnogostanochniki. There are more "hundred thousand" in Syria, "hundreds of thousand" in Libya, in the Donbas there are more Wagnerians than all armored-hoofed Buryats and the Armed Forces of Ukraine put together ...

Foreign Policy: Зачем ЧВК Вагнера занялась благотворительностью


Так называемая «Группа Вагнера» давно умеет находить возможности в условиях хаоса. С тех пор как эта ЧВК впервые появилась на полях сражений на востоке Украины в 2014 году, она стала эффективным орудием России по вмешательству в дела разных стран и связана с такими действиями, как влияние на выборы, добыча золота и боевые операции на переднем крае борьбы за интересы Кремля. Теперь ЧВК Вагнера помогает пострадавшим от коронавируса. Эксперты Foreign Policy попытались ответить на вопрос о том, зачем русские наемники занялись благотворительностью.


Подобно другим подобным отрядам (типа Хебзоллы), «вагнеровцы», используя рекламный трюк в качестве гуманитарной помощи уязвимым государствам, пытаются «обелить» себя и придать веса своему присутствию в этих регионах

– полагают эксперты FP.

В апреле связанный с ЧВК Вагнера российский подрядчик по безопасности, компания «Евро Полис» доставила в Сирию 50 аппаратов ИВЛ, 10000 наборов для тестирования на COVID-19 и 2000 предметов защитной одежды. Об этом сообщали в сирийских государственных СМИ, а также сайт посольства России.

Мы – социально ориентированная компания, оказывающая поддержку местному населению

– подчеркнул представитель «Евро Полис» Ильдар Зарипов на пресс-конференции, в которой также принял участие посол России в Сирии Александр Ефимов.

Российское медицинское оборудование поступает не только в Сирию. Представитель Министерства обороны США сообщил Foreign Policy, что РФ отправляла медпомощь, включая наборы для тестирования, персонал и медикаменты, в Алжир, Демократическую Республику Конго, Египет, Судан и Гвинею. В первые дни пандемии Россия помогала нескольким странам, включая Соединенные Штаты, что можно было расценивать как пиар для Москвы.

Они пытаются показать себя в качестве партнера, приверженного делу развития Африки, который никоим образом не связан с агрессивными торгово-экономическими планами США и Китая. Если «вагнеровцы» хотят таким образом улучшить свой имидж, это говорит о том, что он весьма сильно запятнан

– высказал свое мнение Джек Марголин – директор программы некоммерческого Центра перспективных исследований в области обороны США.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 24 июля 2020 19:47
    +7
    • 7
    • 0
    Эта пропаганда настолько приелась, что вызывает стойкое отторжение, на грани рвотного рефлекса.
    Остается только посочувствовать англоязычным читателям.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 24 июля 2020 20:39
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Не, не слышали о таком...
  3. Оё Сарказми Офлайн
    Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 24 июля 2020 21:47
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Многостаночники. "Стотыщщщчъ" в Сирии, "стопицот тыщщщчъ" в Ливии, на Донбассе вагнеровцев больше, чем всех бронекопытных бурят и ВСУ, вместе взятых...