NI: Why did the USSR decided to arm an aircraft carrier with P-700 "Granit" missiles


Once the Russian heavy aircraft-carrying cruiser of project 1143.5 "Admiral of the Soviet Union Fleet Kuznetsov" had a cunning "up his sleeve", because under the USSR, such ships were armed with powerful anti-ship missiles P-700 "Granit", writes the American conservative magazine National Interest.


Twelve vertical launchers are still under its deck. However, in the early 2000s, Russians stopped using them. This ship is a reminder of how Moscow approached political issues and war at sea. Today TAVKR "Admiral Kuznetsov" is the only aircraft-carrying ship in the world that can be in the Black Sea according to the Montreux convention. The passage of the Black Sea Straits (Bosphorus and Dardanelles) by "clean" aircraft carriers is prohibited, but this ship is considered an "aircraft carrier".

Moscow's military doctrine until 1962 provided for war at sea, land and air on the periphery of the USSR, as well as nuclear deterrence. Moscow was not going to fight in more distant seas and spaces, but the Cuban missile crisis changed everything.


As a result, the USSR acquired two classes of aircraft carriers, which received missile armament and, unlike their “colleagues” from Western countries, could stand up for themselves on their own. Soviet aircraft carriers were defensively self-sufficient.

The aircraft carriers of the Western countries were and remain an exclusively offensive type of weapons. They cannot stand up for themselves. Therefore, they are accompanied by a whole flotilla of ships and vessels, which provides them with versatile cover.

Soviet TAVKR could be far from their bases. Their main task was to intercept the enemy's AUG and destroy or permanently incapacitate his aircraft carrier. US and NATO aircraft carriers were not supposed to reach the shores of the USSR. First-class "Granites" were the most suitable for this task. Now Russia is modernizing the "Admiral Kuznetsov" and there is a high probability that anti-ship missiles will appear under its deck again, only even more powerful.
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 28 July 2020 12: 03
    -4
    The Russian progressive journal National Interest is right.
    Weapon of last chance. Since, due to the small number, they made small series and combined the capabilities of the classes of ships.
    1. Lawyer Offline Lawyer
      Lawyer (Olaf) 30 July 2020 07: 13
      -1
      This is not a Russian magazine.
      It is a foreign yellow magazine published for the reporting of the Russian embassy in Washington with the money of a Russian taxpayer by editors - retired state security.
      At the same Soviet level.
  2. Lawyer Offline Lawyer
    Lawyer (Olaf) 30 July 2020 07: 10
    -1
    The possibility is even greater that all those remnants of Uncle Sam's sumptuous dinner will go to open-hearth furnaces.
    Following the armadas of tanks, to which Russia has already given its last pants.
    Well, apparently, they got rich, again ran to OrMag for an ax for a sworn neighbor.
    The most important thing a country needs today is to show its flag in the oceans.
    Even if it is in tow. :)))
  3. Vladimir kaperang 16 September 2020 06: 04
    +1
    The usual journalistic nonsense with a bunch of fundamental mistakes. This is for American aircraft carriers. The Montreux Convention prohibits entry into the Black Sea, but not because an "aircraft carrier" (this type of ship is already in two classes in the convention), but because the agreement contains a limit of 45 thousand tons, and the American is twice as thick. Ships of any type, class, displacement of those states whose coastline goes into the Black Sea basin are not subject to the restrictions of the convention. About missiles. In his memoirs, one of the chief engineers of the Soviet aircraft carrier Arkady Borisovich Morin recalls not only why it was forbidden to call the aircraft carrier project an "aircraft carrier" (because the word "aircraft carrier" in Soviet propaganda was firmly associated with the slogan in different versions: "aircraft carrier is a club world imperialism "), but also how, being the deputy of the TAKR Group of Companies, the engineers proved to the admirals that the TAKR deck should be strengthened in order to accommodate heavier and more powerful aviation, to which the admirals reasoned in their own way: when we will have such an aircraft is unknown, but missiles are already there, and stick them in. They stuck missiles instead of aviation. Later, in the 1990s, Doctor of Military Sciences Konstantin Valentinovich Sivkov conducted the first studies of the combat capabilities of ships using special programs for computer simulation of combat operations, which showed the combat effectiveness coefficient in a non-nuclear conflict for an American aircraft carrier 35 conventional units, and for the Russian Kuznetsov - 29. This is a payback for thick missiles, a thin deck and the absence of heavy attack carrier aircraft.

NI: Почему СССР решил вооружить авианосец ракетами П-700 «Гранит»


Когда-то российский тяжелый авианесущий крейсер проекта 1143.5 «Адмирал Флота Советского Союза Кузнецов» имел хитрость «в рукаве», ведь при СССР подобные корабли вооружались мощными противокорабельными ракетами П-700 «Гранит», пишет американский консервативный журнал National Interest.


Двенадцать вертикальных ПУ до сих пор находятся под его палубой. Однако в начале 2000-х годов россияне перестали ими пользоваться. Этот корабль является напоминанием того, как Москва подходила к политическим вопросам и к войне на море. Сегодня ТАВКР «Адмирал Кузнецов» является единственным авианесущим кораблем в мире, который может находиться в Черном море согласно конвенции Монтрё. Проход Черноморских проливов (Босфор и Дарданеллы) «чистыми» авианосцами запрещен, но этот корабль считается «авианесущим крейсером».

Военная доктрина Москвы до 1962 года предусматривала войну на море, суше и в воздухе на периферии СССР, а также ядерное сдерживание. Москва не собиралась воевать в более отдаленных морях и пространствах, но Карибский кризис все изменил.


В результате СССР обзавелся двумя классами авианосцев, которые получили ракетное вооружение и, в отличие от «коллег» из стран Запада, могли за себя постоять самостоятельно. Советские авианосцы были самодостаточными в оборонительном плане.

Авианосцы стран Запада были и остаются исключительно наступательным видом вооружений. Они не могут за себя постоять. Поэтому их сопровождает целая флотилия кораблей и судов, которая обеспечивает им разностороннее прикрытие.

Советские ТАВКР могли находиться далеко от своих баз. Главной их задачей было осуществление перехвата АУГ противника и уничтожение или долговременное выведение из строя его авианесущего звена. Авианосцы США и стран НАТО не должны были достигнуть берегов СССР. Для выполнения этой задачи больше всего подходили первоклассные «Граниты». Теперь Россия проводит модернизацию «Адмирала Кузнецова» и есть высокая вероятность того, что под его палубой вновь появятся противокорабельные ракеты, только еще более мощные.
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 28 июля 2020 12:03
    -4
    Прав Русский прогрессивный журнал National Interest.
    Оружие последнего шанса. Так как из-за малого количества - делали малые серии и совмещали возможности классов кораблей.
    1. Юриспрудент Офлайн Юриспрудент
      Юриспрудент (Олаф) 30 июля 2020 07:13
      -1
      Это не русский журнал.
      Это иностранный желтый журнал, издающийся для отчетности русского посольства в Вашингтоне на деньги русского налогоплательщика редакторами - отставниками госбезопасности.
      На том же советском уровне.
  2. Юриспрудент Офлайн Юриспрудент
    Юриспрудент (Олаф) 30 июля 2020 07:10
    -1
    Еще больше возможность того, что все эти остатки роскошного обеда для дяди Сэма отправятся в мартены.
    Следом за армадами танков, на которые Россия уже однажды отдала свои последние штаны.
    Ну, видно, разбогатели, опять побежали в ОрМаг за топором для заклятого соседа.
    Самое необходимое стране сегодня - показать свой флаг в океанах.
    Даже пусть и на буксире.:)))
  3. Владимир каперанг 16 сентября 2020 06:04
    +1
    Обычная журналистская чушь с кучей принципиальных ошибок. Это американским авианосцам Конвенция Монтрё запрещает заходить в Чёрное море, но не потому что "авианосец" (этот тип корабля в конвенции присутствует аж в двух классах), а потому что в договоре ограничение на 45 тысяч тонн, а американец вдвое толще. Корабли любых типов, классов, водоизмещения тех государств, побережье которые выходят в бассейн Чёрного моря, под ограничения конвенции не подпадают. Насчёт ракет. В своих мемуарах один из главных инженеров советских ТАКР Аркадий Борисович Морин вспоминает не только о том, почему проект авианесущего корабля было запрещено называть "авианосцем" (потому что слово "авианосец" в советской пропаганде прочно ассоциировалось с лозунгом в разных вариантах: "авианосец - дубинка мирового империализма"), но и как, будучи заместителем ГК ТАКР, инженеры доказывали адмиралам, что палубу ТАКР надо усиливать в расчёте на размещение более тяжёлой и мощной авиации, на что адмиралы рассудили по своему: когда у нас появится такая авиация неизвестно, а вот ракеты уже есть, их и воткните. Воткнули ракеты вместо авиации. Позднее, уже в 1990-е годы доктор военных наук Константин Валентинович Сивков проводил первые исследования боевых возможностей кораблей по специальным программам компьютерного моделирования боевых действий, которые показали коэффициент боевой эффективности в неядерном конфликте для американского авианосца 35 условных единиц, а для российского "Кузнецова" - 29. Это расплата за толстые ракеты, худую палубу и отсутствие тяжёлой ударной палубной авиации.