American underwater robot covered almost 23 thousand kilometers


The American underwater robot covered a distance of 22 km, making a circular journey across the Atlantic. It is reported that the mission that ended the day before lasted more than 744 years and consisted of several stages.


The uninhabited autonomous vehicle Slocum G2 Glider was created by Teledyne Webb Research. The underwater robot made its first "swim" from Iceland to the Canary Islands back in 2011. Then, in 2016, he underwent a modernization, receiving more capacious batteries, and went on a circular journey across the Atlantic Ocean.

The main difference between the brainchild of the American company and other underwater robots is that instead of propellers, it uses the energy of waves and changes in its own buoyancy to move. The Solcum G2 Glider measures 1,8 meters in length, 0,5 meters in diameter, and a glider wingspan of 1 meter. At the same time, the device is made of carbon fiber and weighs only 55 kilograms. Communication with the operator is maintained thanks to the Iridium satellite terminal and an acoustic modem.

The robot's Atlantic mission consisted of four stages, between which the device underwent cleaning and battery replacement. During the long-distance swim, the Solcum G2 Glider collected data on the state of currents and the aquatic environment, and also tested various control algorithms.

It should be noted that such long-term missions are extremely important in the process of creating underwater robots. They allow you to check the navigation equipment and on-board systems of the vehicle in real conditions.
  • Photos used: http://www.teledynemarine.com/
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF 28 July 2020 19: 18
    -1
    Soon in the ocean soulless glands will be more terrible than sharks ... and we do all this with care for humans ...
    1. Lawyer Offline Lawyer
      Lawyer (Olaf) 30 July 2020 08: 11
      +1
      Expected.
      If the Russian Federation is building an intercontinental torpedo designed by Sakharov with a bronze propeller and pure iron, then surely the States will not respond with a silent plastic assassin from the Future, which the Great Leader from the Kremlin revealed to us all?
      If they spent their oil money on peaceful affairs, tomorrow the entire Baltic region would go to the Customs Union, and not to NATO, and even half of the former Warsaw blocs.
      And so that you sow, you reap.

Американский подводный робот преодолел почти 23 тыс. километров


Американский подводный робот преодолел расстояние 22 744 км, совершив круговое путешествие по Атлантике. Сообщается, что завершившаяся накануне миссия длилась более 4-х лет и состояла из нескольких этапов.


Необитаемый автономный аппарат Slocum G2 Glider создан компанией Teledyne Webb Research. Свой первый «заплыв» из Исландии на Канарские острова подводный робот совершил еще в 2011 году. Затем в 2016-ом он прошел модернизацию, получив более емкие аккумуляторы, и отправился в круговое путешествие по Атлантическому океану.

Главное отличие детища американской компании от других подводных роботов заключается в том, что для движения вместо винтов он использует энергию волн и изменение собственной плавучести. Длина Solcum G2 Glider составляет 1,8 метра, диаметр – 0,5 мера, а размах крыла глайдера – 1 метр. При этом аппарат выполнен из углепластика и весит всего 55 килограммов. Связь с оператором поддерживается благодаря спутниковому терминалу Iridium и акустическому модему.

Атлантическая миссия робота состояла из четырех этапов, между которыми аппарат проходил чистку и замену батарей. Во время дальнего заплыва Solcum G2 Glider собирал данные о состоянии течений и водной среды, а также тестировал различные алгоритмы управления.

Стоит отметить, что подобные длительные миссии крайне важны в процессе создания подводных роботов. Они позволяют в реальных условиях проверить навигационное оборудование и бортовые системы аппарата.
Использованы фотографии: http://www.teledynemarine.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. GRF Офлайн
    GRF 28 июля 2020 19:18
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Скоро в океане бездушные железки будут страшнее акул... и творим все это с заботой о человеке...
    1. Юриспрудент Офлайн
      Юриспрудент (Олаф) 30 июля 2020 08:11
      +1
      • 3
      • 2
      Ожидаемо.
      Если РФ строит межконтинентальную торпеду по проекту Сахарова с бронзовым винтом и из чистого железа, то неужто Штаты не ответят бесшумной пластиковой убийцей из Будущего, которое нам всем открыл Великий Вождь из Кремля?
      Тратили бы свои нефтяные деньги на мирные дела, так завтра вся Прибалтика в Таможенный союз бы побежала, а не в НАТО, да еще и половина бывших варшавских блоков.
      А так что сеете - то и пожнете.