Project Proteus: a huge laboratory will appear at the bottom of the oceans


The grandson of the legendary oceanologist Jacques Yves Cousteau intends to build the world's largest underwater research laboratory to study the depths of the sea. The Proteus project, which Fabien Cousteau is currently working on together with designer Yves Béhar, implies the creation of a futuristic complex capable of diving to a depth of more than 100 meters.


The two-story underwater "analogue of the ISS" will have a spiral design and will be able to adapt to any seabed landscape. The main module of the research center will be combined with a range of oval capsules serving as laboratories, warehouses, medical compartments, life support systems and recreation areas.

The sources of power for "Proteus" will be used: wind, sun and converted thermal energy of the ocean. The lower (largest) section of the station will house the world's first underwater vegetable garden and survey equipment. There is also a hatch for docking with bathyscaphes.

If the scientist succeeds in implementing an ambitious project, Proteus will carry out its first mission off the coast of the island of Curacao (Caribbean Sea). The device is planned to be submerged to a depth of 17 meters.

Fabien Cousteau promises to make the station accessible to divers and organize an online broadcast so that his research becomes available to everyone.
  • Used photos: fuseproject.com
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 29 July 2020 11: 37
    +2
    Well done Cousteau, a great project! It would not hurt the Russian money-bags to take an example from him, instead of buying expensive yachts for themselves. Only which of the Russian billionaires can decide on this? Are they really weak? And it would be nice to start such construction somewhere in the Kuril Islands. At the same time, new technologies would appear, and the Far East would become more attractive to Russians. And for this you can get a state award!
  2. Pivander Offline Pivander
    Pivander (Alex) 10 August 2020 09: 42
    0
    The case when hundreds of times less is known about the underwater world of our planet than about the Universe.

Проект «Протей»: на дне Мирового океана появится огромная лаборатория


Внук легендарного океанолога Жака Ива Кусто намерен построить самую большую в мире подводную исследовательскую лабораторию для изучения морских глубин. Проект «Протей», над которым сейчас трудится Фабъен Кусто совместно с дизайнером Ивом Бехаром, подразумевает создание футуристического комплекса, способного погружаться на глубину более 100 метров.


Двухэтажный подводный «аналог МКС» будет иметь спиральную конструкцию и сможет подстраиваться под любой ландшафт морского дна. Главный модуль исследовательского центра будет объединен с целым рядом овальных капсул, выполняющих функцию лабораторий, складов, медицинских отсеков, систем жизнеобеспечения и зон отдыха.

В качестве источников питания для «Протея» будут использованы: ветер, солнце и преобразованная тепловая энергия океана. В нижнем (самом крупном) отсеке станции разместят первый в мире подводный овощной сад и оборудование для съемки. Здесь же предусмотрен люк для стыковки с батискафами.

Если ученому удастся реализовать амбициозный проект, свою первую миссию «Протей» осуществит у побережья острова Кюрасао (Карибское море). Аппарат планируется погрузить на глубину 17 метров.

Фабъен Кусто обещает сделать станцию доступной для дайверов и организовать онлайн трансляцию, чтобы его исследования стали доступны всем желающим.
Использованы фотографии: fuseproject.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Буланов Офлайн
    Буланов (Владимир) 29 июля 2020 11:37
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Молодец Кусто, грандиозный проект! Не мешало бы российским толстосумам взять с него пример, вместо того, чтобы покупать себе дорогие яхты. Только кто из российских миллиардеров может решиться на такое? Неужели им слабо? А неплохо было бы начать такое строительство где-нибудь на Курилах. Заодно и новые технологии появились бы, и Дальний Восток стал более привлекателен для россиян. А за это можно и госнаграду получить!
  2. Пивандер Офлайн
    Пивандер (Алекс) Сегодня, 09:42
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Тот случай, когда о подводном мире нашей планеты известно в сотни раз меньше, чем о Вселенной.