Old planes for expensive: why the US Air Force decided to buy almost 150 F-15EX


The United States Air Force has signed a contract for the purchase of one and a half hundred updated F-15 aircraft over the next 10 years. Why did the Pentagon need so many fighters of the aging 4th generation and what is the F-15EX version?


The F-15 fighters, developed by McDonnell Douglas, have been in service with the US Air Force for almost half a century. Since their introduction in 1976 and for a long time, they have been the best at achieving air supremacy.

The most widespread are the single-seat F-15C and F-15D. Further modernization of the aircraft led to the appearance in the late 80s of a two-seater strike version of the F-15E Strike Eagle. The car was distinguished by good flight characteristics and a record-breaking payload in its class.

In 2018, Boeing unveiled a redesigned Strike Eagle, designated Advanced Eagle. In terms of its capabilities, the combat vehicle approached the fifth generation fighters (with the exception of Technology stealth).

As for the F-15X (later EX) fighter, the aircraft was created on the basis of the F-15 Qatar Advanced (version for Qatar) and according to the Pentagon's plans in the next 10 years it should replace the obsolete versions of the F-15C and F-15D.

The new combat vehicle has several advantages. The versatile aircraft can be used to strike both air and ground targets. At the same time, the F-15EX is considered as a "flying arsenal" capable of carrying a large number of weapons, including hypersonic missiles, and interacting with fifth generation fighters via a protected, inconspicuous radio channel.

The updated version also has a drawback. Its price turned out to be more expensive than that of the fifth generation F-35 fighter. However, the aircraft manufacturer assures that this difference will be leveled over time due to the fact that the cost of a flight hour for the F-15EX is 1,5 times cheaper. Moreover, the resource of the new F-15 will be at least 20 thousand flight hours.

Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

18 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. The comment was deleted.
  2. bear040 Offline
    bear040 28 July 2020 22: 40
    +2
    • 4
    • 2
    The US Air Force began to understand that things were far from brilliant with the F-35, so they ordered the old, time-tested F-15s, modernizing them and introducing low-visibility technologies into them as much as possible, smoothing out some of the corners of the aircraft skin and applying special paint.
    1. Natan bruk Offline
      Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 29 July 2020 02: 19
      -6
      • 1
      • 7
      Nonsense. With the F-35, everything is fine. How many different types of fighters are there in Russia? When, finally, the SU-57 (which in fact is not doing well) begins to enter the troops, all the rest will be abandoned? Different machines have different tasks. The same F-15 works perfectly in tandem with the F-35. And for example, the Israeli F-35s have proven themselves brilliantly, performing the assigned combat missions, and this has already happened more than once ..
      1. bear040 Offline
        bear040 31 July 2020 23: 03
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        Everything that you have written happens only in your fantasies Svidomo.
        1. Natan bruk Offline
          Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 31 July 2020 23: 07
          -3
          • 0
          • 3
          I understand that you want it so much, but alas, firstly, I am not in Ukraine, and secondly, the participation of Israeli F-35s in combat operations has been officially confirmed. So, you just have fantasies.
          1. bear040 Offline
            bear040 31 July 2020 23: 09
            +3
            • 3
            • 0
            You do not understand anything, and even about the training battles conducted by the Yankees between the F-35 and F-16, you only heard what the drunken rains of the drunk Sobchak are broadcasting.
            1. Natan bruk Offline
              Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 31 July 2020 23: 41
              -2
              • 0
              • 2
              What does Sobchak and drunken rains have to do with it? I'm talking about what the IDF has officially stated. You, in any way, have not finished school yet, if you scribble such ridiculous answers, Understanding :)))
              1. bear040 Offline
                bear040 31 July 2020 23: 42
                +4
                • 4
                • 0
                The IDF stated a lot of things, but when it came down to it, even the antediluvian Iraqi missiles were 100% unable to intercept the vaunted Patriot air defense systems.
                1. Natan bruk Offline
                  Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 31 July 2020 23: 50
                  -3
                  • 0
                  • 3
                  What "vaunted air defense systems?" First generation patriots in 1991? So they weren't really meant for that. Well, SCUDs were not antediluvian either. By the way, then only 1 (one) person died, and that one from a heart attack. Much water has flown under the bridge since then, and the Israeli air defense system is today one of the best in the world. And there are much more reasons to trust the IDF than, for example, the press secretary of the Russian Defense Ministry. However, graduate from school, you will learn a lot of new things.
                  1. Natan bruk Offline
                    Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 31 July 2020 23: 51
                    -2
                    • 0
                    • 2
                    And about "how it came to this" - this is the great and terrible S-300, Armor and BUKs in Syria. Did they repel many Israeli air raids?
                  2. bear040 Offline
                    bear040 31 July 2020 23: 55
                    +4
                    • 4
                    • 0
                    The Scud was developed and put into service in the days of Khrushchev, so this is a very antediluvian rocket. To believe the Tsakhal is not to respect yourself. Even in England they do not believe you, publishing sufficiently believable books that are far from the official fables of Israel. So the Russian Federation is not at war with you yet, and if it comes to a war with the Russian Federation, you will die without being afraid.
                    1. Natan bruk Offline
                      Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 1 August 2020 00: 02
                      -4
                      • 0
                      • 4
                      Yeah, they died in 1973 :))) Then a lot of the Soviet 200s arrived in the USSR, and Soviet pilots were forbidden to engage in battle with Israeli ones. And the official fables, they are more in Russia for schoolchildren - hurray-patriots like you. But in Israel you can't hide anything, the country is small and open. And satellite images clearly confirm who is lying there. Well, never mind, finish school, maybe in which university you go, you will look at life more realistically.
                      1. bear040 Offline
                        bear040 1 August 2020 00: 06
                        +4
                        • 4
                        • 0
                        Do you want to read alternative sources of information about that war? I don’t suggest the Russians, especially since not all the information that I own is in the public domain, and even if it were, with your show-off you wouldn’t believe it all. You can start with the English author Robert Jackson and his book Legendary Fighters. There, the real losses of the Israeli Air Force are voiced close to the truth, and not the fables with which Telyaviv feeds people like you. Well, it seems so to you, in fact, you have a lot of noodles on your ears.
                      2. Natan bruk Offline
                        Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 1 August 2020 00: 17
                        -3
                        • 0
                        • 3
                        In fact, you have the noodles, and I'm not a fan of alternative history. There were many losses in 1973, no one disputes. Only the mountains of weapons with which the USSR poured the Arabs did not help the Arabs, and he himself took part in that war well. To expand the school's horizons, that war ended with another defeat of the Arabs and a heavy military-political defeat of the USSR, and Israeli troops stopped 100 km from Cairo and 40 km from Damascus. Even to broaden horizons - the Americans did not fight for Israel. Never. Weapons were supplied in 1973, but certainly not more than the USSR to the Arabs, and no better than the Soviet one. Yes, young man, why are they teaching you so badly at school - not Telyaviv, but Tel Aviv. You will not enter any university with such literacy.
                      3. bear040 Offline
                        bear040 1 August 2020 04: 55
                        +3
                        • 3
                        • 0
                        But the mountains of weapons provided to you by NATO did not help you, and the anti-aircraft gunners and pilots from the Union washed you well with blood. By the end of the war, your Air Force practically ceased to exist, having lost up to 80% of equipment and personnel. Well, it was not the USSR army that fought there, and the Arabs have always been merchants, not soldiers, but you are not warriors either, you are usurers, not soldiers. I will write to you what you have not heard, although you will not believe all one. Yours love to remember the battle in which they killed 5 Soviet MiG-21s on dry basis. And then noodles float up, hung over your ears.
                        1) At that time, the MiG-21 was already old; the MiG-23 and MiG-25 were in service.
                        2) The battle was in unfavorable conditions for Soviet pilots, you had 6 times the numerical superiority and full fuel tanks, and the MiGs had been hanging in the air for a long time and spent a significant part of the fuel.
                        3) The battle was not dry, you lost 1 Mirage.
                        4) Before that there were two dry fights in favor of the pilots of the USSR, in the first you lost 2 Skyhawk attack aircraft, in the second fighter-bomber Fact-2.
                        5) The battle of the latest F-15s against the MiG-25 ended in a draw, with a score of 2: 2. You lost a pair of F-15s, the USSR lost a pair of MiG-25s (neither Israel nor the USSR officially recognized these losses, but this is official). The battles with Soviet units of the air defense system were terrible. You managed to destroy part of the SAM systems, but yours did not return from the battle in dozens, your regiments lost 50, 60 and even 80% or more of equipment and personnel.
                      4. Natan bruk Offline
                        Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 2 August 2020 03: 56
                        -2
                        • 0
                        • 2
                        I will repeat once again that I am not a fan of alternative history, moreover that is presented by schoolchildren, all the more so - nonsense about the F-15 fights with the MiG-25, and even with a significant proviso - “they were not officially recognized”. Do you take such news not from Murzilka? Not a single F-15 was lost in battle. Yes, and also read when the deliveries of the F-15 began, and when the Yom Kippur War was. I understand that you do not go through this at school, but still .. And most importantly, I did not hear the answer to the question asked - how did it happen that the Arabs, with all-round help and with the direct participation of the USSR, again suffered a crushing defeat? It turns out, “washed with blood”, “lost 80%” and inflicted a crushing defeat? Yes, after all, schoolchildren are not good at logic :)))
                      5. Sapsan136 Offline
                        Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 3 August 2020 09: 32
                        +2
                        • 2
                        • 0
                        Alternate history and alternate sources of information are two different things, so don't confuse sour with salty. So the British documentary writer and Russian officer are schoolchildren for you ?! In this case, I advise you to go through a medical commission, it looks like you have serious health problems and understanding the reality around you.
  • Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 28 July 2020 23: 54
    -3
    • 1
    • 4
    In fact, these are all "exaggerations" of the journalist (if politically correct).
    I searched.
    It's just that every good Su upgrade is called a new name. All of these Su-27-30-34-35 look like twin brothers.
    And to amers all these reports about peremogs are crazy, they just add letters after F-15. With the same result.
    The F-15EX is a high-speed analogue of our latest Su-35, developed in 2018, generation 4 +++.
    Allegedly, the filling is new, and the frame is verified ..
    1. Natan bruk Offline
      Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 29 July 2020 02: 22
      -4
      • 1
      • 5
      Everything is correct. Many people here write, they say, "these ancient F-15s", although only a glider remained from the "that" F-15.

Старые самолеты за дорого: почему ВВС США решили закупить почти 150 F-15EX


ВВС США заключил контракт на закупку полутора сотен обновленных самолетов F-15 в течение ближайших 10 лет. Для чего Пентагону понадобилось такое количество истребителей устаревающего 4-го поколения и что представляет собой версия F-15EX?


Истребители F-15, разработанные компанией McDonnell Douglas, состоят на вооружении ВВС США уже почти полвека. С момента появления в 1976 году и на протяжении длительного времени они были лучшими в плане завоевания господства в воздухе.

Наибольшее распространение получили одноместные F-15C и F-15D. Дальнейшая модернизация самолета привела к появлению в конце 80-х ударной двухместной версии F-15E Strike Eagle. Машина отличалась хорошими летными характеристиками и рекордной в своем классе грузоподъемностью.

В 2018 году компания Boeing представила проект модернизированного Strike Eagle, получившего обозначение Advanced Eagle. По своим возможностям боевая машина приближалась к истребителям пятого поколения (за исключением технологии малозаметности).

Что касается истребителя F-15X (позднее EX), самолет создан уже на основе F-15 Qatar Advanced (версия для Катара) и по планам Пентагона в ближайшие 10 лет должен заменить морально устаревшие версии F-15C и F-15D.

Новая боевая машина имеет ряд преимуществ. Универсальный самолет может применяться для нанесения ударов, как по воздушным, так и по наземным целям. При этом F-15EX рассматривается в качестве «летающего арсенала», способного нести на себе большое количество вооружения, включая гиперзвуковые ракеты, и взаимодействовать с истребителями пятого поколения по защищенному малозаметному радиоканалу.

Есть у обновленной версии и недостаток. Ее цена оказалась дороже, чем у истребителя пятого поколения F-35. Впрочем, в авиастроительной компании уверяют, что данная разница со временем нивелируется за счет того, что стоимость летного часа у F-15EX дешевле в 1,5 раза. При этом ресурс нового F-15 будет составлять не менее 20 тыс. летных часов.

Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

18 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. медведь040 Офлайн
    медведь040 28 июля 2020 22:40
    +2
    • 4
    • 2
    В ВВС США начали понимать, что дела с F-35 обстоят далеко не блестяще, поэтому заказали старые, проверенные временем F-15, модернизировав их и максимально внедрив в них технологии малой заметности, сгладив часть углов обшивки самолета и применив специальную краску.
    1. Natan Bruk Офлайн
      Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 29 июля 2020 02:19
      -6
      • 1
      • 7
      Это глупости. С Ф-35 все нормально. В России сколько различных видов истребителей?Когда, наконец, СУ-57 (у которого в самом деле дела обстоят далеко не блестяще) начнёт поступать в войска, от всех остальных откажутся? Для разных машин разные задачи. Тот же Ф-15 прекрасно работает в паре с Ф-35. И например, израильские Ф-35 зарекомендовали себя именно блестяще, выполняя поставленные боевые задачи, а это было уже неоднократно..
      1. медведь040 Офлайн
        медведь040 31 июля 2020 23:03
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        Все, что вы написали, происходит только в ваших свидомых фантазиях.
        1. Natan Bruk Офлайн
          Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 31 июля 2020 23:07
          -3
          • 0
          • 3
          Я понимаю, что вам так хочется, но увы, во-первых, я не на Украине, а во-вторых, участие израильских Ф-35 в боевых операциях подтверждено официально. Так что, фантазии как раз у вас.
          1. медведь040 Офлайн
            медведь040 31 июля 2020 23:09
            +3
            • 3
            • 0
            Вы ничего не понимаете, и даже о учебных боях, проводимых янки между Ф-35 и Ф-16, слышали только то, что вещают пьяные дожди пьяной Собчак.
            1. Natan Bruk Офлайн
              Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 31 июля 2020 23:41
              -2
              • 0
              • 2
              При чем тут Собчак и пьяные дожди? Я говорю о том, что официально заявлял ЦАХАЛ. Вы, никак, ещё и школу не закончили, если такие нелепые ответы строчите, Понимающий :)))
              1. медведь040 Офлайн
                медведь040 31 июля 2020 23:42
                +4
                • 4
                • 0
                ЦАХАЛ много чего заявлял, а как дошло до дела, то даже допотопные иракские ракеты на 100% перехватить хвалеными ЗРК Пэтриот не смог.
                1. Natan Bruk Офлайн
                  Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 31 июля 2020 23:50
                  -3
                  • 0
                  • 3
                  Какими «хвалеными ЗРК? Патриотами первого поколения в 1991 году? Так они вообще-то для этого и не были предназначены. Ну и СКАДы тоже не являлись допотопными. Кстати, тогда погиб всего 1 (один) человек, и тот от сердечного приступа. С тех пор много воды утекло и израильское ПВО сегодня одно из лучших в мире. А верить ЦАХАЛу оснований намного больше, чем, например, пресс-секретарю МО России. Впрочем, окончите школу, узнаёте много нового.
                  1. Natan Bruk Офлайн
                    Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 31 июля 2020 23:51
                    -2
                    • 0
                    • 2
                    И насчёт «как дошло до дела» - это к великим и ужасным С-300, Панцирям и БУКам в Сирии. Много налетов израильской авиации они отразили?
                  2. медведь040 Офлайн
                    медведь040 31 июля 2020 23:55
                    +4
                    • 4
                    • 0
                    Скад разработан и принят на вооружение еще во времена Хрущева, так что это очень допотопная ракета. Верить Цахалу - себя не уважать. Вам даже в Англии не верят, печатая достаточно правдоподобные книги, далекие от официальных басен Израиля. Так РФ с вами пока и не воюет, а если дойдет до войны с РФ, вы умрете, не успев испугаться.
                    1. Natan Bruk Офлайн
                      Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 1 августа 2020 00:02
                      -4
                      • 0
                      • 4
                      Ага, в 1973 ой как умерли :))) Тогда советских 200-х немало в СССР прибыло, а советским летчикам запретили вступать в бой с израильскими. А официальные басни, они больше в России для школьников - ура-патриотов вроде вас. А вот в Израиле ничего не скроешь, страна маленькая и открытая. Да и спутниковые снимки наглядно подтверждают, кто там врет. Ну ничего, закончите школу, может, в какой ВУЗ поступите, будете реальнее на жизнь смотреть.
                      1. медведь040 Офлайн
                        медведь040 1 августа 2020 00:06
                        +4
                        • 4
                        • 0
                        А вы не хотите почитать альтернативные источники информации о той войне? Русские не предлагаю, тем более, что не вся информация, которой я владею, есть в открытом доступе, да и будь она, с вашими понтами вы бы ей все одно не поверили. Начать можете с английского автора Роберта Джексона и его книги Легендарные истребители. Там близко к истине озвучиваются реальные потери ВВС Израиля, а не те басни, которыми таких, как вы, кормит Телявив. Ну это вам так кажется, на самом деле лапши у вас на ушах много.
                      2. Natan Bruk Офлайн
                        Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 1 августа 2020 00:17
                        -3
                        • 0
                        • 3
                        На самом деле лапша именно у вас, а я не почитатель альтернативной истории. Потерь в 1973 году было много, никто не спорит. Только вот не помогли арабам горы оружия, которыми СССР завалил арабов, да и сам в той войне хорошо поучаствовал. Для расширения школьного кругозора - та война закончилась очередным разгромом арабов и тяжелым военно-политическим поражением СССР, а израильские войска остановились в 100 км от Каира и в 40 км от Дамаска. Еще для расширения кругозора - американцы за Израиль не воевали. Никогда. Оружие в 1973 поставляли, но точно не больше, чем СССР арабам, и не лучше советского. Да, юноша, что ж тебя так плохо в школе учат - не Телявив, а Тель-Авив. С такой грамотностью ни в какой ВУЗ не поступишь.
                      3. медведь040 Офлайн
                        медведь040 1 августа 2020 04:55
                        +3
                        • 3
                        • 0
                        А вам не помогли горы оружия, предоставленного вам НАТО, и кровью вас зенитчики и летчики из Союза хорошо умыли. К концу войны ваши ВВС практически перестали существовать, потеряв до 80% техники и личного состава. Ну, так там не армия СССР воевала, а арабы всегда были торгашами, а не солдатами, но и вы не воины, вы ростовщики, а не солдаты. Напишу тебе то, чего ты не слышал, хотя все одно не поверишь. Ваши любят вспоминать бой, в котором угробили 5 советских МиГ-21 на сухую. И тут всплывает лапша, повешенная вам на уши.
                        1) В ту пору МиГ-21 был уже стареньким, на вооружении стояли МиГ-23 и МиГ-25.
                        2) Бой был в не выгодных для советских летчиков условиях, вы имели 6 кратное численное превосходство и полные баки горючего, а МиГи уже давно висели в воздухе и потратили значительную часть топлива.
                        3) Бой был не на сухую, вы потеряли 1 Мираж.
                        4) До того было два боя на сухую в пользу пилотов СССР, в первом вы потеряли 2 штурмовика Скайхок, во втором истребитель-бомбардировщик Фактом-2.
                        5) Бой новейших Ф-15 против МиГ-25 окончился вничью, со счетом 2 : 2. Вы потеряли пару Ф-15, СССР потерял пару МиГ-25 ( ни Израиль, ни СССР официально этих потерь не признали, но это официально). Бои с советскими частями ЗРК были страшными. Вам удалось уничтожить часть систем ЗРК, но из боя ваши не возвращались десятками, ваши полки теряли по 50, 60 и даже 80% и более техники и личного состава.
                      4. Natan Bruk Офлайн
                        Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 2 августа 2020 03:56
                        -2
                        • 0
                        • 2
                        Я ещё раз повторю, что не любитель альтернативной истории, да ещё излагаемой школьниками, тем более - глупостей о боях Ф-15 с МиГ-25, да ещё с многозначительной оговоркой - «официально не признали». Вы такие новости не из «Мурзилки» берёте? Ни один Ф-15 не был потерян в бою. Да, и ещё почитайте, когда начались поставки Ф-15, и когда была война Судного Дня. Я понимаю, что в школе вы этого не проходите, но все же.. А главное, я не услышал ответа на заданный вопрос - как же так получилось, что арабы с всесторонней помощью и при непосредственном участии СССР опять потерпели сокрушительный разгром? Получается, «кровью умыли», «80% потеряли» и нанесли сокрушительное поражение? Да, все-таки не умеют школьники в логику :)))
                      5. Sapsan136 Офлайн
                        Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 3 августа 2020 09:32
                        +2
                        • 2
                        • 0
                        Альтернативная история и альтернативные источники информации - это разные вещи, так что не путайте кислое с соленым. Значит, для вас британский писатель-документалист и русский офицер школьники?! В таком случае, советую пройти медицинскую комиссию, похоже, у вас серьезные проблемы со здоровьем и пониманием окружающей вас реальности.
  • Сергей Латышев (Серж) 28 июля 2020 23:54
    -3
    • 1
    • 4
    На самом деле, это все "преувеличения" журналюг (если политкорректно).
    Поискал.
    Просто нас каждую хорошую модернизацию Су называют по-новому. Все эти Су-27-30-34-35 выглядят, как близнецы-братья.
    А амерам все эти реляции о перемогах до лампочки, они просто прибавляют буквы после Ф-15. С тем же результатом.
    F-15EX - скоростной аналог новейшего нашего Су-35, 2018 года разработки, поколение 4+++.
    Якобы начинка новая, а каркас выверенный..
    1. Natan Bruk Офлайн
      Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 29 июля 2020 02:22
      -4
      • 1
      • 5
      Все верно. Тут многие пишут, мол, «эти древние Ф-15», хотя от «того» Ф-15 там остался только планер.