Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline will be able to track NATO submarines


Many analysts call the Nord Stream 2 gas transmission project unprofitable, but the gas pipeline may have a concomitant purpose that has nothing to do with the economy... Its construction may be dictated by military purposes, for example, to track the submarines of NATO countries, writes the Polish edition of BiznesAlert.


The commercial side of the issue is of little concern to Russians - this is the militarypolitical project. Moscow has already spent about $ 30 billion on its implementation, taking into account the infrastructure in Western Siberia. This is a colossal investment that will not bring profit in the long term, because Gazprom will lose about $ 6 per 1000 cubic meters. m. of gas transported through this pipeline.

The infrastructure for monitoring underwater activity in the Baltic has long been established by Russia, but Nord Stream 2 can help the Russians to expand existing capabilities. The safe operation of offshore gas pipelines is only possible with constant monitoring of their technical condition. For this, a huge variety of sensors are installed on the highway.

These sensors can also be used to analyze changes in sea currents in order to detect submarines. Therefore, offshore gas pipelines can be part of a military monitoring system. Thus, there are grounds for amending the Convention on the High Seas by excluding the provisions on the freedom to lay pipelines.

Poland signed the Convention in 1958 when it was adopted by the UN. At the same time, the military threats associated with Nord Stream 2 are analyzed by the NATO Energy Security Center of Excellence. However, this topic is not yet on the official agenda due to disagreements between the countries of the Alliance, BiznesAlert sums up.
  • Used photos: www.nord-stream.com
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Digital error Offline Digital error
    Digital error (Eugene) 30 July 2020 14: 36
    +2
    military threats related to Nord Stream 2 are analyzed by the NATO Energy Security Center of Excellence

    And not without reason. Nord Stream 2 consists of two strings, one of which, according to the requirements of the third energy package (we can use only 50% of the pipeline's capacity), the Russian Federation will be able to drain at any time so that hordes of Wagnerians can quietly crawl along it to Europe ". lol
  2. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 30 July 2020 20: 08
    +1
    To justify a stuck and, in fact, a failed project, it is possible to go to such "philosophizing" ... Of course, unfavorable "force majeure" coincided: warm winters, coronavirus, the crisis of the world economy ... Today there is no time for fat, to survive in the near decade. Academicians M. Delyagin, S. Glazyev point to the possibility of overcoming a long time of crisis, following the example of the USSR in the 29th crisis, - to develop their own economy in a closed mode. A state with a population of 150 million favors this ... Only the problem is in the leadership of the state ...

Газопровод «Северный поток-2» сможет отслеживать подводные лодки НАТО


Многие аналитики называют газотранспортный проект «Северный поток-2» нерентабельным, но ведь у газопровода может быть и сопутствующее предназначение, никак не связанное с экономикой. Его строительство может быть продиктовано военными целями, например, для отслеживания подводных лодок стран НАТО, пишет польское издание BiznesAlert.


Коммерческая сторона вопроса мало заботит россиян – это военно-политический проект. Москва уже потратила на его реализацию около $30 млрд., учитывая инфраструктуру в Западной Сибири. Это колоссальные инвестиции, которые в долгосрочной перспективе не принесут прибыли, ведь Газпром будет терять порядка $6 на каждой 1000 куб. м. газа, транспортируемой по этому газопроводу.

Инфраструктура по мониторингу подводной активности на Балтике уже давно создана Россией, но «Северный поток-2» может помочь россиянам расширить имеющиеся возможности. Безопасная эксплуатация морских газопроводов возможна только при постоянном контроле за их техническим состоянием. Для этого на магистрали устанавливается огромное количество разнообразных датчиков.

Эти датчики также можно использовать для анализа изменений морских течений с целью обнаружения подлодок. Поэтому морские газопроводы могут быть частью системы военного мониторинга. Таким образом, существуют основания для внесения изменений в Конвенцию по Открытому морю путем исключения положений о свободе прокладки трубопроводов.

Польша подписала Конвенцию в 1958 году, когда она была принята ООН. При этом военные угрозы, связанные с «Северным потоком-2», анализируются Центром передового опыта НАТО по энергетической безопасности. Однако эта тема пока не входит в официальную повестку дня из-за разногласий между странами Альянса, подытоживает BiznesAlert.
  • Использованы фотографии: www.nord-stream.com
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. DigitalError Офлайн DigitalError
    DigitalError (Евгений) 30 июля 2020 14:36
    +2
    военные угрозы, связанные с «Северным потоком-2», анализируются Центром передового опыта НАТО по энергетической безопасности

    И небезосновательно. "Северный поток - 2" состоит из двух ниток, одну из которых, согласно требованиям третьего энергопакета (нам можно использовать только 50% мощности газопровода), РФ сможет в любой момент осушить для того, чтобы по ней в Европу смогли незаметно проползти полчища "вагнеровцев". lol
  2. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 30 июля 2020 20:08
    +1
    Чтоб оправдать застрявший и по, сути, провальный проект, можно и до таких "мудрствований" докатиться... Конечно, совпали неблагоприятные "форс мажоры": тёплые зимы, коронавирус, кризис мировой экономики... Сегодня не до жиру, выжить в ближайшее десятилетие. Академики М. Делягин, С. Глазьев указывают на возможность преодолеть долгое кризисное время по примеру СССР в 29-тых кризисных, - закрытом режиме развивать собственную экономику. Государство с 150 миллионным населением такому благоприятствует... Только проблема в руководящем звене государства...