Germany's plan to supply liquefied natural gas is thwarted


Berlin's plans to supply liquefied natural gas from North America are thwarted. The implementation of the Goldboro LNG project in Nova Scotia (Canada), under which the German government issued a loan guarantee of $ 4,5 billion, has once again stalled.


Originally Canadian energy company Pieridae Energy, which operates Goldboro LNG, planned a Final Investment Decision (FID) for the $ 30 billion project by September 2020, 10. Canadians have a 20-year agreement with Germany's Uniper to purchase LNG. However, in the spring of 2020, Pieridae Energy, due to the COVID-19 pandemic and falling gas prices, postponed the adoption of the FID until June 30, 2021 and convinced German partners of the correctness of this measure.

This time, the Canadians informed the Germans that the engineering company Kellogg Brown & Root had violated its obligations and refused to build the Goldboro LNG plant on a turnkey basis on the same terms. The contractor wants to change the terms of the contract. Pieridae Energy is now exploring options for getting out of this situation, ranging from going to court, to negotiations with other contractors. However, all this can delay the implementation of the project.

The Goldboro LNG plant is to produce 9,6 million tons of LNG per year (about 14 billion cubic meters of gas) from American raw materials, which will be supplied to the enterprise via a gas pipeline. At the same time, Uniper (Gazprom's partner in Nord Stream 2) is ready to buy out 50% of the LNG produced over two decades, for which it received the aforementioned loan guarantee from Berlin.
Photos used: kees torn / flickr.com /
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

План Германии по поставкам сжиженного газа срывается


Планы Берлина по поставкам сжиженного природного газа из Северной Америки срываются. Реализация проекта Goldboro LNG в Новой Шотландии (Канада), под который правительство Германии выделило кредитную гарантию в $4,5 млрд, в очередной раз застопорилось.


Первоначально канадская энергетическая компания Pieridae Energy, которая является оператором Goldboro LNG, планировала, что до 30 сентября 2020 года будет принято окончательное инвестиционное решение (FID) по проекту, стоимостью $10 млрд. У канадцев имеется 20-летнее соглашение с компанией Uniper из Германии на покупку СПГ. Однако весной 2020 года Pieridae Energy из-за пандемии COVID-19 и падения цен на газ перенесла принятие FID до 30 июня 2021 года и убедила в правильности этой меры партнеров из Германии.

На этот раз, канадцы проинформировали немцев, что инжиниринговая компания Kellogg Brown & Root нарушила обязательства и отказалась строить завод Goldboro LNG «под ключ» на прежних условиях. Подрядчик хочет изменить условия контракта. В Pieridae Energy теперь изучают варианты выходя из сложившейся ситуации, начиная от обращения в суд, до переговоров с другими подрядчиками. Однако все это может затянуть реализацию проекта.

Завод Goldboro LNG должен производить 9,6 млн тонн СПГ в год (порядка 14 млрд куб. м. газа) из американского сырья, которое будет поставляться на предприятие по газопроводу. При этом Uniper (партнер Газпрома по «Северному потоку-2») готова выкупать 50% производимого СПГ на протяжении двух десятилетий, на что и получила от Берлина вышеупомянутую кредитную гарантию.
Использованы фотографии: kees torn/flickr.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти