Philippines interested in Russian floating nuclear power plant


Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte has ordered a study on the possibility of using nuclear power plants in the country to generate electricity, INQUIRER.net writes. At the same time, the Asian state may be interested in the corresponding Russian technologies.


On the eve of a special decree, an Interdepartmental Committee was created, which was charged with "reviewing the existing legal framework, studying the prospects for nuclear energy, the possibilities of its use, as well as existing installations, including, among other things, the Bataan nuclear power plant." The committee must submit a report within six months.

The $ 2 billion Bataan nuclear power plant is the country's first and only nuclear power plant. It was built during the reign of the dictator Ferdinand Marcos, but it never went into operation due to security problems and countless corruption scandals.

The report notes that the Philippine Energy Minister recently signed a memorandum with the Russian state-owned company Rusatom Overseas to explore the possibility of purchasing a new Technology floating nuclear power plant. A memorandum on this was signed during Duterte's visit to Moscow in October last year.

But later the head of state admitted that such a deal could not be recognized as inconsistent with the law. However, the Constitution does not prohibit the peaceful use of nuclear energy, but only does not allow the deployment of nuclear weapons in the Philippines.
Photos used: Rosatom
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Филиппины заинтересовались российской плавучей АЭС


Президент Филиппин Родриго Дутерте распорядился провести исследование о возможности использования в стране атомных электростанций для производства электроэнергии, пишет сайт INQUIRER.net. При этом азиатское государство может быть заинтересовано в соответствующих российских технологиях.


Накануне специальным указом был создан Межведомственный комитет, которому поручено «пересмотреть существующую правовую базу, изучить перспективы ядерной энергии, возможности её использования, а также существующие установки, включая, помимо прочего, Батаанскую атомную электростанцию». Комитет должен представить отчет в течение шести месяцев.

Батаанская атомная электростанция стоимостью 2 миллиарда долларов является первой и единственной в стране атомной электростанцией. Она была построена в период правления диктатора Фердинанда Маркоса, однако так и не начала работать из-за проблем с безопасностью и бесчисленных коррупционных скандалов.

В сообщении отмечается, что министр энергетики Филиппин недавно подписал меморандум с российской государственной компанией «Русатом Оверсиз», чтобы изучить возможность покупки новой технологии плавучей атомной электростанции. Меморандум об этом был подписан во время визита Дутерте в Москву в октябре прошлого года.

Но позже глава государства признал, что такая сделка не может быть признана не соответствующей законодательству. Тем не менее Конституция не запрещает мирное использование ядерной энергии, а лишь не допускает размещения ядерного оружия на территории Филиппин.
  • Использованы фотографии: Росатом
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти