The appearance of attack icebreakers in Russia will put the United States in a dangerous position


It is not often that the prospect of just one surface ship being commissioned by the Russian Navy can irritate the Pentagon. However, this happened because the ship is very unusual and is intended for operations where the United States has practically no power resources.


Outrage over Russia's activity in the Arctic region was expressed by James Foggo, the commander of the US Navy in Europe and Africa:

They recently unveiled a new icebreaker, Ivan Papanin, which can carry Kalibr cruise missiles. I have already asked this question several times and will ask again: who puts rockets on icebreakers? Some countries put defensive weapons on their icebreakers, but the Caliber is not a defensive weapon.

“Some countries” are Norway with its patrol icebreaker Svalbard and Canada, which ordered the construction of six ships for the same project. The armament of such "combat" icebreakers is relatively modest: the 57-mm Bofors artillery mount and a deck helicopter. It is quite enough to shoot back from polar bears, well, or against whom they are armed.

The United States is doing somewhat worse in this field. The Pentagon has only two outdated icebreakers, which will not give any guarantee that the American fleet will not end up simply freezing into the ice. Against the background of his presidential campaign, Donald Trump promised voters to build "the largest icebreaker in the world", while bringing their total number to a dozen ships.

It should be admitted that Russia, traditionally the leading Arctic power, has far outstripped its competitors. Our icebreaker fleet is numbered four dozen ships. The aforementioned "Ivan Papanin" is of particular interest. It belongs to the ice-class patrol ships of the project 23550 "Arktika" ("Ermak"). In total, there should be three of them in the series: "Papanin" and under construction "Ivan Zubov" and "Blizzard".

The ice class allows ships to break ice up to 1,7 meters thick, while, if necessary, they can operate in the tropics.
"Ivan Papanin" and his brothers combine many useful functions. While serving on the Northern Sea Route, they will be able to work as an icebreaker, and as a tug for damaged ships, and as a real military "patrol". These ice-class ships are armed with 100-mm automatic gun mounts and 30-mm automatic anti-aircraft gun mounts. On board can be placed a Ka-27 helicopter or attack UAVs of a helicopter type, two high-speed combat anti-sabotage boats of project 03160 "Raptor" and an air cushion boat of project 23321 "Manul".

All of the above in itself cannot impress the Americans, but the matter changes the possibility of installing on the icebreaker launching containers of cruise missiles "Caliber" or anti-ship missiles "Uranus". The range of the "Caliber" flight can be from 1500 to 2600 kilometers. If Papanin and his classmates serve anywhere in the Chukchi or Bering Sea, critical US military infrastructure in Alaska, North Dakota and Georgia will be targeted. If, in the future, "Calibers" are replaced by hypersonic "Zircons", it will cause problems for the Pentagon. From time to time, the RF Ministry of Defense organizes demonstration actions, sending strategic bombers Tu-160 and Tu-95MS, equipped with long-range cruise missiles, to the American shores. "Papanin", "Zubov" and "Blizzard" will be able to stay there permanently on a rotational basis.

It is clear that Washington is not happy about this. The Russian Foreign Ministry even had to reassure its "partners" with the fact that cruise missiles would be installed on combat icebreakers only "during a special period." Apparently, the task of the ships of this series will be to prevent such "periods" from happening.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

6 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Lawyer Offline
    Lawyer (Olaf) 1 August 2020 13: 18
    -7
    • 1
    • 8
    In general, it is not clear with whom they are going to fight in the ice by sea battle?
    The submarine will put a torpedo on them, the aircraft will send them a missile. The meaning of the cannon? To the public?
    1. Dust Offline
      Dust (Sergei) 1 August 2020 17: 09
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Quote: Lawyer
      installation on the icebreaker of launch containers for cruise missiles "Caliber" or anti-ship missiles "Uranus". The range of the "Caliber" flight can be from 1500 to 2600 kilometers. If Papanin and his classmates serve anywhere in the Chukchi or Bering Sea, critical US military infrastructure in Alaska, North Dakota and Georgia will be targeted. If, in the future, "Calibers" are replaced by hypersonic "Zircons", this will cause problems for the Pentagon
  2. gorenina91 Online
    gorenina91 (Irina) 1 August 2020 13: 23
    -3
    • 0
    • 3
    The appearance of attack icebreakers in Russia will put the United States in a dangerous position

    -Although it's nice to hear when it is specifically about Russia ... - And then all this ... - "Russia and China; Russia and China; Russia and China" already evokes a feeling of deep om_er_ze_nia ... - And this just zombies Russians (especially young people) and inspires Russians with a sense of their own inferiority ... - they say, Russia simply cannot exist without China ... - That's it ... - "a drop wears away a stone" ...
    - In general ... - shock icebreakers ... are the exclusive prerogative of Russia ... - And Russia should not give up its leadership in this to anyone ...
    - Russia has already made a monstrous mistake (the enemies of the people tried) in that it could not resist China in supposedly "cooperation" in the development of the Russian Arctic ... - China has nothing to do in the Russian North ... - China is not needed there at all ... - Russia does not need China's participation in the development of the Russian Northern Routes ... - But the traitors to Russia are doing their job ... - And what will this result in later ... - And Russia will not cooperate ...
    1. Lawyer Offline
      Lawyer (Olaf) 1 August 2020 22: 16
      -6
      • 0
      • 6
      But you yourself, madam, did everything possible so that your only partner was the country, which even on the maps yourself also has China right up to Baikal. :) And everyone else shies away from you like a smelly vagrant with a rusty pipe in hand. I was over there in correspondence with one little man with a nickname, so he explained to me where you saw all of us who are not for Russia. :)))))) So your country is discussing with everyone. And as for the icebreakers - so it's good health, let them swim.
      The Yankees will find an answer in case of a threat from the north, do not worry.
      Now, if you put calibers on rafts on the Volga, then it will be more difficult for them, of course ...
      Consider the idea of ​​raft gauges.
      1. Dear sofa expert. 2 August 2020 00: 29
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        I over there corresponded with one little man with a nickname, so he explained to me

        For some reason you have a very low "user authority" of this site. Apparently, that's why you had to explain everything to the “person with the nick-number”.
  3. kig Offline
    kig 1 August 2020 14: 48
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    In fact, the 23550 are all-purpose patrol ships. Even in the English version, they are called project 23550 patrol ship, and it is quite normal for a patrol ship to carry a variety of weapons. Well, the fact that it is an icebreaker is already a design feature and a navigation area.

Появление у России ударных ледоколов поставит США в опасное положение


Нечасто перспектива ввода в строй ВМС РФ всего одного надводного корабля может вызвать раздражение в Пентагоне. Однако это произошло, поскольку корабль очень необычный и предназначен для действий там, где у США практически нет никакого силового ресурса.


Возмущение по поводу активности России в арктическом регионе высказал Джеймс Фогго, командующий ВМС США в Европе и Африке:

Они недавно презентовали новый ледокол «Иван Папанин», который может нести крылатые ракеты «Калибр». Я уже задавал этот вопрос несколько раз и задам снова: кто ставит ракеты на ледоколы? Некоторые страны ставят оборонительное вооружение на свои ледоколы, но «Калибр» — никак не оборонительное оружие.

«Некоторые страны» - это Норвегия с ее патрульным ледоколом «Свальбард» и Канада, заказавшая постройку шести кораблей по тому же проекту. Вооружение таких «боевых» ледоколов относительно скромное: 57-мм артиллерийская установка «Бофорс» и палубный вертолет. Отстреливаться от полярных медведей вполне достаточно, ну, или против кого там они вооружаются.

У США успехи на данном поприще обстоят несколько хуже. Пентагон располагает всего двумя устаревшими ледоколами, которые не дадут никакой гарантии, что американский флот в итоге просто не вмерзнет во льды. На фоне своей президентской кампании Дональд Трамп пообещал избирателям построить «самый большой ледокол в мире», при этом общее их количество довести до десятка кораблей.

Следует признать, что Россия, традиционно ведущая арктическая держава, намного опередила своих конкурентов. Наш ледокольный флот исчисляется четырьмя десятками судов. Упомянутый «Иван Папанин» представляет особый интерес. Он относится к патрульным кораблям ледового класса проекта 23550 «Арктика» («Ермак»). Всего в серии их должно быть три: «Папанин» и строящиеся «Иван Зубов» и «Пурга».

Ледовый класс позволяет судам ломать лед толщиной до 1,7 метра, при этом они при необходимости смогут действовать и в тропиках.
«Иван Папанин» и его собратья сочетают в себе множество полезных функций. Проходя службу на Северном морском пути, они смогут работать и как ледокол, и как буксир для поврежденных судов, и как настоящий военный «сторожевик». Эти корабли ледового класса вооружены 100-мм автоматической артустановкой и 30-мм автоматическими зенитными артустановками. На борту могут быть размещены вертолет Ка-27 или ударные БПЛА вертолетного типа, два скоростных боевых противодиверсионных катеров проекта 03160 «Раптор» и катер на воздушной подушке проекта 23321 «Манул».

Все перечисленное само по себе не может впечатлить американцев, однако дело меняет возможность установки на ледоколе пусковых контейнеров крылатых ракет «Калибр» или противокорабельных ракет «Уран». Дальность полета «Калибров» может составлять от 1500 до 2600 километров. Если «Папанин» и его одноклассники будут проходить службу где-нибудь в Чукотском или Беринговом море, под прицелом окажутся важнейшие объекты военной инфраструктуры США на Аляске, в Северной Дакоте и Джорджии. Если же в перспективе «Калибры» заменят на гиперзвуковые «Цирконы», это доставит проблем Пентагону. Периодически Минобороны РФ устраивает показательные акции, направляя к американским берегам стратегические бомбардировщики Ту-160 и Ту-95МС, оснащенные крылатыми ракетами большой дальности. «Папанин», «Зубов» и «Пурга» смогут находиться там постоянно на ротационной основе.

Понятно, что в Вашингтоне этому не рады. В российском МИД даже пришлось успокаивать «партнеров» тем, что крылатые ракеты будут устанавливаться на боевые ледоколы только «в особый период». Судя по всему, задачей кораблей этой серии будет, чтобы подобные «периоды» просто не наступали.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Юриспрудент Офлайн
    Юриспрудент (Олаф) 1 августа 2020 13:18
    -7
    • 1
    • 8
    Вообще-то непонятно, с кем они собираются биться во льдах морским боем?
    Подлодка их всадит торпеду, авиация им ракету. Смысл пушки? Чтоб для публики?
    1. Dust Офлайн
      Dust (Сергей) 1 августа 2020 17:09
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Цитата: Юриспрудент
      установки на ледоколе пусковых контейнеров крылатых ракет «Калибр» или противокорабельных ракет «Уран». Дальность полета «Калибров» может составлять от 1500 до 2600 километров. Если «Папанин» и его одноклассники будут проходить службу где-нибудь в Чукотском или Беринговом море, под прицелом окажутся важнейшие объекты военной инфраструктуры США на Аляске, в Северной Дакоте и Джорджии. Если же в перспективе «Калибры» заменят на гиперзвуковые «Цирконы», это доставит проблем Пентагону
  2. gorenina91 Офлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 1 августа 2020 13:23
    -4
    • 0
    • 4
    Появление у России ударных ледоколов поставит США в опасное положение

    -Хоть приятно слышать, когда конкретно речь идёт именно о России... - А то всё это... - "Россия и Китай; Россия и Китай; Россия и Китай" вызывает уже чувство глубокого ом_ер_зе_ния... - И подобное просто зомбирует россиян (особенно молодёжь) и внушает россиянам чувство собственной неполноценности... - мол, Россия просто не сможет без Китая существовать... - Вот так... -"капля камень точит"...
    - Вообще ... - ударные ледоколы... - это исключительная прерогатива России ...- И Россия не должна отдавать своё лидерство в этом никому...
    - Россия уже совершила чудовищную ошибку (враги народа постарались) в том, что не смогла противостоять Китаю в якобы "сотрудничестве" в освоении Российской Арктики... - Китаю нечего делать в Руссом Севере... - Китай там совсем не нужен... - Не нужно России участие Китая в освоении Русских Северных Путей... - Но предатели России делают своё дело... - И во что это потом выльется... - И России такое сотрудничество выйдет боком...
    1. Юриспрудент Офлайн
      Юриспрудент (Олаф) 1 августа 2020 22:16
      -6
      • 0
      • 6
      Но вы же сами, мадам, сделали все возможное, чтобы единственным вашим партнером осталась страна, у которой даже на картах вы сами тоже Китай аж до Байкала.:) А все остальные от вас шарахаются, как от вонючего бродяги с ржавой трубой в руке. Я вон тут попереписывался с одним человечком с ником-номером, так он мне разъяснил, где вы видели всех нас, кто не за Россию.:)))))) Так вот ваша страна со всеми дискутирует. А по поводу ледоколов - так это на здоровье, нехай плавают.
      Янки в случае угрозы с севера найдут ответ, не беспокойтесь.
      Вот если на плоты на Волге поставить калибры, то тут им будет сложнее, конечно...
      Обдумайте идею с калибрами на плотах.
      1. Я вон тут попереписывался с одним человечком с ником-номером, так он мне разъяснил

        У вас почему-то очень низкий «авторитет пользователя» этого сайта. Видимо, поэтому «человеку с ник-номером» вам пришлось всё разъяснять.
  3. kig Офлайн
    kig 1 августа 2020 14:48
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Вообще-то 23550 - это универсальные патрульные корабли. Даже в английском варианте они называются project 23550 patrol ship, а для патрульного корабля вполне нормально нести разнообразное вооружение. Ну, а то, что он ледокольный - это уже особенности конструкции и района плавания.