NATO tries to stop the fictional "wave of Russian submarines" in the Atlantic


From June 29 to July 10, 2020, the combined NATO navies conducted the Dynamic Mongoose exercise in the North Atlantic for the eighth time. Five ships, the same number of submarines and patrol aircraft from Germany, France, Canada, Norway, the United States and Great Britain tried to stop the fictional "wave of Russian submarines", writes the Business Insider portal.


BI notes that the conduct of such exercises by the Alliance is conditioned by "great power competition" with Moscow and Beijing. The Russian and Chinese submarine fleets are becoming more and more effective, so they began to pay close attention to the fight against the submarines of a potential enemy, allocating more time and resources for this. Iceland was the host.

Surface ships took turns hunting for submarines, and also evaded their pursuit and attacks. Submarines actively used the depths, bottom topography, water temperature and salinity, hiding from ships or preparing for an attack. French and American planes flew from Iceland, and British planes from Scotland. Deck helicopters were also used.

The commanders of the Arleigh Burke-class destroyer USS Roosevelt (DDG-80) Ryan Kendall and the Virginia-class nuclear submarine USS Indiana (SSN-789) David Grogan rave about the maneuvers. They were amazed at the interaction achieved.

The most important goal of these exercises is the fight against submarines. In fact, we are talking about the search for Russian submarines leaving their bases on the Kola Peninsula.

- explained Brian Clarke, senior researcher at the Hudson Institute.

The expert recalled that during the Cold War, the Faro-Icelandic border played the role of a bottleneck through which Soviet submarines tried to break through. If they broke through, then communications between North America and Europe were threatened. This situation has not changed to this day in relation to the Russian nuclear submarine.

Clarke, unlike the military, was not enthusiastic about the exercise. He drew attention to imbalances and problems. In his opinion, the participation of five NATO submarines was not enough.

The expert emphasized that in October 2019, Russia sent 10 of its nuclear submarines to the North Atlantic at the same time. These submarines were very difficult to track, because NATO does not yet have enough forces and means to counter.
Used photos: http://mil.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 2 August 2020 13: 02
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    It's time to go to the southern directions of the Atlantic and Indian Ocean from new bases - cooperation with the PRC allows this ... Exchange of capabilities for both fleets, the ability to use strategic naval bases in points, Chinese in the northern hemisphere, Russian in the southern hemisphere, and everything will become an order of magnitude more effective ... To attract the Iranian Navy to cooperation, then the problems with the withdrawals of the Navy will simplify, the position will strengthen ...
  2. beeper Offline
    beeper 2 August 2020 13: 59
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Despite the fact that quite numerous and extremely developed PLO forces of the United States and other NATO countries, almost continuously, monitor Russian submarines already from the moment they left their home harbor (they even follow them at training underwater training grounds in the waterways), these alleged "fears of an uncontrolled exit into the ocean of Russian atomarines" or allegedlyblack holes(Russian diving diesel-electric submarines) in the depths of the okiyana sea "look like a crafty attempt at deception (in a snobbish reckoning on the very" innocence "and naive self-complacency of their Russian" partners "?!) ?! winked
    It is very reminiscent of the English folk tale about the cunning fox, who, being caught stealing chickens, hyper-persistently "was afraid of the worst that could happen to him" and tearfully asked people: "Do whatever you want with me, even kill, but just not throw me into the thorn bush! ".....
    1. Magog Offline
      Magog (Gog Magog) 2 August 2020 20: 20
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      It seems that NATO-ts are pretending in their supposed difficulties in tracking submarines. The game is the same on both sides: give more money to solve the problem. With ours: we have such quiet and invulnerable boats that the adversary will be terribly uncomfortable in the maritime theater of operations - we will solve all the tasks of the fleet with submarine forces.
  3. Magog Offline
    Magog (Gog Magog) 2 August 2020 20: 06
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    In the early XNUMXs, I had a casual conversation with a former Soviet Navy pilot who served on a helicopter-carrying cruiser during the Gorbachev era. If anyone remembers, then the first (and only) joint naval exercises from NATO and the Soviet Union took place. One of the tasks was simple: to detect and identify the simulated enemy submarine. At first, NATO-ts were looking for our submarine. Many hours passed and there was no result. In the words of the narrator: "I had to play along" ... "When it was our turn to find their boat, we barely had time to warm up the helicopter engines, and then the command was sent to take off with an indication of the square for dropping the water buoy" ...

НАТО попыталось остановить вымышленную «волну российских подлодок» в Атлантике


В период с 29 июня по 10 июля 2020 года объединенные ВМС НАТО в восьмой раз провели учения Dynamic Mongoose («Быстрый мангуст») в Северной Атлантике. Пять кораблей, столько же подлодок и патрульных самолетов из Германии, Франции, Канады, Норвегии, США и Великобритании попытались остановить вымышленную «волну российских подлодок», пишет портал Business Insider.


BI отмечает, что проведение подобных учений Альянса обуславливается «великодержавным соревнованием» с Москвой и Пекином. Российский и китайский подводные флоты становятся все более эффективными, поэтому борьбе с подлодками вероятного противника стали уделять пристальное внимание, выделяя на это больше времени и ресурсов. Принимающей стороной была Исландия.

Надводные корабли по очереди охотились за подлодками, а также уходили от их преследования и нападений. Подлодки активно пользовались глубинами, рельефом дна, температурой воды и уровнем ее солености, прячась от кораблей или готовясь к атаке. Французские и американские самолеты летали из Исландии, а британские – из Шотландии. Применялись также палубные вертолеты.

Командовавшие эсминцем УРО типа «Арли Берк» USS Roosevelt (DDG-80) Райан Кендалл и многоцелевой АПЛ типа «Вирджиния» USS Indiana (SSN-789) Дэвид Гроган восторженно отозвались о проведенных маневрах. Они были поражены достигнутым взаимодействием.

Самая важная цель этих учений – борьба с подлодками. По сути, речь идет о поиске российских подлодок, выходящих со своих баз на Кольском полуострове

– пояснил старший научный сотрудник Гудзоновского института Брайан Кларк.

Эксперт напомнил, что во времена холодной войны Фареро-Исландский рубеж играл роль бутылочного горлышка, через которое пытались прорваться подлодки СССР. Если они прорывались, то коммуникации между Северной Америкой и Европой оказывались под угрозой. Это положение не изменилось и по сей день в отношении АПЛ России.

Кларк, в отличие от военных, не выразил восторга от учений. Он обратил внимание на дисбаланс и проблемы. По его мнению, участие пяти подлодок НАТО было недостаточно.

Эксперт подчеркнул, что в октябре 2019 года Россия направила в Северную Атлантику одновременно 10 своих АПЛ. Эти подлодки было очень сложно отследить, ведь у НАТО пока нет достаточного количества сил и средств для противодействия.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://mil.ru/
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 2 августа 2020 13:02
    0
    Таки пора выходить на южное направления Атлантики и Индийского океана из новых баз, - сотрудничество с КНР тому позволяет... Обменяться возможностями для обоих флотов, возможность использовать стратегические в точках морские базы, китайским в северном полушарии, российским в южном полушарии, и всё станет на порядок эффективнее... Притянуть Иранские ВМФ к сотрудничеству, тогда проблемы с выходами сил ВМФ упростятся, позиции усилятся......
  2. пищак Онлайн пищак
    пищак 2 августа 2020 13:59
    +1
    При том, что достаточно многочисленные и чрезвычайно развитые силы ПЛО США и других стран НАТО, практически непрерывно, следят за российскими подлодками уже с момента их выхода из родной гавани (даже следят за ними на учебных подводных полигонах в терводах), эти якобы "опасения неконтролируемого выхода в океан российских атомарин" или якобы "чёрных дыр( российских ныряющих дизель-электрических подлодок) в глубинах моря-окияна" выглядят как лукавая попытка обмана (в снобистском расчёте на совсем уж "простодушие" и наивную самоуспокоенность своих российских "партнеров"?!)?! winked
    Очень напоминает народную английскую сказку про хитрого лиса, который, будучи пойманным на воровстве кур, гипернастойчиво "боялся самого страшного, что только может с ним случиться" и слёзно просил людей: "Делайте со мной всё, что захотите-хоть убейте, но только не бросайте меня в терновый куст!".....
    1. Магог Офлайн Магог
      Магог (Гог Магог) 2 августа 2020 20:20
      +2
      Похоже, НАТО-цы прикидываются в своих якобы сложностях отслеживать ПЛ. С обеих сторон одна и та же игра: дайте больше денег, чтобы разрешить проблему. С нашей: у нас такие тихие и неуязвимые лодки, что супостату будет ужасно неуютно на морских ТВД - решим все задачи флота подводными силами.
  3. Магог Офлайн Магог
    Магог (Гог Магог) 2 августа 2020 20:06
    +2
    В начале "нулевых" у меня был случайный разговор с бывшим летчиком ВМФ СССР, служившим на крейсере-вертолетоносце в горбачевские времена. Если кто помнит, тогда прошли первые (и единственные) совместные учения ВМС от НАТО и Советского Союза. Одна из задач была простая: обнаружить и идентифицировать ПЛ условного противника. Сначала НАТО-цы искали нашу подлодку. Прошло много часов, а результата не было. Со слов рассказчика: "пришлось подыграть"... "Когда наступила очередь наша найти их лодку, то мы едва успели прогреть вертолетные движки, и тут поступила команда на взлет с указанием квадрата для сброса гидробуев"...