Foreign Policy: Putin's Security Forces Increase Doubt About Putin


Beginning on July 9, people displeased with the arrest of Governor Sergei Furgal have come out to the streets of Khabarovsk. But the emotions of people are connected not so much with the ex-head of the region himself, but with the attitude of Moscow towards the inhabitants of the Far East, whom the Kremlin remembers only in connection with the need to pay federal taxes. Although the demonstrations are unauthorized, the local police do not try too hard to control what is happening on the streets. Foreign Policy experts in this regard argue about how much Putin can trust his own security forces.


There are not very many security officials in Khabarovsk. Along with the local police, there is an OMON unit, SOBR special forces, a National Guard battalion and a brigade of internal troops, as well as the 21st Typhoon Special Forces. All of them especially do not try to resist the demonstrators - people in uniform accompany the marches, officers distribute masks. Even the fearsome National Guard officers show obvious empathy for the disaffected. The latest demonstration coincided with the annual holiday of Russian paratroopers - veterans of the wars in Chechnya, Georgia and Syria joined the march, waving flags and wearing their characteristic blue and white striped shirts.

Perhaps the security forces are not yet active due to the fact that the demonstrations are limited mainly to one city and reflect for the most part the local agenda. The Kremlin can afford to wait and simply suppress any mention of Khabarovsk in the media. However, it is possible that these fluctuations reflect Moscow's concern about how much it can count on its security forces in the event of a real crisis.

Most police officers, National Guard and even FSB employees build their careers in one city or region. They get married, make friends, and tend to become part of the local community, feeling the same pressure and injustice as their neighbors. In this regard, there were rumors that OMON units from Rostov or Novosibirsk were called to Khabarovsk - the Kremlin is not sure whether it can trust the local security forces. The commanders declare their loyalty to the center, but it is difficult to be sure of anything before a real check. It cannot be ruled out that Putin's security forces are increasingly doubting the Russian president himself.

The same goes for the army. Although Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu is an influential supporter of Putin, during the vote on the amendments to the Constitution, the opinions of the soldiers were evenly divided - although the official figures indicate a 78 percent military support for the referendum.

The protests in Khabarovsk will sooner or later fall to a more manageable level, and the authorities will act more persistently. However, the very feeling that Moscow needs to calibrate its repression more thoroughly suggests that the Kremlin is unlikely to check the loyalty of its security officials so far from the capital.
Photos used: https://twitter.com/teamnavalnykhv
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

6 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 5 August 2020 13: 25
    -1
    • 3
    • 4
    One conclusion from the article: Our cause is just, we will win ... Khazaria, built by Chubais-Gaidars under the control of globalists, is crumbling ... No less than that, the collapse of the power of the globalists in the United States ...
    1. The comment was deleted.
      1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 5 August 2020 15: 02
        -2
        • 2
        • 4
        Something not in Russian blurts out, since the translation does not pull ... No, Dear friend, stick to your states ...
    2. nov_tech.vrn Offline
      nov_tech.vrn (Michael) 5 August 2020 17: 36
      -2
      • 0
      • 2
      Following Mr. Obama, Mr. Tuzakov tore up Russia like Tuzik a heating pad.
    3. Citizen Mѣshkov (Sergѣi) 5 August 2020 21: 26
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      How correctly you noticed.
      On my own I will add (more precisely, from the texts of the Bible):

      ... this means that after the time of that kingdom there will be considerable strife and the kingdom will be in danger of falling; but it will not fall then and will be restored to its original state.
      1. The comment was deleted.
  2. Let them walk, let them shout - there is no amerskoy embassy in Khabarovsk, no one will give money for the Maidan!
  3. Valery Kuzmin Offline
    Valery Kuzmin (Valery Kuzmin) 6 August 2020 15: 07
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Were gone too, poor fellows ...

Foreign Policy: Силы безопасности Путина все больше сомневаются в самом Путине


Начиная с 9 июля на улицы Хабаровска выходят недовольные арестом губернатора Сергея Фургала. Но эмоции людей связаны не столько с самим экс-главой региона, сколько с отношением Москвы к жителям Дальнего Востока, о которых в Кремле вспоминают только в связи с необходимостью платить федеральные налоги. И хотя демонстрации несанкционированны, местная полиция не слишком старается контролировать происходящее на улицах. Эксперты Foreign Policy в связи с этим рассуждают о том, насколько Путин может доверять собственным силам безопасности.


В Хабаровске не очень много силовиков. Наряду с местной полицией, там есть подразделение ОМОНа, спецназ СОБР, батальон Национальной гвардии и бригада внутренних войск, а также 21-й отряд специального назначения «Тайфун». Все они особенно и не пытаются противостоять демонстрантам – люди в форме сопровождают марши, офицеры раздают маски. Даже внушающие страх служащие Национальной гвардии показывают очевидное сочувствие к недовольным. Последняя демонстрация совпала с ежегодным праздником российских десантников – к маршу присоединились ветераны войн в Чечне, Грузии и Сирии, размахивающие флагами и носящие характерные сине-белые полосатые рубашки.

Возможно, силовики пока не проявляют активности из-за того, что манифестации ограничены в основном одним городом и отражают по большей части местную повестку. Кремль может позволить себе ждать и просто пресекать любые упоминания о Хабаровске в средствах массовой информации. Однако не исключено, что эти колебания отражает беспокойство Москвы о том, насколько она может рассчитывать на свои силы безопасности в случае настоящего кризиса.

Большинство сотрудников полиции, Национальной гвардии и даже служащих ФСБ строят свою карьеру в одном городе или регионе. Они женятся, заводят друзей и, как правило, становятся частью местного сообщества, чувствуя то же давление и несправедливость, что и их соседи. В связи с этим ходили слухи о том, что в Хабаровск призывали части ОМОНа из Ростова или Новосибирска – Кремль не уверен, может ли он доверять местным силовикам. Командиры заявляют о своей лояльности центру, но до настоящей проверки трудно быть в чем-то уверенными заранее. Нельзя исключать того, что силы безопасности Путина все больше сомневаются в самом российском президенте.

То же касается и армии. Хотя министр обороны Сергей Шойгу – влиятельный сторонник Путина, в ходе голосования за поправки в Конституцию мнения солдат разделились поровну – хотя официальные цифры говорят о 78-процентной поддержке референдума военными.

Протесты в Хабаровске рано или поздно спадут до более управляемого уровня, и власть будет действовать более настойчиво. Однако само ощущение того, что Москве необходимо более тщательно откалибровать свои репрессии, наводит на мысль о том, что Кремль вряд ли станет проверять лояльность своих силовиков так далеко от столицы.
Использованы фотографии: https://twitter.com/teamnavalnykhv
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 5 августа 2020 13:25
    -1
    • 3
    • 4
    Один вывод из статьи: Наше дело правое, мы победим... Хазария, строенная чубайсо- гайдарами под управлением глобалистов, рушится... Не менее тому приложилось крушение власти глобалистов в США...
    1. Комментарий был удален.
      1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 5 августа 2020 15:02
        -2
        • 2
        • 4
        Что-то не по русски брякаете, раз перевод не тянет... Не, Дружок, держись своих штатов...
    2. nov_tech.vrn Онлайн
      nov_tech.vrn (Михаил) 5 августа 2020 17:36
      -2
      • 0
      • 2
      Следом за г-ном Обамой, г-н Тузаков порвал Россию, как Тузик грелку.
    3. Гражданинъ Мѣшковъ (Сергѣй) 5 августа 2020 21:26
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Как верно вы подметили.
      От себя добавлю (точнее, из текстов Библии):

      ...это означает, что после времени того царства произойдут немалые распри, и царство подвергнется опасности падения; но оно не падет тогда и восстановится в первоначальное состояние свое.
      1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Пущай ходят, пущай орут - в Хабаровске амерского посольства нет, никто денег на майдан не даст!
  3. Валерий Кузьмин (Валерий Кузьмин) 6 августа 2020 15:07
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Отходились уж, бедолаги...