The return of the T-80: why the Russian Defense Ministry needed a breakthrough weapon


The "80" actively began to return to the Russian tank forces. After deep modernization in the T-XNUMXBVM version, it has already ended up in the motorized rifle brigade of the Northern Fleet, will go to the famous Kantemirovtsy and will go to the Far East. Why did the Ministry of Defense again need a "jet" tank?


The USSR was a great tank power: shortly before its collapse, the fleet of these combat vehicles totaled almost 64 thousand. The most massive series was the T-72, which made about 30 thousand. The T-80 is a very special tank, of which about 10 thousand were produced. The Russian Federation, as of 2017, had nearly five hundred of them in service, the rest are in storage. Then the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation signed a contract for the modernization of six dozen T-80B to the level of T-80BVM. This event attracted the attention of military experts, both domestic and foreign. And that's why.

During the Cold War, these tanks were in service with our westernmost borders. Thanks to the gas turbine power plant, they were able to quickly start up even in severe frost and make swift marches at a speed unique for a heavy vehicle. That is, we have before us an offensive weapon, a means of breaking through. He had to pay for the GTE because of his enormous gluttony. It is not surprising that after 1991, when we became "friends" with the West, the "eighty" ceased to be relevant, and instead more practical and economical vehicles with diesel engines became the main battle tank.

Much has changed now. The T-80BVM was equipped with an upgraded GTD-1250TF gas turbine engine, delivering 1250 horsepower. This made it even more "reactive", but fuel consumption was reduced. The gun turret is equipped with a 125-mm 2A46M-4 cannon, NSVT and PKT machine guns, as well as the Sosna-U weapons control system, which allows combat at any time of the day in any weather. The Reflex guided missile weapon system will help destroy enemy armored vehicles at a distance of up to 5 kilometers. Protection has been increased due to the "Relikt" reactive armor kit and hinged elements.

The appearance of the T-80BVM caused a mixed reaction in the expert community. Critics assurethat, apart from the unusual speed for a tank, the "eighty" has no particular advantages over the T-72B3 version of 2016 or over the T-90M. At the same time, the need to maintain such different tanks in parallel complicates and makes more expensive the maintenance of the common fleet. But there is another opinion.

As already mentioned, the main advantage of the T-80BVM is its ability to start almost instantly at the lowest temperatures, as well as its extraordinary speed of movement. Much says that the first recipient was the Northern Fleet, which protects the country's Arctic borders. Obviously, the Russian Defense Ministry is seriously preparing for a confrontation in this strategically important region. High speed and maneuverability can also be useful to our tankers in the western direction, where NATO's military activity is increasing, and, remarkably, in the eastern direction. T-80BVM will travel to the Pacific borders of Russia.
Used photos: http://mil.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 5 August 2020 14: 48
    -3
    • 1
    • 4
    IMHO, Just decided to try out the upgrade?
    60 pieces - the most it. Neither there nor here otherwise. Increased fuel consumption is not a pity, and the resource is not particularly wasted.
    1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 5 August 2020 15: 28
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      By the word Cold - engines are not internal combustion engines. What determines everything .. What is the controversy ...
      1. shinobi Offline
        shinobi (Yuri) 6 August 2020 07: 45
        0
        • 0
        • 0
        What are the disputes about? Yes, just scratch your tongues! About nothing.
  2. Kuzmich Sibiryakov (Kuzmich Sibiryakov) 6 August 2020 10: 38
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    More tanks, good and different. Only an instant breakthrough into enemy territory to a great depth will protect against nuclear tactical strikes.
  3. Essex62 Offline
    Essex62 (Alexander) 7 August 2020 12: 37
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Are we going to rush to the English Channel, Setubal and Lagos to establish the ruble zone?

Возвращение Т-80: зачем Минобороны РФ понадобилось оружие прорыва


В российские танковые войска активно начала возвращаться «восьмидесятка». После глубокой модернизации в версии Т-80БВМ она уже попала в мотострелковую бригаду Северного флота, достанется прославленным кантемировцам и поедет на Дальний Восток. Зачем же Минобороны вновь понадобился «реактивный» танк?


СССР был великой танковой державой: незадолго до его развала парк этих боевых машин насчитывал почти 64 тысячи. Самой массовой серией стал Т-72, которых сделали около 30 тысяч. Т-80 представляет собой совершенно особенный танк, которых успели произвести порядка 10 тысяч. Российская Федерация по состоянию на 2017 год имела их в строю без малого пять сотен, остальные находятся на хранении. Тогда Минобороны РФ заключило контракт на модернизацию шести десятков Т-80Б до уровня Т-80БВМ. Это событие привлекло внимание военных экспертов, как отечественных, так и зарубежных. И вот почему.

Во времена «холодной войны» эти танки стояли на вооружении наших самых западных рубежей. Благодаря газотурбинной силовой установке, они были способны быстро заводиться даже в сильный мороз и совершать стремительные марш-броски с уникальной для тяжелой машины скоростью. То есть, перед нами наступательное оружие, средство прорыва. Платить за ГТД приходилось его огромной прожорливостью. Неудивительно, что после 1991 года, когда мы стали «дружить» с Западом, «восьмидесятка» перестала быть актуальной, а вместо нее основным боевым танком стали более практичные и экономичные машины с дизельными двигателями.

Теперь многое изменилось. На Т-80БВМ установили модернизированный газотурбинный двигатель ГТД-1250ТФ, выдающий мощность в 1250 лошадиных сил. Это сделало его еще более «реактивным», однако расход топлива был уменьшен. На орудийной башне стоят 125-мм пушка 2А46М-4, пулеметы НСВТ и ПКТ, а также система управления вооружениями «Сосна-У», позволяющая вести бой в любое время суток при любой погоде. Уничтожить бронетехнику противника на расстоянии до 5 километров поможет система управляемого ракетного оружия «Рефлекс». Защита увеличена за счет комплекта динамической защиты «Реликт» и навесных элементов.

Появление Т-80БВМ вызвало неоднозначную реакцию в экспертном сообществе. Критики уверяют, что, кроме необычной для танка скорости, «восьмидесятка» не имеет особых преимуществ перед Т-72Б3 версии 2016 года или перед Т-90М. При этом необходимость обслуживания параллельно столь разных танков усложняет и делает более дорогим содержание общего парка. Но есть и другое мнение.

Как уже было упомянуто, главным преимуществом Т-80БВМ является его способность почти моментально заводиться при самых низких температурах, а также необычайная скорость передвижения. Многое говорит о том, что первым его получателем стал Северный флот, охраняющий арктические рубежи страны. Очевидно, в Минобороны РФ всерьез готовятся к противостоянию в этом стратегически важном регионе. Высокие скорость и маневренность также могут пригодиться нашим танкистам на западном направлении, где возрастает военная активность НАТО, и, что примечательно, на восточном. Т-80БВМ поедет к тихоокеанским рубежам России.
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 5 августа 2020 14:48
    -3
    Имхо, Просто решили опробовать модернизацию?
    60 шт - самое оно. Ни туда, ни сюда иначе. Топлива повышенный расход не жалко, и ресурс особо не потратится.
    1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 5 августа 2020 15:28
      0
      По слову Холод - двигатели не ДВС. Что определяет всё.. О чём споры...
      1. синоби Офлайн синоби
        синоби (Юрий) 6 августа 2020 07:45
        0
        О чём споры? Да просто языками почесать! Ни о чём.
  2. Кузьмич Сибиряков ( Кузьмич Сибиряков) 6 августа 2020 10:38
    0
    Больше танков, хороших и разных. Только мгновенный прорыв на территорию врага на большую глубину предохранит от ядерных тактических ударов.
  3. Essex62 Офлайн Essex62
    Essex62 (Александр) 7 августа 2020 12:37
    -1
    Неужели рванем к Ла-Маншу, Сетубалу и Лагосу рублевую зону устанавливать?