NI: Russia has twice as many tanks as the United States - but does that matter?


In 2020, the Russian military will continue to expand its armored vehicle arsenal. According to Deputy Defense Minister Alexei Krivoruchko, in the first half of this year, the Russian military received 160 tanks, including the repaired and modernized T-72B and T-80. The American edition of The National Interest drew attention to this.


According to the resource Globalfirepower.com, the Russian fleet of tanks of up to 12000 units is twice as large as the American one - the United States has 6000 tanks, which prompts speculation about the prospects for a long ground war.

The main battle tank of the Russian army can be considered the T-72B, and in the US army, the Abrams.

The Global Firepower material indicates that the United States has more armored vehicles compared to Russia - the Pentagon has 39000 armored personnel carriers against 27000 in Russia. At the same time, one cannot ignore the advantage of the Russian Federation in 6000 tanks, which are better protected than conventional armored personnel carriers.

However, the outcome of any modern war is largely dependent on aviation, and Americans have twice as many combat aircraft as Russians and nearly five times as many helicopters. Air superiority may ultimately decide which ground forces will be decisive - after all, in the event of American superiority, Russian tanks will be vulnerable from the air.

Other factors to consider, such as current technological condition and complexity of Russian tanks. How many T-72s have been upgraded so that they can somehow be compared with the latest modifications of the Abrams? Later versions of the latter, among others, include new infrared and thermal imaging sights, improved armor materials and missile projectiles as ammunition. All of this raises the question of whether the Abrams will be able to outperform the Russian T-14 Armata and whether it matters that Russia has twice as many tanks as the US - how important are the numbers in and of themselves?

If an army can deploy significant forces on the battlefield, does it really need 12 tanks? Isn't the range, accuracy, survivability and combat characteristics of armored vehicles more important than abstract digital data? If one tank has the ability to detect and destroy enemy equipment from a safe distance, then one such combat vehicle could surpass dozens of enemy vehicles.
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Sergey Tokarev Offline Sergey Tokarev
    Sergey Tokarev (Sergey Tokarev) 10 August 2020 12: 24
    0
    It doesn't matter, since the American tanks will not cross with the Russian ones. Russia will not send its own to the United States, and the Abrams are useless in the conditions of Russia. With the Merkava would have been compared))) the Israeli version of the German Mouse against the Bedouins ...
  2. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 10 August 2020 14: 44
    -5
    NI: Russia has twice as many tanks as the United States - but does that matter?

    - Yes, what does the Americans have to do with it ... - Most likely, Russia will have to (if it has to) confront its tanks in border wars and conflicts with China ...
    - This is where the T-80U-M1 "Bars" would come in handy (I will not mention the wonderful Omsk tank "Black Eagle"; which the enemies of Russia simply destroyed) ...
    - In general ... - it's good at least once the Omsk plant Omsktransmash (now also ruined by the enemies of Russia) managed to build a huge number of T-80BV and T-80U-M1 tanks ... - and these tanks can now be simply assembled throughout the territory of Russia; modernize, install the latest equipment ... - and make whole armies out of them (even in the North ... - they have now decided to use them in the Arctic) ...
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 10 August 2020 15: 55
    -1
    To the point.
    Tanks do not fight tanks.
    The clash in the east and west shows that ATGMs and land mines, missiles and possibly artillery are the main opponents of tanks.
    1. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
      gorenina91 (Irina) 10 August 2020 16: 09
      -5
      To the point.
      Tanks do not fight tanks.

      - Ha ... - what do you mean ??? - Yes, and one soldier (a Russian soldier who has served, or rather, somehow blabbed in the army for a year) does not fight against a thousand Chinese soldiers (perfectly physically and professionally trained) ... - this simply should not be in nature ... - Yes all that remains is to tell the Chinese ... - they say ... - it's not fair ... - a thousand military professionals and ... and for one dystrophic in a military uniform ... - maybe they will agree with this ... - Although ... - hardly ...
      - So ... - this is how you have to ... - and it will turn out ... - It would be better ... - tanks against tanks ... - and not "in a different way" ... - Well, but in real life ... how can it fall out ... not easy ...
      1. mivmim Offline mivmim
        mivmim 10 August 2020 18: 58
        +1
        Here you are stuck on the Chinese.)))))))))))))
        1. The comment was deleted.
      2. _AMUHb_ Offline _AMUHb_
        _AMUHb_ (_AMUHb_) 10 August 2020 21: 41
        0
        Yes, for the armor it will somehow be more reliable)) than on a comfortable pickup truck with a machine gun)) so the Americans pull all their Abrams. Like some, they do not want to pull javelins and so forth on horse-drawn carts))) but the events of the semi-partisan formations of special forces, something is "shown" to someone there.
      3. The comment was deleted.
  4. boriz Offline boriz
    boriz (boriz) 11 August 2020 15: 11
    +1
    ... after all, in the event of the superiority of American aircraft, Russian tanks will be vulnerable from the air.

    But this will depend on whose tanks will be better covered by air defense. And in general, from a specific situation. Here in the Donbass, the militias did not have aviation from the word "absolutely". So they quickly threw 404 aviation from the sky, having only MANPADS and anti-aircraft guns. Both planes and helicopters.

    If one tank has the ability to detect and destroy enemy equipment from a safe distance, then one such combat vehicle could surpass dozens of enemy vehicles.

    Again these nonsense. History teaches nothing. The T-34 and KV tanks were good. There are many episodes where they destroyed a lot of German tanks. But, with the Germans having competent commanders, everything usually ended sadly for ours. The offensive was stopped, the Ju-87 was pulled up, "akht-koma-akht" and other surprises, and our tanks (usually without the support of artillery, infantry and aviation) were multiplied by zero.
    Manstein's corps was armed exclusively with Czech tanks (created, by the way, by the Russian engineer Alexei Surin) with mediocre armor (riveted!) And a weak cannon. And on these tanks I reached Moscow. When meeting with the T-34 and KV, the problem was solved by other means, and with the rest of the Soviet tanks, the Pz 38 could normally fight itself.
    So, no one will let one tank kill dozens of others. If the command is sane.
  5. Kuzmich Sibiryakov (Kuzmich Sibiryakov) 11 August 2020 20: 55
    -1
    Not analysis, not articulate mooing. Our tanks are already close to the theater of operations, and are ready for an instant rush to the right place, while the American ones still need to be transported to Europe. It is necessary to compare not the total number, but those prepared for combat. This will give you more than a tenfold advantage. US aviation must also get to European airfields. It may turn out that it will be difficult. Missile strikes, from the air and occupation by our tank wedges.

NI: У России танков вдвое больше, чем у США – но имеет ли это значение?


В 2020 году российские вооруженные силы продолжат расширять свой арсенал бронетехники. Как заявил заместитель министра обороны страны Алексея Криворучко, в первой половине этого года военные России получили 160 танков – в их число входят отремонтированные и модернизированные Т-72Б и Т-80. Внимание на это обратило американское издание The National Interest.


По данным ресурса Globalfirepower.com, российский парк танков численностью до 12000 единиц вдвое превышает американский – США располагают 6000 танками, что наталкивает на размышление о перспективах длительной наземной войны.

Основным боевым танком российской армии можно считать Т-72Б, а в армии США – «Абрамс».

В материале Global Firepower указывается, что у США больше бронетехники по сравнению с Россией – Пентагон располагает 39000 бронетранспортерами против 27000 в России. При этом нельзя игнорировать преимущество РФ в 6000 танков, которые лучше защищены, чем обычные БТР.

Однако исход любой современной войны в значительной степени зависит от авиации, а у американцев в два раза больше боевых самолетов, чем у россиян, и почти в пять раз больше вертолетов. Превосходство в воздухе может в конечном итоге решить, какие наземные силы будут иметь определяющее значение – ведь в случае превосходства американской авиации танки России будут уязвимы с воздуха.

Следует учитывать и другие факторы, такие, как текущее технологическое состояние и сложность российских танков. Сколько Т-72 модернизированы так, чтобы их можно было хоть как-то сопоставить с последними модификациями «Абрамсов»? Более поздние варианты последних, кроме прочего, включают новые инфракрасные и тепловизионные прицелы, усовершенствованные материалы брони и снаряды-ракеты в качестве боеприпасов. Все это поднимает вопрос о том, смогут ли «Абрамсы» превзойти российские Т-14 «Армата» и имеет ли в связи с этим значение то, что у России вдвое больше танков, чем у США – насколько ли важны цифры сами по себе?

Если армия способна задействовать на поле боя значительные силы, действительно ли ей нужно 12 тыс. танков? Разве дальность, точность, живучесть и боевые характеристики бронированных машин не важнее абстрактных цифровых данных? Если один танк имеет возможности по обнаружению и уничтожению вражеской техники с безопасного расстояния, то одна такая боевая машина могла бы превзойти десятки неприятельских.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

8 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Сергей Токарев (Сергей Токарев) 10 августа 2020 12:24
    0
    • 3
    • 3
    Это не имеет значения, поскольку американские танки с российскими не пересекутся. Россия свои не отправит в США, а Абрамсы в условиях России бесполезны. С Меркавой бы еще сравнили))) израильский вариант немецкого Мауса против бедуинов....
  2. gorenina91 Офлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 10 августа 2020 14:44
    -5
    • 1
    • 6
    NI: У России танков вдвое больше, чем у США – но имеет ли это значение?

    - Да, при чём здесь американы... - Скорее всего, России придётся (если такое придётся) противостоять своими танками в пограничных войнах и конфликтах с Китаем...
    - Вот здесь как раз и пригодился бы Т-80У-М1 «Барс» (уж не буду упоминать прекрасный омский танк "Чёрный орёл"; который враги России просто погубили) ...
    - Вообще... - хорошо хоть когда-то омский завод Омсктрансмаш (ныне тоже погубленный врагами России) успел понастроить огромное кол-во танков Т-80БВ и Т-80У-М1 ... - и эти танки теперь можно просто собирать по всей территории России; модернизировать, устанавливать новейшее оборудование... - и сколачивать из них целые таковые армии (вон даже на Севере... - в Арктике их теперь решили использовать) ...
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 10 августа 2020 15:55
    -1
    • 3
    • 4
    Толку-то.
    Танки с танками не воюют.
    Столкновение на востоке и западе показывают, что ПТУР и Фугасы, ракеты и возможно, артиллерия - главные противники танков.
    1. gorenina91 Офлайн
      gorenina91 (Ирина) 10 августа 2020 16:09
      -5
      • 1
      • 6
      Толку-то.
      Танки с танками не воюют.

      - Ха...- да вы что??? - Да и один солдат (русский солдат, отслуживший, вернее, кое-как проболтавшийся в армии год) не воюет против тысячи китайских солдат (прекрасно физически и профессионально подготовленных)... - такого просто в природе быть не должно... - Да вот остаётся это только китайцам сказать ...- мол ... - это же нечестно... - тысяча военных профи и... и на одного дистрофика в военной форме... - может они с этим и согласятся... - Хотя...- вряд ли...
      - Так что... - это уж как придётся... - так и получится... - Уж лучше бы уж... - танки против танков ... - а не "по-другому"... - Ну, а в реале ... как уж там выпадет... нелёгкая...
      1. mivmim Офлайн
        mivmim 10 августа 2020 18:58
        +1
        • 3
        • 2
        Вот тебя заклинило на китайцах.)))))))))))))
        1. Комментарий был удален.
      2. _AMUHb_ Офлайн
        _AMUHb_ (_AMUHb_) 10 августа 2020 21:41
        0
        • 0
        • 0
        Да за бронькой оно как-то понадежней будет)) чем на комфортном пикапе с пулеметом)) вот и американцы всё Абрамсы свои тянут. Не хотят, как некоторые, на гужевых повозках джавелины и пр.птур тянуть))) а ведь события полупартизанских формирований спецназа, что-то кому-то там "показывают".
      3. Комментарий был удален.
  4. boriz Офлайн
    boriz (boriz) 11 августа 2020 15:11
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    ...ведь в случае превосходства американской авиации танки России будут уязвимы с воздуха.

    А вот это будет зависеть от того, чьи танки будут лучше прикрыты ПВО. И вообще, от конкретной ситуации. Вот на Донбассе у ополченцев авиации не было от слова "совсем". Так они авиацию 404 быстро скинули с неба, имея только ПЗРК и зенитки. И самолёты, и вертолёты.

    Если один танк имеет возможности по обнаружению и уничтожению вражеской техники с безопасного расстояния, то одна такая боевая машина могла бы превзойти десятки неприятельских.

    Опять эти благоглупости. Ничему не учит история. Хорошие были танки Т-34 и КВ. Есть много эпизодов, где они расколошматили массу немецких танков. Но, при наличии грамотных командиров у немцев, всё обычно заканчивалось печально для наших. Наступление останавливали, подтягивали Ю-87, "ахт-кома-ахт" и прочие сюрпризы и наши танки (обычно без поддержки артиллерии, пехоты и авиации) умножали на ноль.
    Корпус Манштейна был вооружён исключительно чешскими танками (созданными, кстати, русским инженером Алексеем Суриным) с посредственной бронёй (клёпаной!) и слабой пушкой. И на этих танках дошёл до Москвы. При встрече с Т-34 и КВ проблему решали другими средствами, а с остальными советскими танками Pz 38 мог нормально воевать и сам.
    Так что, никто не даст одному танку перебить десятки других. Если командование вменяемое.
  5. Кузьмич Сибиряков ( Кузьмич Сибиряков) 11 августа 2020 20:55
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Не анализ, а не членораздельное мычание. Наши танки - уже вблизи ТВД, и готовы к моментальному броску туда, куда надо, а американские ещё нужно довезти до Европы. Нужно сравнивать не общее количество, а приготовленных к боевым действиям. Получится более, чем десятикратное преимущество. Авиация США так же должна добраться до аэродромов Европы. Может так оказаться, что это будет затруднительно. Удары ракет, с воздуха и занятие нашими танковыми клиньями.