"Queen of Artillery": what the Russian MLRS "Tornado-S" is capable of


A new workshop for the production of missiles for Russian multiple launch rocket systems has opened at the NPO Splav plant. Today, the domestic heirs of the legendary Katyusha, which is rightfully considered the first effective MLRS, are popular in many countries, occupying a third of the world market. And there are good reasons for this.


Unlike the Americans, who use a single, versatile M270 MLRS vehicle with interchangeable packages of missiles of various types, Russia has focused on specialization. Initially, a simple and cheap "Grad" was used to work on targets at a distance of up to 25 km. Firing larger missiles "Hurricane" reached the enemy at a distance of up to 36 km, and the heavy "Smerch" hit key targets at a distance of 90 km, covering an area of ​​up to 67 hectares in one salvo.

However, the situation described above changed dramatically after the modernization of rockets, which made it possible to increase the range and accuracy of fire. Now "Grad" can reach up to 40 km, "Uragan" received high-precision missiles with striking individual guidance modules, and "Tornado-S" came to replace "Smerch", which has already become a cherished goal of foreign buyers.

The basic model of the aforementioned MLRS allows you to hit targets at a distance of up to 120 km. However, the new missiles made the Tornado a true "queen of artillery". A 300-mm combat element is capable of reaching the enemy at a distance of up to 200 km, covering targets located in different areas with one salvo. Only the promising American GLSDB projectile, which Boeing promises to create only by 2027, can boast such "range". In addition, thanks to individual guidance with satellite navigation GLONASS, the accuracy of the new Russian missiles has increased 15-20 times.

In 2019, the "Tornado-S" MLRS received an export passport. True, now foreign customers can be content with only the basic version of the system.

The priority task of the production of "Tornado-S", equipped with the latest rockets, is the rearmament of domestic divisions. Therefore, the "king of artillery" will be exported only after the saturation of its own troops.

2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Satellite Offline Satellite
    Satellite (Satellite) 16 August 2020 11: 26
    0
    It's strange. On the video they talk about "Tornado S", but they constantly show "Tornado G".
    1. Magog Offline Magog
      Magog (Gog Magog) 1 September 2020 21: 28
      0
      So is the photo for the article with the same sin. And it was just necessary to tell about the family of new missiles "Tornado" with caliber 122 and 300 mm without emphasizing the name "Tornado-S".

«Царица артиллерии»: на что способна российская РСЗО «Торнадо-С»


Новый цех по производству ракет к российским реактивным системам залпового огня открылся на заводе НПО «Сплав». Сегодня отечественные наследники легендарной «Катюши», которая по праву считается первой эффективной РСЗО, пользуются популярностью во многих странах, занимая треть мирового рынка. И на это есть весомые причины.


В отличие от американцев, которые используют единую универсальную машину M270 MLRS со сменными пакетами ракет различных типов, Россия сделала упор на специализацию. Изначально для работы по целям на дальности до 25 км применялся простой и дешевый «Град». Стреляющий более крупными ракетами «Ураган» доставал противника на расстоянии до 36 км, а тяжелый «Смерч» поражал ключевые цели на удалении в 90 км, одним залпом накрывая площадь до 67 га.

Однако вышеописанная ситуация кардинально изменилась после модернизации реактивных снарядов, позволившей увеличить дальность и точность стрельбы. Теперь «Град» может доставать до 40 км, «Ураган» получил высокоточные ракеты с поражающими модулями индивидуального наведения, а на смену «Смерчу» пришел «Торнадо-С», который уже стал заветной целью зарубежных покупателей.

Базовая модель вышеупомянутой РСЗО позволяет поражать цели на расстоянии до 120 км. Однако новые ракеты сделали «Торнадо» настоящей «царицей артиллерии». 300-мм боевой элемент способен доставать противника на удалении до 200 км, одним залпом накрывая цели, расположенные в разных районах. Такой «дальнобойностью» сможет похвастать разве что перспективный американский снаряд GLSDB, который «Боинг» обещает создать лишь к 2027 году. Кроме того, благодаря индивидуальному наведению со спутниковой навигацией ГЛОНАСС, точность новых российских ракет выросла в 15-20 раз.

В 2019 году РСЗО «Торнадо-С» получила экспортный паспорт. Правда, сейчас иностранные заказчики могут довольствоваться лишь базовой версией системы.

Приоритетной задачей производства «Торнадо-С», оснащенного новейшими реактивными снарядами, является перевооружение отечественных дивизионов. Поэтому на экспорт «король артиллерии» пойдет только после насыщения собственных войск.

Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Сателлит Офлайн
    Сателлит (Сателлит) 16 августа 2020 11:26
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Странно. На видео говорят про «Торнадо С», а показывают постоянно «Торнадо Г».
    1. Магог Офлайн
      Магог (Гог Магог) 1 сентября 2020 21:28
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Так и фотография к статье с таким же грешком. А надо было просто рассказать про семейство новых ракет "Торнадо" калибром 122 и 300 мм без акцентирования названия "Торнадо-С".