Why the dollar is losing ground faster in the world


The dominance of the American currency reflects the magnitude of the global leadership of the United States on the planet. Therefore, it is necessary to find out the reasons why the dollar, which has the status of the world reserve currency, is losing its positions more and more, writes the British magazine The Economist.


In July 2020, the largest depreciation of the dollar against important currencies in the last 10 years occurred - by 4%. At the same time, the positions of the euro, gold and cryptocurrencies have strengthened, which indicates an increase in confidence in them.

The entire first half of 2020 was marked by fluctuations in the markets. At first, this was influenced by the COVID-19 pandemic, and later the riots in the United States were added to this, which provoked a corresponding reaction from investors. At the same time, the growth of public debt and uncertain recovery economics The US is not encouraging.

Many economists are inclined to believe that the global hegemon may have to pay his bills. However, even if the question of dollar dominance is raised, it will not mean that the US has become less powerful. Therefore, it is more correct to say that the world order created by Washington is becoming more and more vulnerable.

Now the US share in global production and international trade is declining. Washington has long ceased to be a net creditor to others. At the same time, Beijing has become the world's leading exporter. That is why there was talk that the euro and yuan will replace the dollar in the foreseeable future.

Prior to that, in the history of mankind there was only one case of a change in the world reserve currency, when the dollar took the place of the pound sterling. Therefore, it is difficult to determine all the nuances of such a process. It should also be borne in mind that not only the economic power of the United States allowed the dollar to receive this status. The indisputable military power of Washington played an important role. But the status of the reserve currency is definitely not impregnable.

However, over the past decades, applicants have failed to get the dollar off its pedestal. The point is that troubled Europe and authoritarian China have their own problems. And the status of the dollar does not depend solely on export opportunities and US creditworthiness. The biggest threat to the dollar does not come from the euro or the yuan, but from the weakening of US commitments to alliances and institutions that have helped preserve peace and globalization for more than 70 years.

The US can rebuild global trade that will ensure the dollar's dominance for years to come. If they don't, then a hostile world could end the privileged position of the American currency and much more.
Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

9 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. _AMUHb_ Offline
    _AMUHb_ (_AMUHb_) 16 August 2020 16: 59
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    I remember that the unlucky neighbor in the dacha decided to get to the bottom ("to the truth") and began to dig the root of the "hated" loach, dug a meter and a half into the depths, until he gave up this venture. It should be noted that I never got to the bottom (not so stubborn)))) This topic is somewhat similar.
    1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 17 August 2020 12: 34
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Do you see the groundhog? - Not. - And he is ...

      I will add: and it will come out at an unexpected time ... The dollar has accumulated so many obligations over a century (printed) that it is time for the households to nullify these obligations, which is being done. Confirmation of this is the emission of a trillion dollars at zero rates in the quarter of the year. Who can survive, no one ... !!! It seems that the Fed turns everyone into suckers in front of everyone's eyes ...
  2. Alexzn Offline
    Alexzn (Alexander) 16 August 2020 17: 50
    0
    • 2
    • 2
    As usual - about nothing.
    1. 123 Online
      123 (123) 16 August 2020 19: 23
      +1
      • 2
      • 1
      As usual - about nothing.

      Not certainly in that way. It's just that the article is incomplete, you can read it on "Inosmi.ru" without translation, there is a little more detail. The reasoning of the British on this topic, the comparison with the fall of the pound is still of interest. They describe the reasons, look for patterns of similar processes.
  3. Alexzn Offline
    Alexzn (Alexander) 16 August 2020 19: 27
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Quote: 123
    As usual - about nothing.

    Not certainly in that way. It's just that the article is incomplete, you can read it on "Inosmi.ru" without translation, there is a little more detail. The reasoning of the British on this topic, the comparison with the fall of the pound is still of interest. They describe the reasons, look for patterns of similar processes.

    This is a natural process. The global economy wants a global, supranational currency. While this is not possible, it means that there will be several backups. Thank you, I'll read it.
  4. Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 16 August 2020 22: 06
    -3
    • 1
    • 4
    USD 72,88. And revisit the brief history of the dollar.
    1. 123 Online
      123 (123) 17 August 2020 11: 30
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      USD 72,88. And revisit the brief history of the dollar.

      AND....? What does it mean? What does this mean? For example, JPY 106,5. You can see their brief history. Or their CNY 6,94, EUR 0,84, GBP 0,76.
    2. Satellite Offline
      Satellite (Satellite) 18 August 2020 01: 25
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      USD 72,88. And revisit the brief history of the dollar.

      To operate on exchange rates, it would be nice to also include "mosk" and compare them by PPP.
      And the teaching staff is very visual. Here's an example that is close to your understanding:
      Vodka Smirnoff Black No. 55
      - USA - $ 17
      - Russia - 420 Rubles (420r: 72,88) = 5,76 $
      The question disappeared?
  5. Sergey Kosov Offline
    Sergey Kosov (Sergey Kosov) 18 August 2020 04: 55
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    The world's reserve currency is gold. Everything else is candy wrappers, which you can print as much as you like, which is what the so-called. "developed countries" - for the sake of their own material well-being - and to the detriment of the rest of the world. When the world moves to the gold standard, the dominance of the West on the planet will come to an end.

Почему доллар все быстрее теряет позиции в мире


Господство американской валюты отражает величину глобального лидерства США на планете. Поэтому нужно выяснить причины, почему доллар, имеющий статус мировой резервной валюты, все быстрее теряет свои позиции, пишет британский журнал The Economist.


В июле 2020 года произошло крупнейшее за последние 10 лет снижение курса доллара по отношению к важным валютам – на 4%. При этом позиции евро, золота и криптовалют укрепились, что указывает на рост доверия к ним.

Вся первая половина 2020 года была отмечена колебаниями на рынках. Сначала на это влияла пандемия COVID-19, а позднее к этому добавились массовые беспорядки в США, которые спровоцировали соответствующую реакцию инвесторов. При этом рост госдолга и неуверенное восстановление экономики США не добавляют оптимизма.

Многие экономисты склоняются к мысли, что мировому гегемону, вероятно, придется заплатить по своим счетам. Однако даже если вопрос о доминировании доллара будет поставлен, это не будет означать, что США стали менее могущественными. Поэтому корректней говорить, что созданный Вашингтоном мировой порядок становится все более уязвимым.

Сейчас доля США в глобальном производстве и международной торговле снижается. Вашингтон уже давно перестал быть чистым кредитором для других. При этом Пекин стал ведущим экспортером в мире. Именно поэтому появились разговоры, что в обозримом будущем евро и юань заменят доллар.

До этого в истории человечества был только один случай смены мировой резервной валюты, когда доллар занял место фунта стерлинга. Поэтому сложно определить все нюансы подобного процесса. Нужно также учитывать, что не только экономическая мощь США позволила доллару получить этот статус. Немаловажную роль сыграла неоспоримая военная мощь Вашингтона. Но статус резервной валюты точно не является неприступным.

Однако за прошедшие десятилетия претендентам не удалось сбросить доллар с его пьедестала. Все дело в том, что беспокойная Европа и авторитарный Китай имеют собственные проблемы. И статус доллара не зависит исключительно от экспортных возможностей и кредитоспособности США. Самая большая угроза для доллара исходит не от евро или юаня, а от ослабления обязательств США по отношению к альянсам и институтам, которые способствовали сохранению мира и глобализации в течение более 70 лет.

США могут провести реконструкцию глобальной торговли, что обеспечит господство доллара на долгие годы. Если они этого не сделают, то враждебный мир может положить конец привилегированному положению американской валюты и многому другому.
Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

9 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. _AMUHb_ Офлайн
    _AMUHb_ (_AMUHb_) 16 августа 2020 16:59
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Помнится, незадачливый сосед по даче решил докопаться ("до истины") и начал копать корень "ненавистного" вьюна, докопал метра полтора вглубь, пока не бросил эту затею. Надо отметить, что так и не докопался (не такой упертый оказался)))) Эта тема чем-то схожа.
    1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 17 августа 2020 12:34
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Видишь сурка? - Нет. - А он есть...

      Добавлю: и вылезет в неожиданное время... Доллар за столетие набрал столько обязательств (напечатано), что пора хозяйвам эти обязательства обнулить, что и делается. Подтверждение тому, выброс по триллиону долларов по нулевым ставкам в квартал года. Кто такое выдержит, никто... !!! Кажется, ФРС на глазах всех превращает в лохов...
  2. AlexZN Офлайн
    AlexZN (Александр) 16 августа 2020 17:50
    0
    • 2
    • 2
    Как обычно - ни о чем.
    1. 123 Онлайн
      123 (123) 16 августа 2020 19:23
      +1
      • 2
      • 1
      Как обычно - ни о чем.

      Не совсем так. Просто статья неполная, можете на "ИноСМИ.ру" почитать без перевода, там несколько подробней. Рассуждения англичан на данную тему, сравнение с падением фунта все-таки представляют интерес. Описывают причины, ищут закономерности схожих процессов.
  3. AlexZN Офлайн
    AlexZN (Александр) 16 августа 2020 19:27
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Цитата: 123
    Как обычно - ни о чем.

    Не совсем так. Просто статья неполная, можете на "ИноСМИ.ру" почитать без перевода, там несколько подробней. Рассуждения англичан на данную тему, сравнение с падением фунта все-таки представляют интерес. Описывают причины, ищут закономерности схожих процессов.

    Это закономерный процесс. Глобальная экономика хочет глобальной, наднациональной валюты. Пока это невозможно, значит, будет несколько резервных. Спасибо, прочитаю.
  4. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 16 августа 2020 22:06
    -3
    • 1
    • 4
    USD 72,88. И пересмотреть краткую историю доллара.
    1. 123 Онлайн
      123 (123) 17 августа 2020 11:30
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      USD 72,88. И пересмотреть краткую историю доллара.

      И....? Что это значит? О чем это говорит? Вот к примеру - JPY 106,5. Можете их краткую историю посмотреть. Или их CNY 6,94, EUR 0,84, GBP 0,76.
    2. Сателлит Офлайн
      Сателлит (Сателлит) 18 августа 2020 01:25
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      USD 72,88. И пересмотреть краткую историю доллара.

      Чтобы оперировать обменными курсами, неплохо было бы ещё включать «моск», и сравнивать их по ППС.
      А ППС очень нагляден. Вот близкий вам для понимания пример:
      Водка Smirnoff Black No. 55
      - USA - 17$
      - Россия - 420 Рублей (420r : 72,88) = 5,76$
      Вопрос отпал?
  5. Сергей Косов (Сергей Косов) 18 августа 2020 04:55
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Мировая резервная валюта - это золото. Всё остальное - это фантики, которых можно напечатать сколько угодно, чем и занимаются т.н. "развитые страны" - в угоду своему собственному материальному благополучию - и в ущерб всему остальному миру. Когда мир перейдёт на золотой стандарт, господству Запада на планете придёт конец.