View from the West: Sweden itself provokes Russia to be formidable


Russia poses no threat to Sweden, so there is no need to demonize it, argue Erni and Ola Friholt, published by the local newspaper Bohusläningen. On the contrary, it was Stockholm who decided on a clearly provocative policies regarding Moscow, while flirting with the United States and the North Atlantic Alliance.


The authors note that United States civilian and military officials themselves often accuse leaders of different countries of threatening behavior. For example, with regard to Iraq, it has been argued that the dictatorship of Saddam Hussein possesses weapons of mass destruction that are said to pose a threat to the United States and the world.

Independent researchers then immediately declared that these accusations were unfounded, however, using all their military power, the Americans carried out their plan and struck a blow to the social infrastructure of Iraq.

Today, the article notes, Russia is presented in Sweden in a negative light. It was easy to do, because half of the Swedes already perceive the demonization of the Russian Federation with approval, and not as possible disinformation.

The Russian Federation and its leaders are subjected to daily attacks based on distorted, and sometimes completely invented facts. They should point to "the Russian threat to Sweden, the Baltic region and all of Western Europe."

It is likely that the purpose of all these actions is to force Sweden to buy expensive [foreign] weapons systems and force it to join NATO. […] Our government and media are involved in NATO politics and play a role in it. We often pointed to the huge military, economic and NATO's numerical superiority over Russia and the daily movement of weapons, bases and personnel to Russia's borders. But these facts do not seem to affect public opinion. The fact remains: Sweden is not threatened, and Russia is under threat. And Sweden contributes to this

- summarizes in the article.

It is worth noting that Russia is a traditional scarecrow for Swedish society, whose fears are used with pleasure by both local media and officials. After the well-known events of 2014 on the Crimean peninsula in the Scandinavian country, fears arose that the Russian Federation might seize the Swedish island of Gotland in the Baltic Sea. Against this background, discussions have intensified on the hypothetically possible joining of Sweden to the NATO bloc.

Currently Sweden and Finland are not part of the alliance, although they cooperate with Brussels on a number of issues.
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Взгляд с Запада: Швеция сама провоцирует Россию быть грозной


Россия не представляет никакой угрозы для Швеции, поэтому не стоит демонизировать её, полагают Эрни и Ола Фрихольт (Erni och Ola Friholt), заметку которых публикует местная газета Bohusläningen. Наоборот, это Стокгольм решился на явно провокационную политику в отношении Москвы, одновременно заигрывая с США и Североатлантическим альянсом.


Авторы отмечают, что гражданские и военные официальные лица Соединённых Штатов сами нередко обвиняют лидеров разных стран в угрожающем поведении. Например, применительно к Ираку утверждалось, что диктатура Саддама Хусейна обладает оружием массового уничтожения, которое, как утверждается, представляет угрозу для Соединенных Штатов и всего мира.

Независимые исследователи тогда сразу же заявили, что эти обвинения безосновательны, однако применив всю свою военную мощь, американцы исполнили задуманное и нанесли удар по социальной инфраструктуре Ирака.

Сегодня, отмечается в статье, Россия представлена в Швеции в негативном свете. Это было легко сделать, потому что половина шведов уже воспринимает демонизацию РФ с одобрением, а не как возможную дезинформацию.

РФ и ее лидеры подвергаются ежедневным нападкам, которые основаны на искаженных, а иногда и вовсе выдуманных фактах. Они должны указывать на «российскую угрозу Швеции, Балтийскому региону и всей Западной Европе».

Вероятно, что цель всех этих акций – заставить Швецию закупить дорогие [зарубежные] системы вооружений и принудить её к вступлению в НАТО. […] Наше правительство и СМИ вовлечены в политику НАТО и играют в ней определенную роль. Мы же часто указывали на огромное военное, экономическое и численное превосходство НАТО над Россией и на ежедневное перемещение вооружений, баз и личного состава к границам России. Но эти факты, похоже, не влияют на общественное мнение. Факт остается фактом: Швеции ничего не угрожает, а Россия находится под угрозой. И Швеция этому способствует

– подводится итог в статье.

Стоит отметить, что Россия выступает традиционным пугалом для шведского общества, страхи которого с удовольствием используют и местные СМИ, и официальные лица. После известных событий 2014 года на Крымском полуострове в скандинавской стране возникли опасения о том, что РФ может захватить принадлежащий Швеции остров Готланд в Балтийском море. На этом фоне активизировались дискуссии о гипотетически возможном присоединении Швеции к блоку НАТО.

В настоящее время Швеция и Финляндия не входят в альянс, хотя и сотрудничают с Брюсселем по ряду вопросов.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти