Russia is firmly entrenched in the Mediterranean and is already influencing politics in the region


The return of Russia as a major player in the Mediterranean is one of the most significant trends in the region over the past few years. This opinion is shared by Dario Cristiani, whose article, originally published on the website of the Italian think tank Istituto Affari Internazionali, was later reprinted by the official portal of the German Marshall Fund.


According to the author, Moscow's direct military intervention in the Syrian civil war changed the course of the conflict, decisively preventing the collapse of the local regime. At a time when other powers allowed a strategic vacuum, Russia was able to occupy a central position in the new equilibrium, despite its limited resources.

After Syria, the Russian Federation began to strengthen its role in another civil war on the Mediterranean shores: in Libya, where it has been present since 2016 on the side of the army of Khalifa Haftar. In addition to mercenaries, Russia used another important tool: it undertook to issue local money to meet the needs of the allies.

The successes of the Russian Federation are especially surprising when compared with its position in the early 2000s, and these victories were a direct result of greater assertiveness in the external policy... The war between the Russian Federation and Georgia in 2008 was an important turning point, followed by actions in Crimea, Donbass, Syria and Libya, and further wider in the entire Mediterranean region.

The weak reaction of NATO and the EU encouraged Russia. Moscow has become more assertive, seeking to regain the status and influence lost in the 1990s, the expert said.

Access to the "warm seas" is of fundamental importance for Russia, as well as the ability to keep potential adversaries away from its near abroad.

Given the strategic importance of the Mediterranean for Italy, what does this activity of Russia mean for the interests of Rome? Historically, Italy's relations with Russia have been quite warm, despite the fact that Rome has been part of the Transatlantic order since its inception. Since the Cold War, Italy has tried to mediate between Russia and the West

- noted in the publication.

As Russia becomes more visible in Mediterranean affairs, so does Moscow's ability to influence the behavior of Rome. Although this is unlikely to lead to a shift in Italian foreign policy, it can significantly limit freedom of maneuver on a number of issues, the author believes.
Used photos: kremlin.ru
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

7 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Alexzn Offline
    Alexzn (Alexander) 20 August 2020 07: 56
    -3
    • 1
    • 4
    By and large, everything corresponds to today's realities. Russia is not the strongest player in BV, but it is very significant and the most successful, at least for now.
    1. Bitter Offline
      Bitter (Gleb) 20 August 2020 10: 25
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      ... not the strongest player ...

      That's right, the main thing is participation! Let's see where the curve will lead, and then it will be possible to present everything as the situation requires. There are practically no losing options.
    2. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 20 August 2020 19: 22
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      As for the Middle East, Russia is the STRONGEST player there, only the US overrides it with power ... But only with strong Turkey and Iran, having created allied relations, then the US will retreat to second positions in the Middle East ...
  2. gorenina91 Offline
    gorenina91 (Irina) 20 August 2020 08: 47
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    - A sedentary man?
    - What?
    - Well, sitting?
    - To the village !!! But who will plant him ... - he's a monument !!!

    Gentlemen of fortune.

    - And exactly what

    Russia is firmly entrenched in the Mediterranean and is already influencing politics in the region

    ??? Yes ... who will give her a foothold and influence ??? - This is Russia, unloved by all !!!
    1. Vladimir_ Voronov (Vladimir) 20 August 2020 09: 37
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      A person is judged by his jokes about his WIT. Thanks for starting to joke ...
      1. Rum rum Offline
        Rum rum (Rum rum) 21 August 2020 01: 10
        +1
        • 1
        • 0
        Amendment - judge his MIND.
  3. Terry18 Offline
    Terry18 (Andrey Evdokimov) 23 August 2020 10: 40
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Russia writes an article, then on behalf of an unknown journalist, this article is published in a Western magazine, after which the Russian media joyfully refer to it, saying: "Look how strong we are, how all countries recognize this."

Россия прочно закрепилась в Средиземноморье и уже влияет на политику в регионе


Возвращение России в качестве главного игрока Средиземноморья – одна из наиболее значительных тенденций в регионе за последние несколько лет. Такого мнения придерживается Дарио Кристиани (Dario Cristiani), статью которого, изначально опубликованную на сайте итальянского аналитического центра Istituto Affari Internazionali, позднее перепечатал официальный портал Германского фонда Маршалла.


Как полагает автор, прямое военное вмешательство Москвы в сирийскую гражданскую войну изменило ход конфликта, решительным образом предотвратив крах местного режима. В момент, когда другие державы допустили стратегический вакуум, России удалось занять центральную позицию в новом равновесии, несмотря на свои ограниченные ресурсы.

После Сирии РФ начала усиливать свою роль в другой гражданской войне на средиземноморских берегах: в Ливии, где она присутствует с 2016 года на стороне армии Халифы Хафтара. Помимо наёмников, Россия использовала еще один важнейший инструмент: она бралась за выпуск местных денег для обеспечения нужд союзников.

Успехи РФ особенно удивительны, если сравнивать их с её положением начала 2000-х годов, и эти победы стали прямым следствием большей напористости во внешней политике. Война РФ с Грузией в 2008 году стала важным поворотным моментом, после которого последовали действия в Крыму, на Донбассе, в Сирии и Ливии, и далее шире – во всем Средиземноморском регионе.

Слабая реакция НАТО и ЕС воодушевляла Россию. Москва стала более напористой, стремясь вернуть себе статус и влияние, утраченные в 1990-е годы, считает эксперт.

Выход к «теплым морям» имеет для России принципиальное значение, равно как и способность удерживать потенциальных противников вдали от своего ближнего зарубежья.

Учитывая стратегическое значение Средиземного моря для Италии, что же все-таки означает эта активность России для интересов Рима? Исторически отношения Италии с Россией достаточно теплые, несмотря на то, что Рим является частью Трансатлантического порядка с момента его основания. Со времен холодной войны Италия пыталась выступить посредником между Россией и Западом

– отмечается в публикации.

По мере того, как Россия становится все более заметной в средиземноморских делах, усиливается и способность Москвы влиять на поведение Рима. Хотя это вряд ли приведет к сдвигу во внешней политике Италии, но может значительно ограничить свободу маневра по ряду вопросов, полагает автор.
Использованы фотографии: kremlin.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

7 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. AlexZN Офлайн
    AlexZN (Александр) 20 августа 2020 07:56
    -3
    • 1
    • 4
    По большому счету все соответствует сегодняшним реалиям. Россия не самый сильный игрок на БВ, но очень значимый и самый успешный, по крайней мере пока.
    1. Bitter Офлайн
      Bitter (Глеб) 20 августа 2020 10:25
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      ...не самый сильный игрок...

      Всё правильно, главное участие! Посмотрим, куда кривая выведет, а там можно будет всё преподнести так, как потребует ситуация. Проигрышных вариантов практически нет.
    2. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 20 августа 2020 19:22
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Насчёт Ближнего Востока, там Россия СИЛЬНЕЙШИЙ игрок, только США перекрывает мощью... Вот только с сильными Турцией и Ираном, создав союзнические отношения, тогда и США отойдёт на вторые позиции на Ближнем Востоке...
  2. gorenina91 Офлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 20 августа 2020 08:47
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    - Мужик сидячий?
    - Чё?
    - Ну, сидит?
    - Во деревня!!! Да кто же его посадит... - он же памятник!!!

    Джентельмены удачи.

    - А точно то, что

    Россия прочно закрепилась в Средиземноморье и уже влияет на политику в регионе

    ??? Да ...кто же ей даст закрепиться и влиять??? - Это же всеми нелюбимая Россия!!!
    1. Владимир_Воронов (Владимир) 20 августа 2020 09:37
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      По шуткам человека судят о его ОСТРОУМИИ. Спасибо, что начали шутить...
      1. Ром Ром Офлайн
        Ром Ром (Ром Ром) 21 августа 2020 01:10
        +1
        • 1
        • 0
        Поправка - судят о его УМЕ.
  3. Terry18 Офлайн
    Terry18 (Андрей Евдокимов) 23 августа 2020 10:40
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Россия пишет статью, потом от имени неизвестного журналиста эта статья публикуется в западном журнале, после чего российские СМИ радостно ссылаются на неё, говоря: "Посмотрите, какие мы сильные, как все страны признают это".