Export restrictions: why Russia needs to quickly remove quotas on grain sales


Having lost on the export of oil and gas, Russia has a chance to recoup on the food market. The Bloomberg agency believes that our country can come out on top in the world in terms of grain exports. However, unlike American analysts, domestic farmers themselves are not so optimistic.


To its credit, Russian agriculture has made a big leap forward in recent decades. Even the old Soviet grain harvest record was broken. Everything that is collected in excess of the domestic consumption rate is exported to more than 100 countries around the world. The main competitors of Russia are the United States, Australia, Canada and the European Union. However, there are important nuances.

The United States exports its grain primarily to the Central and South American market. The main rival of domestic farmers is the European Union, with which they traditionally fight for sales to Africa and the Middle East. It so happened that this year, due to the drought followed by floods, European farmers will miss a significant part of their harvest, the share of which may go to the Russians. The US Department of Agriculture has calculated that the increase in grain exports from the Russian Federation could amount to a very impressive 10%.

Despite such optimistic forecasts, Russian farmers grumble with displeasure. Their main complaint is the quota mechanism that was applied by the authorities this year against the backdrop of the coronavirus pandemic. The volume of grain that was allowed to be exported is limited to 7 million tons, and it has long been selected. Quotas are not entirely unambiguous.

On the one hand, this measure can be considered correct, looking at the example of other countries. With the arrival of COVID-19 and complete uncertainty about how long the global quarantine will last, many states began to restrict food exports, saving it for a rainy day, for example, Vietnam, Romania, even Ukraine announced such plans. Russia also introduced quotas for supplies to the EAEU and, in general, this was the right decision, since food security is a priority.

On the other hand, the situation with the coronavirus is gradually returning to normal, there is no previous panic, even the first vaccine has appeared. Cereal prices on the world market are growing, which gives hope to the agricultural sector to earn extra money. However, quotas hinder this, which can lead to overstocking of the domestic market. Some experts warn that farmers may simply stop increasing planting volumes and reduce investment in renovation. equipment and the expansion of port terminals, as restrictions would make it unprofitable for their products to enter foreign markets.

The question is extremely controversial. Participants themselves consider the quota mechanism "clumsy" due to its imperfection and lack of flexibility. The Russian Grain Union warns that some foreign buyers are beginning to refuse deliveries from our country due to a delay in delivery. For example, Bangladesh has recently preferred Ukrainian grain. Probably, officials should listen to the farmers and try to take into account not only national, but also their commercial interests.
Photos used: https://www.pexels.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

7 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 25 August 2020 12: 33
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Comment. To say something intelligible about the grain market, you need to understand it thoroughly and for more than one year. Our recommendations are how a city dweller can teach an agronomist-academician to cultivate land ...
  2. Tektor Offline
    Tektor (Tektor) 25 August 2020 12: 49
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    The quota system needs to be improved in such a way that every grain producer has the opportunity to export part of the grain. Exactly - for everyone! But only a part.
    1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline
      Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 25 August 2020 13: 33
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Quote: Tektor
      each grain producer had the opportunity to export part of the grain.

      There is a quota exchange for this. You buy out a quota and export it.
      Selling quotas is disciplined. You have to think about whether you will recover the money spent, and you will think about a decent price.
  3. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline
    Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 25 August 2020 13: 30
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    The author is not aware that the export restriction has been lifted since July 1?
    And there will always be export quotas. So that in the lust for green cut paper everything is not poured abroad for a song.
  4. boriz Offline
    boriz (boriz) 25 August 2020 16: 24
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    Cereal prices on the world market are growing, which gives hope to the agricultural sector to earn extra money.

    It is necessary to buy at a normal price from the manufacturer and put it in the State Reserve. And dealers will earn extra money on exports. The manufacturer, as always, will get crumbs.
  5. Boris Nikolayevich (Boris Nikolaevich) 25 August 2020 17: 13
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Sergei Marzhetskiy asks the question in the title:

    ... why Russia needs to quickly remove quotas on grain sales.

    Having lost on the export of oil and gas, Russia has a chance to recoup on the food market. The Bloomberg agency believes that our country can come out on top in the world in terms of grain exports ...
    Answer. In order, in addition to everything, to kill their population, leaving it without food, without bread, without meat (since there will be nothing to feed the animals) and so on. The bourgeoisie need to reduce the population of the country in order to spend less on it, and therefore more to replenish their bottomless pockets! Sergey Marzhetsky is either complete, which is unlikely, or an outright enemy of the people along with the bourgeoisie!
  6. marciz Offline
    marciz (Stas) 31 August 2020 03: 54
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Even the Soviet record was broken !!!! ??? This is despite the fact that where orchards and fields, tomatoes, cucumbers and other vegetables grew during the USSR, and were not imported from the long-hostile Turkey !!! Now these lands have become vacant, just as jobs have been lost, but they have increased in Turkey! ((What record are you talking about, Jewish puppets, huh! ???

Ограничения экспорта: почему России нужно быстрее снять квоты на продажу зерна


Потеряв на экспорте нефти и газа, Россия имеет шанс отыграться на рынке продовольствия. Специалисты агентства Bloomberg считают, что наша страна может выйти на первое место в мире по экспорту зерновых. Однако, в отличие от американских аналитиков, сами отечественные аграрии не столь оптимистичны.


Следует отдать должное, российское сельское хозяйство сделало большой рывок вперед в последние десятилетия. Был побит даже старый советский рекорд по сбору зерновых. Все, что собирается сверх нормы внутреннего потребления, идет на экспорт в более чем 100 стран мира. Главными конкурентами России считаются США, Австралия, Канада и Евросоюз. Однако есть важные нюансы.

Соединенные Штаты экспортируют свои зерновые прежде всего на рынок Центральной и Южной Америки. Основным соперником отечественных аграриев является Евросоюз, с которым они традиционно борются за сбыт в страны Африки и Ближнего Востока. Так сложилось, что в этом году из-за засухи с последовавшими наводнениями европейские фермеры недосчитаются значительной части своего урожая, доля которых может отойти к россиянам. Минсельхоз США подсчитал, что прирост экспорта зерновых из РФ может составить очень внушительные 10%.

Несмотря на столь оптимистичные прогнозы, российские аграрии недовольно ворчат. Главная их претензия – это механизм квотирования, который был применен властями в этом году на фоне пандемии коронавируса. Объем зерновых, которые было разрешено поставить на экспорт, ограничен 7 миллионами тонн, и он давно уже выбран. Квоты вызывают не вполне однозначное отношение.

С одной стороны, эту меру можно счесть верной, глядя на пример других стран. С приходом COVID-19 и полной неизвестностью, сколько продлится глобальный карантин, многие государства начали ограничивать экспорт продовольствия, приберегая его на «черный день», например, Вьетнам, Румыния, о подобных планах заявляла даже Украина. Россия также ввела квоты на поставки в ЕАЭС и, в целом, это было правильным решением, поскольку продовольственная безопасность является приоритетом.

С другой стороны, ситуация с коронавирусом постепенно нормализуется, прежней паники нет, даже появилась первая вакцина. Цены на зерновые на мировом рынке растут, что дает надежду сельскохозяйственному сектору подзаработать. Однако квоты этому препятствуют, что может привести к затовариванию внутреннего рынка. Некоторые эксперты предупреждают, что аграрии могут просто перестать увеличивать объемы посевов и сократить инвестиции в обновление техники и расширение портовых терминалов, поскольку ограничения сделают для их продукции выход на зарубежные рынки нерентабельным.

Вопрос крайне неоднозначный. Сами участники считают механизм квот «корявым» из-за его несовершенства и недостаточной гибкости. В Российском зерновом союзе предупреждают, что некоторые иностранные покупатели начинают отказываться от поставок из нашей страны из-за срыва сроков. Так, например, Бангладеш недавно предпочел украинское зерно. Вероятно, чиновникам стоит прислушаться к аграриям и попытаться учесть не только национальные, но и их коммерческие интересы.
Объявление
Изданию требуется авторы в новостной и аналитический отделы. Требования к соискателям: грамотность, ответственность, работоспособность, неиссякаемая творческая энергия, опыт в копирайтинге или журналистике, умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Работа оплачивается. Обращаться: editor@topcor.ru
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 25 августа 2020 12:33
    +3
    Замечание. Чтоб что-то вразумительное говорить о рынке зерна, нужно в нём разбираться основательно и не один год. Наши же рекомендации, как горожанину учить агронома-академика землю обрабатывать...
  2. Tektor Офлайн Tektor
    Tektor (Tektor) 25 августа 2020 12:49
    +2
    Систему квотирования нужно совершенствовать с таким расчётом, чтобы у каждого зернопроизводителя была возможность часть зерна отправить на экспорт. Именно - у каждого! Но только часть.
    1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн Оё Сарказми
      Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 25 августа 2020 13:33
      0
      Цитата: Tektor
      у каждого зернопроизводителя была возможность часть зерна отправить на экспорт.

      Для этого есть биржа квот. Выкупаешь квоту - и экспортируй.
      Продажа квот дисциплинирует. Приходится думать, отобьёшь ли потраченные деньги, и уж о цене достойной подумаешь.
  3. Оё Сарказми Офлайн Оё Сарказми
    Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 25 августа 2020 13:30
    +3
    Автор что, не в курсе, что ограничение экспорта снято с 1 июля?
    А квоты на экспорт всегда будут. Чтобы в вожделении зелёной резанной бумаги всё за границу за бесценок не слили.
  4. boriz Офлайн boriz
    boriz (boriz) 25 августа 2020 16:24
    +4
    Цены на зерновые на мировом рынке растут, что дает надежду сельскохозяйственному сектору подзаработать.

    Надо купить по нормальной цене у производителя и положить в Госрезерв. А подзаработают на экспорте перекупщики. Производителю, как всегда, достанутся крохи.
  5. Борис Николаевич (Борис Николаевич) 25 августа 2020 17:13
    +1
    Сергей Маржецкий задаёт в заголовке вопрос:

    ...почему России нужно быстрее снять квоты на продажу зерна.

    Потеряв на экспорте нефти и газа, Россия имеет шанс отыграться на рынке продовольствия. Специалисты агентства Bloomberg считают, что наша страна может выйти на первое место в мире по экспорту зерновых…
    Отвечаю. Для того, чтобы вдобавок ко всему уморить своё население, оставив его без продовольствия, без хлеба, без мяса (так как кормить животных будет нечем) и так далее. Буржуям нужно сократить население страны, чтобы меньше на него тратиться, а следовательно, больше пополнять свои бездонные карманы! Сергей Маржецкий или полный, что маловероятно, или откровенный враг народа вместе с буржуями!
  6. marciz Офлайн marciz
    marciz (Стас) 31 августа 2020 03:54
    0
    Был побит даже советский рекорд!!!!??? Это при том, что там, где при СССР росли фруктовые сады и поля, помидоры, огурцы и иные овощи, а не завозились из издавна враждебной Турции!!! Теперь эти земли освободились, так же, как и потерялись рабочие места, зато в Турции их прибавилось! (( О каком рекорде вы говорите, еврейские марионетки, а!???