Expert: Turkey will deprive Russia of its "energy weapon"


Turkey is gradually depriving Russia of its "energy weapon", writes Dimitar Bechev, a researcher at the University of North Carolina, on Foreign Policy. The geographical location between the producers of hydrocarbons in the Middle East and the South Caucasus, as well as the consuming countries from the EU has long been a real trump card for Ankara. But the recent discovery of a large natural gas field off the country's Black Sea coast could really make a difference for the Turks.


Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan promised to start using the Black Sea gas in 2023, by the 100th anniversary of the Republic of Turkey. If you believe him, Turkey will be able to meet almost 7 percent of its annual demand for this fuel only from domestic sources. This is no small achievement for a country traditionally dependent on energy imports.

But trade relations with Russia are at stake. Since the nineties, Gazprom has been the main supplier to the Turkish market, occupying almost half of it. In fact, since 2005, when the Blue Stream pipeline was launched, Turkey has become the second largest consumer of Russian natural gas after Germany. Moscow has always had the upper hand in trade negotiations with Ankara, whether it be establishing a pricing formula or take-or-pay clauses in long-term contracts.

But now the situation seems to be changing in Turkey's favor. Since 2018, state-owned housing and utilities company BOTAS, as well as several private importers, have begun purchasing large volumes of LNG from Algeria, Nigeria, Qatar and the United States, which offer lower prices than Gazprom. Pipeline gas supplies from Azerbaijan are also gaining momentum.

In turn, Gazprom's share in the Turkish market decreased from 52% in 2017 to 47% in 2018 and only to 33% in 2019. The notion, Mr. Bechev continues, that Russia possesses an “energy weapon” to oppress its neighbors, popular in the 2000s, is no longer relevant to local markets.

Access to gas fields in the Black Sea will further strengthen Turkey's negotiating positions.

The neighbors of this transcontinental power, Romania and Bulgaria, will closely monitor the results of the "gas" race.

Good news lies in the fact that the Black Sea is much more ready for regional cooperation than the Eastern Mediterranean, where the interweaving of irreconcilable contradictions nearly led to bloodshed. [...] Although there are some problems here, the borders are generally settled, and the exceptional economic zones delimited

- the author believes.

Yes, in the Mediterranean, Turkey acts as a bully, interfering in the affairs of Greece, Egypt and Israel. However, the expert continues, in the Black Sea, refusing energy from Russia, it could play a productive role, setting a positive example for neighbors seeking to diversify gas supplies.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline
    Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 31 August 2020 08: 51
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    How many Allahs have divorced on the Internet. Just thought - and so it became!
    Look, in the Barents Sea, how much gas was found - and 20 years will not even come. The same is with the Chukotka shelf. And we are richer than Turkey.
    There is only a statement about dreams - "fsio!
  2. boriz Online
    boriz (boriz) 31 August 2020 10: 03
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    The EU is already going to impose sanctions against Turkey for exploration work in the Mediterranean. I have no doubt that nothing will break off in the Black Sea of ​​Turkey. Now everything is decided not by international law, but by force. Turkey has too many enemies and ill-wishers. But there are no allies, from the word "absolutely".
    The field itself is located far from Turkey, somewhere in the Danube Delta. And there are enough people who want to go there without Turkey.
    Will Romania and Ukraine want to host the Turkish gas pipeline? Not sure. And Turkey itself is far away. In general, there are too many complexities.
    And the schadenfreude of the American analyst amuses: from the fact that Turkey will also supply gas to Europe, the chances of the United States, with its LNG, simply go down to the level of a city sewer.
    1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 31 August 2020 11: 25
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      When there is a "gold rush" with billions, then the impossible becomes possible. The time has come for many world suppliers of gas and oil (here Africa, etc.). Therefore, monopolies and fat years are behind us, we need to push on the market of sellers, which our "successful managers" did not and cannot do - just steal into their personal pockets and write out millions of salaries ... directions, but besides the sale of national wealth, these "managers" in power do not know anything else ... It's time to hire other government managers working in other areas ...
  3. 123 Online
    123 (123) 31 August 2020 10: 16
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Is Dimitar Bechev a Bulgarian refugee? Then everything fits together. laughing

    In turn, Gazprom's share in the Turkish market decreased from 52% in 2017 to 47% in 2018 and only to 33% in 2019.

    The year is not over yet, it is too early to draw conclusions. It is not a fact that the share will continue to decline, moreover, the freed up volumes can be sent to Europe (how is the gas pipeline in Bulgaria completed?). The gas price in the contract is tied to oil and changes with a time lag. Oil prices have fallen, followed by a fall in gas prices. The Turks will wait for a decrease and will get the planned volume in the fall.

    Access to gas fields in the Black Sea will further strengthen Turkey's negotiating positions.

    Black Sea gas "lokotok" still need to be able to bite. The Anglo-Saxons have technologies for offshore production (what about the S-400 and F-35?), You can try to ask the allied Macron (how is Rafali doing in Cyprus?), Or is there an option on this topic with Putin. winked By the way, the depths there are decent, the proto-ukr diggers overdid it in their time. laughing
  4. g1washntwn Offline
    g1washntwn (George Washington) 31 August 2020 12: 12
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Let them tell the Saudis about the "gas weapon" and those who have already arrived at the fair without pants and scold other people's bagels. Aggravated competition (by the way, not yet confirmed in material form) in the context of the global crisis is normal and commonplace. Everyone pulls the blanket over themselves, which says only one thing - the project of the globalists to get the world market controlled by them is stuck. I would not be surprised if they also reincarnate the socialist idea under a modified sauce. Capitalism and liberal ideas are not exported. One-time robbing turns out well, but there is practically no one to rob (in the gateway you can leave not only teeth, but also all the remaining health), the West has zero uniting and creative ideas after 1917.

Эксперт: Турция лишит Россию её «энергетического оружия»


Турция постепенно лишает Россию её «энергетического оружия», пишет научный сотрудник Университета Северной Каролины Димитар Бечев (Dimitar Bechev) на портале Foreign Policy. Географическое расположение между производителями углеводородного сырья на Ближнем Востоке и Южном Кавказе, а также странами-потребителями из ЕС долгое время было для Анкары настоящей козырной картой. Но недавнее открытие большого месторождения природного газа у черноморского побережья страны может действительно изменить для турок многое.


Президент Турции Реджеп Тайип Эрдоган пообещал начать использование черноморского газа в 2023 году, к 100-летию Турецкой Республики. Если верить ему, то Турция сможет удовлетворить почти 7 процентов своей годовой потребности в этом топливе только из внутренних источников. Это немалое достижение для страны, традиционно зависящей от импорта энергоносителей.

Но на карту поставлены торговые отношения с Россией. С девяностых годов «Газпром» был основным поставщиком на турецкий рынок, занимая почти половину его. Фактически, с 2005 года, когда был запущен трубопровод «Голубой поток», Турция превратилась во второго по значимости потребителя российского природного газа после Германии. Москва всегда имела преимущество в торговых переговорах с Анкарой, будь то установление формулы ценообразования или оговорок по схемам «бери или плати» в долгосрочных контрактах.

Но теперь, похоже, ситуация меняется в пользу Турции. С 2018 года государственная жилищно-коммунальная компания BOTAS, а также несколько частных импортеров начали закупать большие объемы сжиженного природного газа в Алжире, Нигерии, Катаре и Соединённых Штатах, которые предлагают более низкие цены, чем «Газпром». Поставки трубопроводного газа из Азербайджана также набирают обороты.

В свою очередь, доля «Газпрома» на турецком рынке сократилась с 52% в 2017 году до 47% в 2018 году и всего до 33% в 2019 году. Представление о том, продолжает г-н Бечев, что Россия владеет «энергетическим оружием» для угнетения соседей, популярное в 2000-х годах, более не актуально для местных рынков.

Доступ к газовым месторождениям в Черном море еще больше усилит переговорные позиции Турции.

Соседи этой трансконтинентальной державы, Румыния и Болгария, будут внимательно следить за результатами «газовой» гонки.

Хорошая новость заключается в том, что Черное море в куда большей степени готово к региональному сотрудничеству, чем Восточное Средиземноморье, где переплетение непримиримых противоречий чуть не привело к кровопролитию. […] Хотя и тут имеются некоторые проблемы, границы в целом урегулированы, а исключительные экономические зоны разграничены

– полагает автор.

Да, в Средиземноморье Турция выступает в роли задиры, вмешиваясь в дела Греции, Египта и Израиля. Однако, продолжает эксперт, в Черном море, отказываясь от энергоносителей из России, она могла бы сыграть продуктивную роль, подав положительный пример соседям, стремящимся диверсифицировать поставки газа.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн
    Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 31 августа 2020 08:51
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Сколько Аллахов в интернете развелось. Только подумал - и так стало!
    Вон, в Баренцевом море, сколько газу нашли - а 20 лет даже не подступятся. То же с шельфом Чукотки. А мы побогаче Турции.
    Тут только заявление о мечтах - "фсё!рашкаконец!"
  2. boriz Офлайн
    boriz (boriz) 31 августа 2020 10:03
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    ЕС уже собирается вводить санкции против Турции за изыскательские работы в Средиземном море. Я не сомневаюсь, что и в Чёрном море Турции ничего не обломится. Сейчас всё решает не международное право, а сила. У Турции слишком много врагов и недоброжелателей. А вот союзников нет, от слова "совсем".
    Само месторождение находится далековато от Турции, где-то в районе дельты Дуная. А там желающих и без Турции найдётся достаточно.
    Захотят ли Румыния и Украина принимать на свою территорию турецкий газопровод? Не уверен. А до самой Турции далеко. В общем, слишком много сложностей.
    А злорадство американского аналитика веселит: от того, что газ в Европу будет поставлять ещё и Турция, шансы США, со своим СПГ, опускаются просто до уровня городской канализации.
    1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 31 августа 2020 11:25
      +2
      • 2
      • 0
      Когда "золотая лихорадка" с миллиардами, тогда и невозможное становится возможным. Пришло время многих мировых поставщиков газа и нефти (тут Африка и пр). Посему монополии и жирные года позади, нужно толкаться на рынке продавцов, чего наши "успешные менеджеры" не умели и не умеют, - только воровать в свои личные карманы да миллионные зарплаты выписывать... Углеводородная наркоманная игла для РФ усыхает, пора переобуваться на другие направления, да кроме распродажи народных богатств данные у власти "менеджеры" иного не умеют... Пора нанимать других государственных менеджеров, работающих по другим направлениям...
  3. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 31 августа 2020 10:16
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Димитар Бечев - болгарский беженец? Тогда все сходится. laughing

    В свою очередь, доля «Газпрома» на турецком рынке сократилась с 52% в 2017 году до 47% в 2018 году и всего до 33% в 2019 году.

    Год еще не закончился, выводы делать рано. Не факт, что доля и дальше будет снижаться, к тому же освободившиеся объемы можно отправлять в Европу (как там газопровод в Болгарии, достроен?). Цена на газ в контракте привязана к нефти и меняется с временным лагом. Цены на нефть упали, следом на ними должна упасть цена на газ. Турки дождутся снижения и осенью доберут запланированный объем.

    Доступ к газовым месторождениям в Черном море еще больше усилит переговорные позиции Турции.

    Черноморский газовый "локоток" еще надо суметь укусить. Технологии добычи на шельфе есть у англосаксов (как там насчет С-400 и F-35?), можно попробовать у союзного Макрона поинтересоваться (как там Рафали на Кипре поживают?), ну или есть вариант на эту тему с Путиным поговорить. winked Кстати, глубины там приличные, протоукрские копатели в свое время перестарались. laughing
  4. g1washntwn Офлайн
    g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 31 августа 2020 12:12
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Про "газовое оружие" пусть рассказывают саудитам и тем, кто на ярмарку уже без штанов приехал да чужие баранки наругивает. Обострившаяся конкуренция (кстати, пока еще не подтвержденная в материальном виде) в условиях мирового кризиса - это нормально и обыденно. Каждый тянет одеяло на себя, что говорит только об одном - проект глобалистов получить управляемый ими мировой рынок сильно буксует. Я не удивлюсь, если они же и реинкарнируют социалистическую идею под видоизмененным соусом. Капитализм и либеральные идеи не вывозят. Единоразово грабить получается хорошо, но грабить практически уже некого (в подворотне можно оставить не только зубы, но и все оставшееся здоровье), объединяющих и креативных идей после 1917 года у Запада - ноль.