Making money on Russian gas: what is the real cost of Kiev's "energy independence"


Autumn has come, which means that the next heating season is not far off. In Kiev, they say that they are not only ready for it, but they will even be able to make good money by reselling Russian gas to Europe. What is the basis of the Ukrainian “energy miracle”, considering that Nezalezhnaya officially still does not buy raw materials from Gazprom?


In numbers, it looks like this. According to the head of Naftogaz, the company has already been able to accumulate 24 billion cubic meters of "blue fuel" in its underground storage facilities, and by the end of the year it will be able to increase this volume to 28 billion. For the normal passage of the heating season, Nezalezhnaya requires 6-8 billion cubic meters, plus the same amount must be in the UGS facility as a buffer gas to maintain pressure in the pipeline system. In total, Ukraine will need from 14 to 18 billion, and the rest it can sell to someone.

Moreover, most of these reserves were purchased on the spot markets at a uniquely low price of $ 40 per thousand cubic meters. Gas prices may rise significantly this winter, so Kiev has a chance to make good money on Russian gas. If we remember that Nezalezhnaya does not in principle buy “blue fuel” from Gazprom, an outsider may get the impression that the Ukrainians “have outplayed everyone”. True, the reality looks somewhat different.

On the one hand, there was no official contract for the purchase of gas in Russia, and there is still no one. Ukraine has formally joined the European gas market, but the gas in its pipes and UGS facilities is still Russian, and this suits everyone. Kiev claims it is no longer dependent on the Kremlin. Gazprom is selling raw materials to Europeans without unnecessary scandals. EU countries resell it to the Independent with a surcharge. Everyone is happy, except for end consumers, whose tariffs are only growing. Thanks to the “invisible hand of the market”, Naftogaz even began to show profit.

On the other hand, the Ukrainian “energy miracle” has its price, and it is very high. Twenty years ago, the level of gas consumption by the Nezalezhnaya industry was 37,6 billion cubic meters, the population - 27,5 billion. In 2016, the overall level of consumption in the country amounted to 33,2 billion, industry - 9,9 billion cubic meters, and population - 11,89 billion cubic meters. In 2019, Ukraine has already consumed 29,8 billion cubic meters of gas.

This means that industry has practically disappeared, cement and metallurgical plants, chemical plants and power generation have suffered the most. The decrease in gas consumption by the population is partly due to depopulation, partly due to the increase in tariffs, as Ukrainians are trying to get out, switching to other sources of fuel (liquefied petroleum gas and even firewood).

This is the wrong side of "energy independence". Some in Kiev, of course, will make good money by reselling "European" gas to Ukraine and Russian gas to Europe. At least someone has won from the "Maidan".
Photos used: www.pgnig.pl
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline
    Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 3 September 2020 18: 58
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    The head of Naftagaz is lying a little. 14 billion cubic meters in storage - foreign gas in storage. They can't sell it.
  2. Natan bruk Offline
    Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 4 September 2020 03: 35
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    In short, in fact - again, Ukrainians will not freeze this winter. Well, what are you going to do ...

Заработать на российском газе: какова настоящая цена «энергетической независимости» Киева


Пришла осень, а значит не за горами очередной отопительный сезон. В Киеве заявляют, что не только готовы к нему, но и даже смогут неплохо подзаработать за счет перепродажи в Европу российского газа. Что же лежит в основе украинского «энергетического чуда», если учесть, что Незалежная официально по-прежнему не покупает сырье у «Газпрома»?


В цифрах это выглядит следующим образом. По словам главы «Нафтогаза», компания смогла накопить в своих подземных хранилищах уже 24 миллиарда кубометров «голубого топлива», а до конца года сможет увеличить этот объем до 28 миллиардов. Для нормального прохождения отопительного сезона Незалежной требуется 6-8 миллиардов кубометров, плюс еще столько же должно находиться в ПХГ как буферный газ для обеспечения давления в трубопроводной системе. Итого, Украине потребуется от 14 до 18 миллиардов, а все остальное она сможет кому-то продать.

При этом большая часть этих запасов была приобретена на спотовых рынках по уникально низкой цене в 40 долларов за тысячу кубов. Уже этой зимой газ может ощутимо подорожать, поэтому Киев имеет шанс хорошо заработать на российском газе. Если вспомнить, что Незалежная принципиально не покупает «голубое топливо» у «Газпрома», со стороны может создаться впечатление, что украинцы «всех переиграли». Правда, реальность выглядит несколько иначе.

С одной стороны, официального контракта на закупку газа в России как не было, так до сих пор и нет. Украина формально присоединилась к европейскому газовому рынку, но газ в его трубах и ПХГ по-прежнему российский, и это всех устраивает. Киев утверждает, что больше не зависит от Кремля. «Газпром» без лишних скандалов продает сырье европейцам. Страны ЕС с наценкой перепродают его Незалежной. Все довольны, кроме конечных потребителей, тарифы для которых только растут. Благодаря «невидимой руке рынка», «Нафтогаз» даже начал показывать прибыль.

С другой стороны, украинское «энергетическое чудо» имеет свою цену, и она очень высока. Двадцать лет назад уровень потребления газа промышленностью Незалежной составлял 37,6 миллиарда кубометров, населения – 27,5 миллиарда. В 2016 году уже общий уровень потребления по стране составил 33,2 миллиарда, промышленности – 9,9 миллиарда кубометров, а населения – 11,89 миллиарда кубов. В 2019 году Украина в совокупности употребила уже 29,8 миллиарда кубометров газа.

Это означает, что практически исчезла промышленность, больше всего пострадали цементные и металлургические заводы, химические предприятия и электрогенерация. Снижение потребления газа населением происходит частично из-за депопуляции, частично из-за роста тарифов, поскольку украинцы пытаются выкручиваться, переходя на иные источники топлива (сжиженный углеводородный газ и даже дрова).

Такова изнанка «энергетической независимости». Некоторые в Киеве, разумеется, неплохо заработают, перепродавая «европейский» газ на Украину и российский газ в Европу. Хоть кто-то да выиграл от «Майдана».
Использованы фотографии: www.pgnig.pl
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн
    Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 3 сентября 2020 18:58
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Глава Нафтагаза немного привирает. 14 млрд кубов в хранилищах - иностранный газ на хранении. Продать его они никак не могут.
  2. Natan Bruk Офлайн
    Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 4 сентября 2020 03:35
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Короче, по факту - опять украинцы не замерзнут этой зимой. Ну что ж ты будешь делать...