ASPI: Russia outplayed both Obama and Trump in Syria


This month marks five years since Russia began participating in the Syrian civil war with its VKS, and it's time to take stock of the interim results, writes the Australian analytical portal Strategist, operating on the basis of the Australian Institute of Strategic policy (ASPI).


The article notes that starting the air campaign in September 2015, Moscow initially claimed that it was aimed exclusively at the Islamic State (a terrorist group, banned in Russia), but it soon became clear that the Kremlin was thus increasing support for its main ally in the Middle East. , President Bashar al-Assad.

Russian intervention led to several significant shifts. First, it meant that Moscow had replaced Tehran as Assad's most important external patron.

The presence of the Russian Federation also meant that its aircraft now control the skies of the republic, finally putting an end to discussions of other countries about the no-fly zone. In the tangled conflict that the Syrian war has turned into, this presence has turned the tide in favor of government forces.

At the same time, Syria remains an important element of Russia's broader geopolitical strategy. The Russian naval base in Tartus, on the Syrian Mediterranean coast, is the only base of the Russian navy and a key mechanism for projecting power in the region. In 2017, Moscow reached an agreement with Damascus to maintain its presence there for the next 49 years. The nearby Khmeimim airbase, built in mid-2015, from which Russia began its air raids, further strengthens Russia's position on Syrian soil.

Strengthening Assad's power allowed Moscow to defend its own interests. An unnamed senior Syrian opposition figure noted that the Russians "simply used the support of the regime as an excuse when it was convenient for them."

Geopolitically, the article says, Russia has played its cards very effectively in Syria. Despite its relative military weakness, the Kremlin has beaten the administrations of two US presidents with its more assertive stance.

In the face of Barack Obama's hesitation and Donald Trump's impulsiveness, Russian President Vladimir Putin was able to achieve his goal of containing and undermining the influence of the United States in the Middle East. Russia has indeed acted ruthlessly both in its indiscriminate air raids and in its relations with the opposition

- the article says.

Yes, Russia may be inferior to the United States in terms of military power and influence on the world stage, but in Syria it has established itself as a dominant player.
Photos used: Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. beeper Offline
    beeper 5 September 2020 08: 30
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    But Goebbelsuch's anti-Russian "hairpin" into the sluggish brains of the "world community", an insinuation about the alleged "relentless indiscriminate air raids"," non-living "Australian" common people "did not hesitate to" casually "insert (somehow" by itself "they did it -" not at all from malice ", right ?!) ?! winked
  2. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 5 September 2020 18: 49
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    What do you mean outplayed? Most of the oil fields and fertile lands are controlled by the United States and Turkey! Well, most of the terrorists were destroyed, and the economy of the state is controlled by others. So, what is next? And then Russia will restore Syria at the expense of our pensioners!

ASPI: Россия переиграла в Сирии и Обаму, и Трампа


В этом месяце исполняется пять лет с тех пор, как Россия начала участвовать силами своих ВКС в сирийской гражданской войне и самое время подвести промежуточные итоги, пишет австралийский аналитический портал Strategist, действующий на базе Австралийского института стратегической политики (ASPI).


В статье отмечается, что начав воздушную кампанию в сентябре 2015 года, Москва изначально утверждала, что та нацелена исключительно на Исламское государство (террористическая группировка, запрещена в России), но вскоре стало ясно, что Кремль таким образом усиливает поддержку своего главного союзника на Ближнем Востоке, президента Башара Асада.

Вмешательство России привело к нескольким значительным сдвигам. Во-первых, оно означало, что Москва заменила Тегеран в качестве самого важного внешнего покровителя Асада.

Присутствие РФ также означало, что её авиация теперь контролирует небо республики, окончательно положив конец дискуссиям других стран о бесполетной зоне. В запутанном конфликте, в который превратилась сирийская война, это присутствие и переломило ситуацию в пользу правительственных войск.

В то же время Сирия остается важным элементом более широкой геополитической стратегии России. Военно-морская база РФ в Тартусе, на сирийском побережье Средиземного моря, является единственной базой российского флота и ключевым механизмом проецирования силы в регионе. В 2017 году Москва добилась соглашения с Дамаском о сохранении своего присутствия там на следующие 49 лет. Расположенная рядом авиабаза Хмеймим, построенная в середине 2015 года, с которой Россия и начала свои воздушные налеты, еще больше упрочняет позиции РФ на сирийской земле.

Укрепление власти Асада позволило Москве защитить собственные интересы. Неназванный высокопоставленный деятель сирийской оппозиции заметил, что русские «просто использовали поддержку режима как предлог, когда это было удобно для них».

В геополитическом плане, говорится в статье, Россия очень эффективно разыграла свои карты в Сирии. Несмотря на относительную военную слабость, Кремль своей более напористой позицией обставил администрации сразу двух президентов США.

Перед лицом колебаний Барака Обамы и импульсивности Дональда Трампа президент России Владимир Путин смог добиться своей цели по сдерживанию и подрыву влияния Соединённых Штатов на Ближнем Востоке. Россия и вправду действовала безжалостно как при своих неизбирательных воздушных налетах, так и в отношениях с оппозицией

– говорится в статье.

Да, Россия может уступать Штатам по военной мощи и влиянию на мировой арене, но в Сирии она зарекомендовала себя как доминирующий игрок.
Использованы фотографии: Минобороны РФ
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. пищак Офлайн
    пищак 5 сентября 2020 08:30
    +4
    • 4
    • 0
    Но геббельсучью антироссийскую "шпильку" в вялые мозги "мировому сообществу", инсинуацию про якобы "безжалостные неизбирательные воздушные налёты", "неполживые" австралийские "общечеловеки" не преминули "походя" вставить (как-то "само собой" у них получилось - "вовсе не со зла", да?!)?! winked
  2. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 5 сентября 2020 18:49
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Что значит переиграла? Большую часть нефтяных полей и плодородных земель контролируют США и Турция! Ну уничтожили большую часть террористов, а экономику государства контролируют другие. И что дальше? А дальше Россия будет восстанавливать Сирию, за счёт наших пенсионеров!