Le Figaro: Russia is expanding its influence in the world through wheat diplomacy


With the help of "wheat diplomacy" Russia is expanding its influence in the world, turning into a "grain empire", writes the French newspaper Le Figaro.


Having become the world's leading exporter of wheat, Moscow has strengthened its presence in the international arena, betting on this grain for the past twenty years. Over the years, Russia has established itself as a key player in the wheat market. Of the 180 million tons exported annually around the world, almost a quarter comes from Russia.

In Russia, 27 million hectares, or about 12% of the world area, are allocated for wheat cultivation. It was on this large asset that Moscow placed its stake in the 2000s.

Vladimir Putin understood that Russia's grain power could create national wealth, jobs and bring currency through exports. Therefore, he changed the logistics of the ports on the Black Sea to be able to sell more

- said Sebastian Abis, director of the Demeter club and an expert at the Institute of International and Strategic Relations (IRIS).

Over the past 20 years, the volume of wheat grown in Russia has grown 2,5 times and reached almost 80 million tons per year. This is enough to meet the needs of the population and export 50-60%. At the same time, to sell wheat, Russia did not have to go far. It very quickly took over the Middle East and North Africa, representing a third of the world's grain imports, gradually squeezing out the United States and France from there.

These countries need wheat. So they turned to Russia

- explained Abis.

But the countries did not stop at solving only grain issues and began to strengthen ties through military-technical cooperation. According to the expert, now there is no country that can outshine Russia in the export of this cereal. Moreover, Moscow continues to invest in the development of its export capacities and is trying to increase yields.

According to Abis's forecasts, within five years Russia can start growing 100 million tons of wheat per year. This will be enough to conquer other markets as well. And Moscow's ambitions are within reach.
Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

6 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline
    Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 5 September 2020 19: 29
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Well, God forbid that Fig Ro ( wink ) turned out to be right.
  2. steelmaker Offline
    steelmaker 5 September 2020 19: 39
    -3
    • 0
    • 3
    reach the cultivation of 100 million tons of wheat per year.

    And how will this affect the well-being of Russian citizens? The more we sell, the poorer the people. Only the number of billionaires in Russia is increasing. And they are all friends of Putin!
    1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 6 September 2020 11: 12
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      So in Russia everything is not so bad, only the problem is in the state. management and fair redistribution of income from the wealth of Russia (land is also state wealth, as well as subsoil). If 20 years is such a state. governance does not satisfy the majority of citizens of the state, it is time to change governance, better elections ...
  3. gorenina91 Offline
    gorenina91 (Irina) 6 September 2020 04: 14
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    Le Figaro: Russia is expanding its influence in the world through wheat diplomacy

    - An old-old tale ... - or rather, an old-old idea ...
    - And under the tsars, Russia "successfully sold" grain abroad; but she never got richer ...
    - Yes, and the Russian Volga region (during the "times of the tsars") constantly reminded of the trouble of the "Russian food program" ... - But was there a famine in Europe ... - especially in those countries where tsarist Russia supplied grain ... - I personally don't remember that ...
    - There were famines in Ireland due to poor potato harvest ... - But tsarist Russia with Ireland never had any business ...
    - And today the supply of wheat abroad for Russia is not so profitable ... - The weather conditions in Russia for "this business" are not very suitable ... - and everything is quite expensive ... - It's all expensive for Russia. .. - and expensive fuel (gasoline, diesel fuel, fuels and lubricants); the weather and soil are not very suitable; the processing, harvesting and transportation equipment itself is quite expensive; and for earning and storing grain, only closed premises are needed (all the same unfavorable weather); and the very transportation of grain over long distances (and the transport itself) ... - all this is very expensive ... - Well, how about the next sanctions ... - and again Russia got caught ... - and again will start supplying its grain to dumping prices ... - Another trap ... - a'la Gazprom ...
    - For Ukraine, such a thing is just right ... - there the climate and the land for this seems to have been specially created ... - But Ukraine itself is not moving very much about this ...
    1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline
      Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 6 September 2020 11: 47
      -1
      • 1
      • 2
      Quote: gorenina91
      For Ukraine, such a thing is just right.

      Only for Ukraine, the lack of tractors and diesel fuel is not just right. KhTZ produces the same amount per year as Lamborghini in Italy. And for the same price. They quarreled with Old Man - and diesel fuel is more expensive than in Poland.
      No wonder they buy bread for Ukraine in Russia.
      1. 123 Online
        123 (123) 6 September 2020 18: 27
        0
        • 1
        • 1
        No wonder they buy bread for Ukraine in Russia.

        If only bread, only the Chinese buy more chicken than them. In general, the agrarian superpower pleases with the results of its work. Peremoga is just around the corner. laughing

        For the season 2018/2019 (August-July), a record amount of vegetables was imported to Ukraine - 264,1 thousand tons. This is 27% higher than the previous record held since the 2009/2010 season.

        https://www.ukrinform.ru/rubric-economy/2790985-import-ovosej-v-ukrainu-pobil-devatiletnij-rekord.html

Le Figaro: Россия с помощью «пшеничной дипломатии» расширяет своё влияние в мире


При помощи «пшеничной дипломатии» Россия расширяет свое влияние в мире, превращаясь в «зерновую империю», пишет французская газета Le Figaro.


Став ведущим экспортером пшеницы на планете, Москва укрепляет свое присутствие на международной арене, делая ставку на этот злак на протяжении последних двадцати лет. За прошедшие годы Россия зарекомендовала себя ключевым игроком на рынке пшеницы. Из 180 млн тонн, экспортируемых ежегодно во всем мире, почти четверть приходится на Россию.

В России 27 млн га, или около 12% мировой площади, отведены под выращивание пшеницы. Именно на этот крупный актив Москва сделала ставку в 2000-х.

Владимир Путин понимал, что зерновая мощь России может создать национальное богатство, рабочие места и принести валюту благодаря экспорту. Поэтому он изменил логистику портов на Черном море, чтобы иметь возможность продавать больше

– сообщил Себастьян Абис, директор клуба Demeter и эксперт Института международных и стратегических отношений (IRIS).

За последние 20 лет объем выращиваемой пшеницы в России вырос в 2,5 раза и достиг почти 80 млн тонн в год. Этого достаточно, чтобы удовлетворить потребности населения и 50-60% отправить на экспорт. При этом, чтобы продавать пшеницу, России не пришлось далеко ходить. Она очень быстро подмяла под себя Ближний Восток и Северную Африку, представляющие треть мирового импорта зерна, постепенно выдавливая оттуда США и Францию.

Этим странам нужна пшеница. Поэтому они обратились к России

– объяснил Абис.

Но страны не стали останавливаться на решении лишь зерновых вопросов и начали укреплять связи по линии ВТС. По мнению эксперта, сейчас нет страны, способной затмить Россию в области экспорта этого злака. Тем более, Москва продолжает инвестировать в развитие своих экспортных мощностей и старается повысить урожайность.

По прогнозам Абиса, в течение пяти лет Россия может выйти на выращивание 100 млн тонн пшеницы в год. Этого будет достаточно, чтобы завоевать и другие рынки. И амбиции Москвы находятся в пределах досягаемости.
Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн
    Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 5 сентября 2020 19:29
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    Ну, дай бог, чтобы Фига Ро ( wink ) оказалось право.
  2. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 5 сентября 2020 19:39
    -3
    • 0
    • 3
    выйти на выращивание 100 млн тонн пшеницы в год.

    А как это скажется на благополучие граждан России? Чем больше продаём, тем народ становится беднее. Только количество миллиардеров в России увеличивается. И все они друзья Путина!
    1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 6 сентября 2020 11:12
      0
      • 1
      • 1
      Значит в России всё не так плохо, только проблема в гос. управлении и справедливом перераспределении доходов от богатств России (земля также богатство общегосударственное, как и недра). Если 20 лет такое гос. управление не удовлетворяет большинство граждан государства, пора менять управление, лучше выборами...
  3. gorenina91 Офлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 6 сентября 2020 04:14
    -1
    • 1
    • 2
    Le Figaro: Россия с помощью «пшеничной дипломатии» расширяет своё влияние в мире

    - Старая-старая сказка... - вернее, старая-старая затея...
    - И при царях Россия "успешно продавала" зерно за рубеж; но богаче так и не стала...
    - Да и российское Поволжье (во "времена царей") постоянно напоминало о неблагополучии "российской продовольственной программы"... - А вот был ли голод в Европе ...- особенно в тех странах, куда царская россия поставляла зерно... - лично Я такого не помню...
    - Случались в Ирландии голода из-за неурожая картофеля ... - Но царская Россия с Ирландией никогда никаких дел не имела...
    - А сегодня поставки пшеницы за рубеж для России не так уж и выгодны... - Погодные условия в России для "этого бизнеса" не очень подходящие... - и всё достаточно дороговато обходится... - Дорого это всё для России обходится... - и топливо дорогое (бензин, солярка, ГСМ); погода и почва не очень подходящие; сама обрабатывающая, уборочная и транспортировочная техника довольно дорогая; и для подработки и хранения зерна нужны только закрытые помещения (всё та же неблагоприятная погода); да и сама транспортировка зерна на длительные расстояния (и сам транспорт) ... - всё это очень дорого обходится... - А ну как очередные санкции... - и опять Россия попалась... - и опять начнёт поставлять своё зерно по демпинговым ценам... - Очередная ловушка... - а'ля Газпром ...
    - Вот для Украины такое дело в самый раз... - там климат и земля для этого будто специально создана... - Но Украина сама что-то не очень шевелится по этому поводу...
    1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн
      Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 6 сентября 2020 11:47
      -1
      • 1
      • 2
      Цитата: gorenina91
      Вот для Украины такое дело в самый раз.

      Только для Украины не в самый раз отсутствие тракторов и солярки. ХТЗ в год выпускает столько же, как Ламборджини в Италии. И по такой же цене. С Батькой поссорились - и солярка дороже, чем в Польше.
      Недаром хлеб на Украину в России закупают.
      1. 123 Офлайн
        123 (123) 6 сентября 2020 18:27
        0
        • 1
        • 1
        Недаром хлеб на Украину в России закупают.

        Если бы только хлеб, курятину больше них только китайцы закупают. Да и вообще аграрная сверхдержава радует результатами работы. Перэмога на за горами. laughing

        За сезон 2018/2019 годов (август-июль) на Украину был импортирован рекордный объем овощей - 264,1 тыс. тонн. Это на 27% превысило предыдущий рекорд, который держался с сезона 2009/2010 годов.

        https://www.ukrinform.ru/rubric-economy/2790985-import-ovosej-v-ukrainu-pobil-devatiletnij-rekord.html