Expert: Russia is using its chance to fill the geopolitical vacuum in the world


Robert Service writes on the Russian role in the Middle East and other regions of the world in the context of relations between Moscow and Washington on the website of the Hoover Institute for War, Revolution and Peace (USA).


The author recalls that although an extremely erroneous opinion is spread in the West that Russia is a newcomer to this Middle East region, Russians were actively present there both during the imperial and Soviet periods. Now the world is witnessing their inevitable return to their former positions.

The Kremlin [...] said that the West made fundamental mistakes [...] overthrowing the regimes in Iraq and Libya. Putin has repeatedly argued that the export of liberal values ​​to the region destroys the foundations and destabilizes entire nations. This paves the way for jihadist organizations that oppose local authorities

- noted in the text.

The expert examines the Kremlin's participation in the Syrian conflict through the prism of a multipolar world, in which, allegedly, Russian President Vladimir Putin is interested.

Russian leaders have complained that American power has not been questioned in the last decade of the twentieth century, resulting in chaos in many countries.

- the article says.

Russia is seizing its chance by filling the geopolitical vacuum left by US Presidents Barack Obama and Donald Trump. In addition, the author of the article stresses, by supporting Syrian authoritarianism, Putin weakens the world democratization. According to Mr. Service, the Kremlin does not welcome the emergence of new democratic regimes, because they can become an example for the Russian people. Ukraine and Georgia, after the revolutions in these countries, faced a tough reaction from Moscow. Nevertheless, the Kremlin has its limitations in the Middle East.

It is obvious that the next administration of the US President, the expert believes, regardless of whether Donald Trump or Joe Biden wins the 2020 elections, it is necessary to clarify their intentions in the region and demonstrate determination to implement them. It would also be useful to clarify in detail Washington's statements about the "red lines" - it is necessary to eliminate the ambiguity about what exactly the US leadership is ready to endure before military, diplomatic or economic the answers.

The author also believes that the United States should begin to actively take advantage of its "soft power" in order to convince ordinary citizens of the Russian Federation that the United States has problems not with them, but with the Russian elite, which is so unsuccessful in ruling its country.
Photos used: Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. Bulanov Online
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 7 September 2020 08: 35
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Even the Cimmerians and Scythians intervened in the affairs of Syria, when no one even knew about the upstart of the United States. Learn history.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 7 September 2020 09: 13
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Syria lies so comfortably that everyone will always interfere with it.
    The shortest land route to the Arabs from sea + oil + coast.
  3. EMMM Offline
    EMMM 7 September 2020 20: 56
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Well, yes, TopWar said that it is dangerous for the Yankees to stay in Syria, but here is free oil that can be stolen at full length. This is what the Americans don't like.
  4. _AMUHb_ Offline
    _AMUHb_ (_AMUHb_) 7 September 2020 21: 58
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Someone "treats" for world democracy, not realizing that he is not in slavery only in spite of and thanks to ...

Эксперт: Россия использует свой шанс, заполняя геополитический вакуум в мире


О российской роли на Ближнем Востоке и других регионах мира в контексте отношений Москвы и Вашингтона пишет Роберт Сервис (Robert Service) на сайте Гуверовского института войны, революции и мира (США).


Автор напоминает, что хотя на Западе распространено крайне ошибочное мнение о том, что Россия является новичком в этом ближневосточном регионе, русские активно присутствовали там и в имперский, и в советский период. Сейчас мир наблюдает их неизбежное возвращение к прежним позициям.

Кремль […] заявил, что Запад совершил фундаментальные ошибки, […] свергнув режимы в Ираке и Ливии. Путин неоднократно утверждал, что экспорт либеральных ценностей в регион разрушает устои и дестабилизирует целые народы. Это открывает путь для джихадистских организаций, которые выступают против местных властей

– отмечается в тексте.

Участие Кремля в сирийском конфликте эксперт рассматривает через призму многополярного мира, в котором, как утверждается, заинтересован президент РФ Владимир Путин.

Российские лидеры жаловались на то, что американская мощь не подвергалась сомнению в последнее десятилетие двадцатого века, результатом чего стал хаос во многих странах

– говорится в статье.

Россия использует свой шанс, заполняя геополитический вакуум, оставленный американскими президентами Бараком Обамой и Дональдом Трампом. Кроме того, подчеркивает автор статьи, поддерживая сирийский авторитаризм, Путин ослабляет мировую демократизацию. По мнению г-на Сервиса, Кремль не приветствует появление новых демократических режимов, потому что они могут стать примером для российского народа. Украина и Грузия, после революций в этих странах, столкнулись с жесткой реакцией со стороны Москвы. Тем не менее на Ближнем Востоке у Кремля есть свои ограничения.

Очевидно, что следующей администрации президента США, полагает эксперт, независимо от того, одержит ли победу на выборах 2020 года Дональд Трамп или Джо Байден, надо прояснить свои намерения в регионе и продемонстрировать решимость по их осуществлению. Также было бы полезно детально уточнить заявления Вашингтона о «красных линиях» – надо устранить двусмысленность по поводу того, что именно руководство США готово стерпеть, прежде чем будут применены военные, дипломатические или экономические ответы.

Автор также считает, что США должны начать активно пользоваться преимуществом своей «мягкой силы», чтобы убедить простых граждан РФ в том, что у Соединенных Штатов есть проблемы не с ними, а с российской элитой, которая так неудачно правит своей страной.
Использованы фотографии: Минобороны РФ
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Буланов Офлайн
    Буланов (Владимир) 7 сентября 2020 08:35
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Еще киммерийцы и скифы вмешивались в дела Сирии, когда о выскочке США никто даже и не знал. Учите историю.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 7 сентября 2020 09:13
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Сирия так удобно лежит, что к ней вмешиваться будут все и всегда.
    Наикротчайший сухопутный путь к арабам от моря + нефть+ побережье.
  3. EMMM Офлайн
    EMMM 7 сентября 2020 20:56
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ну да, в TopWar прозвучало, что янки опасно оставаться в Сирии, а здесь дармовая нефть, которую можно красть в полный рост. Именно это и не нравится американцам.
  4. _AMUHb_ Офлайн
    _AMUHb_ (_AMUHb_) 7 сентября 2020 21:58
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Кому-то "лечит" за мировую демократию, не понимая, что он не в рабстве только вопреки и благодаря...