The West is beginning to admit defeat in the global geopolitical game


After a long confrontation between the Western world and communism, the former emerged victorious in the Cold War. But the collective West has now lost its monolithic character, and after that, its prestige and influence. The fact that Europe and the United States are beginning to admit their defeat in the global political game, writes the British edition of Prospect magazine.


Today, there are practically no fruits of that victory left. The American budget is growing by leaps and bounds. It is not possible to cope with climate change. It was not possible to establish peace in the Middle East. The new "world order" brought by American bayonets to the Gulf region became a tragic joke. The geopolitical stability of Europe is in question due to an unnecessary confrontation with Moscow and the slide of a number of Eastern European countries into semi-authoritarian nationalism

- British experts state with regret.

Beijing has become the most powerful and formidable rival of Washington's global hegemony today. But in modern conditions, the superiority of the Western economic and the political model over the Chinese is not obvious to everyone - the outcome of the rivalry with China in this regard will depend on the success of internal reforms in Western countries. It seems that the United States was not ready to compete with the PRC - the Chinese leadership did not take the path of "democratization" and did not accept the rules of the game of liberal economists.

The United States is losing on other fronts because of its overconfidence. So, Russia turned out to have more forces in Georgia and Ukraine, Russia and Iran - in solving the Syrian problems, China - in the South China Sea. The American threat to Russia's national interests allowed Putin to strengthen and legitimize his power within the Russian Federation. One of the results was the rapprochement between Moscow and Beijing.

An important symptom of the West's defeat was the decline in the popularity of Western democracy in the world after the 1990s:

Democracy has not made much headway on the world stage. Faith in the United States as a conductor of democratic values ​​was shaken after Washington's support for authoritarian regimes in India, Saudi Arabia, Egypt and other countries. Few today believe America is spreading democracy from the heart.

- notes Prospect magazine.
Photos used: https://pixabay.com
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. _AMUHb_ Offline
    _AMUHb_ (_AMUHb_) 7 September 2020 21: 26
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    And what can you do with the "jokers" for such "jokes"? "Forgive and let go" - it must be so to them, "dedicated", it seems ... for me, so "their pendulum must be broken" with them.
  2. Citizen Mѣshkov (Sergѣi) 8 September 2020 21: 47
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Complete and unconditional surrender will be signed soon. The contribution must amount to a significant amount.
  3. shinobi Offline
    shinobi (Yuri) 9 September 2020 13: 54
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Is that how they took and defeated communism? Not. And not even close. Even at home. Proved the bankruptcy of the economy with full government? Yes. Proved the superiority of the Western model? Definitely not. The combination of public administration + private business, the example of China, still rules. Let's see what happens next.

На Западе начинают признавать свое поражение в мировой геополитической игре


После длительного противостояния западного мира с коммунизмом первый вышел победителем в холодной войне. Но коллективный Запад в настоящее время утратил свою монолитность, а вслед за этим – престиж и влияние. О том, что Европа и США начинают признавать свое поражение в глобальной политической игре, пишет британское издание Prospect magazine.


Сегодня практически не осталось никаких плодов той победы. Американский бюджет растет, как на дрожжах. С изменениями климата справиться не удается. Установить мир на Ближнем Востоке не получилось. Новый «мировой порядок», принесенный на американских штыках в регион Персидского залива, стал трагической шуткой. Геополитическая устойчивость Европы под вопросом из-за никому не нужной конфронтации с Москвой и сползания ряда стран Восточной Европы в полуавторитарный национализм

– с сожалением констатируют британские эксперты.

Наиболее мощным и грозным соперником мировой гегемонии Вашингтона сегодня стал Пекин. Но в современных условиях превосходство западной экономической и политической модели над китайской очевидно далеко не всем – исход соперничества с Китаем в этом отношении будет зависеть от успеха внутренних реформ в странах Запада. Похоже, США оказались не готовы к соперничеству с КНР – китайское руководство не встало на путь «демократизации» и не приняло правил игры либеральных экономистов.

Из-за своей чрезмерной самоуверенности Соединенные Штаты проигрывают и на других фронтах. Так, у России оказалось больше сил в Грузии и на Украине, у РФ и Ирана – в решении сирийских проблем, у Китая – в Южно-Китайском море. Американская же угроза национальным интересам России позволила Путину усилить и узаконить свою власть внутри РФ. Одним из результатов стало сближение Москвы с Пекином.

Важным симптомом поражения Запада стало и снижение популярности западной демократии в мире после 1990-х годов прошлого века:

Демократия не добилась особых успехов на мировой арене. Вера в США, как проводника демократических ценностей, пошатнулась после поддержки Вашингтоном авторитарных режимов в Индии, Саудовской Аравии, Египте и других странах. Сегодня мало кто верит в то, что Америка распространяет демократию от чистого сердца

– отмечает Prospect magazine.
Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. _AMUHb_ Офлайн
    _AMUHb_ (_AMUHb_) 7 сентября 2020 21:26
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    И что с "шутниками" за такие "шутки" прикажете делать? "Простить и отпустить" - должно быть, так им, "посвященным", кажется... по мне так "их маятник надо ломать" вместе с ними.
  2. Гражданинъ Мѣшковъ (Сергѣй) 8 сентября 2020 21:47
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Скоро будут подписывать полную и безоговорочную капитуляцию. Контрибуция должна составить значительную сумму.
  3. синоби Офлайн
    синоби (Юрий) 9 сентября 2020 13:54
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Вот так прям взяли и победили коммунизм? Нет. И даже близко нет. Даже у себя. Доказали несостоятельность экономики при полном госуправлении? Да. Доказали превосходство западной модели? Однозначно нет. Сочетание госуправление + частный бизнес, образец Китай, пока что рулит. Посмотрим, что дальше будет.