Spectator: How much longer will the West follow Russia's lead?


It is time for the West to abandon the Russian scenario for the development of relations, writes the British conservative magazine The Spectator.


How much longer can you be led by Russia? We've been through this before. Russia is at the epicenter of yet another political crisis, which it itself has created. For a short time, there is shock in Western capitals, and then outrage begins. And we know how it will end.

Currently, Russian opposition leader Alexei Navalny, the country's second most popular politician, lies in a coma in a Berlin clinic. At the same time, the German government announced that he was poisoned with a nerve agent "Novichok". In diplomatic terms, this is called "deep concern", "shocking and irresponsible" behavior of Russia, which is condemned "in the strongest terms."

Immediately after that, the Russian propaganda and disinformation machine went on the offensive. It was so predictable that in 2015, British analyst and Atlantic Council fellow Ben Nimmo conceptualized it as the four Ds: brush it off, distort it, distract it, confuse it.

Now the West is calling for action. This usually ends with the expulsion of a small number of Russian diplomats and the imposition of minor sanctions. Now Germany is the “locomotive”. In 2018, after the poisoning of the Skripals - Great Britain. In 2014, after the destruction of flight MH17 - Ukraine and the Netherlands, and even earlier, in 2008 - Georgia, after a short war.

At the same time, Moscow will call any actions of the West "Russophobia", demonstrate in every possible way a "desire to cooperate" and try to undermine the international investigation. This is how Russia plays out every Western response to Russian aggression and hostility over the past decade.

The West itself must decide what kind of relations it wants with Moscow, because the incident with Navalny raises questions not from Russia, but from Western countries. Russia - a nuclear-armed and often acting terrorist group - has made its decision.

Russia wants prestige and respect, to be treated like a superpower, to which the customs, laws and rules that govern international relations do not apply. Moscow wants to return to a world order in which a small number of states had "spheres of influence" and the right to vote.

Perhaps Western capitals should abandon all existing assumptions that Moscow sees the world the same way they do. Accepting this does not necessarily mean that big opposition is inevitable. This will not be a new Cold War, because even then Moscow and the West coexisted together, although they saw the world differently. The reality is that Western values ​​and interests are incompatible with the values ​​and interests of the Russian state.

And while the West does not recognize this, there is no reason to assume that the reaction to the poisoning of Navalny, like many other international crises before that, will radically change something. And this means an increase in Russian aggression and hostility in the future, sums up the publication.
  • Photos used: https://www.pikist.com/
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 8 September 2020 18: 51
    0
    The reality is that Western values ​​and interests are incompatible with the values ​​and interests of the Russian state.

    We have to do something about this ... The Europeans will have to somehow adjust and adapt.
  2. sharp-lad Offline sharp-lad
    sharp-lad (Oleg) 8 September 2020 19: 18
    +1
    It is time for Russia to stop adjusting to the "west" and go its own way. Well, let them begin to observe their "western" values ​​in full!
  3. Joker62 Offline Joker62
    Joker62 (Ivan) 10 September 2020 15: 03
    0
    Maybe the other way around ???
    How long can the West follow the lead of the United States ???

Spectator: Сколько ещё Запад будет идти на поводу у России?


Западу пора отказаться от российского сценария развития отношений, пишет британский консервативный журнал The Spectator.


Сколько еще можно идти на поводу у России? Мы проходили это раньше. Россия находится в эпицентре очередного политического кризиса, который сама создала. На короткое время в западных столицах наступает шок, а затем начинается возмущение. И мы знаем, чем это закончится.

В настоящее время российский оппозиционер Алексей Навальный, второй по популярности политик в стране, лежит в коме в берлинской клинике. При этом правительство Германии сообщило, что его отравили нервно-паралитическим веществом «Новичок». На дипломатическом языке это называется «глубокой озабоченностью», «шокирующим и безответственным» поведением России, которое осуждается «самым решительным образом».

Сразу после этого в наступление перешла машина российской пропаганды и дезинформации. Это было настолько предсказуемо, что в 2015 году британский аналитик и научный сотрудник Атлантического совета Бен Ниммо концептуализировал его как четыре «D»: отмахнуться, исказить, отвлечь, смутить.

Теперь на Западе призывают к действиям. Обычно это заканчивается высылкой небольшого количества российских дипломатов и введением малозначащих санкций. Сейчас «локомотивом» выступает Германия. В 2018 году, после отравления Скрипалей – Великобритания. В 2014 году после уничтожения рейса MH17 – Украина и Нидерланды, а еще раньше, в 2008 году – Грузия, после короткой войны.

При этом Москва будет называть любые действия Запада «русофобией», всячески демонстрировать «желание сотрудничать» и пытаться подорвать международное расследование. Именно так Россия разыгрывает каждый ответ Запада на российскую агрессию и враждебность за последние десять лет.

Запад сам должен определиться, каких отношений он хочет с Москвой, ведь инцидент с Навальным вызывает вопросы не у России, а у западных стран. Россия – обладающая ядерным оружием и часто действующая как террористическая группировка – приняла свое решение.

Россия хочет престижа и уважения, чтобы с ней обращались как со сверхдержавой, к которой не применяются обычаи, законы и правила, регулирующие международные отношения. Москва желает вернуться к мировому порядку, при котором небольшое количество государств имели «сферы влияния» и право голоса.

Возможно, западным столицам стоит отказаться от всех существующих предположений о том, что Москва смотрит на мир так же, как они. Принятие этого не обязательно означает, что большое противостояние неизбежно. Это не будет новая холодная война, ведь даже тогда Москва и Запад сосуществовали вместе, хотя и по-разному смотрели на мир. Реальность такова, что западные ценности и интересы несовместимы с ценностями и интересами российского государства.

И пока на Западе не признают это, нет оснований предполагать, что реакция на отравление Навального, как и многие другие международные кризисы до этого, коренным образом что-то изменит. А это означает усиление российской агрессии и враждебности в будущем, подытоживает издание.
Использованы фотографии: https://www.pikist.com/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. 123 Офлайн
    123 (123) 8 сентября 2020 18:51
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Реальность такова, что западные ценности и интересы несовместимы с ценностями и интересами российского государства.

    С этим надо что-то делать... Придется европейцам как-то подстраиваться и приспосабливаться.
  2. sharp-lad Офлайн
    sharp-lad (Олег) 8 сентября 2020 19:18
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Пора России перестать подстраиваться под "запад" и идти своим путём. Ну а свои "западные" ценности пусть для начала начнут соблюдать у себя в полном объёме!
  3. Joker62 Офлайн
    Joker62 (Иван) 10 сентября 2020 15:03
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Может быть, наоборот???
    Сколько может Запад идти на поводу у США???