Die Welt on stopping Nord Stream 2: Poles' cherished dream may come true


Nobody is opposing the construction of the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline as energetically as Poland. After the poisoning of Alexei Navalny, the cherished dream of the Poles may come true, but the jubilation in Warsaw can be not only for this reason, writes the German newspaper Die Welt.


Poland continues to put pressure on Germany to finally stop the gas transmission project associated with Russia. Polish liberal-conservative policy they like to draw inappropriate parallels and historical comparisons, which sometimes cause outright indignation in Berlin.

For example, in 2006, Polish Defense Minister Radoslaw Sikorski, who later became the country's foreign minister, said:

Poland is sensitive to corridors and agreements over its head. This is the Locarno tradition (I mean the 1925 treaties, not the modern film festival - ed.). This is the tradition of the Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact.

Warsaw maintains this position to this day. Moreover, on the issue of Nord Stream 2, all Polish political forces are in solidarity, and they mercilessly criticize each other on other topics. No one in the European Union opposes the SP-2 louder and more decisively than the Poles, who have been engaged in this since the beginning of discussions on the construction of the first Nord Stream gas pipeline. Warsaw is very worried that the implementation of the next project will make Europe more dependent on Moscow and Russia will be able to politically put pressure on the Europeans bypassing Poland.

But now, after the poisoning of Navalny, even German Chancellor Angela Merkel hesitated. She does not exclude that what happened to the Russian oppositionist could lead to sanctions against Russia, which, in turn, will affect the project.

At the same time, Poland and Denmark are building the Baltic Pipe gas pipeline, through which Norwegian gas will enter Polish territory in order to compete with the Russians. If Nord Stream 2 is not launched, Warsaw will only benefit from this, because the dream of becoming a kind of gas hub in Central and Eastern Europe will become even closer.
  • Used photos: gazprom.ru
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline Oyo Sarkazmi
    Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 8 September 2020 20: 33
    0
    Will win. May be. But Yamal-Europe is booked only for one year. And the reservation can be withdrawn three months before the due date.
    Since Europe does not need gas, supply 65 billion cubic meters next year. Contract minimum. And the rest 235 - let the Poles supply.
  2. Stanislav Bykov Offline Stanislav Bykov
    Stanislav Bykov (Stanislav) 8 September 2020 20: 46
    +2
    Looking for cheap energy resources? So buy! No, so buy American Democratic. Germany and Merkel in particular, it's time to decide whether she is smart or beautiful))
  3. Indifferent Offline Indifferent
    Indifferent 9 September 2020 04: 07
    0
    This is not only the dream of the Poles, but also my dream! How much can we squander and consume our bowels. What will we leave to our great-grandchildren? Is it really necessary to sell everything now. Our rich people won't be full. SP-2 needs to be mothballed and let it lie until better times! It will not bring too much income to the country as taxes! And let the "cunning Germans" buy expensive American gas. Rather go broke. Then they will understand with whom you need to be friends and with whom not!

Die Welt об остановке «Северного потока-2»: Заветная мечта поляков может сбыться


Никто не противостоит строительству газопровода «Северный поток-2» так же энергично, как Польша. После отравления Алексея Навального заветная мечта поляков может сбыться, но ликование в Варшаве может быть не только по этой причине, пишет немецкая газета Die Welt.


Польша продолжает давить на Германию, чтобы окончательно остановить газотранспортный проект, связанный с Россией. Польские либерально-консервативные политики любят проводить неуместные параллели и исторические сравнения, которые порой вызывают откровенное возмущение в Берлине.

Например, в 2006 году министр обороны Польши Радослав Сикорский, который позже стал главой МИД этой страны, заявил:

Польша чувствительна к коридорам и договоренностям через свою голову. Это традиция Локарно (имеются в виду договоры 1925 года, а не современный кинофестиваль – ред.). Это традиция пакта Риббентропа-Молотова.

Варшава сохраняет эту позицию по сей день. Причем в вопросе «Северного потока-2» солидарны все польские политсилы, которые по иным темам нещадно критикуют друг друга. Никто в Евросоюзе не выступает против СП-2 громче и решительнее, чем поляки, занимающиеся этим с момента начала обсуждения строительства первого газопровода «Северный поток». В Варшаве очень переживают, что реализация очередного проекта сделает Европу более зависимой от Москвы и Россия сможет политически давить на европейцев в обход Польши.

Но теперь, после отравления Навального, заколебалась даже канцлер Германии Ангела Меркель. Она не исключает, что случившееся с российским оппозиционером может привести к санкциям против России, которые, в свою очередь, отразятся на проекте.

При этом Польша и Дания строят газопровод Baltic Pipe, по которому норвежский газ будет поступать на польскую территорию, чтобы конкурировать с россиянами. Если «Северный поток-2» не будет запущен, то Варшава только выиграет от этого, ведь мечта стать своего рода газовым хабом Центральной и Восточной Европы станет еще ближе.
Использованы фотографии: gazprom.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

3 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн
    Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 8 сентября 2020 20:33
    0
    • 2
    • 2
    Выиграет. Может быть. Только ведь Ямал-Европа забронирован только на один год. Да и бронь может быть снята за три месяца до наступления срока.
    Раз газ Европе не нужен - поставить в следующем году 65 млрд кубов. Контрактный минимум. А остальные 235 - пускай поляки поставляют.
  2. Станислав Быков (Hroft) 8 сентября 2020 20:46
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Нужны дешёвые энергоресурсы? Так покупайте! Нет, так покупайте американский демократический. Германии и Меркель в частности, пора бы определиться, умная она или красивая))
  3. Безразличный 9 сентября 2020 04:07
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Это не только мечта поляков, но и моя мечта! Сколько можно разбазаривать и проедать наши недра. Что правнукам оставим? Неужели нужно продать всё и сейчас. Никак наши богатеи не наедятся. СП-2 нужно законсервировать и пускай лежит до лучших времен! Слишком больших доходов стране в качестве налогов он не принесет! А "хитрые немцы" пусть покупают дорогой американский газ. Скорее разорятся. Тогда поймут, с кем нужно дружить, а с кем нет!