Foreign Policy: Why The Finnish President Has Putin's Support


Finnish President Sauli Niinistö runs a country with a fairly long border with Russia and is the only Western leader to have a good relationship with Russian President Vladimir Putin. Foreign Policy magazine tells why the head of the Russian Federation supports his Finnish counterpart.


The heads of Russia and Finland openly discuss issues of international policy and mutually beneficial cooperation - even the most delicate of them.

Niinistho is a cold-blooded realist, not an idealist. The Finnish leader does not tire Putin with long lectures on liberalism. He maintains a good working relationship with Putin, regardless of events in Ukraine or other serious security concerns. In the tradition of Finnish realists, not to turn away from Russians and not to show fear

- said Mika Aaltola, Director of the Finnish Institute of International Relations.

One of the delicate topics that Niinistö talks about with Putin is the possibility of Finland raising its current status as a NATO partner to full membership, which the Russian leader directly warned Finland against. According to the latter, if this happens, the Russians will see the Finns as enemies.

As proof of the special bond between the two leaders, Niinistö tweeted that he called Putin and discussed with him “the possibility of resolving the tense situation in Belarus”, as well as the state of the poisoned leader of the Russian opposition, Alexei Navalny.

Also, one of the factors supporting the Finnish President Putin was the restrained position of the leader of Finland on the issue of the constitutional referendum in the Russian Federation, as well as on the return of Crimea to Russia.

We do not know if Putin plans to continue his activities and for how long. At the same time, the decision to hold a referendum really shows that Russian democracy is very different from ours.

- noted Niinistö, not showing criticism of domestic Russian political reforms characteristic of many other Western leaders.

In Finland, we have been saying for a long time that there is nothing we can do about geography. What we can do is maintain a clear and consistent line of the West in relations with our eastern neighbor and improve mutual understanding between East and West.

- this is how the Finnish president once spoke on the "Crimean issue".
Used photos: http://kremlin.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

2 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. The comment was deleted.
  2. Monster_Fat Offline
    Monster_Fat (What's the difference) 11 September 2020 13: 45
    0
    • 1
    • 1
    About nothing. The Finns are slowly, gradually pushing through their line in Karelia, they carry out the financialization of the local population quite openly - apart from "Finnish" NGOs, schools, they also smuggled the obligatory Karelian-Finnish name and designation of settlements and everything that is in Karelia. For what? And they prepare in advance - if there is a civil turmoil in Russia, the local population will not even think about who they are on the way with. And the Russian government can continue to sleep peacefully, not to notice the financialization of Karelia ... they are so "strong", they have everything under control, well, they have "special relations" with the Finns .... .... special relationship. .. Oh well. wink
  3. Elen_msk Offline
    Elen_msk (Inna Belkina) 16 September 2020 01: 42
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    How super diplomatic and delicate everything is! Oh, yes, the Finns are cunning))

Foreign Policy: Почему финский президент пользуется поддержкой Путина


Президент Финляндии Саули Ниинистё руководит страной, имеющей довольно протяженную границу с Россией, и является единственным западным лидером, у которого сложились неплохие отношения с российским президентом Владимиром Путиным. О том, почему глава РФ поддерживает своего финского коллегу, рассказывает журнал Foreign Policy.


Главы России и Финляндии открыто обсуждают вопросы международной политики и взаимовыгодного сотрудничества – даже самые деликатные из них.

Ниинистё – хладнокровный реалист, а не идеалист. Лидер Финляндии не утомляет Путина долгими лекциями о либерализме. Он поддерживает хорошие рабочие отношения с Путиным, независимо от событий на Украине или других серьезных проблем с безопасностью. В традициях финских реалистов – не отворачиваться от русских и не показывать страх

– подчеркнул Мика Аалтола, директор Финского института международных отношений.

Одна из таких деликатных тем, о которых Ниинистё говорит с Путиным – это возможность повышения Финляндии своего нынешнего статуса как партнера НАТО до полноправного членства, от чего российский лидер прямо предостерег Финляндию. По мнению последнего, если это случится, русские будут видеть в финнах врагов.

В качестве доказательства особой связи двух лидеров Ниинистё написал в Твиттере, что звонил Путину и обсуждал с ним «возможности урегулирования напряженной ситуации в Беларуси», а также состояние отравленного лидера российской оппозиции Алексея Навального.

Также одним из факторов поддержки финского президента Путиным стала сдержанная позиция лидера Финляндии по вопросу конституционного референдума в РФ, а также по возвращению Крыма в состав России.

Мы не знаем, планирует ли Путин продолжать свою деятельность и как долго. При этом решение о проведении референдума действительно показывает, что российская демократия сильно отличается от нашей

– отметил Ниинистё, не проявив свойственной многим другим западным лидерам критики внутрироссийских политических реформ.

В Финляндии мы давно говорили, что ничего не можем поделать с географией. Что мы можем сделать, так это сохранить четкую и последовательную линию Запада в отношениях с нашим восточным соседом и улучшить взаимопонимание между Востоком и Западом

– таким образом в свое время высказывался финский президент по «крымскому вопросу».
  • Использованы фотографии: http://kremlin.ru/
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Monster_Fat Офлайн Monster_Fat
    Monster_Fat (Да Какая Разница) 11 сентября 2020 13:45
    0
    Ни о чем. Финны медленно, постепенно продавливают свою линию в Карелии, осуществляют финнизацию тамошнего населения вполне открыто - кроме "финских" НКО, школ, они протащили и обязательное карело-финское название и обозначение населенных пунктов и всего, что находится в Карелии. Для чего? А заранее готовятся - случись гражданская заварушка в России, тамошнее население даже задумываться не будет, с кем им по пути. А российское правительство может и дальше спать спокойно, не замечать финнизацию Карелии...они же такие "сильные", у них все под контролем, ну и с финами у них "особые отношения".... отношения.... особые... ну-ну. wink
  3. Elen_msk Офлайн Elen_msk
    Elen_msk (Инна Белкина) 16 сентября 2020 01:42
    0
    Как все супердипломатично и деликатно! Ой, да финны, хитрецы))