Kuril question: Abe's successor will have to deal with millions of disgruntled Japanese


At the end of August, Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe unexpectedly announced his upcoming resignation. Health problems were named as the reason: he was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis. It is possible that before peptic ulcer policy brought up the issue of the "northern territories", which he never managed to solve, despite the solemn oath given at his father's grave.


Recall that in Tokyo our Kuril Islands, inherited by the USSR as a result of the Second World War, are considered "northern territories". Japan's carefully cultivated national dream is to return to their "home harbor". But doing so after the recent changes in the Russian Constitution will be even more problematic. Abe's successor will have to deal with millions of angry Japanese people. You can understand what some of them have on their minds by reading the comments on Yahoo News Japan.

There is nothing but war to return the "northern territories" to us. Russia can be defeated by hitting nuclear missiles, if not at its capital, then at least at military bases

- this is the main message of the published opinions.

Other "couch generals" advise to wait until Russia itself collapses under the yoke of sanctions. Still others propose to unite with the United States even more closely to speed up this process. It is clear that all these comments on the Internet have nothing to do with Tokyo's official position. Not all Japanese society is so radically disposed, there are enough such "scribblers" in any country, including ours. Nevertheless, such reports indicate a certain public demand that affects Japanese politics, foreign and domestic. Therefore, I would like to answer in absentia to some citizens of the Land of the Rising Sun.

At first, Russia does not have any “problem of the northern territories”, only Japan has it. We have a group of islands, a legitimate war prize from the militaristic Japan defeated in the Second World War, an official ally of the Third Reich. The issue of sovereignty over the Kuriles cannot be a subject of discussion.

Secondly, in the event of a "strike by nuclear missiles", at least at Moscow, at least at Russian military bases, the island state itself will become a target for a counter-nuclear strike by the RF Ministry of Defense and, most likely, will cease to exist. Why the dead Kuril Islands?

Thirdlyif Japan begins to participate more actively in the regime of sanctions pressure, it will itself close the last road to the desired islands. Let us recall that the Kremlin expressed its readiness to allow Tokyo to jointly participate in the economic development of the Kuril Islands, which are rich in natural resources. An aggressive foreign policy will hardly make such cooperation with the Japanese possible.

But seriously, the issue of the status of Kaliningrad, the Kuriles or Crimea cannot be positively resolved in favor of Germany, Japan or Ukraine, since this will open a Pandora's box and become a prologue to global geopolitical upheavals. The maximum that Tokyo can really count on is a regime of joint economic use of the islands of the Small Ridge with Russia's unconditional political sovereignty over them. This is the only way Moscow can keep its eastern flank.

It will be good for Japan itself if the new Prime Minister pursues a more moderate foreign policy and does not rewrite the country's current "pacifist" Constitution in favor of further militarization of the country. However, the "Russian threat" and "Russian occupiers" are too convenient a topic for domestic political discourse to seriously expect that someone will voluntarily give it up.
  • Author:
  • Used photos: US, Japan combine forces for disaster relief
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Aksel2 Offline Aksel2
    Aksel2 (Alexander Z.) 12 September 2020 10: 54
    +1
    Usually I do not comment on this topic, but here I will still take a chance.

    There will be no "joint economy" in the Kuril Islands for a banal reason. The Japanese will not invest in the economy of a state that they do not consider friendly. Joint farming was Abe's idea and it will go away with him.

    The new prime minister will treat Russia more coolly (to put it mildly) anyway.

    And what about the pacifist constitution, militarization is their sovereign right. Here Japan will only look at one side - the United States of America.

    When recently asked a Japanese Foreign Ministry official if it was necessary to act with an eye on the Chinese and Koreans, he bluntly stated that their opinion was not interested.
    1. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
      Marzhecki (Sergei) 12 September 2020 11: 37
      0
      Quote: Aksel2
      And what about the pacifist constitution, militarization is their sovereign right. Here Japan will only look at one side - the United States of America.
      When recently asked a Japanese Foreign Ministry official if it was necessary to act with an eye on the Chinese and Koreans, he bluntly stated that their opinion was not interested.

      Yes, but then Japan will have to bear the entire burden of responsibility for its sovereign policy.
    2. Marzhecki Offline Marzhecki
      Marzhecki (Sergei) 12 September 2020 11: 43
      +1
      Quote: Aksel2
      There will be no "joint economy" in the Kuril Islands for a banal reason. The Japanese will not invest in the economy of a state that they do not consider friendly. Joint farming was Abe's idea and it will go away with him.

      I wonder how much money Japan has invested in the Chinese economy? Is the PRC a friendly state for it? And against whom Japan is arming together with the United States, do you explain?
      Maybe you should have thought better before speaking on this topic?
      1. Aksel2 Offline Aksel2
        Aksel2 (Alexander Z.) 12 September 2020 12: 50
        +2
        You ignore the context. Japan's main investments in the Chinese economy came in the late seventies and eighties.
        Against the background of a common friendship against the Soviet Union, of course. Markets were opened for China, technology and investment were provided. But no one was going to raise him to such a monster as he is now. They just didn't turn off the tap on time.
        Until the end of the 1992s, Japan and China had a pretty decent relationship. In XNUMX, the Japanese emperor Akihito visited the PRC.
        In return, Japan received the Chinese market until the early 2010s. Although under certain conditions. In contrast to the "joint management" in the Kuril Islands, the benefits are obvious. Nobody will just waste money.
        But everything comes to an end ... Strengthened China began to offer its claims in the neighboring waters. If Malaysia, Vietnam or the poor Philippines had nothing special to oppose to it, the Japanese and Taiwanese went on principle. It should be understood that many coastal areas there feed on the sea. Resources are limited. Either the Chinese fishermen make a profit, or the Japanese. That's the essence of the batch.
        If the Japanese were preparing to fight for the Kuril Islands, they would focus on landing craft. But the newest UDCs are being built by Russia. Well, China too. In Japan, they just started talking about them.
        42 amphibious vehicles and 17 Osprey tiltroplanes that Japan bought overseas are definitely not for the Kuriles, because such forces can only capture a beer stall. But for the Senkaku / Diaoyu Islands, this is just right.
        1. Aksel2 Offline Aksel2
          Aksel2 (Alexander Z.) 12 September 2020 13: 15
          +1
          Besides, you forget another important point. Much of Japan's exports and imports go through the South China Sea, which Beijing claims.
          Southeast Asia has been the target of Chinese expansion for centuries. In Malaysia, a quarter of the population is ethnic Chinese, in Thailand 15%, if I'm not confused. Singapore is almost entirely Chinese. At the same time, the Chinese are traditionally disliked there and perceived as the fifth column. In Indonesia 25 years ago, when the dictator Suharto was overthrown, there were monstrous anti-Chinese pogroms. And, I repeat, almost all Japanese export-import goes by South-East Asia. Here are vital interests.
          The world does not revolve around Russia, everything is much more complicated.
  2. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) 12 September 2020 12: 38
    +2
    Judging by the photos, are the advanced Japanese still running around in metal helmets?
  3. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 12 September 2020 18: 58
    -2
    Kuril question: Abe's successor will have to deal with millions of disgruntled Japanese

    - Millions of disgruntled Japanese ??? - Well, well ... - Yes, there are already one and a half times more Japanese than Russians ... - so this Abe was still lucky with the number of dissatisfied ...
    - And tomorrow there will be twice as many Japanese people as Russians ... - and there will be even more dissatisfied people ...
    - And the day after tomorrow ... - the Japanese will be three times more than the Russians ... and ... and ... and so on ... - so the Japanese have a great chance in twenty or thirty years to get these coveted Russian islands ... - as a gift for patience ...
    - Only now the "tiny question" remains open ... - and who will get the long-awaited Russian territory faster from the hungry ??? - Japanese; Chinese ... - someone else ???
    - Probably, it is already possible to "place bets" ... - And ... most likely ... - already the current generation of Russians will receive an answer to "this" ...
  4. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline Oyo Sarkazmi
    Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 12 September 2020 20: 00
    +1
    ... this is a regime of joint economic use of the islands of the Small Ridge with Russia's unconditional political sovereignty over them. This is the only way Moscow can keep its eastern flank.

    And they squeeze it straight? Are there continuous kamikaze attacks? Do we lose hundreds of people every day in the confrontation with Japan?
    Stop pleasing your inferiority complex. Now the infrastructure of the islands, military and civilian, is being improved. They are building a full-fledged three-kilometer runway, a mooring structure for ships and submarines, and housing for military personnel. We made an optical internet connection.
    And if anyone should be afraid, it is the Japanese. If Russia closes the quotas for thousands of Japanese cooperatives for fishing in the Russian exclusive economic zone, hundreds of thousands of Japanese people will go hungry.
  5. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 13 September 2020 10: 49
    +1
    Disgruntled Japanese, this is Japan's problem. Better to let the Kremlin think that they will have to deal with tens of millions of disgruntled Russians if the Kremlin merges the Kuril Islands, or part of them, and the rating of the guarantor is far from the past.

Курильский вопрос: преемнику Абэ придется иметь дело с миллионами недовольных японцев


В конце августа японский премьер-министр Синдзо Абэ неожиданно объявил о своей грядущей отставке. В качестве основания были названы проблемы со здоровьем: у него обнаружили язвенный колит. Не исключено, что до язвенной болезни политика довел вопрос «северных территорий», решить который он так и не сумел, несмотря на торжественную клятву, данную на могиле отца.


Напомним, в Токио «северными территориями» считают наши Курильские острова, доставшиеся СССР по итогам Второй Мировой войны. Тщательно культивируемой национальной мечтой Японии является их возвращение в «родную гавань». Но сделать это после недавних изменений в российской Конституции будет еще проблематичнее. Преемнику Абэ придется иметь дело с миллионами рассерженных японцев. Что на уме у некоторых из них, можно понять, прочитав комментарии на портале Yahoo News Japan.

«Северные территории» нам ничем, кроме войны, не вернуть. Россию можно победить, если ударить ядерными ракетами, если не по ее столице, то хотя бы по военным базам

– таков основной посыл опубликованных мнений.

Другие «диванные генералы» советуют подождать, пока Россия сама загнется под гнетом санкций. Третьи предлагают еще теснее объединиться с США, чтобы ускорить этот процесс. Понятно, что все эти комментарии на просторах Интернета не имеют никакого отношения к официальной позиции Токио. Отнюдь не все японское общество настроено так радикально, подобных «борзописцев» хватает в любой стране, в том числе и у нас. Тем не менее подобные сообщения свидетельствуют о некоем общественном запросе, который оказывает влияние на японскую политику, внешнюю и внутреннюю. Поэтому хотелось бы заочно ответить некоторым гражданам Страны Восходящего солнца.

Во-первых, у России никакой «проблемы северных территорий» нет, она есть только у Японии. У нас имеется группа островов, законный военный приз от побежденной во Второй Мировой войне милитаристской Японии, официальной союзницы Третьего рейха. Вопрос суверенитета над Курилами не может являться предметом обсуждения.

Во-вторых, в случае «удара ядерными ракетами», хоть по Москве, хоть по российским военным базам, островное государство само станет целью для ответно-встречного ядерного удара Минобороны РФ и, по всей видимости, прекратит свое существование. Зачем мертвым Курилы?

В-третьих, если Япония активнее начнет участвовать в режиме санкционного давления, она сама закроет себе последнюю дорогу на желанные острова. Напомним, что в Кремле изъявляли готовность позволить Токио совместно участвовать в экономическом освоении Курильских островов, богатых природными ресурсами. Агрессивная внешняя политика едва ли сделает возможным такое сотрудничество с японцами.

А если совсем серьезно, то вопрос статуса Калининграда, Курил или Крыма не может иметь положительного разрешения в пользу Германии, Японии или Украины, поскольку это откроет ящик Пандоры и станет прологом к глобальным геополитическим потрясениям. Максимум, на что может реально рассчитывать Токио, это режим совместного экономического использования островов Малой гряды при безусловном политическом суверенитете России над ними. Только так Москва может удержать за собой восточный фланг.

На пользу самой Японии пойдет, если новый премьер-министр будет проводить более умеренную внешнюю политику и не станет переписывать действующую «пацифистскую» Конституцию страны в пользу дальнейшей милитаризации страны. Впрочем, «русская угроза» и «русские оккупанты» - это слишком удобная тема для внутриполитического дискурса, чтобы всерьез ожидать, что от нее кто-то добровольно откажется.
Использованы фотографии: US, Japan combine forces for disaster relief
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

9 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Aksel2 Офлайн
    Aksel2 (Александр З.) 12 сентября 2020 10:54
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Обычно не комментирую эту тему, но но здесь всё же рискну.

    Никакого "совместного хозяйства" на Курилах не будет по банальной причине. Японцы не будут вкладывать деньги в экономику государства, которое не считают дружественным. Совместное хозяйствование было идеей Абэ и оно уйдёт вместе с ним.

    Новый премьер-министр в любом случае будет относиться к России более прохладно (мягко говоря).

    А насчёт пацифисткой конституции, милитаризации - это их суверенное право. Здесь Япония будет оглядываться только на одну сторону - Соединенные Штаты Америки.

    Когда недавно японского чиновника от МИД спросили, не надо ли действовать с оглядкой на китайцев и корейцев, он прямо заявил, что их мнение не интересует.
    1. Маржецкий Офлайн
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 12 сентября 2020 11:37
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Цитата: Aksel2
      А насчёт пацифисткой конституции, милитаризации - это их суверенное право. Здесь Япония будет оглядываться только на одну сторону - Соединенные Штаты Америки.
      Когда недавно японского чиновника от МИД спросили, не надо ли действовать с оглядкой на китайцев и корейцев, он прямо заявил, что их мнение не интересует.

      Да, но тогда Японии придется нести весь груз ответственности за свою суверенную политику.
    2. Маржецкий Офлайн
      Маржецкий (Сергей) 12 сентября 2020 11:43
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      Цитата: Aksel2
      Никакого "совместного хозяйства" на Курилах не будет по банальной причине. Японцы не будут вкладывать деньги в экономику государства, которое не считают дружественным. Совместная хозяйствование было идеей Абэ и оно уйдёт вместе с ним.

      Вот интересно, а сколько денег Япония вложила в экономику Китая? КНР является дружественным для нее государством? А против кого Япония совместно с США вооружается, не поясните?
      Может быть, вам стоило лучше подумать, прежде чем высказываться по этой теме?
      1. Aksel2 Офлайн
        Aksel2 (Александр З.) 12 сентября 2020 12:50
        +2
        • 2
        • 0
        Вы не учитывайте контекст. Основные вложения Японии в китайскую экономику пришлись на конец семидесятых и восьмидесятые годы.
        На фоне общей дружбы против Советского Союза, разумеется. Для Китая открыли рынки, дали технологии и инвестиции. Но никто не собирался растить его таким монстром, каким он стал ныне. Просто вовремя не закрыли кран.
        До конца двухтысячных годов Япония и Китай имели вполне приличные отношения. В 1992 году КНР посетил японский император Акихито.
        Взамен Япония до начала 2010-х получила китайский рынок. Хотя и на определенных условиях. В отличие от "совместного хозяйствования" на Курилах выгода очевидна. Просто так сорить деньгами никто не станет.
        Но всему приходит конец... Усилившийся Китай начал предлагать свои претензии в соседних акваториях. Если Малайзии, Вьетнаму или нищим Филиппинам особо ничего ему было противопоставить, то японцы и тайваньцы пошли на принцип. Надо понимать, что многие прибрежные территории там кормятся за счёт моря. Ресурсы ограничены. Либо китайские рыбаки получат прибыль, либо японские. Вот и суть замеса.
        Если бы японцы готовились воевать за Курилы, они делали бы упор на десантные средства. Но новейшие УДК строит именно Россия. Ну и Китай тоже. В Японии о них только начали говорить.
        42 машины-амфибии и 17 конвертопланов Оспри, что Япония закупила за океаном - это точно не для Курил, ибо такими силами можно разве что пивной ларёк захватить. Но для островов Сенкаку/Дяоюйдао это в самый раз.
        1. Aksel2 Офлайн
          Aksel2 (Александр З.) 12 сентября 2020 13:15
          +1
          • 1
          • 0
          Кроме того, вы забываете еще один важный момент. Значительная часть японского экспорта и импорта идёт через Южно-Китайское море, на которое и претендует Пекин.
          Юго-восточная Азия веками была объектом китайской экспансии. В Малайзии четверть населения - этнические китайцы, в Тайланде 15%, если ничего не путаю. Сингапур практически полностью китайский. При этом китайцев там традиционно не любят и воспринимают, как пятую колонну. В Индонезии 25 лет назад, тогда свергали диктатора Сухарто, были чудовищные антикитайские погромы. А, повторюсь, почти весь японский экспорт-импорт идёт мимо Юго-Восточной Азии. Тут жизненно важные интересы.
          Мир не вращается вокруг России, всё куда сложнее.
  2. 123 Онлайн
    123 (123) 12 сентября 2020 12:38
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Судя по фото, продвинутые японцы до сих пор поголовно бегают в металлических касках?
  3. gorenina91 Онлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 12 сентября 2020 18:58
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    Курильский вопрос: преемнику Абэ придется иметь дело с миллионами недовольных японцев

    - Миллионы недовольных японцев ??? - Ну-ну... - Да японцев уже сегодня в полтора раза по численности больше, чем русских... - так что этому Абэ ещё повезло с количеством недовольных...
    - А уже завтра японцев станет уже в два раза больше, чем русских ... - и недовольных станет ещё больше...
    - А послезавтра ... - японцев станет в три раза больше, чем русских... и...и...и т.д... - так что у японцев есть прекрасный шанс уже через лет двадцать-тридцать получить эти желанные российские острова... - как презент за терпение...
    - Только вот остаётся открытым "малюсенький вопросик"... - а кто быстрее из алчущих получит такую долгожданную российскую территорию ??? - Японцы; китайцы ... - ещё кто-то ???
    - Наверное, уже можно "делать ставки" ... - И ...скорее всего ... - уже нынешнее поколение россиян получит на "это" ответ...
  4. Оё Сарказми Онлайн
    Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 12 сентября 2020 20:00
    +1
    • 3
    • 2
    ...это режим совместного экономического использования островов Малой гряды при безусловном политическом суверенитете России над ними. Только так Москва может удержать за собой восточный фланг.

    А его прям отжимают? Непрерывно идут атаки камикадзе? Мы ежедневно теряем сотни людей в противостоянии с Японией?
    Хватит тешить свой комплекс неполноценности. Сейчас инфраструктура островов, военная и гражданская, налаживается. Строят полноценные трёхкилометровые ВПП, причальная структура для кораблей и подлодок, жильё для военнослужащих. Провели оптический интернет.
    И если кто должен бояться, то это японцы. Если Россия закроет квоты, для тысяч японских кооперативов, на вылов в российской исключительной экономической зоне, сотни тысяч японочеловек охватит голод.
  5. Sapsan136 Офлайн
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 13 сентября 2020 10:49
    +1
    • 3
    • 2
    Недовольные японцы, это проблема Японии. Пусть лучше в Кремле думают о том, что им придется иметь дело с десятками миллионов недовольных русских, если Кремль сольет Курилы, или их часть, а рейтинг гаранта и так сегодня далек от былого.