How NATO ships search for our submarines in the Barents Sea


Russia claims its dominance in the Arctic, and the Northern Fleet stands guard over it. However, NATO does not agree with this formulation of the question. The United States and its allies sent a group of ships to the Barents Sea, which demonstratively began exercises to search for our North Sea submarines.


Yes, today, with the relative weakness of the Russian surface fleet, it is the submarine that is the most important component of our nuclear triad and a striking force capable of effectively destroying enemy sea and ground targets. In the constant pursuit of Russian submarines, the American military, unfortunately, was able to make great progress.

Against Soviet submarines of the first generations, the United States, together with its allies, created the so-called SOSUS (SOund SUrveillance System, sound surveillance system). This is a network of hydrophones deployed at the bottom of the oceans, capable, in combination with satellite reconnaissance, to detect potential enemy submarines. This system cut off the territory of the United States in key areas from the possibility of covert penetration of a submarine at a missile strike distance. The USSR submarine fleet was "isolated" from the Atlantic Ocean.

But any action gives rise to opposition. Soviet engineers were able to create much quieter submarines. De facto, this "zeroed out" the defensive potential of SOSUS: some of the hydrophones are mothballed due to a decrease in their effectiveness, the rest continue to work in automatic mode. Alas, this was not the end of spearfishing, but only moved to a higher technological level.

American scientists were able to create a search method by means of active sonar "illumination". Flexible extended towed antennas (FPBA) emit acoustic waves into the water column, which are reflected from underwater objects, allowing you to find the submarine. In this way, you can "enlighten" very large distances in the oceans. Modern sonar antennas can be launched into the water from ships, submarines, helicopters and aircraft buoys.

A group of NATO ships is currently operating in the Barents Sea. The British frigate Sutherland and the frigate Thor Heyerdahl of the Norwegian Navy are anti-submarine defense ships. The US Navy destroyer Ross provides air defense cover. From the air, Russian submarines of the Russian Northern Fleet are looking for four anti-submarine helicopters and a Danish Challenger patrol plane. The American low-noise submarine Seawolf is hiding somewhere nearby. The presence of the British tanker Tidesprin indicates that NATO ships are there for a long time.

All this is a very serious signal to the Kremlin. Unfortunately, in terms of search technology for submarines, the United States is still ahead of us. As, however, and in the number of surface and submarine fleets. With these exercises, the Pentagon shows the Russian Ministry of Defense that it is well aware of the current state of affairs. Having found our North Sea submarine in the Barents Sea, the Americans will demonstratively point the Seawulf at it and proudly report about it. Apparently, this is the main purpose of the exercises.

Unpleasant? Yes, but this does not mean that you have to fold your hands and quietly move away. It is necessary to more actively develop its own navy, invest sufficient funds in modern technologies to search for enemy submarines and increase the "quietness" of its own. The arms race will never end. And these NATO exercises can be used to practice oncoming maneuvers to separate our submarines from tracking and detect potential enemy nuclear submarines.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. marciz Offline
    marciz (Stas) 13 September 2020 10: 41
    -4
    • 0
    • 4
    When 4 nuclear power plants are blown up, they will float themselves (they will be convinced). A retaliatory strike will turn the Earth into a lifeless asteroid. And for the nuclear power plant they will simply say "They exploded" and it seems that there will be no one to blame, so do not strongly hope for a retaliatory strike and other nonsense in the need for submarines of the Northern Fleet, if an indistinct foreign policy.
  2. Nick Offline
    Nick (Nikolai) 13 September 2020 11: 35
    +5
    • 6
    • 1
    I wonder where the author got the data on the lag of our submarine search systems from the American ones? The performance characteristics of our systems are classified information. And the ascent of our Omsk submarine missile carrier on August 28 during the Ocean Shield 2020 exercise buries the hope of the Americans and their henchmen that the US territory is inaccessible for the weapons of our submarine forces.
    1. The comment was deleted.
  3. Sergey A_2 Offline
    Sergey A_2 (Siberian Yuzhanin) 13 September 2020 13: 03
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Not looking there. What should they do on their shores?

Как корабли НАТО ищут наши подлодки в Баренцевом море


Россия заявляет о своем доминировании в Арктике, а Северный флот стоит на ее страже. Однако в НАТО не согласны с такой постановкой вопроса. США и их союзники отправили в Баренцево море группу кораблей, которые демонстративно приступили к учениям по поиску субмарин наших североморцев.


Да, сегодня при относительной слабости надводного флота РФ именно подводный является важнейшей компонентой нашей ядерной триады и ударной силой, способной эффективно уничтожать морские и наземные цели противника. В постоянной погоне за русскими подлодками американские военные, к сожалению, смогли достичь большого прогресса.

Против советских субмарин первых поколений США совместно с союзниками создали так называемую SOSUS (SOund SUrveillance System, звуковая система наблюдения). Это развернутая на дне Мирового океана сеть гидрофонов, способная в сочетании со спутниковой разведкой обнаруживать подлодки потенциального противника. Эта система отрезала территорию США по ключевым направлениям от возможности скрытного проникновения субмарины на дистанцию ракетного удара. Подводный флот СССР был «изолирован» от Атлантического океана.

Но любое действие рождает противодействие. Советские инженеры смогли создать гораздо более «тихие» субмарины. Де-факто это «обнулило» оборонительный потенциал SOSUS: часть гидрофонов законсервирована из-за снижения эффективности их действия, остальные продолжают работать в автоматическом режиме. Увы, на этом подводная охота не закончилась, а лишь перешла на более высокий технологический уровень.

Американские ученые смогли создать метод поиска путем активного гидроакустического «подсвета». Гибкие протяженные буксируемые антенны (ГПБА) излучают в толщу воды акустические волны, которые отражаются от подводных объектов, позволяя найти субмарину. Таким способом можно «просветить» очень большие дистанции в Мировом океане. Современные гидроакустические антенны можно спускать в воду как с кораблей, так и с подводных лодок, вертолетов и при помощи авиационных буев.

Сейчас в Баренцевом море действует группа кораблей НАТО. Британский фрегат «Сазерленд» и фрегат «Тур Хейердал» ВМС Норвегии – это корабли противолодочной обороны. Эсминец «Росс» ВМС США осуществляет их прикрытие ПВО. С воздуха российские субмарины Северного флота РФ ищут четыре противолодочных вертолета и датский патрульный самолет «Челленджер». Где-то неподалеку прячется американская атомная малошумная подлодка «Сивулф». Наличие в составе британского танкера «Тайдсприн» свидетельствует о том, что корабли НАТО там надолго.

Все это очень серьезный сигнал Кремлю. К сожалению, по технологиям поиска подводных лодок США нас пока опережают. Как, впрочем, и по количеству надводного и подводного флота. Настоящими учениями Пентагон показывает Минобороны РФ, что прекрасно осведомлен о текущем положении дел. Обнаружив в Баренцевом море субмарину наших североморцев, американцы демонстративно наведут на нее «Сивулф» и гордо об этом отчитаются. Судя по всему, это и есть основная цель учений.

Неприятно? Да, но это не значит, что надо сложить руки и тихонечко отойти. Необходимо активнее развивать свой военно-морской флот, инвестировать достаточные средства в современные технологии поиска вражеских подлодок и повышения «малошумности» своих. Гонке вооружений конца не видать. А эти учения НАТО можно использовать для отработки встречных маневров по отрыву наших субмарин от слежения и обнаружению АПЛ потенциального противника.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. marciz Офлайн
    marciz (Стас) 13 сентября 2020 10:41
    -4
    • 0
    • 4
    Когда 4 АЭС взорвут, сами всплывут (их убедят). Ответный удар вообще Землю превратит в безжизненный астероид. А за АЭС скажут просто "Они взорвались" и вроде и обвинить будет некого, так что сильно не надейтесь на ответный удар и прочую галиматью в необходимости субмарин Северного флота если и невнятной внешней политики.
  2. Nick Офлайн
    Nick (Николай) 13 сентября 2020 11:35
    +5
    • 6
    • 1
    Интересно, где автор взял данные об отставании наших систем поиска подлодок от американских? ТТХ наших систем есть закрытая информация. А всплытие 28 августа нашего подводного ракетоносца "Омск" у берегов США во время проведения учений "Океанский Щит 2020", хоронит надежду американцев и их приспешников на недосягаемость территории США для оружия наших подводных сил.
    1. Комментарий был удален.
  3. Сергей А_2 Офлайн
    Сергей А_2 (Сибирский Южанин ) 13 сентября 2020 13:03
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Не там ищут. Что им у своих берегов делать?
  4. Борис Радевич_2 (Борис Радевич) 24 сентября 2020 11:57
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Слава Российскому флоту и ее Президенту в века !