New barrier: Starship prototype to overcome 18 kilometers


It seems that Elon Musk's Starship project has finally gotten out of a string of accidents, and the construction of the "Martian" ship is gaining momentum. After the prototypes SN5 and SN6 completed two successful jumps of 150 meters within a month, the head of SpaseX announced the flight of his brainchild at 60 thousand feet.


In his Twitter, Elon Musk said that the next tests, like the previous ones, will take place at a cosmodrome near the town of Boca Chica (Texas). However, this time the company will build a prototype with flaps and nose cone, allowing the launch of the vehicle to high altitudes.

It is worth noting that the full-size prototype, which will be named SN8, does not go on a long-distance flight immediately. Like its predecessors, this version will have to go through all stages of testing, including static burn of the power plant.

After the completion of the aforementioned tests, a prototype of a promising rocket will be launched to an altitude of just over 18 km, followed by a controlled landing. At the same time, the company admits that this mission may not be crowned with success. However, SpaceX's strategy is to learn from failure and keep moving forward based on the experience gained.

Recall that the Starship project implies the creation of a reusable spacecraft designed for manned flights into deep space, including missions to explore the Moon and Mars.
  • Photos Used: SpaceX
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 14 September 2020 20: 05
    -2
    These are the people. We cannot build a calm, well-fed life on Earth. We are fighting everything, killing us, starving us by sea, introducing sanctions against each other, banning the Russian language, and giving all the other planets. I believe that we need space for safety. And who has nothing to do with money, let them master other planets and get out.

    The bottom of the ocean, like the island of Monte Cristo,
    like a star in space, there is wealth for the people
    three hundred years is enough
    maybe forever.
  2. Cyril Offline Cyril
    Cyril (Kirill) 15 September 2020 15: 07
    -1
    Hurry up already. And after this jump - orbital flight. Given the complexity and ambitiousness of the project, they are moving very quickly. good timing.

Новый барьер: прототип Starship преодолеет 18-километровую высоту


Похоже, что проект Илона Маска Starship, наконец, выбрался из череды аварий, и строительство «марсианского» корабля набирает обороты. После того как прототипы SN5 и SN6 в течение месяца осуществили два успешных прыжка на 150 метров, глава SpaseX анонсировал полет своего детища на 60 тыс. футов.


В своем Twitter Илон Маск сообщил, что следующие испытания, как и предыдущие, состоятся на космодроме близ местечка Бока-Чика (Техас). Однако на этот раз компания построит прототип с закрылками и носовым обтекателем, позволяющими осуществлять запуск аппарата на большие высоты.

Стоит отметить, что полноразмерный прототип, который получит название SN8, отправиться в дальний полет не сразу. Подобно своим предшественникам, данная версия должна будет пройти через все этапы тестирования, включая статический прожиг силовой установки.

После окончания вышеупомянутых испытаний, прототип перспективной ракеты будет запущен на высоту чуть более 18 км с последующей управляемой посадкой. При этом в компании допускают, что данная миссия может не увенчаться успехом. Однако стратегия SpaceX и заключается в том, чтобы извлекать уроки из неудач и продолжать двигаться вперед, основываясь на полученном опыте.

Напомним, что проект Starship подразумевает создание многоразового космического корабля, предназначенного для пилотируемых полетов в дальний космос, включая миссии по освоению Луны и Марса.
Использованы фотографии: SpaceX
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. сталевар Офлайн
    сталевар 14 сентября 2020 20:05
    -2
    • 0
    • 2
    Вот люди какие. На Земле не можем построить спокойную, сытую жизнь. Всё воюем, убиваем, голодом морем, санкции друг против друга вводим, язык русский запрещают,а всё другие планеты подавай. Я считаю, что нам космос нужен для безопасности. А кому деньги девать не куда, пусть осваивают другие планеты и убираются.

    Дно океана, как остров Монте-Кристо,
    как в космосе звезда,там богатства для народа
    хватит лет на триста,
    а может навсегда.
  2. Cyril Офлайн
    Cyril (Кирилл) 15 сентября 2020 15:07
    -1
    • 0
    • 1
    Поскорее бы уже. А следом за этим прыжком - орбитальный полет. Учитывая сложность и амбициозность проекта - двигаются очень быстро. хорошие сроки.