FP: France and the United States are destabilizing Africa, paving the way for Russia and China


Africa has long been the most turbulent continent and the arena of confrontation between major world powers. France's unilateralism and the hesitation of the United States are destabilizing the Sahel, a region south of the Sahara, and paving the way for Russia and China. Foreign Policy magazine writes about this.


The French military contingent of 5100 in the Sahel is dispersed across Mali, Chad, Niger, Burkina Faso and Mauritania. France has also deployed 1000 troops to Côte d'Ivoire to help combat Islamic extremism. In addition, strong support from Paris for authoritarian leaders in the region, such as President Idriss Deby of Chad, sows seeds of discontent that fuel extremism in the region and destabilize an already turbulent environment.

Weak US efforts to normalize the Sahel undermine the ability of the international community to combat extremism in West Africa. Despite strong objections from French Defense Secretary Florence Parley, United States Defense Minister Mark Esper on January 27 strongly hinted at a reduction in US counterterrorism forces in the Sahel region.

U.S. officials are also skeptical of the UN peacekeeping mission in Mali, although it partially held back political violence in the central regions of the country. This disdain for African issues has put the Trump administration on a course of conflict with France, while greater cooperation is needed to achieve results.

By destabilizing Africa, Paris and Washington are opening the way for Moscow and Beijing, but this does not solve local problems. Russia’s positive approach to arms contracts to West Africa strengthens France’s efforts to turn autocracy into an antidote to extremism. The agreements on military cooperation between Russia and Burkina Faso, Chad, Niger and Mali do not take into account the human rights situation in these countries - for example, the Kremlin supported the President of Guinea, Alpha Conde, despite the latter's repression against peaceful demonstrators.

The agreement on military cooperation between Russia and Mali in June 2019 could provide for the training of Malian militants who participated in the coup on August 18 (however, there is evidence of US support for the conspirators in Mali). As for Beijing, despite its desire to extend the Belt and Road Initiative to the Sahel, China has only expressed ambiguous rhetorical solidarity with the counter-terrorism goals of the G-5 bloc.
  • Photos used: https://pikist.com
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 14 September 2020 16: 12
    +1
    Marxist China is closer to Africans than capitalist France. Russia rests on the former authority of the USSR.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 14 September 2020 21: 31
    -2
    Yes, it seems that no one cares there, they open / do not open.
    They always cut each other, just throw up more and cheaper weapons ... yes, give loans ... to PMCs to presidents ...
  3. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 15 September 2020 18: 29
    0
    Why do people in France remember their colonial history so badly? And in the USA - neo-colonial?

FP: Франция и США дестабилизируют Африку, открывая путь для России и Китая


Африка уже долгое время остается самым неспокойным континентом и ареной противостояния крупных мировых держав. Односторонний подход Франции и колебания Соединенных Штатов дестабилизируют Сахель – регион к югу от Сахары, и открывают путь сюда для России и Китая. Об этом пишет журнал Foreign Policy.


Французский воинский контингент численностью 5100 человек в Сахеле рассредоточен по Мали, Чаду, Нигеру, Буркина-Фасо и Мавритании. Франция также разместила 1000 военнослужащих в Кот-д'Ивуаре для помощи в борьбе с исламским экстремизмом. Кроме того, решительная поддержка со стороны Парижа авторитарных лидеров в регионе, таких как президент Чада Идрисс Деби, сеет семена недовольства, которые разжигают экстремизм в регионе и дестабилизирует и без того неспокойную обстановку.

Слабые попытки США нормализовать ситуацию в Сахеле снижают способности международного сообщества бороться с экстремизмом в Западной Африке. Несмотря на решительные возражения министра обороны Франции Флоренс Парли, глава военного ведомства Соединенных Штатов Марк Эспер 27 января решительно намекнул на сокращение сил США по борьбе с терроризмом в регионе Сахеля.

Официальные лица США также скептически относятся к миротворческой миссии ООН в Мали, хотя она частично сдерживала политическое насилие в центральных регионах страны. Такое пренебрежительное отношение к африканским проблемам поставило администрацию Дональда Трампа на курс конфликта с Францией, в то время как для достижения результатов необходимо активизировать сотрудничество.

Дестабилизируя Африку, Париж и Вашингтон открывают сюда путь Москве и Пекину, но местных проблем это не решает. Позитивный подход РФ к контрактам на поставки оружия в Западную Африку укрепляет усилия Франции по превращению автократии в противоядие от экстремизма. В соглашениях о военном сотрудничестве России с Буркина-Фасо, Чадом, Нигером и Мали не учитывается ситуация с правами человека в этих странах – так, Кремль поддержал президента Гвинеи Альфа Конде, несмотря на репрессии последнего против мирных демонстрантов.

Соглашение о военном сотрудничестве России с Мали в июне 2019 года могло предусматривать обучение малийских боевиков, участвовавших в перевороте 18 августа (впрочем, есть данные о поддержке заговорщиков в Мали со стороны США). Что касается Пекина, несмотря на его желание распространить инициативу «Один пояс – один путь» на Сахель, Китай лишь высказал двусмысленную риторическую солидарность с контртеррористическими целями блока G-5.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pikist.com
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 14 сентября 2020 16:12
    +1
    Марксистский Китай ближе африканцам, чем капиталистическая Франция. Россия держится на бывшем авторитете СССР.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 14 сентября 2020 21:31
    -2
    Да вроде там всем плевать, открывают/не открывают.
    Режут друг - друга всегда ,только оружие подкидывай побольше и подешевле.... да кредиты давай... на ЧВК президентам....
  3. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 15 сентября 2020 18:29
    0
    Почему во Франции так плохо помнят свою колониальную историю? А в США - неоколониальную?