S-300 versus S-400: Greeks asked Russia to improve anti-aircraft systems


Athens wants to come to an agreement with Moscow on the modernization of the Russian S-300PMU-1 air defense systems in service with the Greek Armed Forces. The Greeks want to place the improved air defense systems, brought to the S-300PMU-2 version, on the island of Crete, writes the Turkish online edition Haber7, referring to the Greek portal DefenseNet.


By its actions, Greece is trying to squeeze Turkey within the Antalya Gulf, preventing Ankara from expanding its influence beyond the narrow coastal strip. Therefore, the Greeks are now actively knocking on Russian doors and asking for help. They want to improve their air defense systems in order to bring them even a little closer to the S-400 Triumph air defense systems (range up to 400 km), which Ankara recently acquired from Moscow, but has not yet put on alert.

The Greeks are not going to buy something new from the Russians. They are engaged in a dialogue only about the modernization of "existing weapons" in order to increase the range of the existing air defense systems from 150 to 200 km. If Athens does not buy anything, but only "renews the old," then it is not formally subject to the US Countering America's Adversaries Through Sanctions Act (CAATSA).

Note that Greece now has two S-300PMU-1 battalions and 96 48N6E1 missiles for them. S-300PMU-1 (according to NATO classification - SA-10D Grumble) is an export version of the S-300PM, which was adopted in 1993. In 1996, Cyprus signed an agreement on the purchase of two divisions (together with KP-RLO), which Turkey did not like very much. In addition, the United States and Great Britain actively intervened in the process. As a result, the S-300PMU-1 were moved to the Greek island of Crete, on the outskirts of the country.

As for the S-300PMU-2 Favorit (according to NATO classification - SA-20b Gargoyle), this is an export version of the S-300PM2, which was put into service in 1997 as an update to the previous version. A new rocket 48N6E2 was developed for it.
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. sgrabik Offline sgrabik
    sgrabik (Sergei) 15 September 2020 15: 56
    +1
    It is necessary to link the issue of modernizing the Greek S-300PMU1 with the issue of maintaining the provision of entry for our warships to the ports of the Greek part of Cyprus. If the Greeks do not follow the lead of the US State Department and leave such an opportunity for our ships, then in this case it is possible to conclude contracts for the modernization of the Greek air defense systems, but if not, then let them fight the Turks with what they now have at their disposal.
    1. Binder Offline Binder
      Binder (Miron) 15 September 2020 16: 59
      +1
      The Republic of Cyprus is an independent state and is not subject to the Greek government in Athens, so nothing can be "tied". And the Turks were already blown away after the French demonstrated their determination to support Greece - the Turkish research vessel left the disputed area. Just a few French aircraft near the zone of potential conflict were enough. Erdogan's nerves turned out to be rather weak. wassat
      1. The comment was deleted.
  2. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 15 September 2020 16: 14
    +1
    Let Greece provide the Russian Federation with a naval base on its territory, under the jurisdiction of the Russian Federation, then we can talk about military cooperation, and without this, the more NATO soldiers kill each other, the calmer the Russian Federation will be!
    1. Natan bruk Offline Natan bruk
      Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 16 September 2020 04: 27
      -1
      But what about "military cooperation" with Turkey without military bases under the jurisdiction of the Russian Federation on its territory? If this is possible with Turkey, then it is just as possible with Greece.
      1. Sapsan136 Offline Sapsan136
        Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 16 September 2020 08: 12
        +1
        So after all, our colleagues wrote here that in this way they are pulling Turkey out of NATO and making it an ally of the Russian Federation. Well, they pulled it out, did it ?! Not?! Well, then it's time to tie up with such inappropriate behavior.
        1. Natan bruk Offline Natan bruk
          Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 16 September 2020 21: 27
          0
          Well, in this place, you can agree.
  3. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF 15 September 2020 16: 26
    0
    Greece changed its mind to buy the F-35 ???

    ... then they are not formally covered by the US Countering America's Adversaries Through Sanctions Act (CAATSA) ...

    heh heh, they are the sharper in the game by his rules, they decided to cheat ???
  4. Kristallovich Offline Kristallovich
    Kristallovich (Ruslan) 15 September 2020 17: 02
    +5
    It was 2020: NATO countries were purchasing and modernizing Russian weapons to confront each other ...
  5. Siberian southerner (Sergey A) 16 September 2020 07: 32
    0
    It's great that they are doing well there in NATA with partnership and mutual assistance to each other laughing It is necessary for the Greeks to adjust our rocket, let them cooperate, while we will adjust and improve the settings.
  6. Siberian southerner (Sergey A) 16 September 2020 07: 34
    0
    And Ukraine is urgently accepted in kind! Then they finally can have fun.

С-300 против С-400: греки попросили Россию улучшить зенитные комплексы


Афины хотят договориться с Москвой о модернизации стоящих на вооружении ВС Греции российских систем ПВО С-300ПМУ-1. Улучшенные ЗРК, доведенные до версии С-300ПМУ-2, греки хотят разместить на острове Крит, пишет турецкое интернет-издание Haber7, ссылаясь на греческий портал DefenceNet.


Своими действиями Греция пытается зажать Турцию в пределах залива Анталья, не дав Анкаре возможность распространить свое влияние дальше узкой прибрежной полосы. Поэтому греки сейчас активно стучат в российские двери и просят о помощи. Они хотят усовершенствовать свои ЗРК, чтобы хоть немного приблизить их по характеристикам к ЗРК С-400 «Триумф» (дальность до 400 км), которые Анкара недавно приобрела у Москвы, но еще не поставила на боевое дежурство.

Греки не собираются приобретать что-то новое у россиян. Они ведут диалог лишь о модернизации «имеющихся вооружений», чтобы увеличить дальность действия существующих ЗРК со 150 до 200 км. Если Афины ничего не покупают, а лишь «обновляют старое», то они формально не подпадают под действие закона США «О противодействии противникам Америки посредством санкций» (CAATSA).

Заметим, что сейчас у Греции имеется два дивизиона С-300ПМУ-1 и 96 ракет 48Н6Е1 к ним. С-300ПМУ-1 (по классификации НАТО – SA-10D Grumble) – экспортный вариант С-300ПМ, который был принят на вооружение в 1993 году. В 1996 году Кипр подписал соглашение о покупке двух дивизионов (вместе с КП-РЛО), что очень не понравилось Турции. Кроме того, в процесс активно вмешались США и Великобритания. В результате С-300ПМУ-1 были перемещены на греческий остров Крит, на отшиб страны.

Что касается С-300ПМУ-2 «Фаворит» (по классификации НАТО – SA-20b Gargoyle), то это экспортный вариант С-300ПМ2, принятый на вооружение в 1997 году, как обновление предыдущей версии. Для него была разработана новая ракета 48Н6Е2.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

10 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. sgrabik Офлайн
    sgrabik (Сергей) 15 сентября 2020 15:56
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Нужно увязать вопрос о модернизации греческих С-300ПМУ1 с вопросом о сохранении предоставления захода наших военных кораблей в порты греческой части Кипра. Если греки не пойдут на поводу у Госдепа США и оставят такую возможность для наших кораблей, то в этом случае можно заключить контракты на модернизацию греческих ЗРК, ну а если нет, то пусть воюют с турками тем, что у них сейчас имеется в распоряжении.
    1. Биндюжник Офлайн
      Биндюжник (Мирон) 15 сентября 2020 16:59
      +1
      • 2
      • 1
      Республика Кипр является независимым государством и не подчиняется греческому правительству в Афинах, так что ничего "увязать" не получится. А турки уже сдулись после демонстрации французами решимости поддержать Грецию - турецкое исследовательское судно покинуло спорный район. Всего-то хватило нескольких французских самолетов вблизи зоны потенциального конфликта. Нервишки у Эрдогана слабоваты оказались. wassat
      1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Sapsan136 Офлайн
    Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 15 сентября 2020 16:14
    +1
    • 2
    • 1
    Пусть Греция предоставит РФ военно-морскую базу на своей территории,под юрисдикцию РФ,тогда можно поговорить о военном сотрудничестве,а без этого,чем больше НАТОвских солдат поубивают друг друга,тем спокойнее будет РФ !
    1. Natan Bruk Офлайн
      Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 16 сентября 2020 04:27
      -1
      • 1
      • 2
      А как же происходит «военное сотрудничество» с Турцией без военных баз под юрисдикцией РФ на её территории?Если это возможно с Турцией,то точно так же возможно с Грецией.
      1. Sapsan136 Офлайн
        Sapsan136 (Sapsan136) 16 сентября 2020 08:12
        +1
        • 1
        • 0
        Так ведь наши коллеги тут писали,что они таким образом Турцию из НАТО вытаскивают и делают ее союзником РФ. Ну что,вытащили,сделали?! Нет?! Ну тогда пора завязывать с подобным не адекватным поведением.
        1. Natan Bruk Офлайн
          Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 16 сентября 2020 21:27
          0
          • 0
          • 0
          Ну вот в этом месте можно согласиться.
  3. GRF Офлайн
    GRF 15 сентября 2020 16:26
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Греция передумала F-35 покупать???

    ...то они формально не подпадают под действие закона США «О противодействии противникам Америки посредством санкций» (CAATSA)...

    хе хе, это они шулера в игре по его правилам, решили надуть???
  4. Кристаллович (Руслан) 15 сентября 2020 17:02
    +5
    • 5
    • 0
    Шёл 2020 год: страны НАТО закупают и модернизируют российское оружие для противостояния друг с другом...
  5. Сибирский Южанин (Сергей А) 16 сентября 2020 07:32
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Здорово у них там в НАТЕ обстоят дела с партнерством и взаимно помощи друг другу laughing Надо настроить грекам ракету нашу, пусть партнерствуют, а мы настройки пока отрегулируем и усовершенствуем.
  6. Сибирский Южанин (Сергей А) 16 сентября 2020 07:34
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    И на Украину срочно принять в нату! Тогда у них ваще веселуха начнётся.