Who and why put Belarus on the "debt needle"


In 2015, President Lukashenko promised that Belarus would pay off all its foreign debts over the next five years and would never ask for financial assistance again. The following year, Western sanctions were lifted from the "last dictator of Europe", and just five years later Belarus found itself head over heels in debt and on the brink of financial collapse. How did it happen?


Formally, things are not so bad in Minsk: the ratio of the state debt to the country's GDP is 34,9%. For comparison, in Russia it is 14,9%, in neighboring Nezalezhnaya - 79,2%. True, there are also much less optimistic assessments than the Belarusian Ministry of Finance. For example, the IMF and the World Bank believe that the real figure for the ratio of debt to GDP in Belarus is 40%. The figure itself is serious, but many countries are doing fine with much larger public debt. However, in the case of Belarus, things are much worse, since the question rests on the ability to provide its service. A closer look gives the impression that Minsk was deliberately "hooked" on a debt needle.

On the one hand, President Lukashenko really tried to carry out the notorious multi-vector policiesby diversifying the sources of obtaining loans. In 2016, having lifted most of the sanctions on the Belarusian ruling elite, the West opened Minsk access to its debt market. Over the next several years, he conducted three issues of Eurobonds, worth $ 800, 600 and 600 million each. Also in 2019, Belarus placed bonds for 10 billion rubles on the Moscow Exchange, and then decided to ask Moscow for a loan of $ 600 million, but in return the Kremlin reminded her of the need to hurry up with integration within the Union State, from which Minsk proudly avoided money. not received.

Then Beijing came to the rescue, providing a loan of $ 500 million. In April 2020, the Belarusian Ministry of Finance again placed bonds at the Moscow Exchange in the amount of 10 billion rubles, and also borrowed $ 1,25 billion on European markets. Note that the main purchasers of these securities were American investors. After the start of the pandemic, Minsk applied for a loan from the IMF, but was unexpectedly refused due to disagreement with President Lukashenko's methods to combat coronavirus. As a result, instead of the promised payment of all external debts, Belarus only collected them. In itself, this would not be so critical if the country could guaranteed to pay for them, but, alas, this is not so.

On the other handBelarus is critically dependent on the export of a very narrow range of goods. The basis of its foreign exchange earnings is the sale abroad of potash fertilizers, as well as oil and oil products, for which Minsk is reliably tied to Moscow. This has more than once led to trade wars between the two allied countries. In the course of the latter, supplies of "black gold" from Russia fell sharply, as a result of which foreign exchange earnings also fell. Finished off the Belarusian the economy pandemic coronavirus. Mass protests in the republic after the recent presidential elections are largely a direct consequence of the worsening socio-economic situation. The Ministry of Finance of Belarus predicts that the budget deficit could range from 2,1 billion rubles to 5 billion, which is very serious for a small country. Taken together, this means that Minsk is unable to service its external debts.

As a result, we are faced with a typical debt pyramid, when it is necessary to constantly take out new loans in order to pay off the old ones. The six-week "oil war" between Russia and Saudi Arabia and COVID-19 were able to undermine this unreliable structure. The country is confidently heading towards default, which was only brought nearer by the irresponsible calls of the Belarusian opposition to organize a general strike. The $ 1,5 billion loan promised by President Putin could delay a financial collapse that foreign investors will no doubt take advantage of. This once again raises the question of how really sovereign Belarus is and the need for its close economic integration with Russia.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed oshЫbku Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information

Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

  1. 123 Online
    123 (123) 16 September 2020 12: 18
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Did you get it right? Lukashenko was simply trying to maintain the appearance of a successful economic policy. While they were talking about "Country for Life", what a fine fellow he is, the economy is working, housing is being built, the trade unions are working and so on. He stupidly collected debts. If I am not mistaken, this year they should pay 3,9 billion of Belarus' GDP about 60 billion.
    The reason is simple. The economy of Belarus, despite the apparent prosperity, is not viable. The capacity of the domestic market is not large and can exist only with an export orientation. There she will have to compete with transnational "monsters" and she will lose because there simply will not be enough money to upgrade technologies and develop production, and they stupidly will not let anyone into their market. In addition, the familiar "market has resolved" has not been working for a long time. We can watch Chinese Tik-Tok buy right now.
    Except for the defense industry and the export of fertilizers to India and China, there are basically two potential sales markets, the EU and Russia.
    In the EU, no one needs them, there is practically a "crisis of overproduction", everything is under quotas. They are rather interested in Belarus as a sales market for their products.
    As for Russia, import substitution is gaining momentum and there are fewer places for imports. Many Belarusian enterprises are direct competitors to Russian ones. And given the multi-vector nature, no one wants to depend on imports from Belarus, especially in critical areas (the same chassis from the MZKT),
    The Ukrainian experience was not in vain.
    Which exit?
    Dear Belarusians, stop running around, break the "partition" and live in one country. I do not see any other applicable options for the country.
  2. Olegek Offline
    Olegek (Oleg) 17 September 2020 09: 34
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    This once again raises the question of how really sovereign Belarus is and the need for its close economic integration with Russia.

    Do we need her debts ??
    What for?
    Better to let them float freely - let them enjoy non-staleness.
  3. Olegek Offline
    Olegek (Oleg) 17 September 2020 09: 38
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Then Beijing came to the rescue, providing a loan of $ 500 million. In April 2020

    Why shouldn't the economic giant China take and solve all the financial problems of Minsk?
    What is the problem, I don't understand?
  4. Dmitry S. Offline
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 17 September 2020 16: 48
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Two questions:
    First: China, Russia?
    Second: who was against it?
    You have to pay; but either on their own or together with Russia.
  5. Dmitry S. Offline
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 17 September 2020 16: 52
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Already sick of who owes whom and how much in nothing, except for the "seeds of democracy" secured currency.

Кто и зачем подсадил Белоруссию на «долговую иглу»


В 2015 году президент Лукашенко пообещал, что Белоруссия за ближайшую пятилетку расплатится со всеми внешними долгами и более никогда не будет просить о финансовой помощи. В следующем году с «последнего диктатора Европы» были сняты западные санкции, и всего через пять лет Беларусь оказалась по уши в долгах и на грани финансового коллапса. Как же так получилось?


Формально у Минска дела обстоят не так уж и плохо: соотношение госдолга к ВВП страны составляет 34,9%. Для сравнения, у России это 14,9%, у соседней Незалежной – 79,2%. Правда, есть и гораздо менее оптимистичные оценки, чем у белорусского Минфина. Например, МВФ и Всемирный банк считают, что реальная цифра отношения долга к ВВП Беларуси составляет 40%. Цифра сама по себе серьезная, но многие страны прекрасно живут и с намного большим размером госдолга. Однако в случае с Белоруссией все гораздо хуже, поскольку вопрос упирается в возможность обеспечивать его обслуживание. При внимательном рассмотрении создается впечатление, что Минск вполне целенаправленно был «подсажен» на долговую иглу.

С одной стороны, президент Лукашенко действительно пытался проводить пресловутую многовекторную политику, диверсифицируя источники получения кредитов. В 2016 году, сняв большую часть санкций с белорусской правящей элиты, Запад открыл Минску доступ к своему долговому рынку. За следующие несколько лет тот провел три выпуска еврооблигаций на сумму в 800, 600 и 600 миллионов долларов каждый. Также в 2019 году Беларусь разместила на Московской бирже облигации на 10 миллиардов рублей, а после решила попросить у Москвы кредит в 600 миллионов долларов, но взамен в Кремле ей напомнили о необходимости поторопиться с интеграцией в рамках Союзного государства, от чего Минск гордо уклонился и денег не получил.

Тогда «на помощь» пришел Пекин, предоставивший кредит в 500 миллионов долларов. В апреле 2020-го белорусский Минфин вновь разместил на Мосбирже облигаций на сумму в 10 миллиардов рублей, а также занял на европейских площадках сумму в 1,25 миллиарда долларов. Отметим, что основными приобретателями этих ценных бумаг стали американские инвесторы. После начала пандемии Минск обратился за кредитом в МВФ, но неожиданно получил отказ из-за несогласия с методами президента Лукашенко по борьбе с коронавирусом. В итоге вместо обещанной выплаты всех внешних долгов Беларусь их только набрала. Само по себе это не было бы так критично, если бы страна могла их гарантированно оплачивать, но, увы, это не так.

С другой стороны, Беларусь критически зависит от экспорта очень узкой номенклатуры товаров. Основой ее валютной выручки является продажа за рубеж калийных удобрений, а также нефти и нефтепродуктов, по которым Минск надежно привязан к Москве. Это не раз уже приводило к торговым войнам между двумя союзными странами. В ходе последней поставки «черного золота» из России резко сократились, в результате чего упали и валютные доходы. Добила белорусскую экономику пандемия коронавируса. Массовые протесты в республике после недавних президентских выборов во многом являются прямым следствием ухудшения социально-экономического положения. Минфин Беларуси прогнозирует, что дефицит бюджета может составить от 2,1 миллиарда рублей до 5 миллиардов, что очень серьезно для небольшой страны. В совокупности это означает, что Минск не имеет возможности обслуживать свои внешние долги.

В итоге перед нами типичная долговая пирамида, когда необходимо постоянно брать новые кредиты, чтобы загасить прежние. Подкосить эту ненадежную конструкцию смогли шестинедельная «нефтяная война» между Россией и Саудовской Аравией и COVID-19. Страна уверенно идет к дефолту, который только приближали безответственные призывы белорусской оппозиции организовать всеобщую стачку. Кредит в 1,5 миллиарда долларов, обещанный президентом Путиным, может отсрочить финансовый крах, которым, несомненно, воспользуются иностранные инвесторы. Это в очередной раз ставит вопрос о том, насколько реально суверенна Беларусь, и о необходимости ее тесной экономической интеграции с Россией.
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. 123 Онлайн 123
    123 (123) 16 сентября 2020 12:18
    +2
    Прямо так и подсадили? Лукашенко просто старался поддерживать видимость успешной экономической политики. Пока вокруг рассказывали про "Страну для жизни", какой он молодец, экономика работает, жилье строится, профсоюзы работают и так далее. Он тупо набирал долги. Если не ошибаюсь в этом году они должны выплатить 3,9 млрд. ВВП Белоруссии около 60 млрд.
    Причина проста. Экономика Белоруссии, при кажущемся благополучии, не жизнеспособна. Емкость внутреннего рынка не велика и существовать может только при ориентации на экспорт. Там ей придется конкурировать с транснациональными "монстрами" и она будет проигрывать потому что банально не хватит денег на обновление технологий и развитие производства и на свой рынок они тупо ни кого не пустят. К тому же всем знакомое "рыночек порешал" давно не работает. Можем прямо сейчас наблюдать как Тик-Ток китайский покупают.
    Если не считать "оборонку" ну и экспорт удобрений в Индию и Китай, в основном потенциальных рынков сбыта два, ЕС и Россия.
    В ЕС они ни кому не нужны, там практически "кризис перепроизводства", все по квотам. Им Белоруссия скорее интересна как рынок сбыта для своей продукции.
    Что касается России, имортозамещение набирает обороты и места для импорта там все меньше. Многие Белорусские предприятия прямые конкуренты российским. А с учетом многовекторности, никто зависеть от импорта из Белоруссии не хочет, тем более в критических областях (те же шасси от МЗКТ),
    Украинский опыт не прошел даром.
    Какой выход?
    Дорогие белорусы, кончайте уже выеживаться, ломайте "перегородку" и живите в одной стране. Других применимых вариантов для страны я не вижу.
  2. Olegek Офлайн Olegek
    Olegek (Олег) 17 сентября 2020 09:34
    0
    Это в очередной раз ставит вопрос о том, насколько реально суверенна Беларусь, и о необходимости ее тесной экономической интеграции с Россией.

    А нужны ли нам её долги??
    Зачем?
    Лучше пустить в свободное плавание - пусть наслаждаются нэзалежностью.
  3. Olegek Офлайн Olegek
    Olegek (Олег) 17 сентября 2020 09:38
    0
    Тогда «на помощь» пришел Пекин, предоставивший кредит в 500 миллионов долларов. В апреле 2020-го

    А почему-бы экономическому гиганту Китаю не взять и не порешать все финансовые проблемы Минска?
    В чём проблема, не понимаю?
  4. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 17 сентября 2020 16:48
    0
    Два вопроса:
    Первый: Китай, Россия?
    Второй: а кто был против?
    Платить надо; но либо самим, либо вместе с Россией.
  5. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 17 сентября 2020 16:52
    0
    Тошнит уже от того, кто кому и сколько должен в ничем, кроме "семЯнАми демократии" обеспеченной валюте.