In the USA, they told when they plan to abandon the RD-180


Julie Arnold, a spokesperson for the United Launch Alliance, spoke about the possible timing of the American company's refusal to operate the RD-180 engines. In her opinion, the need for Russian power plants may “disappear” already in the mid-20s. The agency reported about it yesterday RIA News with reference to the statement of the functionary.


First of all, Arnold connects the abandonment of the RD-180 with the terms of decommissioning the Atlas-5 missiles, where the Russian unit is used in the first stage. At the same time, she admits that the announced period may be adjusted depending on the degree of demand for media.

Recall that the two-component (kerosene / oxygen) liquid-propellant rocket engine RD-90, developed in the mid-180s, has been installed by the Americans on Atlas missiles since 1997. Until this summer, the United States tried unsuccessfully to create its own analogue of the Russian power plant.

In July 2020, Blue Origin provided United Launch Alliance with the first BE-4 rocket engine (pictured) to replace the RD-180. The unit produces a thrust of 2447 kN and runs on methane / liquid oxygen fuel pair.

As for the Atlas-5 missiles, they should be replaced by the Vulcan heavy carrier, which the United Launch Alliance has been developing since 2014.
  • Photos used: https://twitter.com/ulalaunch/
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. cmonman Offline cmonman
    cmonman (Garik Mokin) 1 October 2020 15: 22
    -2
    Until this summer, the United States tried unsuccessfully to create its own analogue of the Russian power plant.

    The editors, well, why lie like that! In the USA they are trying to create (and have created!) NOT an analogue of the “Russian power plant”, but a completely new engine - another_fuel / another_principle!
    Respect yourself and us, readers - in the days of the Internet we see and read info in real time! Although I'm wrong: there is not a word about the fact that an air leak on the ISS was found on the Russian module ...
    1. isofat Offline isofat
      isofat (isofat) 1 October 2020 15: 53
      +1
      Julie Arnold, spokesman for the United Launch Alliance, spoke about the possible timing of the American company's refusal to operate the RD-180 engines.

      cmonman, United Launch Alliance only promises to abandon the use of Russian engines, so far they cannot even specify the exact dates. That's when they refuse then and you will praise your engines.

      PS... Does it seem to me or not that the United States has a new goal - to catch up and overtake Ukraine? smile

В США рассказали, когда планируют отказаться от РД-180


Представитель пресс-службы United Launch Alliance Джули Арнольд рассказала о возможных сроках отказа американской компании от эксплуатации двигателей РД-180. По ее мнению, потребность в российских силовых установках может «отпасть» уже в середине 20-х годов. Об этом накануне сообщило агентство РИА Новости со ссылкой на заявление функционера.


В первую очередь, Арнольд связывает отказ от РД-180 со сроками вывода из эксплуатации ракет Atlas-5, где российский агрегат используется в первой ступени. При этом она допускает, что озвученный срок может быть скорректирован в зависимости от степени востребованности носителей.

Напомним, что разработанный в середине 90-х годов двухкомпонентный (керосин/кислород) жидкостный ракетный двигатель РД-180 устанавливается американцами на ракеты семейства Atlas, начиная с 1997 года. До лета текущего года в США безуспешно пытались создать собственный аналог российской силовой установки.

В июле 2020-го компания Blue Origin предоставила United Launch Alliance первый ракетный двигатель BE-4 (на фото), который должен заменить РД-180. Агрегат выдает тягу 2447 кН и работает на топливной паре метан/жидкий кислород.

Что касается ракет Atlas-5, им на смену должен прийти тяжелый носитель Vulcan, разработку которого United Launch Alliance ведет с 2014 года.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://twitter.com/ulalaunch/
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. cmonman Офлайн cmonman
    cmonman (Гарик Мокин) 1 октября 2020 15:22
    -2
    До лета текущего года в США безуспешно пытались создать собственный аналог российской силовой установки.

    Редакция, ну зачем же так врать! В США пытаются создать (и создали!) НЕ Аналог “российской силовой установки”, а совершенно новый двигатель - другое_топливо/другой_принцип!
    Уважайте себя и нас, читателей - во времена интернета видим и читаем инфо в реальном времени! Хотя я не прав: о том, что утечка воздуха на МКС обнаружена на российском модуле - ни слова...
    1. isofat Онлайн isofat
      isofat (isofat) 1 октября 2020 15:53
      +1
      Представитель пресс-службы United Launch Alliance Джули Арнольд рассказала о возможных сроках отказа американской компании от эксплуатации двигателей РД-180.

      cmonman, United Launch Alliance только обещает отказаться от использования российских двигателей, пока же даже сроки точно указать не могут. Вот когда откажутся тогда и будете нахваливать свои двигатели.

      PS. Мне кажется или нет, что у США новая цель - догнать и перегнать Украину? smile