Conflict in the Eastern Mediterranean: Erdogan still has several trump cards


The eastern Mediterranean has recently become a region of militarypolitical conflicts, one of which was the dispute between Greece and Turkey for control over economic zones. But the United States, as the leader of NATO, was unable to solve the existing problems - many of them Washington prefers to ignore or ignore. From November of this year, the United States will be running the presidential elections, losing sight of the Eastern Mediterranean. In this situation, Turkey is filling the power vacuum in the region. Writes about this edition of the Middle East Eye.


Ankara is determined to expand its sphere of influence in the eastern Mediterranean and North Africa. To do this, Erdogan can use three trump cards: the important strategic position of his country in the south of the Alliance, American military bases and the ability to pass crowds of refugees from the Middle East through Turkey to Europe.

Turkey is NATO's extreme southeast border. With Ankara's hypothetical withdrawal from this military bloc, southern Europe remains unprotected from potential threats from Africa and the Middle East. On the other hand, Turkey can build up its military potential and use it in achieving its geopolitical goals, under the guise of caring for its partners in the North Atlantic bloc.

In Turkey (in the southern province of Adana) there is a large Incirlik airbase, which is actively used by NATO. The Turkish president earlier announced the possibility of closing this facility, as well as the Kurecik radar station. By blackmailing, Ankara is trying to warn Washington against imposing sanctions against Turkey for the acquisition of Russian S-400 air defense systems. The deprivation of these bases by NATO will complicate the position of the bloc in the region, weakening its forces in the confrontation with Russia, Iran and a number of Arab states.

Finally, Turkey could reopen the way for Middle Eastern migrants to Europe. This can be especially painful for France, whose leader has recently been more than critical of Turkey - this is expressed in Paris' support for the LNA troops and Greece's assistance in the military-economic confrontation between Athens and Ankara, which has escalated in recent weeks and months.
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 16 September 2020 14: 26
    +1
    The Turks may interest the EU by the fact that they will take care of refugees from Libya, as did Gaddafi. But first, they must defeat Haftar and Egypt. The Turks will not leave NATO, but they will not puff too much for them. And with the Greeks, they will come to terms with time.
    1. Bitter Offline Bitter
      Bitter (Gleb) 20 September 2020 15: 10
      +1
      take care of refugees from Libya

      It is exactly how they do it that worries the Europeans. This will be another platform from which the Turks will be able to put pressure on the EU with flows of refugees and milk resources from it without bothering too much with border protection.

      The Turks will not leave NATO, but they will not puff too much for them.

      Let NATO puff for themselves and pay dues, and they shouldn't worry about the rest. There are enough volunteers ..

      And with the Greeks, they will come to terms with time.

      I don’t think that the Greeks are forgetful like today's Yeltsin's and yesterday's hunchbacks, so they are unlikely.

Конфликт в Восточном Средиземноморье: у Эрдогана еще осталось несколько козырей


Восточная часть Средиземного моря в последнее время становится регионом военно-политических конфликтов, одним из которых стал спор Греции и Турции за контроль над экономическими зонами. Но США как лидер НАТО не смогли решить существующих проблем – многие из них Вашингтон предпочитает замалчивать или игнорировать. С ноября же этого года Соединенные Штаты будут заниматься президентскими выборами, потеряв из вида Восточное Средиземноморье. В такой ситуации вакуум силы в регионе заполняет Турция. Об этом пишет издание Middle East Eye.


Анкара полна решимости расширить сферу своего влияния в восточной части Средиземного моря и в Северной Африке. Для этого Эрдоган может воспользоваться тремя козырями: важное стратегическое положение его страны на юге Альянса, американские военные базы и возможность пропустить толпы беженцев из Ближнего Востока через Турцию на территорию Европы.

Турция – крайний рубеж НАТО на юго-восточно направлении. При гипотетическом выходе Анкары из этого военного блока юг Европы остается незащищенным от потенциальных угроз со стороны Африки и Ближнего Востока. С другой стороны, Турция может нарастить свой военный потенциал и использовать его в достижении своих геополитических целей, прикрываясь заботой о партнерах по Североатлантическому блоку.

На территории Турции (в южной провинции Адана) расположена крупная авиабаза «Инджирлик», которая активно используется НАТО. Турецкий президент ранее заявлял о возможности закрытия этого объекта, а также радиолокационной станции «Кюреджик». Шантажируя, Анкара пытается предостеречь Вашингтон от введения санкций против Турции за приобретение российских ЗРК С-400. Лишение НАТО этих баз осложнит позиции блока в регионе, ослабив его силы в противостоянии с Россией, Ираном и рядом арабских государств.

Наконец, Турция может вновь открыть путь для ближневосточных мигрантов в Европу. Особенно болезненным это может быть для Франции, лидер которой в последнее время настроен более чем критически в отношении Турции – это выражается в поддержке Парижем войск ЛНА и содействии Греции в военно-экономическом противостоянии Афин и Анкары, обострившемся в последние недели и месяцы.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Буланов Офлайн
    Буланов (Владимир) 16 сентября 2020 14:26
    +1
    • 3
    • 2
    Турки могут заинтересовать ЕС тем, что они возьмут на себя заботы о беженцах из Ливии, как это делал Каддафи. Но для начала они должны победить Хафтара и Египет. Из НАТО турки не выйдут, но и пыхтеть за них особо не будут. А с греками они договорятся со временем.
    1. Bitter Офлайн
      Bitter (Глеб) 20 сентября 2020 15:10
      +1
      • 1
      • 0
      возьмут на себя заботы о беженцах из Ливии

      Именно то, как они этим занимаются и беспокоит европейцев. Это будет ещё одна площадка откуда турки смогут давить на ЕС потоками беженцев и доить с него ресурсы не особо заморачиваясь охраной границ.

      Из НАТО турки не выйдут, но и пыхтеть за них особо не будут.

      Пусть в рамках НАТО за себя пыхтят и взносы платят, а за остальное им не стоит беспокоиться. Добровольцев хватает..

      А с греками они договорятся со временем.

      Не думаю что греки забывчивы как сегодняшние ельцинята и вчерашние горбачата, так что наврядли.