Lavrov: the United States recognized Crimea as Russian back in 2014


Six years ago, Washington was aware that Crimean residents expressed a desire to return to the fold of the Russian Federation. This was stated by Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov in an interview with RTVI.


The Russian Foreign Minister spoke about the meeting in 2014 in Geneva with US Secretary of State John Kerry, High Representative for Foreign Affairs and policy European Union security Catherine Ashton, as well as Acting Head of the Ukrainian Foreign Ministry Andriy Deshchitsa

The document we wrote reads the approval of the United States, Russia and the EU of Ukraine's commitment to decentralization with the participation of all regions of the country - this was after the referendum in Crimea. Americans, Europeans, and even more so Ukrainians no longer remembered this paper.

- said Sergey Lavrov.

The Russian minister also talked about Kerry's advice to hold another referendum in Crimea "to maintain decency", announcing it in advance and inviting observers from other countries - they say, the previous one was held too quickly and did not fit into the standards of such initiatives. In general, the United States understands the desire of the Crimeans to be part of Russia.

Then, at this meeting, Kerry told me that everyone understands that Crimea is Russian, that the people of Crimea wanted to return, but we held a referendum so quickly. If the Americans accept the will of the people of Crimea, why put on a show?

- the head of the Russian Foreign Ministry was surprised.

6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 18 September 2020 16: 13
    0
    Yeah, 6 years have passed, and now he tells everyone that both the USA and the EU approved ... Only there are no documents, they forgot to sign ...
    And before that, I was silent for 6 years ...
    1. margo Offline margo
      margo (margo) 18 September 2020 16: 37
      -6
      For money, he won't tell you that yet. I especially liked the expression -

      return to the fold of the Russian Federation

      - it's good that it's not somewhere else.
    2. Larisa Larisa Offline Larisa Larisa
      Larisa Larisa (Larisa Larisa) 19 September 2020 20: 21
      0
      Diplomacy is a dirty business.
  2. rotkiv04 Offline rotkiv04
    rotkiv04 (Victor) 18 September 2020 17: 24
    -2
    Haven't you said Che before? These figures have already gotten sick with their asses wagging, all these 6 years he has expressed more concern of varying degrees
  3. The comment was deleted.
  4. shinobi Offline shinobi
    shinobi (Yuri) 19 September 2020 04: 11
    +3
    The personal opinion of a politician may, and most often, not coincide with the political line of the state. To the commentators above: Lavrov spoke about the agreements on the eve of the Crimean events. Moreover, the Dark Grosmaster warned (the Maidan began) that if the Yankees did not fulfill the terms of the agreement, Russia would take Crimea These are gentlemen, you have a girl's memory. The Yankees, as usual, did not give a damn about their obligations. They took the Crimea. They are now indignant that Russia has fulfilled exactly what it promised. Earlier, in the 90s, there were no further threats. But here you are. After all, most importantly, they will still survive the loss of Crimea (all of Ukraine is theirs), the image of tough guys has suffered. It's much worse.
  5. Larisa Larisa Offline Larisa Larisa
    Larisa Larisa (Larisa Larisa) 19 September 2020 20: 19
    0
    Where did the sanctions come from then ?!

Лавров: США признали Крым российским еще в 2014 году


Еще шесть лет назад Вашингтон был в курсе того, что жители Крыма выразили желание вернуться в лоно Российской Федерации. Об этом заявил российский министр иностранных дел Сергей Лавров в интервью RTVI.


Глава МИД РФ рассказал о встрече в 2014 году в Женеве с государственным секретарем США Джоном Керри, верховным представителем по иностранным делам и политике безопасности Евросоюза Кэтрин Эштон, а также исполняющим обязанности руководителя украинского внешнеполитического ведомства Андреем Дещицей.

Написанный нами документ гласил одобрение США, Россией и ЕС обязательства Украины по децентрализации с участием всех областей страны – это было уже после проведения референдума в Крыму. Об этой бумаге американцы, европейцы и тем более украинцы больше не вспоминали

– отметил Сергей Лавров.

Российский министр также рассказал о совете Керри устроить в Крыму еще один референдум «для соблюдения приличий», объявив о нем заранее и пригласив наблюдателей из других стран – мол, прежний был проведен слишком быстро и не вписался в стандарты такого рода инициатив. А вообще, в США понимают желание крымчан быть в составе России.

Тогда, на этой встрече, Керри мне сказал, что все понимают, что Крым российский, что народ Крыма хотел вернуться, но мы так быстро провели референдум. Если американцы принимают волеизъявление народа Крыма, зачем устраивать спектакль?

– удивился руководитель российского МИДа.

6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 18 сентября 2020 16:13
    0
    Ага, 6 лет прошло, и теперь он всем рассказывает, что и ЮСА и ЕС одобряли... Только документика вот нет, забыли подписать...
    А до этого 6 лет молчал...
    1. margo Офлайн margo
      margo (margo) 18 сентября 2020 16:37
      -6
      За деньги он ещё не такое расскажет. Мне особенно понравилось выражение -

      вернуться в лоно Российской Федерации

      - хорошо, что не в другое место.
    2. Лариса Лариса (Лариса Лариса) 19 сентября 2020 20:21
      0
      Дипломатия- дело грязное.
  2. rotkiv04 Офлайн rotkiv04
    rotkiv04 (Виктор) 18 сентября 2020 17:24
    -2
    А че раньше не говорил? Эти деятели уже задолбали со своим виляньем задницами, все эти 6 лет он больше озабоченности разной степени выражал
  3. Комментарий был удален.
  4. синоби Офлайн синоби
    синоби (Юрий) 19 сентября 2020 04:11
    +3
    Личное мнение политика может,и чаще всего,не совпадать с политической линией государства.Коментаторам выше:Лавров о договорённостях говорил,накануне крымских событий.Мало того,Тёмный Гросмастер предупреждал (начинался майдан),что если янки не будут выполнять условия договора Россия заберёт Крым.Это господа,у вас память девичья.Янки,как обычно,наплевали на свои обязательсва.Крым забрали.Они теперь возмущаются,что Россия выполнила ровно то что обещала.Раньше,в 90е,дальше угроз не шло.А тут на тебе.И ведь что самое главное,потерю Крыма они ещё переживут (вся украина ихняя),имидж крутых парней пострадал.Это куда как страшней.
  5. Лариса Лариса (Лариса Лариса) 19 сентября 2020 20:19
    0
    Откуда же тогда санкции?!