MW: Egypt has never ordered a MiG-35 from Russia, but it may soon do so


After the overthrow of the pro-Western Islamist government and the coming to power of the military, the Republic of Egypt entered into a number of major arms contracts with Russia. Cairo has not yet ordered the latest multi-functional MiG-35 fighters, as many believe, but it may soon do so, writes the American Military Watch.


In January 2017, flight tests of the MiG-35 began, and a month later, the Egyptian Ministry of Defense placed an order for the purchase of about 50 units of Russian 4 ++ generation fighters. But the MiG-35 had not yet been adopted by the Russian Aerospace Forces, not to mention export, so the Egyptians bought 46 MiG-29Ms of the previous generation, which today remain the most combat-ready aircraft in the Egyptian Air Force.

The MiG-29M is significantly cheaper than the MiG-35. They have good performance and excellent value for money. Each combat vehicle cost the Egyptians $ 43 million, including personnel training, infrastructure, maintenance, spare parts, and a wide range of advanced ammunition. Since then, Egypt has its first modern air-to-air missiles.

But the MiG-35 is a much more advanced aircraft in all respects. It has more powerful engines, a variable thrust vector, the latest electronic warfare system and radar with an active phased array. Technological the superiority of the MiG-35 over the MiG-29M is very significant, while the latest fighters can use the infrastructure created for the previous generation, the same applies to ground personnel and weapons. This significantly reduces costs and makes the MiG-35 more attractive.

Currently, 85% of the Egyptian Air Force is represented by outdated French Mirage 2000 and Mirage 5, Chinese J-7 and Soviet MiG-21, as well as American F-16, which have not undergone modernization and rearmament for a long time due to US sanctions. Therefore, there is a high probability that in the next 10 years Egypt will definitely acquire the MiG-35, despite the recent order of more than 20 pieces of heavy multipurpose super-maneuverable Su-35 fighters from Russia.

It remains to be seen which country will be the first buyer of the MiG-35. Egypt, India, Iran, Azerbaijan, Malaysia and a number of other states are showing interest in it. But Cairo is potentially capable of placing a large order and even starting licensed production.
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. The comment was deleted.
  2. Alexzn Offline Alexzn
    Alexzn (Alexander) 20 September 2020 16: 35
    0
    After the overthrow of the pro-Western Islamist government

    Look how it turns out! Mursi was pro-Western, while As-Sisi was apparently ... What is there not to recognize.
    We can say that Morsi came to power (like Hamas in Gaza) thanks to Obama's idiocy, but the Muslim brothers have never been pro-Western.
    1. Michael I Offline Michael I
      Michael I (Michael I) 23 September 2020 08: 05
      0
      Someone clearly does not understand the balance of power on the BV.

MW: Египет никогда не заказывал МиГ-35 в России, но, возможно, скоро сделает это


После свержения прозападного правительства исламистов и прихода к власти военных, Республика Египет заключила ряд крупных оружейных контрактов с Россией. Каир еще не заказывал новейшие многофункциональные истребители МиГ-35, как полагают многие, но, возможно, скоро сделает это, пишет американское издание Military Watch.


В январе 2017 года начались летные испытания МиГ-35, а через месяц Минобороны Египта разместило заказ на приобретение примерно 50 штук российских истребителей поколения «4++». Но МиГ-35 тогда еще не был принят на вооружение ВКС РФ, не говоря про экспорт, поэтому египтяне купили 46 штук МиГ-29М предыдущего поколения, которые на сегодняшний день остаются самыми боеспособными самолетами в ВВС Египта.

МиГ-29М значительно дешевле, чем МиГ-35. Они имеют хорошие характеристики и прекрасное соотношение цены и качества. Каждая боевая машина обошлась египтянам в $43 млн, включая обучение персонала, создание инфраструктуры, техобслуживание, запчасти, широкий спектр передовых боеприпасов. После этого у Египта впервые появились современные ракеты класса «воздух-воздух».

Но МиГ-35 гораздо более продвинутый во всех отношениях самолет. У него более мощные двигатели, изменяемый вектор тяги, новейшая система РЭБ и РЛС с активной фазированной решеткой. Технологическое превосходство МиГ-35 над МиГ-29М очень значительное, при этом новейшие истребители могут использовать инфраструктуру, созданную для предыдущего поколения, то же самое касается наземного персонала и вооружения. Это значительно удешевляет расходы и делает Миг-35 более привлекательным.

В настоящее время 85% ВВС Египта представлены устаревшими французскими Mirage 2000 и Mirage 5, китайскими J-7 и советскими МиГ-21, а также американскими F-16, которые длительное время не проходили модернизацию и перевооружение из-за санкций США. Поэтому есть высокая вероятность, что в ближайшие 10 лет Египет точно обзаведется МиГ-35, несмотря на недавний заказ более 20 штук тяжелых многоцелевых сверхманевренных истребителей Су-35 у России.

Еще неизвестно, какая страна станет первым покупателем МиГ-35. Египет, Индия, Иран, Азербайджан, Малайзия и ряд других государств проявляют к нему интерес. Но Каир потенциально способен сделать крупный заказ и даже начать лицензионное производство.
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. AlexZN Офлайн AlexZN
    AlexZN (Александр) 20 сентября 2020 16:35
    0
    После свержения прозападного правительства исламистов

    Вон оно как оказывается! Мурси был прозападным, а Ас-Сиси видимо ... Чего только здесь не узнаешь.
    Можно говорить о том, что Мурси пришел к власти (как и хамас в Газе) благодаря идиотизму Обамы, но братья мусульмане никогда не были прозападными.
    1. Михаил Я Офлайн Михаил Я
      Михаил Я (Михаил Я) 23 сентября 2020 08:05
      0
      Кто-то явно не понимает в раскладе сил на БВ.