By supporting the protests in Belarus, the Balts have driven themselves into an "energy trap"


The Baltic countries, which did not recognize Alexander Lukashenko as the legitimate president and severed all relations with Belarus, have driven themselves into an energy trap. By their refusal to purchase electricity from 2021, which is generated by the BelNPP, Lithuania, Estonia and Latvia have actually “clogged” themselves inside themselves in the hope of “overflows” from Poland and Sweden. After all, energy bridges from Russia have not functioned since 2018.


This situation will definitely have a negative impact on the economy of the aforementioned Baltic states. After all, Estonia depends on external electricity suppliers by 25%, Latvia - by 60%, Lithuania - by as much as 80%. Thus, having abandoned Belarusian and Russian electricity, Lithuania becomes completely dependent on Sweden, Estonia will purchase Russian electricity with a mark-up from Finland, and Latvia will have to be content with supplies from Sweden with a Lithuanian mark-up, or again buy Russian electricity, but already with double extra charge from Finland and Estonia.

However, some problems await also Belarus, which risks being left with a "sea" of electricity, which has nowhere to sell. For Minsk's economy, this can be a rather painful blow, especially considering that under the terms of the loan provided by Russia for the construction of the BelNPP, Belarus undertakes to return $ 1 billion annually.

However, unlike the Balts, the RB has options in this case. First, in the framework of recent negotiations between Alexander Lukashenko and Vladimir Putin, the Russian president promised his “brotherly people” full support, focusing separately on the BelNPP.

Secondly, in Belarus, since the times of the USSR, ferrous metallurgy has been well developed, whose steel-arc furnaces require a huge amount of electricity. Thus, surplus electricity can be used to support and develop domestic production.

And, finally, thirdly, the most promising direction. Considering the EU's "ecological doctrine", which implies a transition to hydrogen, the production of which requires a colossal amount of free and preferably inexpensive electricity, Belarus has a unique opportunity to become one of its suppliers. At the same time, Russian methane could well become a raw material for the production of an energy carrier.

Consequently, thanks to the “short-sighted” actions of the Balts, the Russian-Belarusian tandem will not only not suffer, but can also receive significant economic benefits by occupying a niche in one of the most promising markets.

3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 25 September 2020 12: 09
    0
    The West, as always, is intriguing, through the satellites of the Baltic states, disrupting the market for the BelNPP. We need other solutions for energy, here and metallurgy, especially with aluminum, up to the production of aluminum and so on ... Life will tell you that the economic war is going on in full, you need to understand how the ongoing world war by other means; propaganda, economic, The war ends when one of the parties wins, therefore, in order to win, it is necessary to attack and win ...
  2. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 25 September 2020 13: 05
    0
    the Russian president promised the "brotherly people" full support

    This is where Putin is doing the right thing. The fans will just get upset. Then Lukashenka will not leave for a long time!
  3. Glenni Offline Glenni
    Glenni (Andrei) 25 September 2020 17: 37
    0
    Don't dig another hole ...

Поддержав протесты в Белоруссии, прибалты загнали себя в «энергетическую ловушку»


Страны Балтии, не признавшие Александра Лукашенко законным президентом и разорвавшие все отношения с Белоруссией, сами загнали себя в энергетическую ловушку. Своим отказом закупать с 2021 года электроэнергию, которую вырабатывает БелАЭС, Литва, Эстония и Латвия фактически «закупорились» внутри самих себя в надежде на «перетоки» из Польши и Швеции. Ведь энергомосты из России не функционируют с 2018 года.


Подобная ситуация однозначно окажет негативное влияние на экономику вышеупомянутых прибалтийских государств. Ведь Эстония зависит от внешних поставщиков электроэнергии на 25%, Латвия – на 60%, Литва – на целых 80%. Таким образом, отказавшись от белорусского и российского электричества, Литва попадает в полную зависимость от Швеции, Эстония будет закупать российскую электроэнергию с наценкой у Финляндии, а Латвии и вовсе придется довольствоваться поставками из Швеции с литовской наценкой, либо опять же покупать российскую электроэнергию, но уже с двойной наценкой от Финляндии и Эстонии.

Впрочем, некоторые проблемы ждут и Белоруссию, рискующую остаться с «морем» электроэнергии, которую некуда сбывать. Для экономики Минска это может стать довольно болезненным ударом, особенно учитывая то, что по условиям предоставленного Россией на строительство БелАЭС кредита, Беларусь обязуется ежегодно возвращать по 1 млрд долларов.

Однако, в отличие от прибалтов, у РБ в данном случае есть варианты. Во-первых, в рамках недавних переговоров между Александром Лукашенко и Владимиром Путиным, российский президент пообещал «братскому народу» полную поддержку, отдельно заострив внимание именно на БелАЭС.

Во-вторых, в Белоруссии, еще со времен СССР, хорошо развита черная металлургия, дуговые сталеплавильные печи которой требуют огромного количества электроэнергии. Таким образом, излишки электроэнергии могут быть направлены на поддержку и развитие внутреннего производства.

И, наконец, в-третьих – самое перспективное направление. Учитывая «экологическую доктрину» ЕС, предполагающую переход на водород, для производства которого требуется колоссальное количество свободной и желательно недорогой электроэнергии, Беларусь имеет уникальную возможность стать одним из его поставщиков. При этом сырьем же для производства энергоносителя вполне мог бы стать российский метан.

Следовательно, благодаря «недальновидным» действиям прибалтов, российско-белорусский тандем не только не пострадает, но и может получить существенную экономическую выгоду, заняв нишу на одном из самых перспективных рынков.

3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 25 сентября 2020 12:09
    0
    Запад , как всегда строит козни, посредством сателлитов прибалтов срывает рынок для БелАЭС. Нужны другие решения для энергетики, тут и металлургия , особенно с алюминиевыми, вплоть до производства алюминия и тд... Жизнь подскажет , вот то, что экономическая война идёт по полной, нужно понимать , как идущую мировую войну другими средствами; пропагандную, экономическую, Война заканчивается, когда побеждает одна из сторон, потому, чтоб победить, необходимо наступать и побеждать...
  2. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 25 сентября 2020 13:05
    0
    российский президент пообещал «братскому народу» полную поддержку

    А вот здесь Путин поступает правильно. Фанаты вот только расстроятся. Тогда Лукашенко ещё долго не уйдёт!
  3. Glenni Офлайн Glenni
    Glenni (Андрей) 25 сентября 2020 17:37
    0
    Не рой другому яму .....