"In the conflict with Russia we risk losing everything": Norwegian media on the escalation in the North


In the Far North, the situation is rapidly heating up between Norway and NATO on the one hand, and Russia on the other, writes Berit Aalborg on the Vart Land website. And official Oslo, trying with all his might to maintain allied contacts with Washington, at the same time spoils relations with Moscow. Although the rates are raising both sides.


In particular, with reference to the Barents Observer newspaper, it is argued that the number of Russian fighters in international airspace, seen near the Norwegian region of Finnmark, already by September this year exceeded the same figure for the whole of 2019.

Another example of this escalation is the NATO Allied Flotilla in the North, which included warships from the United States, Britain, Norway and Denmark. The squadron on September 10 entered directly into the Russian zone of responsibility in the Barents Sea. For the first time in 20 years, such exercises are being held in the immediate vicinity of the strategically important Kola Peninsula, where Russia's Northern Fleet and its nuclear arsenal are located.

What we are seeing is an escalation on both sides, which could lead to a conflict of such a level that Norway risks losing everything in it. As a small country, it is not interested in such a confrontation between the great powers on our territory or on the border. This could lead to the fact that the Norwegian land becomes a war zone, as has happened previously in many small countries.

- noted in the text.

For many decades, Norway has spent a lot of energy maintaining in the High North policy security in two parts. On the one hand, the kingdom was preoccupied with being a good ally for the United States, and on the other, being a good neighbor of Russia. However, the second part of this concept has lost its relevance for a number of reasons.

The weakening of its own armed forces led Oslo to the need to invite the Americans, which immediately worsened relations with its eastern neighbor.

Yes, the author notes, we must not lose sight of the issues of human rights in the Russian Federation, the fate of Crimea, etc. However, we must not forget that the Scandinavian kingdom has a common border with Russia. Therefore, it is in Norwegian interests to maintain dialogue and cooperation with the largest neighboring country.

The publication also points out that the Norwegians must spend significantly more money on defense in order to become less dependent on the United States and take on most of the presence in their own North.

This is the best way to maintain normal relations with both Moscow and Washington, since Oslo depends on each of the great powers.
  • Photos used: Armed Forces of Norway
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 22 September 2020 17: 28
    +3
    An acquaintance of mine suggested delivering mines from the Great Patriotic War to the NATO exercise zone - if anything, then there are no guilty ones ...
    1. Sergey Tokarev Offline Sergey Tokarev
      Sergey Tokarev (Sergey Tokarev) 22 September 2020 17: 54
      +1
      there are already enough mines. and not only min. Many transports with ammunition and toxic substances drowned around the NATO countries ... all that remained was to provoke a reaction.
  2. kriten Offline kriten
    kriten (Vladimir) 22 September 2020 18: 54
    +2
    Indeed, the hell with Norway is when it is necessary to solve the world's big problems.
    1. Akuzenka Offline Akuzenka
      Akuzenka (Alexander) 24 September 2020 15: 57
      +2
      They did not want to feed their army, now they are feeding someone else's. While on the sparing option.
  3. antibi0tikk Offline antibi0tikk
    antibi0tikk (Sergei) 22 September 2020 18: 59
    +5
    Gentlemen, no need to crush a loaf for norgs again. They, unlike many Europeans, are quite normal and adequate. It is clear that if something happens, we will cut it into small stumps and spitsbergen, but it is better to live in peace with normal neighbors. On the other side, the Americans are muddying the waters for a long time, without them there would be no escalation.
  4. tanyurg56 Offline tanyurg56
    tanyurg56 (Yuri Gorbunov) 24 September 2020 20: 26
    0
    Sorinka in the eye seems to be a trifle, but unpleasant! Why is Cuba bad for us?
    Again, warm. It is not shameful to learn good things even from the enemy.

«В конфликте с Россией рискуем потерять все»: СМИ Норвегии об эскалации на Севере


На Крайнем Севере стремительно накаляется обстановка между Норвегией и НАТО с одной стороны, и Россией – с другой, пишет Берит Аалборг (Berit Aalborg) на сайте Vart Land. А официальный Осло, всеми силами стараясь поддерживать союзнические контакты с Вашингтоном, в то же время портит отношения с Москвой. Хотя ставки повышают обе стороны.


В частности, со ссылкой на газету Barents Observer, утверждается, что количество российских истребителей в международном воздушном пространстве, замеченных возле норвежской области Финнмарк, уже к сентябрю сего года превысило аналогичный показатель за весь 2019 год.

Другой пример этой эскалации – флотилия союзников по НАТО на Севере, в составе которой действовали боевые корабли из США, Великобритании, Норвегии и Дании. Эскадра 10 сентября вошла прямо в российскую зону ответственности в Баренцевом море. Подобные учения впервые за 20 лет проводятся в непосредственной близости от стратегически важного Кольского полуострова, где расположен Северный флот России и её ядерный арсенал.

То, что мы наблюдаем, это эскалация с обеих сторон, которая может привести к конфликту такого уровня, что Норвегия рискует потерять в нём все. Как небольшая страна, она не заинтересована в таком противоборстве великих держав на нашей территории или на границе. Это может привести к тому, что норвежская земля станет зоной боевых действий, как это уже произошло ранее во многих малых странах

– отмечается в тексте.

В течение многих десятилетий Норвегия тратила много сил на поддержание на Крайнем Севере политики безопасности, состоявшей из двух частей. С одной стороны, королевство было озабочено тем, чтобы быть хорошим союзником для Соединенных Штатов, а с другой – оставаться добрым соседом России. Однако вторая часть данной концепции, по ряду причин потеряла актуальность.

Ослабление собственных вооруженных сил привело Осло к необходимости приглашать американцев, что сразу ухудшило отношения с восточным соседом.

Да, отмечает автор, мы должны не упускать из вида вопросы прав человека в РФ, судьбу Крыма и т. д. Однако нельзя и забывать, что у скандинавского королевства есть общая граница с Россией. Поэтому в норвежских интересах поддерживать диалог и сотрудничество с крупнейшей из соседних стран.

Также в публикации указывается на то, что норвежцы должны тратить значительно больше денег на оборону, чтобы стать менее зависимыми от Соединенных Штатов и взять на себя большую часть присутствия на собственном Севере.

Это лучший способ сохранить нормальные отношения и с Москвой, и с Вашингтоном, поскольку Осло зависит от каждой из великих держав.
  • Использованы фотографии: Вооруженные Силы Норвегии
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 22 сентября 2020 17:28
    +3
    Один мой знакомый предложил в зону учений НАТО доставлять мины времён ВОВ - если что, то и виноватых нет...
    1. Сергей Токарев (Сергей Токарев) 22 сентября 2020 17:54
      +1
      там мин уже достаточно. и не только мин. транспортов с боеприпасами и отравляющими веществами много утонуло вокруг стран нато... осталось только спровоцировать реакцию.
  2. kriten Офлайн kriten
    kriten (Владимир) 22 сентября 2020 18:54
    +2
    Действительно.Черт с ней с Норвегией то , когда надо решать мировые большие проблемы.
    1. AKuzenka Офлайн AKuzenka
      AKuzenka (Александр) 24 сентября 2020 15:57
      +2
      Не захотели кормить свою армию, теперь кормят чужую. Пока по щадящему варианту.
  3. antibi0tikk Офлайн antibi0tikk
    antibi0tikk (Сергей) 22 сентября 2020 18:59
    +5
    Господа, не надо на норгов лишний раз батон крошить. Они в отличие от многих европейцев вполне нормальные и адекватные. Понятное дело, что в случае чего покрошим в мелкие кочерыжки и шпицберген отожмем, но с нормальными соседями лучше жить в мире. С той стороны там стопудово американцы воду мутят, без них никакой бы эскалации и не было бы.
  4. tanyurg56 Офлайн tanyurg56
    tanyurg56 (Юрий Горбунов) 24 сентября 2020 20:26
    0
    Соринка в глазу вроде мелочь, а неприятно! А чем нам Куба плоха?
    Опять же тепло. Хорошему, даже у врага учиться не зазорно.