US media: Despite all the difficulties, the world's largest icebreaker heads for the Russian Arctic


Arktika, the first of the new Russian nuclear-powered icebreakers of Project 22220, the largest and most powerful ship of its kind in the world, set off for its future home port in Murmansk. However, at present, only two of the three engines of the ship are functioning, which raises questions about the readiness of the "Arctic" for commissioning, writes The Drive magazine.


The icebreaker left the Baltic Shipyard in St. Petersburg on September 22, 2020 after completing the first sea trials in the Baltic Sea and the Gulf of Finland earlier this month. Rosatom says that before arriving in Murmansk, the icebreaker will overcome ice fields in the Arctic north of Franz Josef Land, the Russian archipelago in the Arctic Ocean. The entire voyage will take approximately two weeks.

The displacement of the "Arctic" is about 33 thousand tons, the length is 171 meters, and the height is almost 55 meters at the highest point of the ship. Thus, this icebreaker is larger than the previous ships of the project 10520, the displacement of which is about 25 thousand tons.

Russia is the only country where nuclear icebreakers are operated. Ships of project 22220 are equipped with two pressurized water reactors RITM-200. Each reactor has a capacity of 175 Megawatts and supplies electricity to three electric motors, each of which drives one propeller. It is expected that the icebreaker will be able to break through ice about 2 m thick.

The design of the Arctic was completed in 2009 and construction began in 2012. One of the especially serious problems was that the original design of the ship's power plant included turbine generators from the Ukrainian firm Turboatom, but after 2014, cooperation with partners from Ukraine ceased. Subsequent US sanctions blocked the supply of components from General Electric needed for the ship's electric propulsion system.

All these difficulties led to a delay in the construction and start of operation of the "Arctic". Due to problems with the propulsion system, the ship began sea trials only in December 2019 using an auxiliary diesel power plant. In February 2020, one of the ship's three main electric motors failed, leaving the icebreaker with only two working propellers. This motor has not yet been replaced, which limits the capabilities of the Arctic. Necessary repairs will be carried out within a year.

However, despite all the difficulties, the largest icebreaker in the world is heading for the Northern Arctic. This and other Russian icebreaker ships bring Moscow's Arctic ambitions to life and underline Russia's status as the world's largest icebreaker operator.
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 23 September 2020 11: 33
    +4
    Only those who do nothing do not have problems!
  2. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline Oyo Sarkazmi
    Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 23 September 2020 15: 01
    +1
    Well, let us recall the aircraft carrier of the namesake of the unelected US President - has been on the move for a long time, but in no way gets rid of the nickname "ship".
  3. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 25 September 2020 11: 29
    0
    The article is about nothing, various comments from unfriendly hackers, they contain only criticism, sometimes justified, but more often not ... The most powerful icebreaker was built and went out for testing, this is the main point ..

СМИ США: Несмотря на все трудности, крупнейший ледокол в мире направляется в Русскую Арктику


«Арктика» – первый из новых российских атомных ледоколов проекта 22220, самое большое и мощное судно такого рода в мире, отправился в свой будущий порт приписки в Мурманске. Однако в настоящее время функционируют лишь два из трех двигателей корабля, что вызывает вопросы о готовности «Арктики» к вводу в эксплуатацию, пишет журнал The Drive.


Ледокол покинул Балтийский судостроительный завод в Санкт-Петербурге 22 сентября 2020 года после завершения первых ходовых испытаний в Балтийском море и Финском заливе в начале этого месяца. В «Росатоме» заявляют, что до прибытия в Мурманск ледокол будет преодолевать ледяные поля в Арктике к северу от Земли Франца-Иосифа – российского архипелага в Северном Ледовитом океане. Весь рейс судна займет примерно две недели.

Водоизмещение «Арктики» составляет около 33 тыс. тонн, длина – 171 м, а высота – почти 55 метров в высшей точке корабля. Таким образом, этот ледокол крупнее предыдущих судов проекта 10520, водоизмещение которых – около 25 тыс. тонн.

Россия – единственная страна, где эксплуатируются атомные ледоколы. Корабли проекта 22220 оснащены двумя водо-водяными реакторами РИТМ-200. Мощность каждого реактора – 175 Мегаватт, они снабжают электричеством три электродвигателя, каждый из которых приводит в движение один гребной винт. Ожидается, что ледокол сможет пробивать лед толщиной порядка 2 м.

Проектирование «Арктики» было завершено в 2009 году, а строительство началось в 2012 году. Одна из особенно серьезных проблем заключалась в том, что в исходную конструкцию силовой установки корабля входили турбогенераторы украинской фирмы «Турбоатом», но после 2014 года сотрудничество с партнерами из Украины прекратилось. Последующие санкции США заблокировали поставку компонентов от General Electric, необходимых для электрической двигательной установки корабля.

Все эти трудности привели к задержке строительства и начала эксплуатации «Арктики». Из-за проблем с двигательной установкой судно начало ходовые испытания только в декабре 2019 года с использованием вспомогательной дизельной силовой установки. В феврале 2020 года один из трех основных электродвигателей корабля вышел из строя, и у ледокола осталось только два рабочих гребных винта. Этот мотор пока не заменен, что ограничивает возможности «Арктики». Необходимый ремонт будет проведен в течение года.

Однако несмотря на все трудности, крупнейший ледокол в мире направляется в Северную Арктику. Этот и другие ледокольные суда России воплощают в жизнь арктические амбиции Москвы и подчеркивают статус РФ как крупнейшего оператора ледоколов в мире.
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 23 сентября 2020 11:33
    +4
    Проблем не бывает только у тех, кто ничего не делает!
  2. Оё Сарказми Офлайн Оё Сарказми
    Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 23 сентября 2020 15:01
    +1
    Ну, вспомним авианесущего тёзку неизбранного президента США - давно на ходу, но никак не избавится от прозвища "суднó".
  3. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 25 сентября 2020 11:29
    0
    Статья ни о чём, разные комменты недружественных писак, в них только критика, иногда обоснованная, но чаще нет... Самый мощный ледокол построен и вышел на испытания, в этом главная суть..