Why there was a confrontation between Russia and the West in the Eastern Mediterranean


Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov and his American counterpart Mike Pompeo visited Cyprus last week. As Washington's growing tensions with Beijing hit world headlines News, a new territory of conflict between the West and Moscow opens up - the Mediterranean. OZY resource experts talk about the reasons for the confrontation between Russia and the West in this region.


The US Geological Survey estimates that up to 122 trillion cubic feet of gas and 1,7 billion barrels of oil are hidden in the eastern Mediterranean. Turkey, Greece, Cyprus and other countries of the Mediterranean basin drew attention to these deposits. Washington, Moscow and Brussels claim to be peacekeepers, but in reality each of them seeks to either create a new sphere of influence or protect the existing one.

Pompeo flew to Cyprus last Saturday to show US support for Nicosia. But four days earlier, the Russian Foreign Minister also called for calm diplomacy and offered mediation between Turkey, Greece and Cyprus. As a sign of Moscow's growing influence, Cypriot President Nikos Anastasiadis in August asked Russian President Vladimir Putin to intervene to force Turkey to abandon provocations.

Ultimately, we are not talking about gas or oil. The Mediterranean Sea is the gateway to some of the world's most important maritime trade routes, including the Suez Canal and the Red Sea. Russia's large strategic weight in the region makes its rivals vulnerable. Putin tests America and Europe's commitment to a region that has been part of the Western sphere of influence since the start of the Cold War

- notes OZY.

According to resource analysts, economic Russia's ability to sustain its expansionism is questionable. But Putin's plans will only be known if the US and EU try to help Turkey, Cyprus and Greece resolve their dispute. Otherwise, the Mediterranean Sea will catch fire, and the countries of the region will turn to Russia for a fire extinguisher.
  • Used photos: http://mil.ru/
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Natan bruk Offline Natan bruk
    Natan bruk (Natan Bruk) 23 September 2020 15: 57
    +3
    The last phrase is sheer stupidity, that is, just clumsy hurray-patriotism.
  2. The comment was deleted.

Почему произошла конфронтация России и Запада в Восточном Средиземноморье


На прошлой неделе министр иностранных дел России Сергей Лавров и его американский коллега Майк Помпео посетили Кипр. По мере того, как растущая напряженность Вашингтона в отношениях с Пекином попадает в заголовки мировых новостей, открывается новая территория конфликта между Западом и Москвой – Средиземноморье. Эксперты ресурса OZY рассуждают о причинах конфронтации между РФ и Западом в этом регионе.


По оценкам Геологической службы США, в восточной части Средиземного моря скрыто до 122 трлн кубических футов газа и 1,7 млрд баррелей нефти. На эти месторождения обратили внимание Турция, Греция, Кипр и другие страны Средиземноморского бассейна. Вашингтон, Москва и Брюссель претендуют на роль миротворцев, но на самом деле каждая из них стремится либо создать новую сферу влияния, либо защитить существующую.

В прошлую субботу Помпео летал на Кипр, чтобы выразить поддержку Никосии со стороны США. Но за четыре дня до этого глава российского МИДа также призвал к спокойной дипломатии и предложил посредничество между Турцией, Грецией и Кипром. В знак растущего влияния Москвы кипрский президент Никос Анастасиадис в августе обратился к президенту России Владимиру Путину с просьбой вмешаться, чтобы заставить Турцию отказаться от провокаций.

В конечном итоге речь не идет о газе или нефти. Средиземное море – ворота к некоторым важнейшим морским торговым путям мира, включая Суэцкий канал и Красное море. Большой стратегический вес РФ в регионе делает ее соперников уязвимыми. Путин проверяет приверженность Америки и Европы региону, который был частью западной сферы влияния с начала холодной войны

– отмечает OZY.

По мнению аналитиков ресурса, экономическая способность России поддерживать свой экспансионизм сомнительна. Но планы Путина можно будет узнать, лишь если США и ЕС попытаются помочь Турции, Кипру и Греции разрешить свой спор. В противном случае Средиземное море загорится, а за огнетушителем страны региона обратятся к России.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://mil.ru/
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Natan Bruk Офлайн Natan Bruk
    Natan Bruk (Natan Bruk) 23 сентября 2020 15:57
    +3
    Последняя фраза - откровенная глупость.То есть просто топорный ура-патриотизм.
  2. Комментарий был удален.