OilPrice: Why Syria is Critical for Russia


Syria is critically important to Russia for several reasons, says OilPrice. First, Syria is the point of geopolitical confrontation between the Russian Federation and the United States, the center of whose sphere of influence in the region is located in Saudi Arabia. Secondly, Syria has access to the Mediterranean, a convenient export route to major European oil and gas distribution centers. The Syrian Republic also hosts important military bases - the seaport of Tartus and the Russian air force base in Latakia.


In addition, Syria possesses large reserves of energy resources that the Kremlin can use to offset its costs from being in the region. The Russian Federation is now involved in four dozen energy projects economics Syria.

Back in November 2017, a memorandum of understanding was signed between the Russian Federation and the SAR - last week Deputy Prime Minister Borisov spoke about the energy plan, which is actually a modified version of the memorandum. It included the reconstruction of a thermal power plant in Aleppo, the expansion of energy capacity in Tishrin and Mharda, and the construction of a power plant in Deir es-Zor.

Another important infrastructure project carried out by Russia is the reconstruction and renovation of the refinery in Homs, which was seriously damaged during the fighting in December 2019.

After the end of the armed confrontation in Syria, Russia plans to use the Syrian Arab Republic as a route for transporting oil and gas to European countries. The Russian option for gas supplies is the restoration of the Iran-Iraq-Syria gas pipeline, the delivery of gas fuel from Iran and Iraq to Syria and further to European countries. This option will help the rapprochement of states within the framework of the Gas Exporting Countries Forum (GECF), which includes Russia, Qatar, Iran and some countries from Washington's "black list". The GECF controls about 70 percent of the world's gas reserves, 38 percent of pipeline supplies and 85 percent of LNG production. Thus, the GECF can become a kind of "gas OPEC plus", posing a real threat to the interests of the United States and the European Union.
  • Used photos: http://mil.ru/
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker 25 September 2020 12: 33
    -2
    plans to use the SAR as a route for transporting oil and gas to European countries.

    They already regard us as a raw material appendage of the West, and we also serve Africa for them. And with your blood and your money! If these are Putin's plans - why don't we need this Syria and Putin! If we need Syria, it’s only to move inland. Get your hands on minerals, sell your products, get cheap labor and thereby increase the wages and benefits of your people !! And to improve Russia so that there is no need for paradise !!
    1. Michael1950 Offline Michael1950
      Michael1950 (Michael) 27 September 2020 00: 18
      0
      It's too late, weirdo! The Chinese have already seized almost all of Africa. You are late... recourse
  2. g1washntwn Offline g1washntwn
    g1washntwn (George Washington) 25 September 2020 13: 38
    0
    The Americans see their interests far beyond Pluto's orbit, wherever you spit, you get into their interest.
    The collapse of the Middle East by the Americans is going practically according to the behest of the Bolsheviks: To build their new, you need to destroy THEIR old. Russia's main interest in the SAR is to show the Americans and the whole world that there are interests other than American ones. For Washington, this threat is stronger than the GECF because it has far-reaching consequences.
    In addition, they say that gas and oil will soon run out altogether and will not be needed at all, because of global warming, all the ice will melt and only environmentally friendly sails will be needed. smile
  3. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF 25 September 2020 14: 07
    0
    What is the importance - I saw, and what is the criticality?

OilPrice: Почему Сирия имеет критически важное значение для России


Сирия имеет критически важное значение для России по нескольким причинам, считает издание OilPrice. Во-первых, Сирия – точка геополитического противостояния РФ с США, центр сферы влияния которых в регионе расположен в Саудовской Аравии. Во-вторых, Сирия имеет выход к Средиземноморью – удобному экспортному маршруту в крупные европейские распределительные центры нефти и газа. В Сирийской Республике также находятся важные военные базы – морской порт Тартус и военно-воздушная база России в Латакии.


Кроме того, Сирия обладает большими запасами энергоресурсов, которые Кремль может использовать для компенсации своих издержек от нахождения в этом регионе. РФ сейчас участвует в четырех десятках энергетических проектов экономики Сирии.

Еще в ноябре 2017 года был подписан меморандум о взаимопонимании между РФ и САР – на прошлой неделе вице-премьер Борисов говорил об энергетическом плане, который является фактически модифицированным вариантом меморандума. Он предусматривал реконструкцию ТЭЦ в Алеппо, расширение энергетических мощностей в Тишрине и Мхарде и строительство электростанции в Дейр-эс-Зоре.

Еще один важный инфраструктурный проект, осуществляемый Россией – реконструкция и обновление мощностей нефтеперерабатывающего предприятия в Хомсе, серьезно поврежденного в ходе боевых действий в декабре 2019 года.

После завершения вооруженного противостояния на территории Сирии Россия планирует использовать САР в качестве маршрута для транспортировки нефти и газа в страны Европы. Российский вариант газовых поставок – восстановление газопровода Иран–Ирак-Сирия, доставка газового топлива из Ирана и Ирака в Сирию и далее – в европейские страны. Этот вариант поможет сближению государств в рамках Форума стран-экспортеров газа (ФСЭГ), куда входят Россия, Катар, Иран и некоторые страны из «черного списка» Вашингтона. Под контролем ФСЭГ находится около 70 процентов мировых газовых запасов, 38 процентов поставок по газопроводам и 85 процентов производства СПГ. Таким образом, ФСЭГ может стать подобием «газового ОПЕК плюс», представляя реальную угрозу интересам Соединенных Штатов и Евросоюза.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://mil.ru/
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 25 сентября 2020 12:33
    -2
    планирует использовать САР в качестве маршрута для транспортировки нефти и газа в страны Европы.

    Они и так нас уже рассматривают как сырьевой придаток Запада, а мы им ещё и Африку в услужение. Причём своей кровью и своими деньгами! Если это такие планы у Путина - нафиг нам эта Сирия и Путин! Если нам и нужна Сирия, то только чтобы двигаться внутрь Африки. Прибрать к своим рукам полезные ископаемые, сбывать свою продукцию, получать дешёвую рабочую силу и за счёт этого увеличивать зарплату и пособия своему народу!! А Россию благоустроить так, чтобы и рая не надо!!
    1. Michael1950 Офлайн Michael1950
      Michael1950 (Michael) 27 сентября 2020 00:18
      0
      Поздно, чудак! Африку уже китайцы почти всю к рукам прибрали. Ты опоздал... recourse
  2. g1washntwn Офлайн g1washntwn
    g1washntwn (Жора Вашингтонов) 25 сентября 2020 13:38
    0
    Американцы свои интересы видят уже далеко за орбитой Плутона, куда ни плюнь, попадёшь в их интерес.
    Развал Ближнего востока американцами идёт практически по завету большевиков: Чтобы построить СВОЁ новое, нужно разрушить ИХ старое. Главный интерес России в САР - показать американцам и всему миру, что есть интересы кроме американских. Для Вашингтона эта угроза сильнее ФСЭГ потому как имеет далеко идущие последствия.
    К тому же поговаривают, что газ и нефть скоро совсем закончатся и вообще будут не нужны, из-за глобального потепления растает весь лёд и понадобятся только экологически чистые паруса smile
  3. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 25 сентября 2020 14:07
    0
    В чем важность - увидел, а в чем критичность?