Two projects for the price of one: how Minsk managed to save $ 3 billion at BelNPP


One of the main problems of Belarus, which receives the lion's share of foreign exchange earnings from the export of oil products and potash fertilizers, is the lack of its own access to the sea. President Lukashenko "cut a window" to the coast through the Baltic states and even Ukraine, but after the extremely ambiguous results of the elections in summer 2020, this "window" was closed in front of him. Under the circumstances, Minsk can only rely on Moscow, but Alexander Grigorievich would not be himself if he had not set an interesting condition for Russia.


First of all, it should be noted that being landlocked is a problem for many states, and they all solve it in their own way. For example, Ethiopia, having lost the coastal province of Eritrea, was forced to reorient foreign trade to Djibouti. In addition, Addis Ababa has entered into infrastructure agreements with Sudan and Somalia. Bolivia has agreed with Peru to build its own port on its territory, although it has not yet found sufficient funds. In addition, the authorities of this South American country are interested in participating in the Chinese project for the construction of a transcontinental railway from the Pacific to the Atlantic. The exchange of territories with Ukraine allowed small Moldova in the late nineties to receive its port of Giurgiulesti on the Danube with the status of a free economic zones.

It cannot be said that Minsk has been sitting idly all these years. Back in 2006, the Belarusian authorities signed an agreement with Russia on the construction of terminals for the export of mineral fertilizers in Ust-Luga. However, in reality they are now used only by domestic companies Uralchem, Akron and PhosAgro, which have reoriented their commodity flows from the Baltic States. Belarus, in fact, chose to go through the acquisition of blocks of shares in Biryu Krovinu Terminalas (BKT) in Klaipeda. Thanks to investments in the expansion of terminals in the Lithuanian port, Minsk hoped to increase the export of mineral fertilizers from 12 million tons per year to 16.

In addition, President Lukashenko dreamed of his own path "from the Varangians to the Greeks." A port was to be built in the Gomel region, from which vessels of the "river-sea" class with a displacement of up to three thousand tons would go along the Dnieper to the Black Sea. On the Ukrainian coast, Belarusian oil products would be loaded onto sea vessels. The idea was quite realistic, the project cost was estimated at some 64 million dollars. Its mere presence allowed Belarus to obtain the formal status of a "sea power". However, the ambitious plans of Alexander Grigorievich stumbled over the Ukrainian realities: Kiev simply did not have money to carry out dredging works on the desired river section.

Perhaps President Lukashenko would have achieved his goal in the end, but all his efforts canceled out the results of the summer elections, where he showed a “fantastic” result, which was not believed either in the West or in Ukraine. As a result, an “iron curtain” was put in front of Belarus for the period of his rule from the “other” side. The only real alternative remains - Russia, which itself is actively inviting Minsk. Moscow has long been offering Belarusian exporters to reorient to Ust-Luga, compensating for the losses from a long logistic leg with a more favorable transport tariff. In addition to the issue of transportation costs, President Lukashenko is ready to discuss the possibility of building "his own port and his own berth" in the Leningrad Region. The Governor of the Leningrad Region Alexander Drozdenko, in turn, said that the Belarusian side could enter the share capital of three new terminals under construction in Ust-Luga. And everything would be great, but Alexander Grigorievich performed in his repertoire, proposing to do this at the expense of Russia itself:

Everything that we save at the nuclear power plant, which is being built at the expense of loans from the Russian Federation, we are ready to invest in the port and the construction of the terminal. Therefore, if you have a desire, we can implement this joint project with you with great pleasure.

We are talking about the construction of the BelNPP, which should start operating in November. Its cost is estimated at $ 10 billion. According to President Lukashenko's estimates, under the economy regime, about 7 billion dollars will actually have to be spent, and the rest can be used to “cut through” the Belarusian window to Europe. This immediately raises several interesting questions, which in themselves do not call into question the need for economic integration of Russia and Belarus.

Who and how made the estimate of the BelNPP, if at the construction of a nuclear power plant, which is opposed by neighboring Lithuania, it is possible to "save" as much as 3 billion dollars without prejudice to its safety? Where and to whom would these funds have gone if Minsk had not decided to “save money”? And if this money, allocated within the framework of the Russian loan, really turned out to be excessive, then why not just repay it ahead of schedule? However, modern geopolitics is like this: you can't figure it out without half a liter. However, the very fact that the cost of projects within Russia always grows during their implementation, while Belarus also manages to save money, suggests a fundamental difference in the approaches of the “two systems”.
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. King3214 Offline King3214
    King3214 (Sergius) 29 September 2020 12: 01
    +4
    And what is everyone talking about the high cost of reorientation to Ust-Luga?
    When Russia needed to put Lukashenka in a "stall", the new pipeline under construction was turned to Ust-Luga right near the border with Belarus. And no one thought it was expensive.
    And besides, it is Lukashenka who is filled with revenge to HIS friends and it is HE who takes revenge on them for the fact that they so relish, about him personally, wiped their feet and spat in his face, what does Russia and its income have to do with it?
    Lukashenka dislikes tariffs? Let him go to those who wiped their feet on him, spat in his face and continues on his knees to lick their bast shoes ... This is his personal hemorrhoids, not Russia.
    Otherwise, it turns out - Lukashenko said "Revenge", and Russia should take revenge, and even at its own expense. Does Sasha take on a lot?
  2. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 29 September 2020 12: 12
    +2
    Belarus saved on cost control during the construction of the BelNPP, which in the Russian Federation would have been plundered with additional cost overruns. As an example, in Finland a kilometer of the same highway costs almost half as much as in the Leningrad Region, although the geological conditions are worse ... Credit is always preferable at low interest rates, as in this case, that's what they use ... Authoritarian regime in large state projects are more economically justified, recalling the construction of the Eastern cosmodrome, where everything was stolen, with the connivance (or participation) of the government from the state ... Conclusion, in the Russian Federation there is a pseudo-authoritarian regime supported by beneficiaries ...
  3. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 29 September 2020 13: 41
    -1
    But the authors, "experts", commentators of articles that Russia will take revenge, Belarus will pay Russia, the Kremlin will displace the daddy suddenly disappeared somewhere ...

    The survivors are on salary and do not remember about 33 detainees anywhere.

    Already a plus.

    What to pay? so everyone got used to it. The previous Gazprom pipes were four times more expensive than the same German ones, all the directors will have enough ...
  4. Denis K Offline Denis K
    Denis K (Denis K) 29 September 2020 18: 12
    0
    Well ... Lithuania, when the thread can join the Republic of Belarus, well, along the Brest-Gdansk line .. access to the sea is generally gorgeous ... and even Germany will come closer to Warsaw to see ... well, Ukraine and the Czechs)
    1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 29 September 2020 20: 58
      0
      They voiced a complete lack of understanding of the realities either in politics or in traffic flows ... Empty projection is always ineffectual ...

Два проекта по цене одного: как Минску удалось сэкономить $3 млрд на БелАЭС


Одной из главных проблем Белоруссии, получающей львиную долю валютных доходов от экспорта нефтепродуктов и калийных удобрений, является отсутствие собственного выхода к морю. Президент Лукашенко «рубил окно» к побережью через Прибалтику и даже Украину, но после крайне неоднозначных итогов выборов лета 2020 года эту «форточку» перед ним прикрыли. В сложившихся обстоятельствах Минск может рассчитывать только на Москву, но Александр Григорьевич не был бы самим собой, если бы не поставил перед Россией занятное условие.


Прежде всего, необходимо отметить, что отсутствие выхода к морю является проблемой многих государств, и все они решают ее по-своему. Например, Эфиопия, потеряв прибрежную провинцию Эритрею, была вынуждена переориентировать внешнюю торговлю на Джибути. Помимо этого, Аддис-Абеба заключила инфраструктурные соглашения с Суданом и Сомали. Боливия договорилась с Перу о строительстве собственного порта на его территории, правда, пока не нашла достаточных средств. Кроме этого, власти этой южноамериканской страны заинтересовались участием в китайском проекте строительства трансконтинентальной железной дороги от Тихого океана до Атлантического. Обмен территориями с Украиной позволил маленькой Молдавии в конце девяностых годов получить свой порт Джурджулешты на Дунае со статусом свободной экономической зоны.

Нельзя сказать, что Минск сидел сложа руки все эти годы. В далеком 2006 году белорусские власти подписали с Россией соглашение о строительстве в Усть-Луге терминалов для экспорта минеральных удобрений. Однако реально ими теперь пользуются только отечественные компании «Уралхим», «Акрон» и «ФосАгро», переориентировавшие свои товарные потоки из Прибалтики. Беларусь же на деле предпочла пойти путем приобретения пакетов акций компании «Бирю кровиню терминалас» (БКТ) в Клайпеде. Благодаря инвестициям в расширение терминалов в литовском порту, Минск рассчитывал увеличить объемы экспорта минеральных удобрений с 12 миллионов тонн в год до 16.

Помимо этого, президент Лукашенко грезил своим собственным путем «из варяг в греки». В Гомельской области должен был быть построен порт, из которого по Днепру в Черное море пошли бы суда класса «река–море» водоизмещением до трех тысяч тонн. На украинском побережье белорусские нефтепродукты перегружались бы на морские суда. Идея была вполне реалистичная, стоимость проекта оценивалась в какие-то 64 миллиона долларов. Одно его наличие позволило Беларусь получить формальный статус «морской державы». Однако амбициозные планы Александра Григорьевича споткнулись об украинские реалии: у Киева банально не оказалось денег на проведение дноуглубительных работ на искомом речном участке.

Возможно, президент Лукашенко в итоге своего добился бы, но все его старания перечеркнули итоги летних выборов, где он показал «фантастический» результат, в который не поверили ни на Западе, ни на Украине. В итоге перед Белоруссией на период его правления с «той» стороны поставлен «железный занавес». Остается единственная реальная альтернатива – Россия, которая сама активно зазывает Минск. Москва давно предлагает белорусским экспортерам переориентироваться на Усть-Лугу, компенсировав убытки от длинного логистического плеча более выгодным транспортным тарифом. Помимо вопроса транспортных издержек, президент Лукашенко готов обсудить возможность строительства в Ленинградской области «своего порта и своего причала». Губернатор Ленинградской области Александр Дрозденко в свою очередь заявил, что белорусская сторона могла бы войти в акционерный капитал трех новых строящихся терминалов в Усть-Луге. И все бы здорово, но Александр Григорьевич выступил в своем репертуаре, предложив сделать это за счет самой России:

Все, что мы сэкономим на атомной станции, которая строится за счет кредитов Российской Федерации, мы готовы вложить в порт, строительство терминала. Поэтому если у вас будет желание, мы с большим удовольствием можем реализовать с вами этот совместный проект.

Речь идет о строительстве БелАЭС, которая должна начать работать уже в ноябре. Ее стоимость оценивается в 10 миллиардов долларов. По оценкам президента Лукашенко, при режиме экономии, реально потратить придется где-то 7 миллиардов долларов, а остальные можно пустить на «прорубание» белорусского окна в Европу. Тут сразу возникает несколько интересных вопросов, которые сами по себе не ставят под сомнение необходимость экономической интеграции России и Белоруссии.

Кто и как составлял смету БелАЭС, если на строительстве атомной электростанции, против которой выступает соседняя Литва, можно без ущерба для ее безопасности «сэкономить» аж 3 миллиарда долларов? Куда и кому пошли бы эти средства, если бы в Минске не решили «сэкономить»? А если эти деньги, выделенные в рамках российского кредита, действительно оказались излишними, то почему бы его просто не загасить досрочно? Впрочем, современная геополитика, она такая: без поллитра не разберешься. Однако сам факт того, что стоимость проектов внутри России в ходе их реализации всегда растет, в то время как Беларуси удается еще и сэкономить, наводить на мысль о кардинальной разнице подходов «двух систем».
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. King3214 Офлайн King3214
    King3214 (Сергий) 29 сентября 2020 12:01
    +4
    А чего все говорят про большую цену переориентации на Усть-Лугу?
    Когда России потребовалось поставить Лукашенко в "стойло", то новый строящийся нефтепровод повернули на Усть-Лугу прямо возле границы с Беларусью. И дорого это ни кому не показалось.
    Да и потом, это Лукашенко наполнен местью к ЕГО друзьям и это ОН им мстит за то, что они так смачно, об него лично, вытирали ноги и плевали ему в лицо, при чем тут Россия и её доходы?
    Не нравятся Лукашенко тарифы? Пусть идет к тем, кто об него ноги вытирал, в лицо ему плевал и продолжает стоя на коленях вылизывать их лапти... Это его личный геморрой, а не России.
    А то получается - Лукашенко сказал "Месть", а мстить должна Россия , да еще и за свой счет. Не много ли на себя берет Саша?
  2. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 29 сентября 2020 12:12
    +2
    Беларусь сэкономила на контроле расходов при строительстве БелАЭС, что в РФ было бы разворовано и ещё с дополнительными перерасходами. Как пример, в Финляндии километр такого же шоссе стоит почти вдвое дешевле чем в Ленинградской области, хотя геологические условия и хуже... Кредит всегда предпочтителен по малым процентным ставкам, как в данном случае, вот и пользуются... Авторитарный режим в больших государственных проектах экономически более оправдан, вспоминая строительство Восточного космодрома, где воровали все, при попустительстве (или участии) руководства от государства... Вывод, в РФ имеется псевдоавторитарный режим, поддерживаемый выгодополучателями...
  3. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 29 сентября 2020 13:41
    -1
    Зато кудато вдруг делись авторы, "експерты", коментаторы статей, что Россия отомстит, Белорусия России заплатит, Кремль батьку сместит...

    О 33х задержанных переживальщики на зарплате и не вспоминают нигде.

    Уже плюс.

    А что платить? так все привыкли. Прежние трубы газпрома были вчетверо дороже этих же германских, всем директорам хватит...
  4. Denis K Офлайн Denis K
    Denis K (Denis K) 29 сентября 2020 18:12
    0
    Ну ... Литва когда нить может присоеденится к РБ, ну а по линии Брест-Гданьск ..выход к морю вообще шикарный..., и даже Германия подойдет поближе к Варшаве что бы посмотреть..., ну и Украина с чехами )
    1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 29 сентября 2020 20:58
      0
      Озвучили полное не понимание реалий ни в политике, ни в транспортных потоках..., Пустое прожектёрство всегда безрезультатно...