S-300PT versus S-300PMU-2: Azerbaijan has an advantage in air defense over Armenia


The conflict between Armenia and Azerbaijan in Nagorno-Karabakh may be the first time when the S-300 air defense system will be used in hostilities by both sides, writes Military Watch.


Over four decades, the S-300 have evolved significantly, so assessing their capabilities, as well as comparing characteristics, can give an idea of ​​which side will gain an advantage in the event of further escalation.


Yerevan has 5 divisions of still Soviet S-300PTs with 12 launchers in each. It is a reliable air defense system, incoming in the top five weapons systems of Armenia, which should be feared by the Azerbaijani Air Force, because they consist of 29 outdated MiG-15s of the same era. Armenian S-300PTs are equipped with 5V55KD missiles with a range of 90 km. They have a semi-active radar homing mode, a speed of Mach 3,35 and a warhead weighing 133 kg. The S-300PT complex can work simultaneously on 6-12 targets.


In turn, Baku is armed with 2 S-300PMU-2 "Favorite" divisions with 8 launchers in each. These air defense systems are 15 years younger than their Armenian "brothers" and technological the gap between them is very noticeable. S-300PMU-2 can hit targets at a distance of up to 250 km with their 48N6U2 / SA-10E missiles, of which Azerbaijan has at least 112 units. These missiles can intercept targets at Mach 5,9, have a warhead weighing 180 kg and are better at countering electronic warfare. One S-300PMU-2 complex can simultaneously hit up to 32 targets.

Thus, the Azerbaijani S-300PMU-2 are significantly superior to the Armenian S-300PT. In this air defense segment, Azerbaijan's advantage is undeniable. However, each country has other remedies besides the above.

Armenia will no doubt rely on its Su-30SM fighters and their missiles. In addition, Yerevan has a number of Buk-M2 and Tor-M2KM air defense systems. At the same time, Azerbaijan has upgraded by Belarus 54 S-125-2TM "Pechora-TM" launchers, 4 S-200 launchers, 18 "Buk-M1-2" / "Buk-MB" launchers, 8 "Tor-M2E" launchers, 2 batteries of the Ukrainian-Belarusian Т38 "Stilet". Baku also has 1 division (9 launchers) "Barak-8" and an unknown number of Spyder air defense systems (both made in Israel). In this regard, the Azerbaijani air defense system looks more impressive than the Armenian one.
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. amateur Offline amateur
    amateur (Victor) 1 October 2020 13: 58
    0
    Armenia has ~ 17 aircraft, incl. 4 new and ~ 21 helicopters. Azerbaijan has ~ 31 aircraft (all old) and ~ 71 helicopters. So there will be enough missiles to reset the air forces of both sides.
    1. Atilla10933 Offline Atilla10933
      Atilla10933 (Atilla_az) 1 October 2020 17: 34
      -9
      Quote: layman
      Azerbaijan has ~ 31 aircraft (all old)

      The name of your profile suits you) Dilettante and dilettante in Africa. Why would Azerbaijan use MIGs when there are Sushki25 and, moreover, modernized ones, and why does Azerbaijan need Sushki when there are drones that have smashed the Armenian air defense system to smithereens, including this SP300PU? Even if the Azerbaijani Air Force is zeroed out, taking into account the money reserve, we will quickly update our Air Force fleet.
      By the way, besides the old stuff you are talking about, Azerbaijan also has Italian cars. But I repeat, why do we need planes when there are drones that do an excellent job, they ideally destroyed already a huge amount of air defense in Armenia. Military Watch seems to be sleeping again.

      And about Sushki, you yourself know perfectly well that Su30 is not for the mountains of Karabakh, and even if you take that, Karabakh is a plain, Azerbaijan has a multi-level air defense system and the sky of Azerbaijan is covered with the latest air defense systems.

      I wish you grow from an amateur to an expert.
  2. amateur Offline amateur
    amateur (Victor) 1 October 2020 17: 56
    +3
    Quote: Atilla10933
    Why does Azerbaijan need Sushki when there are drones that have smashed the Armenian air defense system, including this SS300PU, to smithereens? Even if the Azerbaijani Air Force is zeroed out, taking into account the money reserve, we will quickly update our Air Force fleet.

    I'm not a strongman for nothing, seven at one blow ...

    Brother Grimm
  3. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 2 October 2020 17: 48
    0
    To look is not to be, but to be on paper is not what is in reality.

С-300ПТ против С-300ПМУ-2: у Азербайджана есть преимущество в ПВО перед Арменией


Конфликт между Арменией и Азербайджаном в Нагорном Карабахе может стать первым случаем, когда ЗРК семейства С-300 будет использован в боевых действиях обеими сторонами, пишет издание Military Watch.


За четыре десятилетия С-300 значительно эволюционировали, поэтому оценка их возможностей, а также сравнение характеристик может дать представление о том, какая сторона получит преимущество в случае дальнейшей эскалации.


У Еревана имеется 5 дивизионов еще советских С-300ПТ по 12 ПУ в каждом. Это надежное средство ПВО, входящее в пятерку систем вооружений Армении, которых нужно опасаться ВВС Азербайджана, ведь они состоят из устаревших МиГ-29 той же эпохи в количестве 15 единиц. Армянские С-300ПТ оснащены ракетами 5В55КД с дальностью поражения 90 км. Они имеют полуактивный радиолокационный режим самонаведения, скорость 3,35 Маха и боевую часть весом 133 кг. Комплекс С-300ПТ может отработать одновременно по 6-12 целям.


В свою очередь, на вооружении Баку имеется 2 дивизиона С-300ПМУ-2 «Фаворит» по 8 ПУ в каждом. Эти ЗРК на 15 лет моложе своих армянских «собратьев» и технологический разрыв между ними очень заметен. С-300ПМУ-2 могут поражать цели на дальности до 250 км своими ракетами 48Н6У2/СА-10Е, которых у Азербайджана не менее 112 единиц. Эти ракеты могут перехватывать цели на скорости 5,9 Маха, имеют боевую часть весом 180 кг и лучше противодействуют РЭБ. Один комплекс С-300ПМУ-2 может одновременно поразить до 32 целей.

Таким образом, азербайджанские С-300ПМУ-2 существенно превосходят армянские С-300ПТ. В данном сегменте ПВО преимущество Азербайджана неоспоримо. Однако у каждой страны есть и другие средства защиты, кроме вышеупомянутых.

Армения, без сомнения, будет полагаться на свои истребители Су-30СМ и их ракеты. Кроме того, у Еревана имеется некоторое количество ЗРК «Бук-М2» и «Тор-М2КМ». При этом у Азербайджана есть модернизированные Белоруссией 54 ПУ С-125-2ТМ «Печора-ТМ», 4 ПУ С-200, 18 ПУ «Бук-М1-2»/«Бук-МБ», 8 ПУ «Тор-М2Э», 2 батареи украинско-белорусских Т38 «Стилет». Также Баку располагает 1 дивизионом (9 ПУ) «Барак-8» и неизвестным количеством ЗРК Spyder (оба производства Израиля). В связи с этим, азербайджанская система ПВО выглядит более внушительно, чем армянская.
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. дилетант Офлайн дилетант
    дилетант (Виктор) 1 октября 2020 13:58
    0
    У Армении ~ 17 самолетов, в т.ч. 4 новых и ~ 21 вертолет. У Азербайджана ~31 самолет (все старьё) и ~ 71 вертолет. Так что ракет хватит, что бы обнулить ВВС обеих сторон.
    1. Atilla10933 Офлайн Atilla10933
      Atilla10933 (Atilla_az) 1 октября 2020 17:34
      -9
      Цитата: дилетант
      У Азербайджана ~31 самолет (все старьё)

      Название Вашего профиля Вам к лицу) Дилетант и в Африке дилетант. Зачем Азербайджану пользоваться МИГ-ами когда есть Сушки25 и к тому же модернизованные и тем зачем Азербайджану Сушки когда есть дроны которые разнесли в пух и прах армянское ПВО в том числе этот С300ПУ? Даже если обнулится ВВС Азербайджана, учитывая денежный резерв, мы быстренько обновим свой парк ВВС.
      Кстати кроме старье о котором вы говорите у Азербайджана ещё Итальянские машины имеются. Но повторяю, зачем нам самолеты когда есть дроны, которые отлично справляются с задачей, они идеально уничтожили уже огромное количество ПВО у Армении. Military Watch видать опять спит.

      А по поводу Сушек, вы и сами знаете прекрасно что Су30 не для гор Карабаха и даже если взять что, Карабах это равнина, у Азербайджана многоэшалонная ПВО и небо Азербайджана прикрыто самыми новейшими система ПВО.

      Желаю от дилетанта вырасти до эксперта.
  2. дилетант Офлайн дилетант
    дилетант (Виктор) 1 октября 2020 17:56
    +3
    Цитата: Atilla10933
    зачем Азербайджану Сушки когда есть дроны которые разнесли в пух и прах армянское ПВО в том числе этот С300ПУ? Даже если обнулится ВВС Азербайджана, учитывая денежный резерв, мы быстренько обновим свой парк ВВС.

    Силачом слыву не даром, семерых одним ударом...

    Бр.Гримм
  3. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 2 октября 2020 17:48
    0
    Выглядеть - не быть, а быть на бумаге - не то, что в реальности.