Bloomberg: NATO intelligence bet on Yerevan's victory in the war with Baku


Armenia and Azerbaijan are on the brink of a war that will shake NATO, the Middle East and energy markets, Bloomberg writes.


The conflict in Nagorno-Karabakh may seem to the western man in the street as an insignificant clash somewhere in a remote corner of the planet. But in reality, what is happening there can have colossal consequences, affecting regional stability and security, as well as the ambitions of two leaders problematic for the West: Vladimir Putin and Recep Tayyip Erdogan.

In the aggravated confrontation, Yerevan and Baku are not going to make concessions and compromises, so a war with potentially large consequences is very likely. NATO intelligence had previously assessed the situation and bet on Yerevan's victory over Baku if it comes to that.

Before that, Russia supplied weapons and trained both sides, exerting a calming effect on them. But now Armenia and Azerbaijan have declared martial law and are mobilizing troops. The worst thing is that there is no opportunity for other countries to intervene in what is happening in order to stop the bloodshed at least for a while.

Ankara and Moscow support different sides and have opposite views in Syria and Libya. Turks dislike Armenians and stand behind their Muslim brothers in Azerbaijan. At the same time, Yerevan is a member of the CSTO and hopes for further patronage from Moscow.

Unstable Georgia and aggressive Iran are in the immediate vicinity of the battlefield. At the same time, the pipelines of Azerbaijan, rich in oil and gas, pass only 10 km from the border with Armenia. Transcaucasia was a region with a high level of tension before, but this time everything is much more serious.

The US elections distract Washington from what is happening. The EU is busy with Brexit issues. Therefore, the chances of a peaceful settlement seem bleak. Perhaps the United States, Russia and Turkey, working together, could influence the parties to the conflict and convince them to turn off the catastrophic path. The negotiations could begin with the symbolic return of a part of the lands by the Armenians to the Azerbaijanis and mutual obligations not to use any more weapons. But such a development of events now seems unlikely.
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 1 October 2020 14: 11
    +1
    Turks dislike Armenians and stand behind their Muslim brothers in Azerbaijan.

    - And the Armenians, they say, do not like Russians, they banned Russian-language schools and the media in their own Armenia.
    Is that really true? And how then will Armenians learn Russian if they are members of the CSTO? Will they communicate in English during meetings?
  2. Atilla10933 Offline Atilla10933
    Atilla10933 (Atilla_az) 1 October 2020 15: 00
    0
    NATO intelligence had previously assessed the situation and bet on Yerevan's victory over Baku if it comes to that.

    The Armenians in the trenches are crying and these underorganizations are betting on Yerevan. Well, bet. Flag in your hands and with a song.
  3. _AMUHb_ Offline _AMUHb_
    _AMUHb_ (_AMUHb_) 1 October 2020 15: 37
    0
    ... The negotiations could begin with the symbolic return of part of the lands by the Armenians to the Azerbaijanis ...

    laugh, but it's not funny ... if you change a couple of lines and replace with "sell" it would look more reasonable)) atilla's pysy just don't need a righteous turkey to "mold" Turkey ... with Israel ... you like to drag children here
    1. Atilla10933 Offline Atilla10933
      Atilla10933 (Atilla_az) 1 October 2020 16: 33
      -4
      Quote: _AMUHb_
      ... The negotiations could begin with the symbolic return of part of the lands by the Armenians to the Azerbaijanis ...

      We do not need to return anything. Ours and so ours. It's just that their army needs to leave the region. All! Hundreds of thousands of ethnic Armenians live in Azerbaijan. Does anyone touch them? No. But no, give the Armenians land. Georgia has Javakheti. Azerbaijan has Karabakh, Turkey has Kars. You see, at the time of the dinosaurs in this region, their ancestors were here.
      1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline Oyo Sarkazmi
        Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 1 October 2020 18: 40
        0
        Quote: Atilla10933
        Ours and so ours.

        Nagorno-Karabakh is not yours. Catherine gave it to the Armenians for settlement. It was during the Soviet era that Stalin ordered that he gave Karabakh under the administrative control of Baku, and peaceful coexistence allowed Azerbaijanis to become the majority in some regions.
        But it did not work to expel the Armenians, or to cut them out, as in Sumgait. The Armenians drove out their arrogant neighbors. And considering which of the Azerbaijanis are soldiers (known from the Soviet army laughing ), and from the Nakhichevan - the commanders, even with a threefold advantage, nothing shines for Azerbaijan - the Nakhichevan do not care about both the Baku and Karabakhs. The main thing is to sell cartridges and stew to the left.
        1. Sergey Tokarev Offline Sergey Tokarev
          Sergey Tokarev (Sergey Tokarev) 1 October 2020 19: 22
          -1
          But don't you need to give Rostov to the Armenians? Catherine settled them there too ...
          1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline Oyo Sarkazmi
            Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 1 October 2020 21: 44
            +1
            And sho, Armenians are being driven from Rostov-on-Don? Are they kicked out of their houses? Quite normal Cossacks turned out. But in Sochi, only bandits leave the Armenians ...
            1. The comment was deleted.
  4. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 1 October 2020 17: 35
    0
    Here the bets are made, and there people die. The sad thing is that bookmakers accept bets.
  5. shinobi Offline shinobi
    shinobi (Yuri) 1 October 2020 18: 01
    +1
    The Yankees launched the "ring of fire" plan, the result of which will be the physical isolation of Russia from the rest of the world, while the Russian Federation will have to clean up the mess of local conflicts in the ring.
    1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline Oyo Sarkazmi
      Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 1 October 2020 18: 54
      +2
      Quote: shinobi
      The Yankees launched the Ring of Fire plan

      The Yankees themselves are now blazing that all taxes are going to hell.
      Elchibey, as soon as Azerbaijan gained independence, started a war with Armenia. Until he was turned on and the old man Aliev returned, who still remembered the Patriotic War. The conflict froze. Now young people have grown up who know exactly how to fight. But somehow they are not fighting the way they know.
  6. Sergey A_2 Offline Sergey A_2
    Sergey A_2 (Siberian Yuzhanin) 2 October 2020 08: 30
    0
    There will be no large-scale conflict there, purely a local spill. Who and what significant advantages will get from this? Erdogan is purely Russian to do a goat and that's it.
  7. Johann Klassen Offline Johann Klassen
    Johann Klassen (Johann Klassen) 5 October 2020 15: 05
    0
    The author does not burn like a child.

    Strange, about Russia, Turkey, the United States seems to have mentioned a "certain" author.
    But about the "main beneficiary" in many "conflicts in hot spots of the world", as well as in the post-Soviet space, such as Chechnya, Nagorno-Karabakh, Ukraine, Belarus - Israel, for some reason, are not words.
    There is a lot of "silence" about real problem countries and "inadequately interested" legal entities and individuals.

Bloomberg: Разведка НАТО ставила на победу Еревана в войне с Баку


Армения и Азербайджан находятся на грани войны, которая потрясет НАТО, Ближний Восток и энергетические рынки, пишет агентство Bloomberg.


Конфликт в Нагорном Карабахе может показаться западному обывателю незначительным столкновением где-то в отдаленном уголке планеты. Но в реальности происходящее там может иметь колоссальные последствия, повлияв на региональную стабильность и безопасность, а также амбиции двух проблемных для Запада лидеров: Владимира Путина и Реджепа Тайипа Эрдогана.

В обострившемся противостоянии Ереван и Баку не собираются идти на уступки и компромиссы, поэтому война с потенциально большими последствиями весьма вероятна. Разведка НАТО до этого проводила оценку обстановки и ставила на победу Еревана над Баку, если дело дойдет до этого.

Перед этим Россия поставляла оружие и обучала обе стороны, оказывая успокаивающее воздействие на них. Но сейчас Армения и Азербайджан объявили военное положение, мобилизуют войска. Хуже всего то, что отсутствует возможность вмешаться в происходящее другим странам, чтобы хотя бы на время прекратить кровопролитие.

Анкара и Москва поддерживают разные стороны и имеют противоположные взгляды в Сирии и Ливии. Турки недолюбливают армян и стоят горой за своими собратьями-мусульманами в Азербайджане. При этом Ереван входит в ОДКБ и надеется на дальнейшее покровительство Москвы.

В непосредственной близости от места боевых действий находятся нестабильная Грузия и агрессивный Иран. При этом трубопроводы богатого нефтью и газом Азербайджана проходят всего в 10 км от границы с Арменией. Закавказье и до этого было регионом с высоким уровнем напряженности, но на этот раз все гораздо серьезней.

Выборы в США отвлекают Вашингтон от происходящего. Евросоюз занят проблемами, связанными с Brexit. Поэтому шансы на мирное урегулирование кажутся безрадостными. Возможно, США, Россия и Турция, работая сообща, смогли бы повлиять на стороны конфликта и убедить их свернуть с катастрофического пути. Переговоры могли бы начаться с символического возвращения армянами части земель азербайджанцам и взаимных обязательств не применять больше оружие. Но такое развитие событий сейчас кажется маловероятным.
12 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 1 октября 2020 14:11
    +1
    Турки недолюбливают армян и стоят горой за своими собратьями-мусульманами в Азербайджане.

    - А армяне, говорят, недолюбливают русских, запретили русскоязычные школы и СМИ у себя в Армении.
    Неужели это правда? А как тогда армяне будут изучать русский язык, если они входят в ОДКБ? На английском будут общаться во время совещаний?
  2. Atilla10933 Офлайн Atilla10933
    Atilla10933 (Atilla_az) 1 октября 2020 15:00
    0
    Разведка НАТО до этого проводила оценку обстановки и ставила на победу Еревана над Баку, если дело дойдет до этого.

    Армяне в окопах плачут а эти недоорганизации ставят на Ереван. Ну и ставьте. Флаг вам в руки и с песенькой.
  3. _AMUHb_ Офлайн _AMUHb_
    _AMUHb_ (_AMUHb_) 1 октября 2020 15:37
    0
    ...Переговоры могли бы начаться с символического возвращения армянами части земель азербайджанцам...

    посмеяться бы, да не смешно... если поменять пару строк и заменить на "продать" это бы выглядело более разумно)) пысы атилла только не нужно тут турцию праведную "лепить"...расскажите лучше как торгует она органами беженцев и детей беженцев с израилем... ты же любишь тут детей приплетать
    1. Atilla10933 Офлайн Atilla10933
      Atilla10933 (Atilla_az) 1 октября 2020 16:33
      -4
      Цитата: _AMUHb_
      ...Переговоры могли бы начаться с символического возвращения армянами части земель азербайджанцам...

      Ничего нам возвращать не нужно. Наше и так наше. Просто их армии надо уйти с региона. Всё! В Азербайджане живут сотни тысяч этнических армян, их кто-то трогает? Нет. А нет армянам подавай земли. У Грузии Джавахети. У Азербайджана Карабах, у Турции Карс. Видите во времена динозавров в данном регионе их предки тут были.
      1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн Оё Сарказми
        Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 1 октября 2020 18:40
        0
        Цитата: Atilla10933
        Наше и так наше.

        Нагорный Карабах не ваш. Екатерина отдала его на заселение армянам. Это в советское время так распорядился Сталин, что отдал Карабах под административное управление Баку, и мирное сосуществование позволило азербайджанцам в некоторых районах стать большинством.
        Но вот выгнать армян, или вырезать, как в Сумгаите, не получилось. Армяне чванливых соседей выгнали. А учитывая, какие из азербайджанцев солдаты (известно с советской армии laughing ) , а из нахичеванских - командиры, даже при трёхкратном преимуществе Азербайджану ничего не светит - нахичеванским плевать и на бакинских, и на Карабах. Главное - патроны и тушёнку налево продать.
        1. Сергей Токарев (Сергей Токарев) 1 октября 2020 19:22
          -1
          А Ростов армянам отдать не надо? Екатерина их и там заселила....
          1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн Оё Сарказми
            Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 1 октября 2020 21:44
            +1
            А шо, армян из Ростова-на-Дону гонят? Прямо из домов выгоняют? Вполне себе нормальные казаки получились. А вот в Сочи из армян выходят одни бандиты...
            1. Комментарий был удален.
  4. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 1 октября 2020 17:35
    0
    Тут ставки делают, а там люди умирают. Печально то, что букмекеры принимают ставки.
  5. синоби Офлайн синоби
    синоби (Юрий) 1 октября 2020 18:01
    +1
    Янки запустили план "огненное кольцо",результатом которого станет физическая изоляция России от остального мира,при этом РФ придётся разгребать бардак локальных конфликтов кольца.Зрю в корень и прорицаю,в ближайшие пару недель полыхнёт Донбас.
    1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн Оё Сарказми
      Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 1 октября 2020 18:54
      +2
      Цитата: синоби
      Янки запустили план "огненное кольцо"

      Янки сами теперь полыхают, что все налоги летят в тартарары.
      Эльчибей, как только Азербайджан получил независимость, начал войну с Арменией. Пока его не турнули и вернулся старик Алиев, который ещё помнил Отечественную войну. Конфликт заморозился. Теперь подросли молодые, которые точно знают, как воевать. Но воюется как-то не так, как они знают.
  6. Сергей А_2 Офлайн Сергей А_2
    Сергей А_2 (Сибирский Южанин ) 2 октября 2020 08:30
    0
    Не будет там масштабного конфликта, чисто междусобойчик местного разлива. Кто и какие значимые плюсы из этого получит? Эрдоган чисто России козу сделать и всё.
  7. Johann Klassen Офлайн Johann Klassen
    Johann Klassen (Johann Klassen) 5 октября 2020 15:05
    0
    Автор жжёт не по-детски.

    Странно,про Россию,Турцию,США вроде бы упомянул "некий" автор.
    А вот про "главного выгодопреобретателя" во многих "конфликтах в горячих точках мира", а также на постсоветском пространстве, как то Чечня, Нагорный Карабах, Украина, Белоруссия - израиль,почему то не слова.
    Про настоящие проблемные страны и "неадекватно заинтересованные" юридические и физические лица,большое "молчание".