Strategic Culture: the US is starting to look more like "Russia of the 90s"


The modern United States is beginning to resemble "Russia of the 90s" more and more, writes the American publication Strategic Culture.


Two decades ago, The Atlantic published an article entitled "Russia is Over", which was accompanied by the subtitle "The Uncontrollable Fall of the Once Great Power into Social Abyss and Strategic Backwardness." It was not a very good prediction that just went into vogue with that period. The material erroneously assumed that Russia would inevitably disintegrate, because it is a “tough and backward dictatorship”, something like the African state of Zaire, only with permafrost.

If we now make a similar projection in relation to the United States, we will see that our country is very similar to the one described above and "is sliding uncontrollably towards a social abyss and strategic backwardness." But, both in Moscow and in Washington, forces may emerge that can change the situation by reversing the ongoing processes.

Moscow tsars and Soviet leaders have always destroyed institutions that could challenge their sole authority. The tsars used Orthodoxy as an ideology, it proclaimed the monarch the governor of God on earth, helping to enslave the peasants and turn the aristocrats into servants. Soviet leader Joseph Stalin followed in the footsteps of Ivan the Terrible and Peter the Great. But given the peculiarities of the new ideology, he strengthened his power through collectivization and industrialization, using the forced labor of his people for this. Therefore, one could expect from the Russian Federation that it will follow the path beaten over the centuries.

If you look at the historical experience of the United States, the picture will also look bleak. The country was created thanks to slave labor and the extermination of indigenous peoples. At the bottom is the immoral exploitation of the poor by the rich, who hide behind a deceitful ideology. The United States has become a global predator, plundering neighbors and waging wars in different parts of the planet.

But the United States is not only a tough plutocracy, this country also has its own spiritual values. Therefore, one can hope that the United States will overcome the crisis that erupted in 2020, because the forecast for Russia did not come true. In this regard, let's take a look at the facts.

Russian oligarchs did not achieve their position by building railways or factories. They manipulated prices using the underdevelopment of the legal system and their connections in the government. The three richest people in the United States, with a fortune comparable to the savings of 50% of the country's population, also got rich not by building factories and infrastructure. One runs a gigantic online store, the second runs a software company, and the third is a speculator. Moreover, during the pandemic, they became even richer, and the bulk of the population is poorer. Plutocrats dominate the so-called democratic society.

Russians despise politicians and speaking about them, they often use hard-hitting words, of which "thieves", "bandit" and "swindlers" can be considered the most harmless. Part of the population has a pathological disgust and distrust of the authorities, which has developed over the 90s. But the situation is gradually changing and the level of trust is growing. In the United States, a Pew Research poll showed that most Americans have begun to dislike their government.

Immediately after the collapse of the USSR, Russia turned from the number 2 military superpower on the planet into a country whose army could be neutralized by gangs of militants. Now everything has changed, but the country's leadership remembers that it was the excessive military spending that led the USSR to decline. Two decades of war in Afghanistan led the United States to a result similar to the Soviet Union. The ever-increasing cost of armaments has become unprecedented.

With regard to demography, the population of Russia in the 90s declined at an alarming rate. The country lost 1 million people annually. Now more than 146 million live in Russia, and the situation has begun to change. There are about 328 million people in the United States, but the birth rate is falling and the death rate is rising. And if the increase in mortality in Russia was associated with alcoholism, then in the United States, drugs and suicide are to blame.

Russia in 2020 looks better than the United States. The oligarchs are losing power in Moscow, but gaining it in Washington. People's confidence in the government in Russia began to gradually grow, while in the United States it is falling. Russia's military achievements have grown, while the United States has declined. At the same time, Russia went to cut military spending, while in the United States they only increased. Demography in Russia has stabilized, while in the United States it has begun to decline. Against the background of the pre-election bacchanalia in the United States, Russia looks like a model of stability, efficiency, prosperity and competence.
  • Photos used: https://pixabay.com/
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. GRF Offline GRF
    GRF 1 October 2020 16: 37
    +1
    It's just that in the 90s, nimble and enterprising, they profited very well from the ripping off of the USSR, now they do not mind cash in on the United States, but this will make an American not look like a Russian, even if they have the same in their wallet ...
  2. Dmitry S. Offline Dmitry S.
    Dmitry S. (Dmitry Sanin) 1 October 2020 17: 23
    0
    If the publication once drastically screwed up its forecasts, then why cite it now?
    And where is the news feed? At the entrance, grandmothers also say a lot of things.
  3. Observer2014 Offline Observer2014
    Observer2014 1 October 2020 17: 42
    +1
    Strategic Culture: the US is starting to look more like "Russia of the 90s"

    Thank you. I laughed heartily. laughing
  4. isofat Offline isofat
    isofat (isofat) 1 October 2020 18: 13
    +2
    The United States is far from being Russia, not even close. What is happening now in the United States does not look like Russia in the 90s. Absolutely.
    1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline Oyo Sarkazmi
      Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 1 October 2020 18: 58
      0
      Well yes. It looks like Ukraine. Until 2004 commercials ...
  5. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 1 October 2020 19: 57
    -4
    Ah, the US's daily kapet on the wire

    USD 77,47. Against 65, 60, 30 earlier ...

    People's confidence in the government in Russia began to gradually grow, while in the United States it is falling.

    - and they vote in rubles ...
    1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline Oyo Sarkazmi
      Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 1 October 2020 21: 53
      +3
      This is an additional reason not to live in Miami. A loaf of bread - 270 rubles, a liter of milk - 170, the rent for a plywood bungalow - 70 thousand rubles a month. Brrr.
      I feel good here too. A loaf of bread - 25, a liter of milk - 70, light-gas comes out a month barely 1000.
      1. Bitter Offline Bitter
        Bitter (Gleb) 1 October 2020 23: 41
        0
        It is understandable. laughing After all, many Americans, and not only Americans, strive at the first opportunity to go somewhere to Russia, some to Sochi, and some to Barnaul. Thank God the migration services bravely stand guard.
        1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline Oyo Sarkazmi
          Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 2 October 2020 13: 37
          +2
          Segal headed to Russia. This scout and mafioso have a flair - God forbid. McGregor got a Russian passport ...
          In general, white Americans, if possible "remote", either leave the United States, or settle in reservations for whites, behind barbed wire and armed guards.
          Didn't know that the richest neighborhoods in Los Angeles are fenced off higher than the Mexican border?
          1. Bitter Offline Bitter
            Bitter (Gleb) 3 October 2020 22: 59
            0
            Segal headed to Russia.

            And how many thousands of these "Sigals" are chasing the Russian passport through the hills? Will you announce the statistics? This Seagal, as well as a couple of other celebrities, was presented with a passport on a silver platter by the most important head of the migration service, and this was shown on TV, for grandmothers, of course. And what about the rest of the crowds who want to move? And what in Russia and in Moscow including, the rich and respected businessmen with officials have no guards? Where are they, American and Brazilian or French and English immigrants, eagerly eager to reach the promised land of dreams?
            1. Oyo Sarkazmi Offline Oyo Sarkazmi
              Oyo Sarkazmi (Oyo Sarkazmi) 4 October 2020 11: 09
              +1
              Once you were banned from Google, I looked it myself:

              At last count, about 200 Americans live in Russia

              Several Americans live 70 km from me. Farmers. We arrived in the mid-90s to sell breeding bulls, and they stayed so. First came the elder brother, then the younger, then the wives with children. Now they are well over 60.
              1. Bitter Offline Bitter
                Bitter (Gleb) 5 October 2020 19: 59
                +1
                Well, yes, there is a percentage of 200 thousand (probably over 30 years ran) to the general population of the United States, this is not even a cat crying. Some sigal farmers and others, some may have left in the 90s, received citizenship and now returned to the "old homeland" under the American flag "to do business." This is not a trend, but isolated cases. By the number of emigrants (not necessarily in America), if my memory serves me, Russians are somewhere in third place in the world, and this is not counting those who "forgot" to deregister. I do not advertise America or any other country, there are problems everywhere, both local and foreign who came there. But do not bend the stick either. Next time you will say that living in Switzerland is almost impossible, there only a cup of coffee in a bar costs almost 500 rubles, and everything else is generally "fantastic".

                "We arrived in the mid-90s to sell breeding bulls, but they stayed so."

                Phenomenally laughing that no one encroached on this fat business, the roof was apparently not bad, and maybe it is.

Strategic Culture: США начинают все больше походить на «Россию 90-х»


Современные США начинают все больше напоминать «Россию 90-х», пишет американское издание Strategic Culture.


Два десятилетия назад газета The Atlantic опубликовала статью под названием «С Россией покончено», которая сопровождалась подзаголовком «Неудержимое падение некогда великой державы в социальную пропасть и стратегическую отсталость». Это было не очень удачное предсказание, которое просто шло в моду с тем периодом. В материале ошибочно предполагалось, что Россия неизбежно распадется, ведь она является «жесткой и отсталой диктатурой», чем-то вроде африканского государства Заир, только с вечной мерзлотой.

Если сейчас сделать подобную проекцию по отношению к США, то мы увидим, что наша страна очень похожа на описанную выше и «неудержимо сползает к социальной пропасти и стратегической отсталости». Но, как в Москве, так и в Вашингтоне могут появиться силы, способные изменить ситуацию, развернув идущие процессы вспять.

Московские цари и советские руководители всегда уничтожали институты, которые могли бы бросить вызов их единоличной власти. В качестве идеологии цари использовали православие, оно провозглашало монарха наместником Бога на земле, помогая порабощать крестьян и превращать аристократов в слуг. Советский лидер Иосиф Сталин пошел по стопам Ивана Грозного и Петра Великого. Но учитывая особенности новой идеологии, он укреплял свою власть при помощи коллективизации и индустриализации, используя для этого принудительный труд своего народа. Поэтому от РФ можно было ожидать, что она пойдет по проторенной за столетия дорожке.

Если взглянуть на исторический опыт США, то картина будет выглядеть тоже безрадостной. Страна была создана благодаря рабскому труду и истреблению коренных народов. В фундаменте находится безнравственная эксплуатация бедняков богатыми, которые прикрываются лживой идеологией. США стали хищником мирового масштаба, грабя соседей и устраивая войны в разных уголках планеты.

Но США – не только жесткая плутократия, у этой страны тоже есть свои духовные ценности. Поэтому можно надеяться, что США преодолеют кризис, который разразился в 2020 году, ведь прогноз по России не оправдался. В связи с этим, давайте взглянем на факты.

Российские олигархи добились своего положения не за счет строительства железных дорог или предприятий. Они манипулировали ценами, используя неразвитость правовой системы и свои связи в органах власти. Три богатейших человека в США, владеющие состоянием, сопоставимым с накоплениями 50% населения страны, тоже разбогатели не на строительстве заводов и инфраструктуры. Один управляет гигантским интернет-магазином, второй – компанией, создающей компьютерные программы, а третий вообще спекулянт. Причем за время пандемии они стали еще богаче, а основная масса населения беднее. Плутократы доминируют в так называемом демократическом обществе.

Русские презирают политиков и говоря о них, часто употребляют нелицеприятные слова, из которых «воры», «бандит» и «мошенники» можно считать самыми безобидными. У части населения патологическое отвращение и недоверие к властям, которое выработалось за 90-е годы. Но постепенно ситуация меняется и уровень доверия растет. Что касается США, то соцопрос Pew Research показал, что большинство американцев начали испытывать отвращение к своему правительству.

Сразу после развала СССР, Россия превратилась из военной сверхдержавы №2 на планете в страну, чья армия могла быть нейтрализована бандами боевиков. Сейчас все изменилось, но руководство страны помнит, что именно чрезмерные военные расходы привели СССР к упадку. Два десятилетия войны в Афганистане привели США к похожему с СССР результату. Непрерывно растущие расходы на вооружение стали беспрецедентными.

Что касается демографии, то численность населения России в 90-е годы сокращалась ужасающими темпами. Ежегодно страна теряла по 1 млн человек. Сейчас в России проживает больше 146 млн, а ситуация начала меняться. В США проживает порядка 328 млн человек, но рождаемость падает, а смертность растет. И если рост смертности в России был связан с алкоголизмом, то в США всему виной наркотики и самоубийства.

Россия в 2020 году выглядит лучше США. Олигархи теряют власть в Москве, но получают ее в Вашингтоне. Доверие людей к правительству в России начало постепенно расти, а в США – падает. Достижения России в военной сфере выросли, а США – снизились. При этом Россия пошла на сокращение военных расходов, а в США они только увеличились. Демография в России стабилизировалась, а в США пошла на убыль. На фоне предвыборной вакханалии в США, Россия выглядит образцом стабильности, эффективности, процветания и компетентности.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://pixabay.com/
12 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. GRF Офлайн GRF
    GRF 1 октября 2020 16:37
    +1
    Просто в 90х, шустрые и предприимчивые, очень хорошо нажились на раздербанивании СССР, теперь они не против нажиться на США, но от этого американец на русского походить не будет, даже если будет у них одинаково в кошельке...
  2. Дмитрий С. Офлайн Дмитрий С.
    Дмитрий С. (Дмитрий Санин) 1 октября 2020 17:23
    0
    Если издание один раз круто лажанулось в прогнозах, то зачем его сейчас цитировать?
    И где инфоповод? У подъезда бабушки тоже много чего говорят.
  3. Наблюдатель2014 1 октября 2020 17:42
    +1
    Strategic Culture: США начинают все больше походить на «Россию 90-х»

    Спасибо.Я поржал от души. laughing
  4. isofat Офлайн isofat
    isofat (isofat) 1 октября 2020 18:13
    +2
    США далеко не Россия, даже близко не валялись. То что творится сейчас в США на Россию 90-х не похоже. Совсем.
    1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн Оё Сарказми
      Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 1 октября 2020 18:58
      0
      Ну да. Похоже на Украину. Пока эдак 2004 года...
  5. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 1 октября 2020 19:57
    -4
    А, Ежедневный капец США на проводе

    USD 77,47. Против 65, 60, 30 ранее...

    Доверие людей к правительству в России начало постепенно расти, а в США – падает.

    - и они голосуют рублем...
    1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн Оё Сарказми
      Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 1 октября 2020 21:53
      +3
      Это дополнительный повод не жить в Майями. Булка хлеба - 270 руб, литр молока - 170, квартплата за фанерное бунгало - 70 тыс рублей в месяц. Бррр.
      Мне и здесь хорошо. Булка хлеба - 25, литр молока -70, свет-газ в месяц выходит едва 1000.
      1. Bitter Офлайн Bitter
        Bitter (Глеб) 1 октября 2020 23:41
        0
        Оно и понятно. laughing Ведь многие американцы, да и не только, стремятся при первой же возможности уехать куда нибудь в Россию, кто то в Сочи, а кто и в Барнаул. Слава богу миграционные службы мужественно стоят на страже.
        1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн Оё Сарказми
          Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 2 октября 2020 13:37
          +2
          Сигал сиганул в Россию. У этого разведчика и мафиозо чутьё - дай боже. МакГрегор обзавёлся российским паспортом...
          Вообще, белые американцы, при возможности "удалёнки", либо уезжают из США, либо селяться в резервациях для белых, за колючей проволокой и вооружённой охраной.
          Не знали, что в Лос Анджелесе самые богатые кварталы огорожены стеной повыше, чем на мексиканской границе?
          1. Bitter Офлайн Bitter
            Bitter (Глеб) 3 октября 2020 22:59
            0
            Сигал сиганул в Россию.

            И сколько тысяч таких "Сигалов" гоняется по холмам за российским паспортом? Огласите статистики? Этому Сигалу, так же как и парочке других знаменитостей, самый главный начальник миграционной службы паспорт на блюдечке с голубой каёмочкой поднесли и это по телевизору, за бабки естественно, показали. А что с остальными толпами желающих переехать? А что в России и в Москве в том числе, у богатеев и уважаемых бизнесменов с чиновниками заборов с охраной нет? Где они, американские и бразильские или французские и английские эмигранты, пылко рвущиеся в обетованную страну мечты?
            1. Оё Сарказми Офлайн Оё Сарказми
              Оё Сарказми (Оё Сарказми) 4 октября 2020 11:09
              +1
              Раз вас в Гугле забанили, посмотрел сам:

              По последним подсчетам в России проживает около 200 тысяч американцев

              Несколько американцев живут в 70 км от меня. Фермеры. Приехали в середине 90-х продавать племенных быков, да так и остались. Сначала приехал старший брат, потом младший, потом жёны с детьми. Сейчас им уже далеко за 60.
              1. Bitter Офлайн Bitter
                Bitter (Глеб) 5 октября 2020 19:59
                +1
                Ну да, процентуально 200тыс.(наверное лет за 30 набежало) к общему населению США, это даже не кот наплакал. Какие то фермеры-сигалы и другие, некоторые возможно уехав в 90-х, получив гражданство и теперь вернувшись на "старую Родину" под американским флагом "делать бизнес". Это не тенденция, а единичные случаи. По количеству эмигрантов(не обязательно в Америки), если мне не изменяет память, россияне стоят где то нa третьм месте в мире и это не считая тех кто "забыл" сняться с учёта. Я не рекламирую Америку или ещё какие либо страны, везде есть проблемы, как у местных так и у чужаков туда приехавших. Но и Вы палку не перегибайте. В следующий раз скажете, в Швейцарии жить практически невозможно, там только чашечка кофе в баре почти 500 рублей стоит, а всё остальное вообще "фантастиш".

                "Приехали в середине 90-х продавать племенных быков, да так и остались."

                Феноменально laughing что никто так и не покусился на этот толстый бизнес, крыша неплохая по всей видимости была, а может и есть.